Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mini Cooper S (blue and white) Stolen Dublin 12

• 17-03-2014 7:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

Folks,

Am having a moment here in Kimmage, Dublin 12. Bertie the Wondercar was stolen from our drive last night (thieves broke into house and stole keys). Please keep an eye out and report to Gardai (ideally Sundrive Road, phone 01 6666600) if you spot anything. Details as follows:

Mini Cooper S
    Registration 06 D 1513
    Blue and white
    Sunroof
    Grey and blue leather interior
    Much loved

Pic is not actually Bertie the Wondercar but is a similar make and model.

Off to have a little cry.

:(

c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Sorry to hear this - hope they find the scroats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭coolaboola

Thanks Muppetcheck. Hoping any Boardsies in the vicinity will keep their eyes peeled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

:-/

Sorry to hear that, nice machine. I will keep an eye out in Lucan.

Pop a photo here, if you are on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/StolenAndRecoverdIreland?fref=ts

And here https://www.facebook.com/Crime.ie?fref=ts

Thanks franksm. Appreciated.

Have already posted on https://www.facebook.com/StolenAndRe...reland?fref=ts and to crime.ie website. Will also post to https://www.facebook.com/Crime.ie?fref=ts right away. Thanks for the suggestion :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Sorry to hear :mad:

Also throw it up here they tend to share a lot of stolen vehicles as well.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Leinster-Garda-Checkpoints-and-Speed-Van-Locations/416273205150404?fref=ts

Ill keep an eye out around Clondaklin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Quick, check all the hairdressers in the area:D

Really though, hope you get it back in one piece. It's a horrible feeling, seeing that empty space.

:D Roadsmart!

Thanks for the link Marty McFly, and for keeping an eye out :) Really do appreciate it. I'll go post now.

Ok post done. Gardai have been good. Crime scene team have already been and gone (without much hope of prints - evidently our uninvited visitors wore gloves) ... Empty space so sad :(

I really do appreciate Boardsies' contributions. Thank you.

Update: Have flash of inspiration today: Bertie the (Stolen) Wondercar was registered on eFlow. Called eFlow (who were very helpful) and lo and behold Bertie whizzed northbound through M50 toll at 02:01 on 17.3.14 and southbound at 02:48... So whoever has/had Bertie is/was driving around with the original plates and presumably may still be somewhere around south Dublin.

I've let the Gardai know. According to eFlow there's an EFlow Garda Liaison person in Dublin Castle who can provide Gardai with pictures

Still no sign of Bertie though. Please keep your eyes peeled for blue and white Mini Cooper S reg 06 D 1513 if you're out and about (like the one in the pic).

And once again thanks to all the wise Motoring Boardsies for sensible advice and sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Sorry to hear about your car coolaboola, hope you get it back. Just a thought did you knock in and tell your neighbours to be extra careful about locking up their doors and be that more vigilant.

Thanks mad m. Good idea. I've spoken to one of my neighbours (haven't seen the other since the incident)

As I was making dinner this evening I made the disturbing discovery that the thieves also stole a meat cleaver from the kitchen *shudder* Have reported this to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I hope it turns up safe and sound for you. Nothing worse then losing a car you're attached too.

I'll watch around Finglas.

Thanks Moneymaker. Yep, Bertie was the first 'fun' car we've ever owned. We really enjoyed our little Mini. Still in hope we'll be reunited... *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'm well away from you but will keep an eye in the Laois/Offaly area.
    You never know :)

Really sorry by the way, horrible thing to happen!

Ta YbFocus, for both Laois/Offaly surveillance and sympathy :)

Update: Good news! Bertie has been located. Don't know what condition yet (he was used in the commission of a serious crime and is awaiting forensics before being released to us) Fingers crossed he's ok but at least we know he's safe. Thank you all for advice, sharing and keeping an eye out. Really do appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

coolaboola wrote: »
    Update: Good news! Bertie has been located. Don't know what condition yet (he was used in the commission of a serious crime and is awaiting forensics before being released to us) Fingers crossed he's ok but at least we know he's safe. Thank you all for advice, sharing and keeping an eye out. Really do appreciate it.

