Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jerry's at it again...

• 25-03-2014 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

http://balls.ie/gaa/jerry-kiernan-vs-gaa/

I agree with his point about the funding, I just wish he wouldn't say silly things about the skill involved in the GAA as this is only going to rile people up and it hurts his argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

600k in Irish government funding to develop a sports facility in London?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

pconn062 wrote: »
    http://balls.ie/gaa/jerry-kiernan-vs-gaa/

I agree with his point about the funding, I just wish he wouldn't say silly things about the skill involved in the GAA as this is only going to rile people up and it hurts his argument.

He really undermines his valid points with silly one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

+2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭paddyh117

It's quite simple - Athletics Ireland (and other bodies) need to get as good at the GAA at procuring their own funds rather than simply criticizing rival associations.

Step one of that process would be banning Jerry from a microphone as he's terrible at PR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

paddyh117 wrote: »
    It's quite simple - Athletics Ireland (and other bodies) need to get as good at the GAA at procuring their own funds rather than simply criticizing rival associations.

Step one of that process would be banning Jerry from a microphone as he's terrible at PR!

Maybe, but the GAA should not be getting 600k in public funding either to do up some GAA pitch in London. That would fund 15 full time athletes for a year at the higher rate of funding.

I wasn't arguing one way or another with regard the GAA's funding - i was simply making the point that it's up to each association to do their best to get their own funding, rather than petulantly stamping ones feet and pointing at rival associations, saying "it's not fair - they (GAA/FAI/IRFU) got more than me!!"

But if there is a limited amount of government funding available then its perfectly reasonable to ask why some of that money is being spent on facilities in another country. Was this paid for by Sports Capital Funding? Were there no other projects that could have been funded with this money?

okay, I looked it up, the money is coming from Foreign Affairs, the Emigrant Support Programme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm surprised it took so long for this thread to begin today !

He was in full-on wind up mode this morning alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

RayCun wrote: »
    okay, I looked it up, the money is coming from Foreign Affairs, the Emigrant Support Programme

I think that's disgraceful to be honest.

I'm sure there are plenty of emigrants in crisis situations in many countries who could well do with support that could be supplied with that money. People needing temporary accommodation, people badly skint etc.

Using that money to upgrade a sporting facility is just a stroke.

"Our Emigrant Support Programme (ESP) supports Irish communities overseas by funding non-profit organisations and projects. This allows us to develop more strategic links with the global Irish and to support frontline welfare services that help the most vulnerable members of our overseas communities."

Gilmore: "The development will make it a better place to play Gaelic games and a better place to watch Gaelic games and, as a result, reinforce the GAA’s place at the heart of London’s Irish community”.

So it gets it under the "strategic link" bull**** clause.

You might be starving, homeless etc. but that's your fault for not being a GAA head. GAA people who can afford to attend sporting events will get comfier seats....but don't worry its not a once off...this situation of haves and have nots will be re-inforced by this development.

Jerry's wrong to blame the GAA. Its not human nature to surrender your advantages and they believe in themselves, they do help their own people....with the unintended result that others lose out. Not athletes in this case: but people in more basic need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

Gerry has issues. Nobody cares about him, nobody wants to listen to him and the only way Gerry gets to be in the papers these days is by expressing his bitterness.

€5m project with GAA at central level providing €1.4m, London GAA contributing €0.5m, government funding of €0.6m and the rest being borrowed.

The Irish Government’s funding is part of the Emigrant Support Programme and represents some 12.5 per cent of the overall cost of the project. Details of what has been funded in the past is available below
    https://www.dfa.ie/our-role-policies/the-irish-abroad/emigrant-support-programme/

Guess there are those who would prefer to throw away the key when Irish people leave Ireland for economic reason. Thankfully and to its credit the GAA does not forget about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

"There is no standard applied to GAA getting money except their popularity."

He doesn't really make any argument that shows that to be an invalid reason though, does he? The nature of dispersing public funds of any kind is that the number of peeple impacted by it is going to be one of the major criteria.

