Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you hated/really disliked as a kid

• 12-03-2014 2:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭

Another thread got me thinking about when I was kid and how time used to pass so slowly. Lunchtime at school (half an hour) felt like forever, you can go on lots of adventures in that space of time. However, the slow passing of time wasn't always a good thing especially on long car journeys or when you had to wait for something! I remember as a kid we were waiting for a relative to finish work, parked in the car park on a hot summers day. I asked my uncle how long more would we have to wait. He said it would be a half an hour, my heart sank hearing those words. A whole half an hour! :(

Two things I absolute detested as a kid:
    1. Going to mass.
    Could anything be more boring than going to mass?? You'd have to sit there and keep quiet and then stand, kneel, sit at regular intervals. Pure torture and it would go on for what seemed like forever.

2. Going to Powercity or a similar type of establishment. Powercity just sticks out in my head.
    I'm from the country, so going to Powercity consisted of sitting in the car for 2 and a half hours and then walking aroung the store bored out of your brains. I used to start bawling when I realised we were going to Powercity. I don't know why I disliked it so much. :-/ I used to love playing in the furniture stores but Powercity, no, get me out the there. :P

So, can you remember anything as a kid that you really didn't like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Sunday nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

SKOOL :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

The smell of broccoli cooking in the kitchen :(

When my favorite play station game stopped working....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Gettin bummed by me uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Mayonnaise and coleslaw. Love them now but they didn't look appealing when I was a kid. Also hated school and especially Sunday nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

washing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Get Real

When on a Sunday we might go to some furniture section in a store/ warehouse.

Fridays/Saturdays were the fun days, park, friends, a trip to somewhere cool.

But Sundays, knowing I had school the next day, stuck in some shop that smelled of new carpet and had my parents talking to some sales guy while I just stood there looking around, wondering when the fck we'd be leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Getting clothes and shoes bought for you.
    Maths/Irish/School in general....best days of your life, what a load of bollocks.
    Vegetables, esp turnip.
    Mass.
    Getting haircuts.
    Jumpers from aunties, nearly always itchy yokes made from brillo pads.
    Travelling in back seat of car.
    Assh*le neighbour's kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

One thing I hated as a kid was going to dunnes stores .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

The smell of the car, or long car journeys. I get motion sick!

Knowing we were having "mashed" potatoes for dinner. My ma was feeding a tribe of us, so her mash always had lumps.

If we didn't get our baths on a Saturday night, it would happen on a Sunday day. No matter what, baths in the day were always horrible. Freezing and just crap! Even now, I will never have a bath in the day time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Hated shopping, of any kind.

Apparently when I was really young I was a pain for wandering off when bored and talking to strangers, which my mother would explicitly tell me not to do. To which I usually replied, but they're not a stranger, I asked them their name. :o

Really don't know how my parents put up with me.

Oh, and putting on my shoes. Runners and stuff I was fine with, but I remember one pair of shoes in particular that started an hour long war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Budget day.

No Den/Andy Peters and Ed the duck (depending if it was Irelands or Englands)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

The end credits of Glenroe. Bed time, school in the morning.

Although you'd give anything to be back there again wouldn't you.

Fcuk. No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

The end credits of Glenroe. Bed time, school in the morning.

No, not if I was paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Procrastination of ten minutes of homework all weekend, then getting up in the dark to do it Monday morning.

Every fecking week I'd say that was the last time.

Budget day.

No Den/Andy Peters and Ed the duck (depending if it was Irelands or Englands)

Haha! Great shout. Christ that was horrific. Used to go back to normal for 5.30 though, did it?

Also, what was the program with Blaithnid and Dara O Brian? Treasure Ireland. I hated that show apart from the premier league scoreboard thing they used to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Pinkmoon19

I HATED sharing the bath with anyone. I also Hated wearing jeans, they were too "scratchy". My poor Mum all I would wear was pink, frilly crap. She even bought me pink and orange jeans to break my phobia but I would just cry and cry anytime I had to wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

ElleEm wrote: »
    The smell of the car, or long car journeys. I get motion sick!
    Knex. wrote: »
    Oh, and putting on my shoes. Runners and stuff I was fine with, but I remember one pair of shoes in particular that started an hour long war.