Praying its ok coola :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Fair play for keeping us up-to-date. Hope the car comes home without anything wrong !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Hope it's in good nick and you get it back. You just can't have nice things in this country :(

Slightly off topic but the pic you posted is and r56 MCS. Did they sell the r56 in 06? Or were you just usong the pic as an example of the colour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

franksm wrote: »
    Fair play for keeping us up-to-date. Hope the car comes home without anything wrong !

"The car"?... "THE CAR"!!???!.... Haven't you been paying attention? ... His name is Bertie goddammit and it's a He!!

(And don't ask me how I know he's a he!!)

Donnelly117, just using the pic as an example of colour and general look of the car (though well spotted) (I have pics of Bertie and me but not clear enough to show all of Bertie's distinguishing features)

Thanks folks. Fingers and toes crossed he comes back ok. From the little we've heard so far he is drivable but won't know for sure until forensics release him to us.

In the meantime I'm getting my geek on with security gadets and ideas. Thinking of a GPS tracker and steering wheel lock for the car and motion-alert IP cameras for the house... any other ideas? I've seen a few posts on vehicle tracking devices here. I'm tempted to try a simple homemade GPS tracker (aka phone wired into car with tracking app). Anyone done this? Would I be better off with a purpose-built tracker like this one?

(Here's hoping Bertie returns in a state worth protecting ... )

Thanks again folks! You're great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Hope it's in one piece!

And remember, if there is anything make sure and tell the insurance and get it put right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭garclo

delighted you're getting bertie back op, and if he is presentable enough you better get some decent photos up here soon. I feel like I know the little fella already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

coolaboola wrote: »

Holy ****. I think I read about this (the crime) today, shocking stuff. I hope the scumbags are caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

+1 on the suggestion of the tracker. Glad to hear your car has been found at least. Hopefully it's still in good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I think your car was used for this crime ?

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/video-exclusive-terrified-19-year-old-adam-3262774#.UyseqPUpSkg.facebook

Very sorry OP, hope its not wrecked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

HOLY SH!T :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

What the hell! Your car was used in a random attempted murder!

This is legendary thread material!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

OMG :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

I dont think id want it back after that tbh. ****ing scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Jesus that is fu***ng disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

What the hell was that attack over. It doesn't make any sense that that singled them out and all for nothing as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

You can get over your vehicle being stolen what that poor man suffered will last a long time and to think that trash were in your house ...

OMG! Sh*tcakes :( If that was indeed Bertie he was abducted by some truly evil people. I'm very glad their (other) victim survived (and very,very glad we didn't meet the thieves (and now attempted murderers apparently) in the night when they broken in .... ) Considering what their other victim went through we got off lightly :(

Thanks for the updates... :O

Bertie still with forensics. Will be contacting Gardai again today to try to find out when we can seen him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

aaakev wrote: »
    I dont think id want it back after that tbh. ****ing scumbags
    I would. Good chance it was just driven, worst case at speed perhaps, as I'm sure they did not want to draw too much attention either before or after the event. And if it had been torched, insurance payout seldom covers the worth of finding a similar specimen.

dodzy wrote: »
    I would. Good chance it was just driven, worst case at speed perhaps, as I'm sure they did not want to draw too much attention either before or after the event. And if it had been torched, insurance payout seldom covers the worth of finding a similar specimen.

Its nothing to do with how it was driven its about what happened to that young lad and what it was used for. If it Was my car I dont think I could enjoy it after that

These pricks were flyin around pretending to be guards and tried to kill a random fella for no reason! I think your givimg them way too much credit sayimg they probably didnt want to draw attention to themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Do you:

(a) Bring your keys to your bedroom, or lock them away somewhere safe
    or
    (b) Leave your keys in view of an intruder so they don't bother you when stealing the car!?

Definitely B. Look at what could have happened to the op, is any car worth your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Its nothing to do with how it was driven its about what happened to that young lad and what it was used for. If it Was my car I dont think I could enjoy it after that

These pricks were flyin around pretending to be guards and tried to kill a random fella for no reason! I think your givimg them way too much credit sayimg they probably didnt want to draw attention to themselves

Apologies. Just assumed it was used for a robbery by the tone of the posts. Had no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Definitely B. Look at what could have happened to the op, is any car worth your life?