GAA clubs and Irish clubs in Britain have formed communities around them and allowed people to access a ready-made network that provides social and emotional support and access to work for many emmigrants. I'm not a fan of the GAA, but credit where it's due, assiting it there will have benefit to many displaced Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,357 ✭✭✭✭walshb

GAA is a whole lot more skillful that putting one leg in front of the other. Certain track disciplines are very skilled.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

walshb wrote: »
    GAA is a whole lot more skillful that putting one leg in front of the other. Certain track disciplines are very skilled.

Very generalized and somewhat silly comment to make in fairness,

Of course if you want to try and compare them and your very simplistic terms of "one leg in front of the other" for running then I'm as amateur as they come,

I only very very recently joined a club but at the end of the day even before I did in order for me to fit in 70 miles in a week it translates to 9-10hrs plus of running in a 7 day period,

I know a good few people doing amateur GAA and they don't fit in that sort of time training in a week.

Could a person like me go out and play a amateur GAA match?, I'm sure I could. would I be any good?...likely not.
    Would I be fecked after it for weeks? No Likely not as I have a level of fitness that I can benefit from.

Could a amateur GAA person go out tomorrow and run say 30-40miles, maybe...but they'd do it a hell of slot slower then I would and they'd likely need a good few weeks to recover. They have a level of fitness, but its not suited for that sort of distance.

When it comes down to it, people are good for what they train for.
    But its idiotic to claim running is as simple as one foot infront of the other, its as stupid as saying GAA is just hitting a ball around.

Of course there's skill, but it applys to both Athletics / Running and GAA....not just certain track disciplines like you claim.

that's a silly and overly simplistic argument, which is as baseless as Jerry's point that GAA players have no fitness or no levels of skills.

You can't compare skill levels across completely different sports, and everything is relative - some GAA players are skillful - lots aren't' - some Athletes are skilled - others aren't

it's this type of pointless comparison that Jerry shouldn't be engaging in in the first place, as it derails the topic and achieves nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Gerry has issues. Nobody cares about him, nobody wants to listen to him and the only way Gerry gets to be in the papers these days is by expressing his bitterness.

I'd agree with that. The bitterness just oozes out of him. Maybe he just needs a hug.......

Details of what has been funded in the past is available below
    https://www.dfa.ie/our-role-policies/the-irish-abroad/emigrant-support-programme/

Heres the correct Link

Attacking J Kiernan ad hominem doesn't disprove his argument.
    Guess there are those who would prefer to throw away the key when Irish people leave Ireland for economic reason. Thankfully and to its credit the GAA does not forget about them.

The €600,000 absolutely dwarves previous allocation for homeless concerns and advisory associations in London. Isn't spending this money on fancy stadium seats instead of homeless and desperate emigrants quite literally throwing away the key?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭munkee

I hate GAA. I want my tax-euros back.

But Kiernan does his cause no favours by being critical of our 'national' sport. He needs to learn some cute-hoorishness from those he criticises.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'm sure he has a point to his pathetic little rant, I just can't figure out what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Good man Jerry, ya have to admire him for not giving a fcuk and speaking his opinion! I also agree with him :pac:

T runner wrote: »
    Heres the correct Link

Attacking J Kiernan ad hominem doesn't disprove his argument.

The €600,000 absolutely dwarves previous allocation for homeless concerns and advisory associations in London. Isn't spending this money on fancy stadium seats instead of homeless and desperate emigrants quite literally throwing away the key?

My link went to the same page...

Gerry hypothesis is based on ignorance and bitterness.

Your final statement is incorrect. If you had bothered to check the funding allocation for 2012 or 2011 you would see that in each year allocations of over €500K were made in Britain each year.

Why do i bother....

munkee wrote: »
    I hate GAA. I want my tax-euros back.

But Kiernan does his cause no favours by being critical of our 'national' sport. He needs to learn some cute-hoorishness from those he criticises.

A list of clichéd quotes about hate.....

Elie Wiesel, " The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference"
    Shaw, "Hatred is coward's revenge for being intimidated"

Don't think i've ever hated anything. Not too fond of turnip, strictly for pigs but i don't spend much time thinking about it. Life is too short for hating anything or anyone.