Above, plus homework.

Didn't mind school up to sixth class, but I'd almost be in tears some nights when someone would act the eejit and get everyone a ****load of homework.

Additionally, teachers who punished everyone because of one knobhead's actions.

Fcuk. No.

No nostalgic sentiments then? We lived in the house with the granny. Some are dead now, others away off emigrated etc.

I meant more along that angle then having to sit through Glenroe again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Mashed banana sandwiches.
    All vegetables because they were usually boiled in to a sloppy tasteless mess.
    Getting up early for mass, going to mass, nuns and priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

School was torture.

No nostalgic sentiments then? We lived in the house with the granny. Some are dead now, others away off emigrated etc.

I meant more along that angle then having to sit through Glenroe again!

College? Maybe.

School? Primary, yea I suppose. But fcuk secondary school. Hated it.

College? Maybe.

School? Primary, yea I suppose. But fcuk secondary school. Hated it.

I would burn down my primary school. :P Secondary school was a bit better for me.

Being driven back to boarding school after a break, was always trying not to cry.

Calling home on the school phone and nobody answering - there were no mobiles allowed until my final 3 years at school so calling home meant queuing for the payphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,656 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

The smell of the incense when there was benediction at mass.
    Plus the awful singing.
    Both nauseating.

None of it made any sense at all,just awful memories of the same old same until I was old enough to say, " hang on,there's gotta be more to living than this repetitive gobbledygook."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Sneaky Snake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Going to the bog!!!

You know you'd arrive home 14 hours later black from turf dust, hardly able to walk from a sore back, sunburnt, and eaten alive by midgets.

But the sandwitches and tea that was had while at the bog were like nothing else.
    Something great about drinking tea from a flask/whiskey bottle and eating your weight in your mothers finest sandwitches while sitting out on a pallet in the sun.
    It seemed like there is no-one else about for miles and miles.

It was a love/hate relationship really I suppose.

Not being allowed to leave the table until you finish all your dinner. It was awful because my mam was a terrible cook and she enforced this rule. I still hate her cooking. Bleurgh!

Also cucumber sandwiches for lunch....just bread, butter and cucumber!!! What was my mam thinking? >.<

I used to eat all my veggies for my granaunt. She was a great cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I found the whole thing rather an unpleasant bore, to be honest. I didn't make a very good child, I was just sort of no use at it. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

All the expectation of being the eldest.
    Being forced to play the recorder every fcuking time someone came to the house
    Homework
    Bullies
    Being clumsy and the pain of falling on a knee, elbow etc
    Vegetables

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

The opening bars of the theme from Glenroe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Going to the bog!!!

You know you'd arrive home 14 hours later black from turf dust, hardly able to walk from a sore back, sunburnt, and eaten alive by midgets.

But the sandwitches and tea that was had while at the bog were like nothing else.
    Something great about drinking tea from a flask/whiskey bottle and eating your weight in your mothers finest sandwitches while sitting out on a pallet in the sun.
    It seemed like there is no-one else about for miles and miles.

It was a love/hate relationship really I suppose.

Footing the turf was the worst, I hated the bog but regarded it as something that had to be done every summer.

Those little people are hungry little psychos, aren't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Whenever a ball was BANISHED during a game of soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

School, happiest day was the day I left the place.

Short pants, I was fat as a kid so summer was torture when I was made wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

*When it just starts to rain just a few mins before lunchtime when you'd planned an epic game of footie in the school yard... / losing football only minutes into a game.
    *Going to your boring / older cousins when you just had to sit there and watch sh*te on TV like The Waltons or something.
    *Losing that key piece of lego
    *Getting in trouble for something you didn't do
    *Irish homework
    *Time limits on playing the computer
    *Getting a hole in your favourite t-shirt / football jersey you got for Christmas / birthday
    *Bullys :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Pinkmoon19

iDave wrote: »
    All the expectation of being the eldest.
    Being forced to play the recorder every fcuking time someone came to the house[/B]

That seriously made me lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

The happy memories of childhood are very few and far between. Glad it's long gone.

