Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man shot near a creche during this mornings rush hour.

• 21-03-2014 10:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

WTF is wrong with these thugs?
    A man has been shot this morning near a creche in the Donaghmede area of Dublin.

The incident took place at approximately 9am on the Holywell Avenue, Gardai have confirmed to independent.ie

The man in question was shot last year and Gardai had warned him his life was in danger.

They are now investigating possible dissident republican links to this morning's shooting. 

Gardai are currently at the scene.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-shot-near-creche-during-morning-rush-hour-30113248.html

The country is going down the chutes to lawlessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

really has livened up since Gilligan was released

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Feckin toddlers and their guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Another scum bag shot by other scum bags again !!!

Not worth the ink really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

It was probably near a centra or spar as well.

jane82 wrote: »

And a road

A dog

And a cuddly toy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

If the auld dissident republicans aren't putting themselves on the line for the cause of Irish freedom and a united 32 county socialist republic, they are out protecting children from the drug peddlers. Busy people.

Gatling wrote: »

Not worth the ink really
    I'm glad you find the attempted murder of a man you don't know who was dropping kids to a creche entertaining.

BMJD wrote: »
    I'm glad you find the attempted murder of a man you don't know who was dropping kids to a creche entertaining.

99.9% of the time you are not shot for nothing

Was he dropping kids to creche?

99.9% of the time you are not shot for nothing

I have not been shot 100% of the time. Also, 100% of the people who witnessed this didn't deserve that.

Well the shooter probably did

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

People who are going out to murder someone else probably don't care if children are going to be scared by it.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Wanted in connection with 2 murders in belfast ,

Part of the Paul Ryan gang,

Good riddance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Good riddance
    Alan Ryan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

Paul Williams at it again. FFS, will someone think of the children !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Was he dropping kids to creche?

I'd say when he saw the gunman he dropped the kids off at the pool!*

*colloquism for having a sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

I find it entertaining too. Now you can be twice as glad!

Tilly wrote: »
    Alan Ryan?

Me bad that's the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Good riddance

he wasn't convicted of the murders.
    Saying he is wanted is probably a bit much , if the evidence was there he'd be extradited.
    So he may be suspected but not guilty.

I know who you are on about and I accept he isn't a nice person but nobody deserves to be shot (or killed like that) on front of their kids.
    What did his kid do too warrant seeing his dad shot?
    or the other kids either?

I'm kinda middle of the road on criminals shooting each other but doing it at a creche or school is the lowest of the low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

Right hold on here a sec can someone link me to the article that say's he was shot in front of his kids dropping them off at the creche please as i have not seen anything like that in the original post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Saying he is wanted is probably a bit of typical Irish Independent reporting.

FYP.

I'm not sure you need to pass JC remedial English to work for them if you know someone there. God be with the days when kids were given newspapers in English class to read, absorb and assess. Imagine doing it now.

As for the "wanted for two murders" bit, in the last few months John Gilligan has went from the multi millionaire Bill Gates of drug trafficking (from behind bars, no less), to being stone broke lodging in various family homes, hitting up old contacts for unpaid old debts, to now being checked in to a private rehab clinic in England.

I swear the North Korean press has more reliability than our own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

I heard he was shot near the penis. Cant have been too far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Dublinpato wrote: »
    Right hold on here a sec can someone link me to the article that say's he was shot in front of his kids dropping them off at the creche please as i have not seen anything like that in the original post.

you're a lazy article ... :pac:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-was-shot-in-face-as-he-dropped-off-his-child-at-dublin-creche-625662.html
    A man is fighting for his life in hospital after being shot in the face outside a creche in the Donaghmede area of Dublin.
    It happened as he was dropping his child off just after 9am.
    The victim, a man in his 30s, was dropping his child off at the Little Montsers creche in Donaghmede when a lone gunman approached him.
    He was shot in the face before his attacker fled the scene.
    The creche is located in the heart of a built-up residential area called Holywell Avenue.
    The man was taken to Beaumont Hospital where his condition is described as "serious" and sources say it is hard to tell at this stage if he will survive.
    A large area outside the creche has been sealed off and a forensics team arrived a short time ago.
    Anyone with information is asked to contact Coolock Garda Station or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Why would you call a crèche little monsters? You might as well call it little cµnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

tin79 wrote: »
    Why would you call a crèche little monsters? You might as well call it little cµnts.

What are you talking about? Its not called little monsters....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

This fella was involved in a number of dissident Republican groups and was rumoured to have been involved in one killing which involved someone getting decapitated with a shovel.