Again that over simplifies the argument IMO - if it were that simple, then perhaps we should stop ALL sports funding until homelessness/poverty/insert-good-cause-here is dealt with - there will simply never be enough money to go around, you can't say that homelessness deserves it more than a stadium - that's a much larger issue, and is a different moral and cultural argument than the simple one Jerry makes, which is the GAA have plenty - give us some

It was not a silly comment. Top class hurlers are in my view playing a more overall skilled discipline than an 800/1500/5000/10000 metre runner. There's more to it than running 800 metres. Running is a basic human trait. What top class hurlers do needs natural skill, talent, rhythm, poise, balance, coordination, speed, power, senses etc. It involves so much more, and asks more of the human body.

Now, throw in some filed disciplines and it gets interesting. Pole vault and Javelin are two very specific and skilled arts. Triple jump as well, and hammer. Oh, and 110 hurdles.

It was not a silly comment. Top class hurlers are in my view playing a more overall skilled discipline than an 800/1500/5000/10000 metre runner. There's more to it than running 800 metres. Running is a basic human trait. What top class hurlers do needs natural skill, talent, rhythm, poise, balance, coordination, speed, power, senses etc. It involves so much more, and asks more of the human body.

Now, throw in some filed disciplines and it gets interesting. Pole vault and Javelin are two very specific and skilled arts. Triple jump as well, and hammer. Oh, and 110 hurdles.

Edit

My link went to the same page...

Gerry hypothesis is based on ignorance and bitterness.

Why do i bother....

You did not attack the person's hypothesis, you attacked the person himself.
    Your final statement is incorrect. If you had bothered to check the funding allocation for 2012 or 2011 you would see that in each year allocations of over €500K were made in Britain each year.

There was only one supra €500,000 allocation in 2012 to the Federation of Irish societies: the reason they got that amount because they are the national umbrella organisation in Britain for all Irish clubs and societies.

The fact that the London GAA figure this year is higher than this amount is despicable.

The Emigrant allocation shouldn't go to the GAA nor the AAI but to projects that directly help emigrants such as housing and employment.

Please tell me how the upgrading of stadium seats directly helps Irish emigrants in Britain.
    Again that over simplifies the argument IMO - if it were that simple, then perhaps we should stop ALL sports funding until homelessness/poverty/insert-good-cause-here is dealt with - there will simply never be enough money to go around,

But that's the whole point this money is NOT SPORTS FUNDING. It is supposed to be to help Irish emigrants. If the London GAA want SPORTS funding they should apply for it through the Minister for Sport and Tourism. The pot that is there to help Irish emigrants should NOT be raided.
    you can't say that homelessness deserves it more than a stadium - that's a much larger issue, and is a different moral and cultural argument than the simple one Jerry makes, which is the GAA have plenty - give us some

I can say that direct issues affecting emigrants deserve money for direct issues affecting emigrants.
    I don't agree with Jerry The money shouldn't go to the GAA OR the AAI.
    It should go to help emigrants directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It was not a silly comment. Top class hurlers are in my view playing a more overall skilled discipline than an 800/1500/5000/10000 metre runner. There's more to it than running 800 metres. Running is a basic human trait.
    Running is easy. As you've likely discovered, running fast is not easy. A 'skill' is the ability to do something well; with expertise. So yes, anyone can run 1,500m, just as anyone can run the length of a field, with a hurl in their hand. The skill is in doing it well, just as in the skill in hurling is the hand-eye co-ordination, passing accuracy, anticipation, tackling etc, rather than running the length of a pitch with a hurl.

It's like saying 'anyone can box'. There's no skill involved, as anyone can lash out with their fists. So yes, a massive over-simplification and a very silly post.

Running is easy. As you've likely discovered, running fast is not easy. A 'skill' is the ability to do something well; with expertise. So yes, anyone can run 1,500m, just as anyone can run the length of a field, with a hurl in their hand. The skill is in doing it well, just as in the skill in hurling is the hand-eye co-ordination, passing accuracy, anticipation, tackling etc, rather than running the length of a pitch with a hurl.

It's like saying 'anyone can box'. There's no skill involved, as anyone can lash out with their fists. So yes, a massive over-simplification and a very silly post.

It's running fast and hard for a longer time. Top class milers, for example, are born to do this. Their physiology allows them to do it. Of course, they must train to improve on this, but they have it to begin with. The actual mechanics are basic. Very basic. The mechanics and skill for top class hurlers to do what they do is a lot more challenging and skilled. Not silly at all, nor difficult to comprehend. Some sports are more difficult to master and execute.