Most thieves are opportunists.

You can bet if keys weren't easily got the would have moved onto the next victim car they had already lined up in case it didn't work out.

You willing to bet your life on that? Iv 2 small kids in the house so thats a bet id rather not take personally. Car, van and bike are all insured amd can be replaced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Not too sure. The same people stabbed a guy 50 times with a screwdriver in a random attack.. they don't sound very rational to me.

I pay insurance for a reason, I'd prefer to lose out on the couple of grand the company under value it at than take the chance with the people above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You willing to bet your life on that? Iv 2 small kids in the house so thats a bet id rather not take personally. Car, van and bike are all insured amd can be replaced

The reason these guys even target car keys is because a lot of people leave them in plain sight. If you want to gift them to an opportunist that's well and good I'm sure those of us are more sensible will continue to pay an extra % on our policies to cover it

Slightly scary aspect of this (one of many it appears!) is that our keys were kept in a non-obvious place (but not near our bedroom). They were not visible from any windows and it would have required quite an amount of rummaging to find them (they were kept in a closed box in a middle drawer in a kitchen with more than 30 drawers!)

Given what happened to that poor fella (in which Bertie may have been involved ... no confirmation from Gardai as to whether Bertie was indeed involved in this incident ... but I also appreciate the probabilities...) I'm glad they found the keys and thus didn't go further than the kitchen.

As several of ye have already pointed out, a car is just a car (even Bertie!) and not worth getting hurt over. So on balance I don't think I'll start keeping keys near where I sleep. I would keep a spare separately though ... they took all our keys so we will need to get the locks and ignition replaced. Probably would have to anyway, wouldn't like to think of those charmers out and about with a spare key for Bertie!

So the latest is that forensics are finished with Bertie and he's on his way to the insurers' garage for inspection and repair. Indications are that he looks ok from the outside but don't know state of interior. Hopefully we'll see him again today or Monday and with a bit of luck he'll be back to us soon.

Will deffo look into getting steering wheel lock and GPS. I know these things can't prevent someone who is really determined but at least they'll make life a bit more difficult for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

if they really want your car, they will take it. you can hide the keys anywhere you want, they will come upstairs and beat you around until you hand them over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

The reason these guys even target car keys is because a lot of people leave them in plain sight. If you want to gift them to an opportunist that's well and good I'm sure those of us are more sensible will continue to pay an extra % on our policies to cover it

Good man. You have your priorities straight anyway.. car and money above you and your families safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

A customer car was stolen last year from his home. House was broken in to, and one of the scum was half way up the stairs, on the way to the householder's bedroom - presumably to enquire about the keys, when they were found downstairs.

Car was used the following night in a shooting in Dublin, where 1 person was killed and 3 more injured, before it was found burnt out the following day.

Dread to think what may have happened if the keys hadn't been found downstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

The premium goes on your car insurance or your health insurance. I know which I would prefer, given the potential consequences.

Nobody is saying leave the keys in the ignition, but once these scum are in the house, Id rather they just find the keys and **** off rather than coming into my bedroom looking for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Sorry to hear I live in the area and it's a hot-spot for break-ins now.

Yep, I have to second those who recommend keeping the keys separate from where you sleep. Don't leave them somewhere super-obvious but if someone is determined to find your car keys (and our intruders were), make sure they don't have to find you too in the process. I'm very grateful we didn't meet our intruders.

Another lesson from what's happened to me (and something that only occurred to me after the fact), if you know you've been robbed (and we knew before we left the bedroom that the car was gone as we could see the drive from our bedroom window), don't go downstairs as you don't know who you might meet (it didn't occur to us that the intruders might still be in the house - they weren't thank goodness).

I now take my phone to bed and have a key and bolt in the bedroom door should I need to lock the door and call the Gardai (though, for obvious fire-safety reasons I don't lock the bedroom door as a matter of course)