Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do to get over a breakup?

• 26-03-2014 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭

I know I'm going out on a limb here assuming people on AH have primarily managed to attain an "Other Half" to be broken up with in the first place. But for those of you who are capable of tearing themselves away from the safety of Boards.ie for long enough to socialise and then have that social life taken away from you. How do you deal with a break up.

Do ye buy a 10 gallon tub of Ben and Jerry's and cry the night away while watching "The Notebook" for the 10th time?

Do ye put on your Sunday's finest and cry yourself to sleep watching 'The Notebook' or do you get together with your gal pals/lads and go hit the town looking for some fresh young harlet/studmuffin to bring home and cuddle you as you cry, while watching 'The Notebook' on repeat.

Tl;dr Breakups, what do you do to deal with them ey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Get over an ex by getting in to someone else.
    And by crying profusely and eating junk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Exercise, hang out with friends as much as possible, any stuff that prevents you from dwelling. It's really hard but it's the best way. The easy option is to mope around no doubt, but it makes you feel worse and hampers your progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Met this bird tonight, she's on the rebound some guy called Timmy.....wowser!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Whiskey, and a fire with which to stare into the flames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

c_man wrote: »

Perhaps some woodworking too?

moonshadow wrote: »
    Met this bird tonight, she's on the rebound some guy called Timmy.....wowser!

And you're on here posting about it? Must not be on that much of a rebound!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Call it a Conscious uncoupling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Man up ffs

And drink makes it worse. Get back out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Enjoy the freedom. You will probably be tied down, er sorry, in a relationship for the majority of your adult life. Have the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Drink aswell. **** happens, besides, theres work tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Got drunk, got laid, got over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Look inside my wallet and smile at the extra money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Call it a Conscious uncoupling

Gawd that pair are insufferable too.

Personally I find the "Pretend that you never were in a relationship and act as if everything is normal" works out just fine every time...

The Notebook is terrible enough when not going through a break-up.

Dunny wrote: »
    Man up ffs

Hey I never said I was after a breakup. That would Imply that I managed to tear myself away from the internet for long enough to establish a meaningful connection with someone that isn't a pornographic live cam actress who I pay to watch the notebook with me over an internet video feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Self discovery and Videogames!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Vegas!

Dunny wrote: »
    Man up ffs
    That is really not the thing to say to a guy going through a break-up. Guys suffer just as much as women do.

c_man wrote: »

I've whiskey here if you have a fireplace ;)

I can bring the notebook too

That is really not the thing to say to a guy going through a break-up. Guys suffer just as much as women do.

Yup. It's just delayed by about a week over women for most I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

Drink, run, cry, listen to sad music. All at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Depends. How deep were we in, time wise that is :D.

Delete number from phone, then sit it out. Could take 2 - 4 weeks.

Be sure of one thing, It'll be grand. Time heals all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Have you considered cocooning yourself in duct tape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Have you considered cocooning yourself in duct tape?

I do quite often. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Get a photo of your ex's face, print it out on an A4 sheet, cut it out, buy a blow up doll and stick your ex's face over the dolls. And bobs your mothers brother, it's like you ever broke up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I do quite often. :D

Never let it be said that I refused to share my wisdom.

Most things can be fixed with duct tape. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Op reads like it's never touched a woman tbh. If I get dumped, I usually retort by saying sorry but I dont want to meet/see you anymore cos you're a bit fat and sh*t in bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Depending on the seriousness of the relationship- delete his number so I can't drunkenly text him, a day or 2 (or 5) of moping and bitching, then get my friends together for a big night out to get him out of my system.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Op reads like it's never touched a woman tbh.
    A break-up would very much indicate the opposite.
    If I get dumped, I usually retort by saying sorry but I dont want to meet/see you anymore cos you're a bit fat and sh*t in bed.
    But I don't think the OP is 16 and it seems he's looking for advice from people who have experienced actual difficult break-ups that aren't just gotten over by throwing out an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Delete them from your life ASAP.. Delete phone numbers, email addy's, delete and block them from FB. Ask them NOT to contact you, and ask them to give you space to go lick your wounds.

Best advice I heard was 'Run/exercise until you puke, DON'T drink until you puke'.

DO NOT go quickly into another ride, its unfair to you and more important than that its not fair to the person you're gonna ride.

Time & porn are great healers!.

Finally if you're the one who broke up with them, do them a favor and don't ring/text to ask how they're doing ~ you've finished with them, tore their world apart and you no longer have the right to ask them these questions... If you're the one with the broken heart, don't be afraid to tell your now ex (its very hard to even think of them as such) that they've no rights to ask these questions anymore... Start taking back a little power & control.

Surround yourself with good strong friends, something women are better at doing ~ however good friends are very important and will see you through the hardest days.

I dunno... if casual sex helps, I reckon there's no harm, so long as the person they're shagging is made aware it's only comfort sex.
    I agree it's certainly not for everyone after an awful break-up though. Plenty of people don't have an interest in getting physical with anyone for ages.

