Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Failed NCT/Emissions. Good exhaust place in Galway?

• 11-03-2014 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

My 04 Focus petrol failed the NCT on just emissions (got it serviced 6 months ago).

CO was 0.39 vol% - the NCT guy said it only barely failed but he tried it a few times and couldn't get it down.

It passed all other emissions tests. My local mechanic suggested it might be the catalytic converter but he doesn't do exhausts himself.

A bit of googling suggested that it might be some faulty sensors. Would an exhaust place test this or just try to sell me a new catalytic converter?

Can anyone recommend a good exhaust place in Galway? Any other suggestions? (cleaners etc?)

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

You could try ballybrit tyres and exhaust. Alternatively if the emissions are just border line you could try adding some treatment like redex to a tank of petrol and drive at high revs for a few minutes at motorway speed. Also check the air filter and replace if it's old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

Fair play zarquon. I'm not sure what order I should try that in - probably to the latter few bits and chance my arm at the NCT again.

Thanks also for the "ballybrit tyres and exhaust" tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

beside calbro motors on tuam road is another great place,subway is there and tripart,down the ramp to exhaust place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭matt360

How ya,
    Calbro do an emissions test for €20. They will tell you exactly whats wrong.
    Had the same problem myself 2 months ago. I got a second hand catalytic converter in the liousban industrial estate scrap yard for €50. Calbro fitted it and tested it again for €50. The whole lot cost €120.
    There is no guarantee that the catalytic converter wont be worse than the one you have already but it worked out for me. Good luck.