Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada working holiday visa,how much should i bring over there?is ?E2500 ok?

• 19-03-2014 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

Canada working holiday visa,how much should i bring over there?is E2500 ok?I have'nt any job set up yet.I am qualified in Air conditioning but I might just go for a labouring job?im thinking of doing a house share then hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭john_jobin

Canada working holiday visa,how much should i bring over there?is E2500 ok?I have'nt any job set up yet.I am qualified in Air conditioning but I might just go for a labouring job?im thinking of doing a house share then hostel.

€2500 is the minimum funds you have to bring over, so if you do only bring over that much be sure to have a return flight booked too, otherwise they may reject you at the border

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 leechris007

Well 2500 dollars you need for getting in but is it hard getting set up there?thinking of going to edmonton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭goingitalone

Well 2500 dollars you need for getting in but is it hard getting set up there?thinking of going to edmonton.

It's 2500 dollars so . 2500 euro is about what 3800 cad realistic you really wanna have like double that yourr money won't last long cause Canada isn't cheap. Plus money set aside for just incase too . I mean your in a different country you won't have anyone to help ya out with help like you would here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

It's 2500 dollars so . 2500 euro is about what 3800 cad realistic you really wanna have like double that yourr money won't last long cause Canada isn't cheap. Plus money set aside for just incase too . I mean your in a different country you won't have anyone to help ya out with help like you would here.

Bring as much as possible, you will bleed money at the start, you will have to buy everything!!
    Accommodation will eat through that money pretty fast!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 robcarty011rc

I have $8.5K saved for it & still would like more than that. You have to remember that as soon as you get accomodation thats likely to be $1K gone straight away.

where in Canada will you go with 8.5k?

Toronto. I've had mates go over with 8 or 9 k and within 6 months are down to their last 1 or 2 k.

That's stupidity and treating the visa purely as a holiday. I do want to spend a bit of time having fun but primarily going to work. If I get a job fairly sharpish and budget well I hopefully won't have too many money worries

6 months without working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭billyduk

6 months without a job? All of them? Good grief!

Theres was 5 of them & only two could find jobs in the first few months. I think anyone who thinks that they'll be getting a decent full time job straight off the plane really has the wrong idea.

But like i say, those lads treated it like a holiday like many Irish do & spend all their money on booze. If you have any sort of cop on youd be able to manage on 3 or 4 grand while looking for a job I'm sure. I just want to make sure I'm never stuck for money over there

Toronto. I've had mates go over with 8 or 9 k and within 6 months are down to their last 1 or 2 k.

That's stupidity and treating the visa purely as a holiday. I do want to spend a bit of time having fun but primarily going to work. If I get a job fairly sharpish and budget well I hopefully won't have too many money worries
    I'm the same man plan on going with no less then 10 k+ and I won't be treating it like a holiday as well .plan on setting out looking for work right away.

i might have 3k in euros but ill be keeping it tight.maybe a stop off in Boston for 2 days before Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭NewsMeQuick

I'm bringing €20,153. €3-5k just wasn't enough.

I'm just finishing up college now at the minute so I'm pretty broke! Going to work at home until maybe around Christmas and save up a bit of a nest egg to keep me going for a while, Hopefully around €10,000

Only 20 k ehh lol

20 k sounds like you dont need to move country.

Well la di da! No recession around NewsMeQuicks place! :p

20 k sounds like you dont need to move country.

Who's to say NewsMeQuick hasn't been saving for years for the opportunity to start a new life like this.

It's a Working Holiday Visa too. Plenty of people are doing this to travel and see the world, not just to get jobs!

john_jobin wrote: »
    Who's to say NewsMeQuick hasn't been saving for years for the opportunity to start a new life like this.

It's a Working Holiday Visa too. Plenty of people are doing this to travel and see the world, not just to get jobs!