Going on the piss is a bit of a double-edged sword: it's good to go out on the lash with your friends, but the resultant hangover is made all the worse by feeling down in the dumps. Definitely not advisable to drink other than when going out with your pals all right though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I dunno... if casual sex helps, I reckon there's no harm, so long as the person they're shagging is made aware it's only comfort sex.
    I agree it's certainly not for everyone after an awful break-up though. Plenty of people don't have an interest in getting physical with anyone for ages.

Going on the piss is a bit of a double-edged sword: it's good to go out on the lash with your friends, but the resultant hangover is made all the worse by feeling down in the dumps. Definitely not advisable to drink other than when going out with your pals all right though.

For my last break up drinking did wonders. Drank a lot very quickly around 3 days after the break up, blacked out, woke up the next day and literally said "Fcuk it, I'm making a change" Went out and got my ass a job offer 2 days later and a second job offer the day after that. Took the second, which had me working my bollix off for ages so I couldn't even think about her.

So, kinda a little from column A and little from Column B of drink til I get fcuked and exercise til I'm fooked. But the hangover gave me clarity on my next move :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

Go to the Winchester, have a pint, and wait for this to blow over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Golden rule: accept what has happened and make absolutely no contact with them AT ALL.

Remember to eat. You will lose weight and nutrients and feel worse.

Talk it out with friends/family, listen to sad music, cry but limit it and get up off your bum and go for long walks to clear you head.

Start jogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

hang out with friends as much as possible.

Bretheren prior to Wenches.

A break-up would very much indicate the opposite.

But I don't think the OP is 16 and it seems he's looking for advice from people who have experienced actual difficult break-ups that aren't just gotten over by throwing out an insult.

There there femme, it's ok now

You like fat women, Fatty?

They're probably dumping you cause you're a prick so they're better off :)

Did I hurt your feelings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Definitely not the right way going about getting over someone but the two big breakups I've had I went the drink and sex route. All it seems to do is put my feelings on the back burner though to be dealt with later in a more confused way. Raw pain is gone sure but emotions end up all over the place. Plus it's unfair on the women I'd be having sex with as I'm an emotionless shell.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Did I hurt your feelings?

Yes, I hate seeing morons like you allowed on the internet.

Especially the ones that throw out insults and then go off crying reporting posts :pac:

mod: banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

In my case I buggered off to Australia / south East Asia for 18months. Drank like a fish, rode all around me and came back with a Mickey like a boiled beetroot, but man I had a good time. :)

Op reads like it's never touched a woman tbh. If I get dumped, I usually retort by saying sorry but I dont want to meet/see you anymore cos you're a bit fat and sh*t in bed.

Woah. Who said I'm after a breakup myself? Also who said I'm after a woman? What if I'm after a big fat man like yerself? ;)

call me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Depends. How deep were we in, time wise that is :D.

I read a response to this on this very topic not so long ago.

It's not the amount of time that you were with somebody that defines how hurt you'll be, it's how many switches they flicked in your head while you were with them and how long it's going to take you to turn them off again.

Heartbreak sucks. SOrry for your troubles OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Throw yourself into work, or if your work isn't interesting, throw yourself at hobbies/exercise like they owe you money. Last bad break up led to some of my best work. Actually, I'm in a bit of a slump at the moment, maybe someone would like to break my heart? No? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

Organise to met a different friend a night for about a month on a rotation and bore the heads off them. its important that you knock back the drink as well during this time.
    Then sign up for online dating and go on 100+ dates and laugh at the weirdos and shag the ones that are not too bad.
    Then maybe meet someone half decent, and pass all your issues onto them and abuse the **** out of them til you ignore all their texts and they are a quivering mess looking for you to just acknowledge them. They will then take all the hard work out of it and break up with you, and then you will be feeling ok again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Organise to met a different friend a night for about a month on a rotation and bore the heads off them. its important that you knock back the drink as well during this time.
    Then sign up for online dating and go on 100+ dates and laugh at the weirdos and shag the ones that are not too bad.
    Then maybe meet someone half decent, and pass all your issues onto them and abuse the **** out of them til you ignore all their texts and they are a quivering mess looking for you to just acknowledge them. They will then take all the hard work out of it and break up with you, and then you will be feeling ok again!

I stopped chewing my brekkie mid way through that.

Thats just nasty !

MugMugs wrote: »
    I stopped chewing my brekkie mid way through that.

Thats just nasty !

I convinced myself it was satirical so I wouldn't get all stabby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Muise... wrote: »
    Throw yourself into work, or if your work isn't interesting, throw yourself at hobbies/exercise like they owe you money. Last bad break up led to some of my best work. Actually, I'm in a bit of a slump at the moment, maybe someone would like to break my heart? No? :(

It's not you, it's me....

*Shimmies out of Muise's life.....foreverrrr......*

It's not you, it's me....

*Shimmies out of Muise's life.....foreverrrr......*

*works like a fury and gets big commission and loads of happy just to spite Legs.

But I'll never forget you...