Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4 Episode 15 - "US" [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Hmmm - Not great, but cleared up some complaints about group episodes, nice timings between stories - one group now in terminus - I get the feeling it wont be very nice there :D That mary woman is too damn nice and mammyish to be nothing more than a cvnt.

No mention of blondie at all?? Found that strange.

Overall a 7 for me :D

Next Up - Finale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

I think I can guess what's on the BBQ. Wonder if it was Mary who took Beth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Food on the brain you (geddit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Meh, meh and meh.

5/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I liked it. Unlike most other episodes this season I wasn't sitting there urging it to hurry up, it moved along nicely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

very good episode the pacing was perfect. that woman at the end gave me the creeps. terminus aint a happy place i feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

I enjoyed that episode enough

But I just don't feel that enough of a climax has been built up with there being just one episode left in the season 4, for me to be waiting all week to see how things pan out

Here's a bit of trivia for ya though :

Mary in Terminus is Bing Crosby's granddaughter :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Anticlimactic compared to last week imo

Good but not as good as last week, gave it an 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

That was a good well paced episode that sets up the finale nicely.

Im delighted we saw Terminus before the finale, I thought they may have left Terminus as a cliffhanger in that we wouldn't see it or find out what it was all about until the start of season 5, so glad that didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Tasha Yar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Terminus could be a cult??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Enjoyed that but the ending had me cringing, some of the music choices have been brilliant but that was the other end of the spectrum. I was half expecting everyone who died along the way to be around the corner sitting beside a campfire roasting marshmallows.

Two groups have now reached Terminus (Glenn and co. + Maggie, Bob, Sasha) and we know who Daryl's group are and where/who they're going to.

Does anyone think Glenn's pronunciation of Tara is the new Rick and 'Corrral'? Every time I just hear 'Terra'.

The suggestion above of someone from Terminus taking Beth has me questioning whether we're up for some Beth pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Didn't have last week's holy shìt factor, but enjoyable enough I thought, decently paced. I don't really buy Daryll's involvement with that group, though; seems like a plot device that is rather at odds with his character.

That Mary is a bit creepy - definitely gives a cult vibe to Terminus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Seems to be a lot of love for Eugene online after that episode. What's the verdict here? Eugene Yay or Nay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Deffo gonna be some cannibalistic mofo in that place at the end your woman was just creepy, and the place wasnt even locked up which was weird. I bet beth is locked up in there to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Haha, sunflowers and cheer - oh no you don't Walking Dead, I haven't watched the guts of four seasons of you to be fooled by cheery music and friendliness. Clearly whatever Terminus actually is, it sure as hell won't be the sanctuary and safety the characters believe it is. That much is certain. Lord knows what it really is: a cult? Cannibals? A whole colony of Lizzies, minds bent backwards in the face of Armageddon? Hell, the hopeful and optimistic reunification of Glenn and Maggie made it perfectly clear to me the sh*t is about to hit the fan; make 'em think the corner's turned, then the punch to the gut hits harder.
    Seems to be a lot of love for Eugene online after that episode. What's the verdict here? Eugene Yay or Nay?

He's a bit of an enigma. My first reaction, given this episode gave the most detail to his personality yet, is that he's a high-functioning autistic. His blunt attitute and mannerisms, his odd ways of talking to people, it reminds me a lot of the kind of 'Hollywood' autism you see in characters like Sheldon from Big Bang Theory, or the kid from Sci-Fi's Alphas.

And like Sanctuary, I don't believe for a second what is claimed is as advertised: there's no way Eugene actually knows what caused the plague or how it can be solved; he may believe it, but I suspect when the truth is revealed it'll be some obvious delusion on his part.

Otherwise a decent enough setting for the finale, and good to see the Lara Croft wannabe put on some clothes this episode.

Surely, surely Eugene has told his companions what has caused the outbreak...written it down or something. What with the possibility of him being killed it would be downright idiotic for him to wait till Washington to Divulge it to anyone!!

But if he told them, he himself would become expendable. The fact that he is the only one privvy to the information, means he's got a feckin arsenal of bodyguards around him. Like when Abraham wouldn't go into the tunnel because he couldn't be guaranteed Eugene would be safe.
    Stroke of genius on Eugene's part - he can't protect himself, so he's making sure he is well protected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

But if he told them, he himself would become expendable. The fact that he is the only one privvy to the information, means he's got a feckin arsenal of bodyguards around him. Like when Abraham wouldn't go into the tunnel because he couldn't be guaranteed Eugene would be safe.
    Stroke of genius on Eugene's part - he can't protect himself, so he's making sure he is well protected.
    I don't think Eugene is that manipulative. He went back to help Glynn and Tara because he wants a clear conscience when he saves the world. Abraham said they have lost eight people so far and I can't see Eugene being ok with sacrificing them just so he can live.