Thanks for the analysis John!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Wexman2213

I plan on heading over in june,with around 3k euros, plan on getting work after a few weeks, im a carpenter by trade and ive being talking to a few gaa clubs over there and they said youl pick up casual work very handy and 3000 is more than enough

Nice one.I do refrigeration and air conditioning but I need to do a coarse for there way of things.So I should be able to get some working labouring or something.3000 should be enough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Wexman2213

All depends where to go now i am thinking vancover or alberta thats where ive bein told that the construction industry is booming, im travelling alone, im a 26yr old male, anyone else in the same boat?

Ya Im gone alone to but Edmonton looks the place for me.Everyone seems to go to Vancover and toronto.

john_jobin wrote: »

lol ive talked to news on here hes going to get work too like 99.9999% of people now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I intend to have temporary accommodation booked before I travel, and a full time position start date agreed within 4 - 6 weeks of arrival (arranged before I leave Ireland!). Should give me time to find permanent place to live, and do a bit of exploring before I start full time employment. :)

I don't plan on actually travelling until maybe March 2015, so I have plenty of time to save money!

GrumPy wrote: »
    I intend to have temporary accommodation booked before I travel, and a full time position start date agreed within 4 - 6 weeks of arrival (arranged before I leave Ireland!). Should give me time to find permanent place to live, and do a bit of exploring before I start full time employment. :)

I don't plan on actually travelling until maybe March 2015, so I have plenty of time to save money!

The job part like that unless you're in the trades is far easier said then done

I'm in IT, plenty of work. I won't travel unless I have a confirmed job agreed.

likewise im a sys admin but might not be traveling then with that opinion . vast majority of company's wont look at you , without a Canadian address and number . plus the hiring system over there is rather drawn out unlike here . ive been on to recruiters too , they will tell you the same. im not saying you wont get work because you will but chances are you wont get it before you go to leave tho .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'll be going with approx 4k, I don't plan on being fussy on what job I get in order to get set up in Toronto. Bar work would be preferable as I'm going solo and would like to socialize!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Flutterby33

I'll be going with approx 4k, I don't plan on being fussy on what job I get in order to get set up in Toronto. Bar work would be preferable as I'm going solo and would like to socialize!

Same here, I have a place to stay initially though so that takes some weight off around deposits and stuff. See you at a bar in TO!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 wittyusername

I applied to the job I'm in now (in Toronto) from Dublin. There were parts of the process I could do from a distance (such as an initial Skype chat and a code exam) but nothing was offered until I met them in person in the office. Which is fair enough, really - there's no point in them sticking their necks out too far for the sake of someone who might bottle it and not show up.

After I met with them here it was almost exactly a month before I started. I applied to the company directly rather than via a recruiter so if you see the opportunity to do so, I'd recommend trying to do the same - it could shave a couple of weeks off your initial start date.

nothing was offered until I met them in person in the office.

was kinda what i was gonna get at there going to be no actual job offer until your there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Same here, I have a place to stay initially though so that takes some weight off around deposits and stuff. See you at a bar in TO!:P

Ha, I think I'd have a place to stay for the 1st week if I was stuck but I'm actually keen on getting into the hostel scene for a week or two. It's how a lot of the solo travelers get roommates etc!

But yes, see you at the bar!! Get the first round in!

There so much to set up again when over,sim card , Canadian pps number,bank account,accommodation and most important a job.Then I might to get a car ,then I have to change to there driving licence class 5.Can I do any of that here?

I applied to the job I'm in now (in Toronto) from Dublin. There were parts of the process I could do from a distance (such as an initial Skype chat and a code exam) but nothing was offered until I met them in person in the office. Which is fair enough, really - there's no point in them sticking their necks out too far for the sake of someone who might bottle it and not show up.

After I met with them here it was almost exactly a month before I started. I applied to the company directly rather than via a recruiter so if you see the opportunity to do so, I'd recommend trying to do the same - it could shave a couple of weeks off your initial start date.

