Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you think you could commit murder and get away with it?

• 13-03-2014 12:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Just as the title says. In this day and age, with CSI and the likes on every night, it shines a light on what COULD be used against a perp forensically. A lot of it is pure bs but i can only imagine it makes people give some thought to the clean up and prep!

What's your scenario?the perfect crime. Not telling mine as it will incriminate me. But you may share with me

Edit: Not to be taken seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

If you just want to murder someone, anyone and don't care who it is then it is 100% possible to get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

Not telling mine as it will incriminate me.
    Jesus Christ, who are you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have turbary rights on 7500 acres of bog.

I'm saying no more.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Holsten wrote: »
    If you just want to murder someone, anyone and don't care who it is then it is 100% possible to get away with it.

What would your M.O. be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

If i was Horotio Caine i could and would get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Doubt it.

I got nabbed on the LUAS once when I forgot to buy a ticket so I doubt I'd manage murder.

What would your M.O. be?
    If you didn't want to get caught you wouldn't have an MO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

I just found out I can get someone to do my killing for me on the deep dark web.
    Mod note: be careful what you say to this bad ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Holsten wrote: »

Yup, pick a randomer away from witnesses, CCTV leave litte evidence, don't talk about it afterwards and I'd say its fairly easy to get away with murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I'd go the BrickTop route - feed to a bunch of hungry pigs. I've zero idea if it would actually work though.

Of course not... Officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'm sure the majority who tried thought they'd get away with it. I'm not a deranged mofo, so I've never given it much thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Just as the title says. In this day and age, with CSI and the likes on every night, it shines a light on what COULD be used against a perp forensically. A lot of it is pure bs but i can only imagine it makes people give some thought to the clean up and prep!

What's your scenario?the perfect crime. Not telling mine as it will incriminate me. But you may share with me

Edit: Not to be taken seriously
    What would your M.O. be?

pity there's not a murder forum:pac::pac:

emm...I doubt I could get away...id surly f**k it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

What would give me away would be me whistling, singing and humming "Ding dong, the witch is dead" for weeks afterwards.

Not that I had anyone in mind. Yeah. So.. Did someone say something?

Oh I could commit murder and get away with it.
    Even if I got arrested I could go to court and get off on some technicality or other.
    100% I would get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The merits of a long range kill from a sniper bullet far out way the satisfying resistance of a knife sliding through a rib cage.

Love that pink mist

I'd go the BrickTop route - feed to a bunch of hungry pigs. I've zero idea if it would actually work though.
    It's harder than you would think. Pigs are very fussy eaters, you couldn't just fcuk a human torso in to them, they'd have to be weaned on human flesh from they were piglets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If you didn't care who it was then of course you could get away with it

But if you didn't care who it was and just wanted to kill someone you'd be fairly insane and the insanity would get you caught eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

most murders are done in rage,

if you carefully planed it out without an obvious motive,
    then it should be easy, living near the sea would help.;)

they'd have to be weaned on human flesh from they were piglets.

No they wouldnt starve them for 2 weeks and they would eat human no issue.

WikiHow wrote: »

Depending on the type of pig, your talking bones and all. Its the marrow they are after

And you have been a pigfarmer for how long?;)

Depending on the type of pig,

An extra hungry one.
    And you have been a pigfarmer for how long?;)

Im not, i watch alot of Crime drama :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I suppose if you prepare properly and have a clear plan it's doable, many famous serial killers got away with murder for years, its only when they became sloppy and careless that they got caught.

So it seems like picking someone at random is the best approach. But that is usually how serial killers begin albeit with similarities.

Child Benefit

An extra hungry one.

Im not, i watch alot of Crime drama :o
    People will eat other people and leave nothing behind if they are starving for weeks, the poor oul domestic pig got this bad press from some of the Sunday tabloids and the Krays (if I remember right) and it has stuck since.

Even in rural areas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus lads.

All this talk of murder has got me to thinking.

I'd murder a bag of chips right about now.

Anyone heading to the chipper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

So it seems like picking someone at random is the best approach. But that is usually how serial killers begin albeit with similarities.

Yeah I imagine your chances are better if you've no connection with the victim.

Think we could try keep the thread on point? I.e. the killing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Hell yes, I am The Sword of Damocles coiled and ready to strike.

Think we could try keep the thread on point? I.e. the killing
    Why? Are you taking notes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If you could kill them without anyone noticing then there are a lot of places to bury them, especially here in the countryside where they would be never found again.

Why? Are you taking notes?

Straight into my kill book enemy!

The killer posted questions on popular opinions site boards on the perfect murder the night before he began stalking and killing people who wronged him in his thread.

Syke!

I gave a hand pouring concrete on a foundation last week, ideal spot, may cause slight subsidence though.
    Consult an Engineer for better guidance.

Straight into my kill book enemy!

The killer posted questions on popular opinions site boards on the perfect murder the night before he began stalking and killing people who wronged him in his thread.

Syke!
    They don't only call me Columbo because I wear a dirty raincoat you know.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

The murder itself would be ok IF you didn't panic and everything went to plan and disposed of the body correctly. Body in a barrel of acid is another. Can't remember where I seem that one. Worked well though.

The hard part might be that if you were took in for questioning would you be able to keep your cool and not trip up.

EDIT: Walt does it in breaking bad.

Generally no body means no crime, but if one was trying not to get caught one would generally limit their interactions to only what was needed.

If i had to dispose of a body i would bury it in a graveyard in the middle of the night under a half moon for light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Hmmmmm...... What would I do... I actually thought about this for a while for the craic. I don't care about incriminating or whatever as I obviously haven't done it.... officer. I reckon its on a sort of balance. The more you wish to be able to get away with it then the more you have to leave to chance..

Loosening a wheel on your targets car would be a decent start but only if its a six stud wheel as they are quieter on the road and sound like a wheel bearing making noise instead. Four stud wheels make an obvious "clacka clacka" sound when turning and loose. Better yet see if you can find out if the car was serviced recently in a garage without cctv as that would be beneficial in focusing the blame. Hope theres no one or nothing watching during the night when you do it and wait to see if

A: They hear the noise but ignore it, ultimately loosing control when the inevitable happens and dying as a result.

B: Same as above but they get noise examined/rectified and continue, well... living.

C: Same again but they survive the crash.

There are many more possible results too, ranging from them discovering you in the act to them selling the car to someome else the next day! Leaving it all to chance :)

Plead the fifth in the cop shop. And then lawyer put. It just depends who has more time, you or the guards, and they are bound by law to let you out unless charged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Plead the fifth in the cop shop. And then lawyer put. It just depends who has more time, you or the guards, and they are bound by law to let you out unless charged

So john, who's not making paddy's weekend?;)