Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paris for the match - Tips?

• 10-03-2014 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

Heading over for the match, and wondering if anyone who has been over for the 6 nations before can recommend any decent bars to head to. Would like to catch the other matches before our game so was wondering is it best to head out to the stadium and have a few drinks there and watch it or stay closer to the centre? If there a meetup spot assigned all the better! Heard drinking in the Irish pubs can be quite dear (9.50 a pint!?). Any other tips on where to go, where to eat or any other advice in general would be welcome!

MM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

the area around the Moulin Rouge is popular

Corocorans pub and there is also some others nearby

good palces to eat too

Metro Station at Place de Clichy for stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Blair

Was just about to ask the same question, :)

I’m staying in the Latin Quarter and would love to meet up with other Irish supporters to watch the England game etc.

I’m seriously more excited than my Kids at Christmas. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I'm planning on doing either Cocoran's or Kitty O'Sheas. Both are a short walk to the M13 line which brings you straight to the stadium, which is roughly 15 minutes ride away. Altho factor in it's a little bit of a walk to the stadium. We're planning on leaving the pub about 40 min before kick off, atleast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

ak. if you're hitting Corcorans before the match take the M2 from Anvers up to Place de Clichy and then change onto the M13, it'll shave about 15 minutes off your travel time up to Saint Denis.

Also bear in mind the Pigalle (the area around the Moulin Rouge) is probably the sleaziest area I've ever been to (good if you're into that sort of thing I guess, but worth bearing in mind).

We're staying near Rue Oberkampf/Av. de la Republique, so thinking it's easiest just to get the M3 to the stop near Place de Clichy and walk to Corcorans.

Ah yeah it's a lovely walk in fairness, the stairs going up to Corcorans are a bit of a killer mind (they do have a fairly cool funicular railway to bypass them mind) and the view from the top of the hill over Paris is something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭MonsterMob

P_1 wrote: »
    Ah yeah it's a lovely walk in fairness, the stairs going up to Corcorans are a bit of a killer mind (they do have a fairly cool funicular railway to bypass them mind) and the view from the top of the hill over Paris is something else.

Is this Corcorans in Montmartre?

MonsterMob wrote: »
    Is this Corcorans in Montmartre?

That's the one. Have I been acting the eejit and offering folk advice about the wrong Corcorans? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

If you can take the RER there, instead of the metro , it's quicker and not as jammed as the metro is coming up to match time. Also might have changed since I was last there, but inside the grounds the beer is alcohol free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 aedanknight

Where is everyone heading after the game? It would be good to go somewhere where lots of fans are to hopefully celebrate the championship win. As there are so many places to choose from I'm just wondering where most people are thinking of heading?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

duckysauce wrote: »
    If you can take the RER there, instead of the metro , it's quicker and not as jammed as the metro is coming up to match time. Also might have changed since I was last there, but inside the grounds the beer is alcohol free.

Is it straightforward enough to bring in a sneaky hipflask?

Podge_irl wrote: »

Good thinking...

Also Stade de France is probably the coldest place on earth, so worth thinking of if the forecast drops a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

My tip: bring lots of money.

Very true, Paris is one helluva pricey town. I'd imagine it won't be too dear for young Podge of Geneva mind :P

.ak wrote: »

yes that's the one I am talking about too

That's the one. Have I been acting the eejit and offering folk advice about the wrong Corcorans? :o

No no, I knew there was one close enough to the Kitty O'Sheas down near Opera so thought you meant to walk to anvers from the one there!

.ak wrote: »

Ah the one next door to the Moulin Rouge... Never been but it does look fairly roomy from the outside.

Ignore all I was saying about steps and funicular railways so, I was talking about the one about a 10 minute walk t'other way :o

Podge_irl wrote: »

Yep that's what I am doing Saturday :)

Also Carrefour do sell a delightfully cheap and tasty naggin of brandy. Strangely they come in the same type of packaging you'd expect to see containing a Mach3 razor...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Nice one, our hotel seems to be about a 5 min walk from that Corcorans place!

I assume it will be suitably mobbed.