What industry are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 aerotuned

Hello, I'm on the same boat heading to edmonton on the 12th of April, no job no nothing, I'm a carpenter, hope n to wing it and see where it goes, typical , I've about 2 g sterling and that's it.
    Leaving a decent job with decent pay in the uk,
    Don't know any 1 over really either , looks like I won't be able to meet ye in the bar:(

aerotuned wrote: »
    Hello, I'm on the same boat heading to edmonton on the 12th of April, no job no nothing, I'm a carpenter, hope n to wing it and see where it goes, typical , I've about 2 g sterling and that's it.
    Leaving a decent job with decent pay in the uk,
    Don't know any 1 over really either , looks like I won't be able to meet ye in the bar:(

I wouldn't worry too much man. Look at it as "glass half full" ;)
    It's exciting, and you'll be in your element in no time. Keep your ears and eyes open and do as much research as you can between now and when you get there. Get chatting to people in bars, too. :D Often, it's who you know; not what you know. :)

Ah ya I'll try it any way ,have a 1 way ticket booked, jobs always here when I get back.

you must have your visa got already if you booked for April?

Last years didn't use it , will be up by the 15th of April if I don't go. Must try get work now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 wittyusername

Software, seems to be a few jobs about for those with a chunk of experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭guest124

Even though im not going until early 2015, would it be a good idea to exchange some euros for CAD now? With the current exchange rate?! Obviously im not saying I want to fill a trunk with Canadian cash haha just a little savings.

When you consider $150 was €120 last year but €100 now.

guest124 wrote: »
    Even though im not going until early 2015, would it be a good idea to exchange some euros for CAD now? With the current exchange rate?! Obviously im not saying I want to fill a trunk with Canadian cash haha just a little savings.

Interesting point! If you're unsure, I can mind your euro's and make sure you get the best exchange rate? Just forward me your current account details and 3 digit debit card verification in a PM and I'll get working on it.

Haha. Thank you kind stranger.

Good point Guest124.. now you have me thinking about doing that. Can't really see it improving much more than it is right now, although you never know!

Yeah, finance and that all money market stuff is not my forte, so i dont know if the canadian dollar is still weakening or if it is getting stronger!

Same option goes to you Flutterby33. Just PM me your details and I'll look into it on your behalf.

Truly a kind soul ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭NewsMeQuick

guest124 wrote: »

If you are interested in exchanging money now for use in one year, I'd say don't do it.

Look at the rate here: https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/q/bc?s=EURCAD=X&t=3m&l=on&z=m&q=l&c=

The Euro to Canadian Dollar exchange rate (EUR/CAD) has been on the rise in value for the past year and a half roughly. You can see it in the chart yourself (in the 5 year view it gives better perspective). If you had two people in one family who went to Canada, one person went one year ago, and the other now, the expense difference is phenomenal. The person who went a year ago would have had to save up the equivalent of one month living expenses extra (single person, sharing) to match the value in dollars that the other family member going now gets. That's how much the EUR/CAD has appreciated in value in one year. (1.27 vs 1.5x)

I was thinking about exchanging money 3 months ago and I'm so glad I didn't. It's still rising. The last week or so it has dipped but only a fraction and it's normal. I'd say if Greece goes officially bankrupt (very unlikely now) then I'd change because the Euro would fall through the floor.

There's really two sides to why this is happening, confidence in the Eurozone and in Canada. The rise of the Euro for the last year and a half is directly related to the increased stability of the Eurozone countries, especially Greece, after, Ireland, Spain, Portugal. If you google it you'll find comments from the Canadian government 'preferring a weaker Canadian dollar' so they're happy to play with economic tools to allow this change. (cheaper exports for one).

For use in a year I wouldn't change either €100 for the fee or €4000 for living expenses.

Thanks NewsMeQuick! So you reckon the exchange rate will get better or at least stay about the same for awhile yet. I'll just keep my eye on the rate anyway :)