Ah jaysus, don't get me started on bullies!!! Kids can be sooo cruel!! :(-

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭asteroth

Around 5pm on a Saturday evening was the time that I really despised especially in Winter because it was too cold or wet to be outside playing so I would come in to those two horrific sounds:

1. Football results being read out on the telly...."West Bromwich Albion 1, Sheffield Wednesday Nil. Bristol City versus Leicester....match postponed"

2. The steady hissing of the pressure cooker in the kitchen and the windows all fogged up.

It basically signalled that the day was all but over and dinner was nearly ready. It wasn't going to be a particularly delicious dinner if the pressure cooker was going. Just spuds, salty carrots and some gristly meat...though my mum was a very good cook, some ingredients she just couldn't salvage or she was just too knackered from doing the night shift to care.

So Saturday was a washout and was nearly over, so all that was left of the weekend was Sunday which everyone hates....and I still hadn't done my friggin' homework.

I also used to hate going to sleep by myself because I lived with my granaunt for a long time in the middle of the country in an old country house. I would be terrified and could never sleep.

She used to put me to bed but I'd be up the minute her back was turned sneaking into the sitting room where she would be watching the news. I told her I wasn't tired but yet again I'd be sent to bed. I would keep getting back up until she decided to go to bed or until I fell asleep on the couch. :P I remember looking at the clock and thinking 9 o' clock was sooo late. :P

I would only go back to childhood if I could stay with my granaunt forever. <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

The long drives between Port Elizabeth (where I lived as a kid) and Johannesburg (where my aunt and uncle lived). Took f*cking HOURS. I always looked forward to seeing my cousin though.

Sitting in primary school looking at the clock, literally counting the hours down to three.

Having to learn Irish while fresh off the plane from SA (mam later found out I could've been exempted... SICKENED).

Mass.

Instead of Glenroe, the opening credits to the Antique's Roadshow. No matter where I was in world, it meant Sunday night and school. I still fall into a fit of despair when I hear it.

When Mother had the ironing board out. Always meant she would be shrieking orders to do this and that. Not that I minded helping out, I'd just prefer not to be yelled at.

Not necessarily a kid, but TY in general. Thought that year would never end. Teachers weren't bothered and it wouldn't be unusual to have something like four studies in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Barbar.

Most bland cartoon going.It was always on when they had nothing left in the schedule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Car journeys, because I was always getting carsick. My Dad would never let me eat for an hour before we went anywhere more than 30 minutes away in case I threw up in his car again.

Irish lessons at school. Never once enjoyed them.

When I was a toddler I hated wearing clothes. My Mum couldn't keep me dressed in the house.

Mass, whenever we bothered with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Burky126 wrote: »
    Barbar.

Most bland cartoon going.It was always on when they had nothing left in the schedule.

Cartoons from the former Soviet Bloc and Canada when RTE couldn't afford daycent cartoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Homework. Always thought that it would be wonderful to just finish your day's work and forget about it until tomorrow. Always envied my dad because while I was stressing about long division, he was watching TV.

Then I got older and realised that work and responsibilities brings its own set of stresses and I'd love to be in school again.

The grass is always greener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Banrion1

Gokei wrote: »
    Procrastination of ten minutes of homework all weekend, then getting up in the dark to do it Monday morning.

Every fecking week I'd say that was the last time.

Yeah me too......... Writing an essay on Monday morning was no fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

brussel sprouts hated them, I think they're lovely now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

getting an battery operated train set where the locomotive did not work, when opened. Anyway looking back, gugleguy, you got what you deserved you little 8 year old scroat:D