BTW, it's not running the length of a field with just a hurl in hand. There is also a Sliotar. Not everyone can do this.

Also, I would prefer to watch a top class athletics meet to a top class hurling match.

You did not attack the person's hypothesis, you attacked the person himself.

There was only one supra €500,000 allocation in 2012 to the Federation of Irish societies: the reason they got that amount because they are the national umbrella organisation in Britain for all Irish clubs and societies.

The fact that the London GAA figure this year is higher than this amount is despicable.

The Emigrant allocation shouldn't go to the GAA nor the AAI but to projects that directly help emigrants such as housing and employment.

Please tell me how the upgrading of stadium seats directly helps Irish emigrants in Britain.

But that's the whole point this money is NOT SPORTS FUNDING. It is supposed to be to help Irish emigrants. If the London GAA want SPORTS funding they should apply for it through the Minister for Sport and Tourism. The pot that is there to help Irish emigrants should NOT be raided.

I can say that direct issues affecting emigrants deserve money for direct issues affecting emigrants.
    I don't agree with Jerry The money shouldn't go to the GAA OR the AAI.
    It should go to help emigrants directly.

There was 3 allocations over €500K in both 2011 & 2012. Read the documents....

Correct. Its not sports funding, its infrastructure for Irish community in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's running fast and hard for a longer time. Top class milers, for example, are born to do this. Their physiology allows them to do it. Of course, they must train to improve on this, but they have it to begin with. The actual mechanics are basic. Very basic. The mechanics and skill for top class hurlers to do what they do is a lot more challenging and skilled. Not silly at all, nor difficult to comprehend. Some sports are more difficult to master and execute.
    Physiology and mechanics are improved by training. Training is the acquisition of knowledge, skills, and competencies. Haven't you tried your hand at '800/1500/5000/10000 metre' running for a couple of years now? If it's just a case of 'running fast and hard', how successful have you been? Or are you just not fortunate enough to have the right bio-mechanics?

What of boxing? Are you arguing that boxing doesn't require any skill? You just need the right mechanics and physiology? I can't agree with you. In my view it takes skill to be a successful boxer.
    walshb wrote:
    BTW, it's not running the length of a field with just a hurl in hand. There is also a Sliotar. Not everyone can do this.
    I didn't say it was. I said it was a highly skilled sport involving among other things 'the hand-eye co-ordination, passing accuracy, anticipation, tackling etc, rather than running the length of a pitch with a hurl'. Please read the post properly before responding. Reading is also a skill. Most people can do it, but some people can do it well.

The pot that is there to help Irish emigrants should NOT be raided.

who's to decide? you? perhaps the Irish emigrant population in London want/deserve/need/appreciate the money being spent in this manner? perhaps they don't - either way it again brings the argument away from the initial points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Shock horror. Thread goes off topic and pseudopolitical once certain posters become involved. How long before Godwin's law is invoked. I'm guessing by page 5 ;)

A list of clichéd quotes about hate.....

Internet hate is different to actual hate.

Physiology and mechanics are improved by training. Training is the acquisition of knowledge, skills, and competencies. Haven't you tried your hand at '800/1500/5000/10000 metre' running for a couple of years now? If it's just a case of 'running fast and hard', how successful have you been? Or are you just not fortunate enough to have the right bio-mechanics?

What of boxing? Are you arguing that boxing doesn't require any skill? You just need the right mechanics and physiology? I can't agree with you. In my view it takes skill to be a successful boxer.

I could train till the cows come home. I am not physiologically designed to be a national track runner. The skill is not the issue. I can run, I have good balance and a nice running technique, as do so so many humans. The problem is that I am not designed to be very good at it. I cannot generate the speed required to be a 400/800 or miler, for example. No matter how much I train that won't change. It is NOT a skills deficiency.

Hurling and other sports, boxing included, require a lot more mechanics and deft skills that you can learn and improve upon, but again, natural talent needs to be there to make it to the national level and above.

TRR wrote: »
    Shock horror. Thread goes off topic and pseudopolitical once certain posters become involved. How long before Godwin's law is invoked. I'm guessing by page 5 ;)

If you are referring to my posts then it's not off topic. Kiernan made the claim. It's on topic. It was part of his overall statement.

