Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Patrick Nulty resigns from Dáil for inappropiate messages to 17 year old girl on FB.

• 22-03-2014 9:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/patrick-nulty-td-resigns-after-sending-inappropriate-messages-to-teenager-on-facebook-30116871.html

Mr Nulty has only been a TD for just two-and-a-half years after winning the Dublin West by-election following the death of former Finance Minister Brian Lenihan.

The 31-year-old Independent TD said he sent the messages to the girl "while under the influence of alcohol". He also said he thinks he has never met the young woman.

Last night, Mr Nulty announced his resignation and appealed for privacy.

"I've made mistake in private life and I am taking personal responsibility for it,"

Additional link from Irish Times for balance before the usual 'Indo is a shíte paper' brigade turn up.

The words feckin eejit were the first things that sprang to my mind.

Another drunken scandal for an Irish politician.

I reckon he's just handed the seat back to FF too.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

He looks like a flasher!

What an idiot.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Sinn Fein released a statement: " Amazeeeballs "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the head on him:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

He's the oldest looking 31 year old I've ever seen!

Edit: From googling, it looks like he's suffered burn injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Sugar Free wrote: »
    I thought that, I really love the grey roots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I was just going to say that.
    He looks like he likes a sup or 2 of brandy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

He is definitely lying about his age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He reminds me of the old Frankie Boyle gag....

'What is it about the thick-rimmed glasses and comb over look that kids find so sexy?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't think that's an appropriate comment. Resign you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Disfigured in a chilhood accident.

Though that should'nt stop anyone calling him an effin idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

31+17 I'd say!

Twat either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the head on him:pac:

ehh...pretty sure he was burned in a fire as a kid

Anyway a TD resigning off his own bat, irish people may not know what to make of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The duuurty lookin' eeeeeji !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Just stay the fuccck away from the internet when drunk. Personal responsibility takes on a whole new level at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Isn't 17 the legal age?

Disfigured in a chilhood accident.

Though that should'nt stop anyone calling him an effin idiot.

I take it back if that has happened. Poor fella about his appearance but seriously no chance with a 17 year old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,287 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bit of Jackie Healy Rae/ Worzel Gummidge syndrome in this guy I bet, bleeding cabbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Bambi wrote: »

Anyway a TD resigning off his own bat, irish people may not know what to make of this

before people start applauding him for taking the high moral ground, this is why he resigned
    A TD sensationally quit the Dail after the Sunday World discovered he sent a late-night Facebook message to a 17-year-old schoolgirl asking: “Have you ever been spanked?”

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/td-sent-spanking-facebook-messages-to-girl-17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I'm surprised he resigned. Is this a first? Everything else I have seen which could be counted as despicable, like rezoning hospitals to areas that don't need them for votes, covering up Gardai corruption, getting caught taking brides, falsifying invoices to defraud the state, driving drunk etc... all stay in their jobs and pick up their paychecks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

George Lee anyone ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Isn't 17 the legal age?

Yes. But sending unsolicited sexual messages to unknown women isn't really something that TDs should be doing.

Skid X wrote: »
    before people start applauding him for taking the high moral ground, this is why he resigned

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/td-sent-spanking-facebook-messages-to-girl-17

Bahhahahaa ,idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The sentence in Bambi's post , has everyone read it ? Holy Grail stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Skid X wrote: »

Maybe she's into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A TD sensationally quit the Dail after the Sunday World discovered he sent a late-night Facebook message to a 17-year-old schoolgirl asking: “Have you ever been spanked?”

Just.. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Whatever about his stupidity, taking a hand out of someone's appearance isn't necessary is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Yes. But sending unsolicited sexual messages to unknown women isn't really something that TDs should be doing.

What he does in his own time is none of anyones business, once he isn't breaking the law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

True but hardly something the Gardai need to get involved in.

Boskowski wrote: »
    True but hardly something the Gardai need to get involved in.