It's more likely that the explanation is too scientific for any of the others to comprehend and it's too complicated to be able to write down cohesively. Eugene strikes as the type who would know his subject matter inside out but would only be able to talk about it with other intellectuals on his level and would not be able to break it down into layman's terms. The group was in contact with scientists in Washington until two weeks before they met Glynn, so Eugene could've been passing on his knowledge to the save the world effort through them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

so I missed her introduce herself at the end cos I was shouting - that's only Tasha Bloody Yar!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Tasha Yar!

That's who it is! It was bugging me. Cheers for clearing it up.

Is it callous of me that I want to get rid of Tara? She's so annoying and is always falling and injuring herself at the very worst moment. She started that sh!t when she first left the apartment with the Governor. It's getting real old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

I think your manno (Daryl's dude) hit the nail on the head - some will go by way of Darwin - she'll be one of those - look at what happened to Beth for her singing! ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

What did Eugene and them see on the train tracks? How did they meet Maggie?

Grimebox wrote: »
    What did Eugene and them see on the train tracks? How did they meet Maggie?
    It was Maggie and co they saw coming out of the tunnel.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It was Maggie and co they saw coming out of the tunnel.

Did that happen in a previous episode or something?

No. Maggie explained to Glynn at the end that they had been coming through the tunnel that morning when they met a group of walkers. She shot into the ceiling which collapsed it and she and the others managed to get through. They walked to the end of the tunnel and met Eugene waiting for Glynn. They all drove back and rescued Glynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

A decent episode no doubt and Terminus is so obviously not the safe and sweet sanctuary its advertised as, but did anyone else find it just plain stupid that the only reason Daryls new scumbag mates are on the road and traveling potentially hundreds of miles through walker-littered towns was just to get even? Particularly when their own moral code isnt exactly logical..I reckon they are actually part of Terminus and they collect groups of people in order to cook them (see the prime juicy steaks being cooked at the last scene- Im betting thats a piece of Beth!).

If not cook and hoard innocent passers for supplies and weapons then they may have a deeper objective- after all, Woodbury had sanction under the guise of a deluded sociopath and the prison had its own set of rules too. In this new world, anything goes so Im guessing Michonne and Rick etc are going to be the last to arrive and sense what TERMINUS is really about and come to save the day. Or at least leave us hanging for 6 months thinking about it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Glenn. His name is Glenn.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    No. Maggie explained to Glynn at the end that they had been coming through the tunnel that morning when they met a group of walkers. She shot into the ceiling which collapsed it and she and the others managed to get through. They walked to the end of the tunnel and met Eugene waiting for Glynn. They all drove back and rescued Glynn.

Seems I started day dreaming for that part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

A decent episode no doubt and Terminus is so obviously not the safe and sweet sanctuary its advertised as, but did anyone else find it just plain stupid that the only reason Daryls new scumbag mates are on the road and traveling potentially hundreds of miles through walker-littered towns was just to get even? Particularly when their own moral code isnt exactly logical..I reckon they are actually part of Terminus and they collect groups of people in order to cook them (see the prime juicy steaks being cooked at the last scene- Im betting thats a piece of Beth!).

If not cook and hoard innocent passers for supplies and weapons then they may have a deeper objective- after all, Woodbury had sanction under the guise of a deluded sociopath and the prison had its own set of rules too. In this new world, anything goes so Im guessing Michonne and Rick etc are going to be the last to arrive and sense what TERMINUS is really about and come to save the day. Or at least leave us hanging for 6 months thinking about it....

My thoughts exactly! I'm thinking it's just down to poor writing though... any excuse to get them all to terminus.

Seems I started day dreaming for that part

Thankfully Pyddy Cyw was around to explain it

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

woodchuck wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly! I'm thinking it's just down to poor writing though... any excuse to get them all to terminus.

What else do they have to do? It's not like they have families or jobs to get back to. They were on the road anyhow as evidenced by them wandering into the house in the first place.

Was it Rick who strangled one of their guys yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Not a single child brutally murdered this week. Talk about inconsistency.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Was it Rick who strangled one of their guys yeah?

Yes; remember the episode where Rick found himself trapped in the house with a bunch of bandits? Daryl's new pals were those bandits; Rick killed one of them in the bathroom, who then turned and caused the commotion heard at the end of that episode. One of them saw Rick under the bed before passing out, so I guess at some point in the finale he'll see Rick, shooting will commence and Daryl will be forced to make a choice of allegiance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

pixelburp wrote: »
    Yes; remember the episode where Rick found himself trapped in the house with a bunch of bandits? Daryl's new pals were those bandits; Rick killed one of them in the bathroom, who then turned and caused the commotion heard at the end of that episode. One of them saw Rick under the bed before passing out, so I guess at some point in the finale he'll see Rick, shooting will commence and Daryl will be forced to make a choice of allegiance...