The actual mechanics are basic. Very basic.

This disagrees with your statement.

To succeed at a high level in any activity requires natural talent and skill, acquired over many years of training. Some folks say it takes 10,000 hours.

Until you've actually tried to compete at the highest level in any discipline, you can't adequately judge the skill involved.

Also, subtle skills, like muscle-memory and optimised body alignment, are much harder to notice than gross skills like catching a ball in flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

sideswipe wrote: »
    He really undermines his valid points with silly one.

I'm just glad there is somebody speaking out about this. Fair play to him for doing it, and he is spot on about there being absolutely no benchmark for standards in GAA.

I suppose the one point he is missing, is that he is talking only about standards in sport. But the GAA is about the fabric of society in a way that running or rowing clubs are not, and as such the GAA is to some extent a special case.

You dont get whole communities built around a running club except with very rare exceptions, maybe raheny for example. But you get it all the time in GAA.

But why they are spending 600k on a gaa field in the worlds richest city, where there 100,000 wealthy Irish that could be tapped for funds....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I would agree with you, but rightly or wrongly, I think its better to debate the case at hand....

The issue here is not whether GAA games are skilful or not. (And hurling is incredibly skillful).

The issue here is whether all our eggs should be in one basket.

I know where I live, all the five or six year olds have an option of either joining a GAA club or a soccer club. There is not much else.

I wish there was a running club for them to join, so they could try different things.

The facility isnt there.

Its about diversity, or lack of.

There was 3 allocations over €500K in both 2011 & 2012. Read the documents....

You are correct there are two other organisations which got €500,000:

The "Irish World Heritage Centre" in Manchester is being built: (but got less than Ruislip GAA grounds from Emigrant Funding!!!!!!).

And the "London Irish Centre", which in all areas of London, gives Advice on Debt, Employment Support, Moving to London, Provide Day Services for Older People, Older Persons Outreach, run the London Irish Survivors Outreach Service and help with Missing Persons. They also must run and fund a Helpdesk for all these worthy supports.
    They also provide: Concerts, festivals, film screenings, exhibitions, comedy, theatre for the Irish community.
    Opportunities to learn Irish dance, music, language, history,
    Community social work: Meet-ups, dinners, sports-screenings, our GAA club, networking, parties.

Perversly, this organization that directly helps Irish Emigrants in all areas of London gets LESS than Ruislip GAA.
    Correct. Its not sports funding, its infrastructure for Irish community in London

Allocating money for an independent sports organization to build fancier stadium seats is not Sports Funding??? Really???

Perhaps London Irish Rugby club should be given the allocation for the "London Irish Centre", and claim it as infrastructure for the Irish community in London.

But that would be taking the p*ss, wouldn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭ankaragucu

I'm not a Gerry fan.But I agree with most of what he said on this ocassion.
    I adore hurling, its a magnificent game.I hate gaelic football, its like a mass outbreak of GBH with a ball thrown in.
    Now what I find REALLY interesting is this.Considering that gaelic football is far and away more popular than hurling, any time that the issue of how much SKILL is involved, why is it that all the GAA heads always refer to hurling when trying to prove their point?!Even in this thread there are only mentions of the huge technical skills involved in hurling.No one held up the 'skills' in gaelic football as the reason for their argument.
    Has always amazed me that our two national sports are in the order of popularity that they are.It should be hugely the other way around.

The pot that is there to help Irish emigrants should NOT be raided.

who's to decide? you? perhaps the Irish emigrant population in London want/deserve/need/appreciate the money being spent in this manner? perhaps they don't - either way it again brings the argument away from the initial points.

The OP agreed with Gerry's argument but disagreed with his methods. I disagree with both his argument and his method.

His argument that the Fundingshould go to other sporting organisations is mute because this particular funding is not supposed to go to ANY sporting organization.

This is the Emigrant Support Programme mission statement below.

Funding a sports stadium upgrade surely does not constitute developing "more strategic links"...does it?
    Our Emigrant Support Programme (ESP) supports Irish communities overseas by funding non-profit organisations and projects. This allows us to develop more strategic links with the global Irish and to support frontline welfare services that help the most vulnerable members of our overseas communities.

