Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When your brain just switches off

• 19-03-2014 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭LoveLamps

Undoubtedly there's been threads similar to this, and to those who care, I'd like you to know that I don't.

Anyway, got any tales of when your brain just switched off?

Was in McDonald's on O'Connell Street after a concert one night, and I had been drinking. Forgot to get a drink so went downstairs to get one, queued up (a good 10 mins) asked for a bottle of water, paid the nice lady, received my change, lady went to get water, I walked off happy as Larry back up 2 flights of stairs, sat down and realised I never actually got my water.

Went back downstairs and was greeted by the lady shaking her head smiling. Nice woman.

Well folks of AH, after scanning this forum for more than a few mins I think quite a few of you should have a tale to tell here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

LoveLamps wrote: »
    Undoubtedly there's been threads similar to this, and to those who care, I'd like you to know that I don't.

Anyway, got any tales of when your brain just switched off?

Was in McDonald's on O'Connell Street after a concert one night, and I had been drinking. Forgot to get a drink so went downstairs to get one, queued up (a good 10 mins) asked for a bottle of water, paid the nice lady, received my change, lady went to get water, I walked off happy as Larry back up 2 flights of stairs, sat down and realised I never actually got my water.

Went back downstairs and was greeted by the lady shaking her head smiling. Nice woman.

Well folks of AH, after scanning this forum for more than a few mins I think quite a few of you should have a tale to tell here!

I forgot what I was going to post!

I went into Burger King a few weeks ago and asked for two cheeseburgers off the euro saver menu.

Was only afterward, I remembered seeing the paper crowns lying about ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Might be quicker if I list the times my brain switched on ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I drove to the nearest town (15 minute drive) to buy a soda, i had some great metal music on the radio and was having a great time listening to it, i had driven there and back and realised that i forgot to go to the shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

I don't know how many times I've opened the fridge to put the bread "back" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

Aphex wrote: »
    I don't know how many times I've opened the fridge to put the bread "back" in :o

Giggidy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Going to the Van for material or tools and forgetting what you went out for, and when in conversation with someone and end up talking about a person and not able to remember their name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Birdster

I was getting ready to go to work, put the make up, put the runners on, checked handbag, out the front door and while I was locking it I noticed I still had my pj bottoms on...........

Yes I put my socks and runners on and didn't take any notice of Minnie Mouse.......at least I wasn't half way down through Rathmines when I noticed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Spent a period of a few weeks at the start of the year in an absolute daze. Ended up leaving one of my lectures without my really nice jacket and when I went back it was nowhere to be found. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 The Antigay

>tfw no brain

I go to Tesco to get the shopping somtimes. The Missus times it and rings me as I wander aimlessly around, knowing full well I have no idea WTF I'm there for, despite being told three times before I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

My brain switches off when I lock the back door before going to bed, I have to check it about five times to make sure I actually locked it. Better go check again just to be safe.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

what does the switch look like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Can relate to most of these.
    I opened the fridge one morning, to place the phone in it. I have no idea why. Should add, I copped what I was doing, and didn't actually put the phone in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

I hate it when my Brian switches o
    ff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Scotty P

Put €7 in the parking machine for almost three hours of parking last week and as I was paying for food a few hours later, after seeing a film at the cinema, pulled out the parking slip people generally place on the car's dash.

Miraculously though, I wasn't clamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

A few years ago while typing an email, I forgot how to spell the word "make". Un-feckin-believeable. I was there going - Mac, Mace etc. . It came to me about 2 mins later.

Also, after making a cup of tea combined with daydreaming, im afraid to admit to putting the milk in the press and the sugar in the fridge (almost). By the time I go to place the sugar beside the yogurts I spot the error of my ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Having family breakfast way back when. My dad asked me to pass him the salt. I was daydreaming, and passed him the sugar. Even better, he then proceeded to put sugar on his egg. I wasn't the only one not properly awake that morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I've lost track of how many times I've gone upstairs or into the kitchen for something and forgotten that I'd actually gone there to do something.

Put on the washing the other night and then realised I'd forgotten to put the detergent ball in.

Have walked away from the till after paying for phone top up but walking off without waiting for it.

Went to the pharmacy for painkillers and dressings yesterday, forgot the painkillers:(

There are just too many incidents to remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Almost daily occurance here. In the past few weeks have lost/mislaid my temporary tooth and wedding ring. Frequently up and down stairs after getting up - forgetting something. Pour boiling water on teabag in cup and go to put milk in 30 mins later. Locked keys in truck a few months ago - had to ring specialist to recover them.
    But then, I've always been scattered in that way :)

Sorry, what was the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

Trying to lock the house with the car key, the button not the actual key...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I put shower gel in my hair instead of shampoo recently. The bottles are the same colour!!

Oh and I often come out with a "thank you" to the ATM when it gives me my money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I listened to the stationmaster telling me which train to board, but my lefts and rights and tops of the platforms all fell asleep, and I embarked on a 500m journey to a shunting yard, to be met by laughing men in high-vis vests. Then I had to explain myself to the bus driver whom the laughing men arranged to take me to meet the train further down the line, very loudly over the engine and the radio, to the amusement of the passengers. :o

I had a job interview with a well known financial institution a few months ago. They asked me about my Masters dissertation....do you think I could remember what it was about, let alone the title of it? Not at all!

Needless to say, I did not get the job. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Pouring some tea. I filled the whole mug with milk and a drop of water.