Fairly certain that was season 3's midseason finale :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

I think the crowd at Terminus are cannibals. I always thought the show kind of reminded me of that film The Road, fair enough they weren't zombies but the same kind of premise and the part where Viggo Mortensen and his son break into the house where the crowd living they had captives in the basement they were using for food. If so they should be well taking care of if Eugene is on a spitroast.

Anytime Joe and his crew talked about teaching Darryl a lesson, i thought they meant they were going to make him the gang bitch. "You shore have purrty hair Darryl."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

Will Tom Hanks be at the Terminus....waiting for asylum like

kaisersuzy wrote: »
    Will Tom Hanks be at the Terminus....waiting for asylum like

If the place they were going was called Terminal that would've been a great joke...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭kaisersuzy

If the place they were going was called Terminal that would've been a great joke...

Terminus-

the end of a railway or other transport route, or a station at such a point; a terminal.-

this could still be a great joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Very interesting episode. Had me entertained for the entire 45 odd minutes, which can't really be said for a lot of the episodes this season. Gave this one an 8.

Also something very eerie feeling around terminus. I expected them to walk around the corner to something resembling a street BBQ... but all we get is some wacky old woman. Definitely not going to be a good outcome for the group.

Also, what was Joe saying to Daryl about Terminus and in particular, the signs? Was he saying he knew the person who put them up???

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    Very interesting episode. Had me entertained for the entire 45 odd minutes, which can't really be said for a lot of the episodes this season. Gave this one an 8.

Also something very eerie feeling around terminus. I expected them to walk around the corner to something resembling a street BBQ... but all we get is some wacky old woman. Definitely not going to be a good outcome for the group.

Also, what was Joe saying to Daryl about Terminus and in particular, the signs? Was he saying he knew the person who put them up???

Nah he was talking about Rick, it was Daryls group that Rick encountered a few episodes earlier. He reckons Rick was from Terminus/is going there so thats where they're going I Think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Must've been one hell of a tunnel for Maggie and Co just to be appearing as Eugene got there.

As for the shooting the roof of said tunnel, lol, seemed stupid and that's not taking into account the amount of fallen debris for the 'hole'

They've really dropped the ball this series and that says something considering the mess that series three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Timmyctc wrote: »
    [/B]

Nah he was talking about Rick, it was Daryls group that Rick encountered a few episodes earlier. He reckons Rick was from Terminus/is going there so thats where they're going I Think.

Ahh that makes sense now. Cheers.

Liamalone wrote: »
    They've really dropped the ball this series and that says something considering the mess that series three.

Nowhere near as bad as the first half of season 2 though...

The Show (for 7 episodes): "Where's Sophia? We have to find Sophia!"
    The Audience (for the same 7 episodes): "Sophia's dead. She's in the barn. For the love of God look in the barn. Sooooooooooooooo bored already..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Tasha Yar!

fúk..I knew I knew her face from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Why does everyone think they're cannibals at terminus all of a sudden? somebody spoiling?

Nowhere near as bad as the first half of season 2 though...

The Show (for 7 episodes): "Where's Sophia? We have to find Sophia!"
    The Audience (for the same 7 episodes): "Sophia's dead. She's in the barn. For the love of God look in the barn. Sooooooooooooooo bored already..."

I don't think it was as bad as that though. There were some great episodes in season 2 (Now I'm open to correction but I thought they were prior to the midseason) The reveal of Sophia itself was great. The episodes with Otis and Shane were among the best so far imo. Especially the opening of the episode where Otis dies. It had Shane and Otis running in slow mo with Rick talking over the top telling a story about Shane. Great eps. The show for me died with Shane.

Dale's death scene too. Some great lines and speeches in the episodes. In comparison to the mindless drivel we usually get now. The episode Pretty much dead already I think is my favourite of the entire show too.

In summary. Season 2 is underrated. Seasons 3 and 4 are meh at best.

Tara to Eugene: "She clearly loves you, she would follow you anywhere" RE: Latina girl who has literally just done the complete opposite of what Tara is saying.

Why does everyone think they're cannibals at terminus all of a sudden? somebody spoiling?

She had big slabs of meat going on the bbq. To be honest it sorta seems very likely this is the direction the writers are headed RE: Terminus. Its the only way everything can go wrong and they can leave us on another fairly "Meh" cliffhanger for next season too.