The OP agreed with Gerry's argument but disagreed with his methods. I disagree with both his argument and his method.

His argument that the Fundingshould go to other sporting organisations is mute because this particular funding is not supposed to go to ANY sporting organization.

This is the Emigrant Support Programme mission statement below.

Funding a sports stadium upgrade surely does not constitute developing "more strategic links"...does it?

I don't disagree at all - BUT this is all going OT - Jerry obviously didn't realize where the funding was coming from, and also where exactly it was going - which is part of the issue - he heard the terms "gaa" and "funding" and "600k" and saw red - he's so anti GAA/other bodies, that he does athletics funding actual harm - he needs to shut up about what others get, and concentrate on doing some worthwhile lobbying of his own to get increased funding from wherever he can!

people will never refuse money!! so you can't blame Ruislip GAA (or whomever - I've actually lost track of the specifics!!)

all Jerry does is complain - I'd love to know how much actual funding he has secured by lobbying??

My guess is Zero

ankaragucu wrote: »
    !Even in this thread there are only mentions of the huge technical skills involved in hurling.No one held up the 'skills' in gaelic football as the reason for their argument.
    Has always amazed me that our two national sports are in the order of popularity that they are.It should be hugely the other way around.

Hurling trumps football in my view as regards skill levels. Football requires quite a bit of skill at the top level, just not to the same level as hurling.

TRR wrote: »

Yup, I'm bailing out of my own thread! All I wanted was a good ol' fashioned bitch-fest about the GAA! ;)

I don't disagree at all - BUT this is all going OT - Jerry obviously didn't realize where the funding was coming from, and also where exactly it was going - which is part of the issue - he heard the terms "gaa" and "funding" and "600k" and saw red - he's so anti GAA/other bodies, that he does athletics funding actual harm - he needs to shut up about what others get, and concentrate on doing some worthwhile lobbying of his own to get increased funding from wherever he can!

people will never refuse money!! so you can't blame Ruislip GAA (or whomever - I've actually lost track of the specifics!!)

all Jerry does is complain - I'd love to know how much actual funding he has secured by lobbying??

My guess is Zero

You're right. Jerry hates the GAA and this was more or less just an ignorant rant. Youre guess is no doubt close to accurate.

I don't actually blame the GAA at all. They're doing their best for their own and they believe they are doing right. The network of Irish people involved in Gaelic games in London is no doubt a handy tool for some within the Irish community. That's not the same as the GAA itself directly supporting Irish emigrants in need, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Every year Gerry comes out with this argument, every year bwalsh comes on and causes a stir and people react to it.

Things will never change.

Every year Gerry comes out with this argument, every year bwalsh comes on and causes a stir and people react to it.

Things will never change.

Are you implying that myself and Jerry are in cahoots?

I think he's implying that you ARE Jerry!......Nice hair BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

You're right. Jerry hates the GAA and this was more or less just an ignorant rant. Youre guess is no doubt close to accurate.

I don't actually blame the GAA at all. They're doing their best for their own and they believe they are doing right. The network of Irish people involved in Gaelic games in London is no doubt a handy tool for some within the Irish community. That's not the same as the GAA itself directly supporting Irish emigrants in need, however.

he is humped that the GAA is getting <10% of a development in London covered by emmigrant funds just like he his humped that at home sports related elite funding is given to GAA players (who dont win medals at the olympics as the sports arent in it) just as much as irish athletics (who dont win medals at the olympics as they just arent good enough)

by rights elite sports funding (which is a separate issue from the irish government emmigrant support schemes BTW) should be focused on those who can win medals like is the case in the UK.

and then participation based grants to get folks doing exercise. so 7s recreational rugby, school kids soccer, gaelic, track and field etc. etc.

But McKiernan isnt proposing either as he knows athletics would be decimated if they had to show a return on investment.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

just as much as irish athletics (who dont win medals at the olympics as they just arent good enough)

But Ireland has won medals for athletics
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ireland_at_the_Olympics

For a small country with such a small population and such underfunded athletics decade after decade we've done pretty damn well, considering most schools don't do anything athletics wise its actually amazing really.

With all the funding for the GAA in the world, it still wouldn't do anything on a international level when compared to Ireland's wins in athletics in international competitions.