Just completed a 14 hour shift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I go to Tesco to get the shopping somtimes. The Missus times it and rings me as I wander aimlessly around, knowing full well I have no idea WTF I'm there for, despite being told three times before I left.

I'm the spa in tesco talking to myself....trying to replay the conversation that took place 3 minutes previous in our kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Was at a wedding a few weeks ago and in the jacks the sinks were in a mini-section separate from the toilets. So you walk in the door to the "sink area" and go through another door for the "toilet area". Anyway, in I walk at some stage during the night as I was bursting for a number 2 after the meal earlier on. On my merry way back out, and feeling a few pounds lighter, I was wondering why there were two women washing their hands in the lads sinks.

Turns out I never realised I was dropping what was an epic load in the ladies jacks. I scadadalled to the bar in mortification and laid low for the rest of the festivities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I put one of those frozen uncooked pizzas into the oven onto the rack in the same way you would a regular frozen pizza. Looked a bit like this.

mfceiling wrote: »
    I'm the spa in tesco talking to myself....trying to replay the conversation that took place 3 minutes previous in our kitchen.

Yet I can reel off a materials list for a job that runs to three pages and remember every price, dimension and hour for the last six months. Can't remember tea-bags, milk and eggs. I reckon it's a form of builders autism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Taking milk of the fridge turning round putting milk on counter top, turning back and opening the fridge to take the milk out.

A bit too often for my liking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I regularly have a bath/shower, get dried, go to put on deodorant and realise I have only shaved one armpit - it's always the same one that I forget.
    I also shave my legs, wash my hair etc then think - better shave my legs - go to do it and they're already done.

I seem to only lose my brain when bathing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

The morning I tried to put my underwear on over my pyjama bottoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Also I believe the technical term is "brain fart".

e_e wrote: »
    The morning I tried to put my underwear on over my pyjama bottoms.

Superhe_ero!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Once, when I was about 17, I ran myself a bath and forgot to put in the plug. It took me ten minutes of staring at the water rushing down the plughole before I realised there was something wrong with this picture.

Got killed by my mother for wasting hot water too! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I got asked my age by a barman last week when I wasn't expecting it (was with my family and went to get a whiskey for my gran) and just completely blanked. Stared at the barman for a few seconds, considered it and blurted "21!".

I'm 22 and have been for quite a few months now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

After a night out I had a friend call me saying that he had lost his phone and was wondering if I saw it anywhere.

Then I asked him what he was calling me from; I'll never forget his reaction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Birdster wrote: »
    I was getting ready to go to work, put the make up, put the runners on, checked handbag, out the front door and while I was locking it I noticed I still had my pj bottoms on...........

Yes I put my socks and runners on and didn't take any notice of Minnie Mouse.......at least I wasn't half way down through Rathmines when I noticed..

I did similar where I got fully dressed and ready for the day and left my house with no shoes on! The cold hard ground swiftly reminded me of what I was missing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Was heating my lunch in the microwave one day, one of my collegues asked me to put her lunch in for her when my one was finished. Put it in, set the time and was about to press start until she shouted into me "You might want to take the metal spoon out first"
    :o

Can't count the amount of times I've put the coffee into the fridge and the milk into the press before realizing what I've done. I've also pulled a tray out of a piping hot oven only to drop it because, surprise surprise, it was hot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i've often taken a half drank mug of coffee and just dropped it into the bin instead of the sink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭silverbolt

dont know if its quite the same thing but i used to work in a call centre where we had a mandatory legal script to say on each phone call. Every phone call went pretty much the same way.

I learned it off so well that one time i took a call and dozed off, i read pretty much the entire script and only realised i was asleep when i said something mid sentence that had nothing to do with the topic at hand (dont rmember what it was now) but the customer went "what" which jolted me out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I boil the kettle, take out the milk, and then almost put the kettle back in the fridge :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

kowloon wrote: »
    I put one of those frozen uncooked pizzas into the oven onto the rack in the same way you would a regular frozen pizza. Looked a bit like this.

Similar moment here, I stuck a normal frozen pizza in and accidentally turned the grill on instead of the oven (electric combi oven/grill) Grilled it for 20 minutes with the oven door closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

I drive throught two towns on my way to work. The amount of times I pull up at work and have no recollection of stopping or even seeing any of the traffic lights. It scares the hell out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Dog barking. So I try to turn him down with the tv remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

TheBody wrote: »
    I drive throught two towns on my way to work. The amount of times I pull up at work and have no recollection of stopping or even seeing any of the traffic lights scares the hell out of me!

That's only happened to me once, was driving home from town. There's a few different ways I can go, got back into the house and could genuinely not remember which way I took home. It really freaked me out actually, never let it happen again, it's far too scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

I went through a phase a few months ago of going about putting my shoes on before my trousers. Seems to have stopped now-

TheBody wrote: »
    I drive throught two towns on my way to work. The amount of times I pull up at work and have no recollection of stopping or even seeing any of the traffic lights. It scares the hell out of me!

My sister flew home from the US for my grandfather's funeral, and just about made it on time, having been delayed by red tape about her visa. She dashed out the door of Shannon airport, hired a car, tore up the road to Galway and had a panic attack in Gort wondering what the fcuk had happened to Ennis. She was full sure she was losing it untill we eventually told her they'd opened a by-pass the previous month. She's so cute when she's freaking out. :D