Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working out interest for a dyno meet in May/June

• 14-03-2014 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭

How many people would provisionally be interested in this if it was to go ahead.

Most places charge 50e for 2wd dyno runs and 80 for 4wd.

Obviously I have a place in mind but maybe people have their own suggestions for a decent dyno operator that's fairly central and gives a good printed readout for the glovebox :)

Anyway vote away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

So not much then lol :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Bippidy boppidy bump!

I'd be up for it provided its after the 19th of may

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

yea id be up for it too-dont mind what month or venue whatever suits the masses;)

Ive used Martin Treacy in enfield m4 before a few times and he knows his stuff a;though im hearing CDA in dunboyne mentioned a lot too positvely but never used them personally:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Count me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

I'm curious to what my DIY remapping has done, I'm in :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Need a baseline reading, so yes please.

Cool is a place dtdirl used recently that looks good will enquire on price for a group in late may early June and report back.

Main concerns is the quality of fan/airflow they have and how comprehensive the data on the printout is so we can see an actual bhp/torque curve swell as Max bhp figures etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'm in.

I'm in.

What type of Leon did you go for in the end ? Would be interesting to see output on such a new car versus claimed figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

He has a 2.0 cdti 165bhp Astra J Gtc not a Leon....edit:or maybe not:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

€50? I might be up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

He has a 2.0 cdti 165bhp Astra J Gtc not a Leon :p

Did have an Astra ;). I might be interested in this.

Wut?! I apologise then, miss lots here when youre not around :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Wut?! I apologise then, miss lots here when youre not around :p

Check the motor chat thread, only a few pages back ;).

Saw that pic on his facebook yesterday, didnt connect with me! Just after blowing a small fortune on 20" alloys and tyres!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭yoke

i'd go!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

I'd go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Saw that pic on his facebook yesterday, didnt connect with me! Just after blowing a small fortune on 20" alloys and tyres!

I think you'd be mad not to buy it!
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/SRI-2.0-/43313948943188210/advert?channel=CARS

@SG it's the 184 one, would be interested to see myself.

davycc wrote: »
    yea id be up for it too-dont mind what month or venue whatever suits the masses;)

Ive used Martin Treacy in enfield m4 before a few times and he knows his stuff a;though im hearing CDA in dunboyne mentioned a lot too positvely but never used them personally:)

CDA were the best around, with the best mapper too.
    Unfortunately their dyno was sold over 6 months ago and is now owned by the mapper down in Galway, Aonghus is his name and he's really good, got 430 lb torque from my Evo in the blistering hot summer.
    Next mapping I get, I'll be going to Galway.

Do you know who now operates that dyno in galway ?

Yes, I know him well.
    Aonghus is his name, best mapper I have ever seen TBH.

Yes, I know him well.
    Aonghus is his name, best mapper I have ever seen TBH.

Do you have a business name or mobile number for him ?

Want to do a couple runs with different states of tune/fuel types

Do you have a business name or mobile number for him ?

Want to do a couple runs with different states of tune/fuel types

I'll have to ask him if it's ok first, he doesn't like blind referrals TBH mate as I'm sure you can understand in this game, high performance vehicles etc.

I'll pm you his number but please don't throw it around randomly.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

So he has a Dyno for I'm guessing business reasons but he doesn't want new business?!?

Sounds odd...

dar83 wrote: »
    So he has a Dyno for I'm guessing business reasons but he doesn't want new business?!?

Sounds odd...

Nothing odd, I'm not aware of his business down in Galway is all.
    I have had work done by him many times in Dublin in CDA who have been going a very long time., that's what I mean when I say I know him well.
    Anyone else that has dealt with or had done work by him will say the same, guaranteed.
    It's not my place to throw his mobile number around is all I meant.

Check here for reinforcement of my opinion
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82944031&postcount=13
    AP-Performance is the company AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I'm not doubting his work, just found it odd to make somewhat a big deal of giving someone his number to enquire. I appreciate the logic in not posting it publicly though.

Not after a remap anyway just a 2 dyno runs a couple weeks apart for a baseline and progression readout.

I will ring him and see what's the situation anyway.

I wasn't making an advertisement is what I'm getting at, just making people aware that CDA dyno is now operated down there, and the guy is a genius.
    I'm sure the OP will post the same after his experience.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Holiday payed off, just to go to the dentist now and then I can insure my car. If I have it running by then I'll definitely want to see what it's putting out... 24 years later!

Edit: The redneck expressed interest, he didn't say in what though.

Carina E or go home !

It would choke us worse than the 406.
    Everything else is auto though. :p

CianRyan wrote: »

Feck that I will be outside chain smoking when that's on the rollers.

Less cancerigens

I'll have my Chemo on standby anyway.
    Looks like I'll have a tow to the dyno even if it's not insured, so providing I've the rocker gasket done I should be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

To hell with it I've been humming and hawing about this and I'll stick the 530 up for this. See what's she's lost :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    To hell with it I've been humming and hawing about this and I'll stick the 530 up for this. See what's she's lost :)

Ahh shurre yer all torque :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Ahh shurre yer all torque :)

Smartass :) Also have something interesting in the pipeline that will run alongside the 30d.
    It's petrol too, got to quell the tensions on fuel around here :)

Would be more interesting for this than the 530 actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »

Who says I'll be in the 406....? ;)

Actually, I will be in it, I'm really interested to know what it puts out this time and I doubt I'll have it's replacement ready/can't be arsed paying for 2 runs!

ARISE THREAD!!

I'm guessing this has died a death, but does or is anyone still going for this??

Westward engineering do dynos for 60 a piece and I'm sure a generous discount is in order for the few that show up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm going to wait until I have a car with an engine before going to one of these meets :pac:

Come along anyways!

Will see what the craic is once driveshafts are replaced.

Atm all i would be doing is something like this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Come along anyways!

Depends on where and when!

I'd like to get a readout on my C180k but i've heared of issues with autos on dynos. Car has ESP but have the ability to switch car into dyno mode which disables the ESP and ABS but i think the auto will cause improper readings

If this is going ahead in June i should have something new to bring to it with moar cylinder

Sitec wrote: »
    What gearbox is in the Mercedes ?As long as you have a 1:1 ratio between the engine and transmission the reading will be accurate.

Not sure tbh. Only got the car two months ago so still not 100% on all its systems n stuff. ESP told me to cop on trying to power out of a roundabout though :pac:

Any idea on how i can check what box is in it?

EDIT: think its this one - 5G-TRONIC (722.6)?
    its a 5 speed

here are the ratios according to Wikipedia

Mercedes-Benz Transmissions
    Gear 1 2 3 4 5 R1 R2
    5G-TRONIC (W5A330/Small NAG)[2] 3.932 2.408 1.486 1.00 0.83 -3.10 -1.90
    5G-TRONIC (W5A580/Large NAG)[3] 3.59 2.19 1.41 1.00 0.83 -3.16 -1.93

ARISE THREAD!!

I'm guessing this has died a death, but does or is anyone still going for this??

Westward engineering do dynos for 60 a piece and I'm sure a generous discount is in order for the few that show up

yea im still up for it :D be interested to see how little power my lil suzuki has left after 10years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I'd be interested in this.

I'd bring my C1500 and the 300zx.

I'd be interested in this.

I'd bring my C1500 and the 300zx.

excellent! but do you still have the carina btw?