It really shows you the calibre of some of the armed groups today that they would actually accept someone like this as a member.

zefer wrote: »
    What are you talking about? Its not called little monsters....

It is. It says it in the article. Right there two posts above you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭tinpib

Jumping to conclusions there. 'Dropping off' doesn't mean he was holding his child's hand walking them to the creche when he was shot.

He could have 'dropped' his child off walked the possible couple of hundred yards back to his parked car, and quite far away from the kiddies and swings, and was shot just near there.

We don't know the facts.

But 'shot at creche as dropping kids off' is a much better headline and defo the one I would go with if I was working in the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭tinpib

It's called 'Little Montsers' in the above piece. Maybe it's a pun based on the fact the children are of an age just before they go to Montessori?

Or it's a typo.

tinpib wrote: »
    It's called 'Little Montsers' in the above piece. Maybe it's a pun based on the fact the children are of an age just before they go to Montessori?

Or it's a typo.

I'm gonna go with typo. Can you imagine the confusion calling it Little Montsers would cause? Although that WOULD be a pretty clever name for a Montessori school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

According to Google maps, the creche is called Little Rainbows.

Since the report is from breaking news, I'm going to take a guess that the "journalist" (I use the term loosely), heard it was called "Little Rainbows Montessori" and saw fit to mangle it into something else.

It would be a mistake to assume the scum who do this give a **** where they do it or who sees them. They pick a time when their target is vulnerable and shoot them. The don't care if there are OAPs or children or bright pink ponies in the area, they just do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

There is a little monsters creche. Its in Rush, north co Dublin tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

Just because it says it in the article, doesnt mean its true.
    Its not called little monsters.

zefer wrote: »
    Just because it says it in the article, doesnt mean its true.
    Its not called little monsters.

What's it called then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Our thoughts are with his family at this difficult time NOT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Santa Cruz wrote: »

Don't be stupid. It's not his family's fault he's a scumbag, I've known some fantastic people whose children grew up to complete arseholes; it could happen to anyone. Also the fact his young son will have that hanging over him is nothing to gloat about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Santa Cruz wrote: »

Including dumb, spiteful thoughts, presumably.

tin79 wrote: »
    I heard he was shot near the penis. Cant have been too far away.

He was shot in the head that would make him a dickhead then ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Typical morning in Dublin these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭893bet

Wait so BMJD says this?
    Feckin toddlers and their guns

But then straight after that someone else says.....

Not worth the ink really

Then BMJD says this in response.....

:confused::rolleyes:

893bet wrote: »
    Wait so BMJD says this?

But then straight after that someone else says.....

Then BMJD says this in response.....

:confused::rolleyes:

Its all about sitting back and waiting for the thanks to role in with these youngfellas.

No sympathy for the guy who was shot. However the fact he was shot near a creche where there was a chance of children either witnessing this attack or worse, actually getting harmed is the sickening part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

WTF is wrong with these thugs?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-shot-near-creche-during-morning-rush-hour-30113248.html

The country is going down the chutes to lawlessness.

It's a shooting - the new laws are going to be for Take-aways being a certain distance from schools, no mention of "Take-outs".

No sympathy for the guy who was shot. However the fact he was shot near a creche where there was a chance of children either witnessing this attack or worse, actually getting harmed is the sickening part.

Thats why they kept the bullets at head height. Relax they have it covered.

Im assuming you were joking with your reply but in fairness if your a child would you not feel deeply traumatised and affected by a man getting blasted in the middle of day?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Im assuming you were joking with your reply but in fairness if your a child would you not feel deeply traumatised and affected by a man getting blasted in the middle of day?

They just think its Grand Theft Auto day at school!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I'm not being funny here, if this happened in front of the four year old me I probably would be excited beyond belief. Sirens, cops toting guns, personally I would have been on cloud nine. Too much watching The Bill, American cop shows and The A Team for me so there was :pac: I remember my cousin getting brought home when he was about 15 (I was 5 odd) after the cops caught him knacker drinking, I was more jealous about the fact that he had got a spin in a cop car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I dont get the whole "your life is in danger" and sticking around bit.
    Its time to pack up and get out, you know. Does'nt matter how hard you think you are or how sharp. No one is Superman. Like I get one aspect... you dont run when someone says boo because there is hot air, idle threats etc. But when things get heavy. Such as being shot before. Is it not time to pack your bags?

Sure take that guy who got killed this week. The 'associate' of Gilligan. Was driving a bullet proof car reports stated. That's all well and good but he parked the car and walked to his door when the killer/s gunned him down. If someone wants you dead they will find a way.

If you aint gonna run at least lay low for a while. I just don't get it.