Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what the most neccessary machinery you need for your livestock farm

• 18-03-2014 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭

for me it be fert spreader, mower and slurry tank everything else I survive without if need be

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Tractor loader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I'll go most unnecessary.
    Diet feeder no.1
    Hedge trimmer
    If I could get someone to bale it would be bsler as well.
    Hard to have time to service baler and know how to look after it right.
    Hate diet feeder most though

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

QUAD!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭visatorro

Quad is next investment here hopefully and a little fert shaker for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Sledge hammer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'll go most unnecessary.
    Diet feeder no.1
    Hedge trimmer
    If I could get someone to bale it would be bsler as well.
    Hard to have time to service baler and know how to look after it right.
    Hate diet feeder most though

On the unnecessarys, I'll add roller and topper to that list, both get far too much use around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If you assume that a tractor is a given, then silage feeding equipment is number 1, because around here it's going to be used for 5+ months of the year, so bale spike and/or shear grab.

Transport box (no fancy power box) would be next. That's it. Everything else l could do without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

give me a cattle stick and a good pair of boots and yees can keep all the machinery.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Atv and spreader so fast and handles soft and rough. Sheargrab. Sprayer. Tanker.If ur cleaning up Moving muck Or filling drains it is powerbox all the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Timmaay wrote: »
    On the unnecessarys, I'll add roller and topper to that list, both get far too much use around here.

Gardening on a grand scale.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Milking machine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Loader, either on a tractor or digger or loadall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Quad and Skidsteer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Haybob.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,229 ✭✭✭tanko

A good cattle crush.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Topper, fertlizer spreader, sprayer, chain harrow,roller and way of handing silage wheather it is bales or pit,

Sprayer for weed control and allows you to spray off for reseeding.

Chain harrow and roller again for reseeding (I get a lad to disc with independent disc harrow can do the rest myself.

Topper used at right stage to control grass quality.

Fertlizer spreader goes without saying.

Slurry baling cutting etc loads of lads out there contracting at or near cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

jcb loader it is a412S a great yoke around the yard .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

a means of handling bales. everything else is a bonus

• Registered Users Posts: 24,381 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

a means of handling bales. everything else is a bonus

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A calculator :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Stick and a dog :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Milking machine
    milking machine and nit really machinery but my phone

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

For sheep farming , a quad bike
    That is assuming the absence of a sheep dog or a fast pair of running legs on you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Front loader.
    Can't understand how lads manage without them.
    Feeding, cleaning sheds, loading fertilizer and generally moving heavy crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bbam wrote: »
    Front loader.

It's gas it's on a wish list but get on fine without it. Saying that if I had one l'd find work for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Muckit wrote: »
    It's gas it's on a wish list but get on fine without it. Saying that if I had one l'd find work for it!

Yea. You'll find work for it ok. Saves the body. I've a serious back injury and without the loader I couldn't do anything round the place at all. Considering getting a back actor too. They only do small jobs but that would do me fine. I just want to be able to get out and do stuff, it's a balls standing back all the time for someone more able to step in. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Reggie. wrote: »

What about the square baler reggie ? :D.. Ye couldn't be without it last summer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

bbam wrote: »
    Front loader.
    Can't understand how lads manage without them.
    Feeding, cleaning sheds, loading fertilizer and generally moving heavy crap.

While I have a front loader I find the rear spike on the 2WD Tractor faster to feed during the winter. Door also missing and not as high makes it faster in/out and up/down. I use the power link box on either tractor for cleaning sheds. Would not rate power link box as essential but it high up. Will get a bucket for loader in the next few years but not essential.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Quad and trailer especially when im lambing and tractor loader with tine grab for riping apart bales of silage.....nearly eliminates forking completely!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,381 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

What about the square baler reggie ? :D.. Ye couldn't be without it last summer :D

Oh that too, she ll be out again this year. I have a feeling :D