Hard to know unless we know the exact content of all the messages and their frequency. From what's been reported thus far, I agree with you.

What he does in his own time is none of anyones business, once he isn't breaking the law

Well he clearly didn't think so.

Also, it wasn't done on his own time based on reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

Sad part is that he was actually a good TD for Dublin 15 and actually got things done for my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

"my account was hacked" ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Maybe she's into it.

Oh, and there are other allegations (although I'm not sure if he has admitted to these)
    The allegations against the TD (31) include a woman being asked to send underwear in the post and another being urged to wear a skirt when visiting his constituency clinic.

Classy.

I agree however he has chosen to be in public office where the spotlight is on him 24/7
    For him to be asking a girl does she liked to be spanked and sending it whilst he was in work on government time from the dail shows he isn't the sharpest tool in the bag
    Ring an Effin sex line on your mobile if you want to get off quickly

Like it or not he has to understand he will be destroyed by the public for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Probably best thing to do in circumstances. What a clown though.
    And yeah i thought he looked more 51 than 31.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

17 is not under the age of consent? He should resign but he's one of the very few Irish politicians with the decency to do it, so I'm oddly conflicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭jprboy

I'm surprised he resigned. Is this a first? Everything else I have seen which could be counted as despicable, like rezoning hospitals to areas that don't need them for votes, covering up Gardai corruption, getting caught taking brides, falsifying invoices to defraud the state, driving drunk etc... all stay in their jobs and pick up their paychecks.

Maybe this is what he was ultimately trying to do? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

humbert wrote: »
    17 is not under the age of consent? He should resign but he's one of the very few Irish politicians with the decency to do it, so I'm oddly conflicted.

Sending unsolicited messages which cause distress is illegal, though. I'd imagine that's what the Gardai are looking into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Resigned?

Had he been a member of one of the main parties I wager he would have held on like grim death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

The Sunday World are implying that it's women who contact his constituency office for help that are getting these messages. That makes it everyone's business. If he wants to send inappropriate messages to someone he met in a bar, more power to him but that's not what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

The durty fecker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

SeaFields wrote: »
    "my account was hacked" ....

"taken out of context"

Except that he's harassing women and displaying terrible judgement in doing so. Not the qualities that you'd be after in a public representative really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

vitani wrote: »
    The Sunday World are implying that it's women who contact his constituency office for help that are getting these messages. That makes it everyone's business. If he wants to send inappropriate messages to someone he met in a bar, more power to him but that's not what he's doing.

According to the article on the Sunday World website he told one woman to come to his constituency office wearing a skirt.

Fecking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Lapin wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/patrick-nulty-td-resigns-after-sending-inappropriate-messages-to-teenager-on-facebook-30116871.html

Mr Nulty has only been a TD for just two-and-a-half years after winning the Dublin West by-election following the death of former Finance Minister Brian Lenihan.

The 31-year-old Independent TD said he sent the messages to the girl "while under the influence of alcohol". He also said he thinks he has never met the young woman.

Last night, Mr Nulty announced his resignation and appealed for privacy.

"I've made mistake in private life and I am taking personal responsibility for it,"

Additional link from Irish Times for balance before the usual 'Indo is a shíte paper' brigade turn up.

The words feckin eejit were the first things that sprang to my mind.

Another drunken scandal for an Irish politician.

I reckon he's just handed the seat back to FF too.
    It happens a lot he just happens to be high profile.

January wrote: »
    According to the article on the Sunday World website he told one woman to come to his constituency office wearing a skirt.

Fecking eejit.

Sleazebag tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The dopey spanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,689 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Great big eejit. I assume plenty other crap will cone out now?? Anyone choosing public life is unfortunately accountable to public opinion/media opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Absolute fool, how could he do that and think it wouldn't get out. I'm very sad its Patrick, I'm in Dublin 15 and have known Patrick from before he was elected and always thought he was one of the few local politicians who actually gave a damn about the area and the people. :(