Would people head back there afterwards too?

adrian522 wrote: »
    Nice one, our hotel seems to be about a 5 min walk from that Corcorans place!

I assume it will be suitably mobbed.

Would people head back there afterwards too?

Probably gonna head back there or Kittys for a few anyway.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Very true, Paris is one helluva pricey town. I'd imagine it won't be too dear for young Podge of Geneva mind :P

Well, if you're going drinking near the Moulin Rouge, yeah, you're going to find it expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

In Corcorans, at about 2.30 am, ask the dj to play jump around by house of pain and feel the madness as you pogo around the place like a teenager. It's fuuckin' magic.
    Have fun, I'm jealous!!!!

Well, if you're going drinking near the Moulin Rouge, yeah, you're going to find it expensive!

Very true

this is the other Irish bar just abit down the road from Corcorans

http://www.osullivans-pubs.com/find-us/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Paddywiggum

Was over for the AB's match in November and had chance to do a right recce for cheap pints. The area around the Pantheon in the 5th arr. is the cheapest i found, between €3-4 a pint. now its is a good bit away but there's loads of cheap restaurants there too. It might be better for the fri evening though cos of the 6pm kick off. The AB's match was 8pm so allowed me extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Went to the H Cup Final in 2010, bought a slab between 3 of us in one of those Mini Marché's for ~€10 each. Ended up selling half of it when we got out there near the Stadium; lads were coming up offering €3/4/5 for a can, couldn't turn it down!

So yeah, I'd recommend doing that. And don't bother buying a ticket for the train back into town after, you won't need it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Paddywiggum

Also lads just remember that the immediate area around the Stade is an alcohol free zone, any 'beer' you buy there (from stalls etc)will be non-alcoholic. The metro or RER will be a long trip bout 30mins, so to arrive and find non-alcoholic can be a disaster! My advice is to buy cans for the metro/RER and one for the walk up to the stade. Also as others have said, the stade is incredibly cold so wrap up or get very drunk. or both.

cson wrote: »
    Went to the H Cup Final in 2010, bought a slab between 3 of us in one of those Mini Marché's for ~€10 each. Ended up selling half of it when we got out there near the Stadium; lads were coming up offering €3/4/5 for a can, couldn't turn it down!

So yeah, I'd recommend doing that. And don't bother buying a ticket for the train back into town after, you won't need it. ;)

You will if the metro cops stop you , and those lads take no ****e .

Yeah, gonna be a nice change of pace to have everything so cheap :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Blair

Can ya drink cans on the Street/trains?? :eek:

Blair wrote: »
    Can ya drink cans on the Street/trains?? :eek:

I hope so, it was my plan!

I have to say that is appalling advice. For the sake of €1.70, get a ticket.

I'm just gonna get one of those weekend passes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yeah, each to their own and all that.

Is anyone heading over early? I'll be there Thursday evening, looking for something to do on Friday that does't involve sitting in the pub all day.

Already been to the main tourist sites in Paris.

May have a walk around the area near the Pantheon, supposed to be nice.

Heading over Saturday morning I'm afraid, then back on Tuesday.

Gonna go to Disneyland for Paddy's Day and get sick on Mickey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 lolicopter

heading over Thursday planning on doing the touristy things on Friday but def looking to see where the Irish crowds would be for Friday/Saturday and the cure on Sunday. I've heard of O'Sullivans pub near Moulin Rouge- does anyone go there? Was thinking kitty o'sheas aswell

lolicopter wrote: »
    heading over Thursday planning on doing the touristy things on Friday but def looking to see where the Irish crowds would be for Friday/Saturday and the cure on Sunday. I've heard of O'Sullivans pub near Moulin Rouge- does anyone go there? Was thinking kitty o'sheas aswell

Yeah, it's much more of a dishgo-bar than a traditional Irish pub so I wouldn't recommend it pre-game, but the night before the match you could do worse if you're looking for music and a bit of dancing. Quiet pints discussing the game, not so much.

It stays open much later than the regular Irish pubs too.

Aside from the usual pre match drinking and whatnot, make sure you get some good cuisine in. For a casual bite this place is damn good if you like your fondue! http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d2694359-Reviews-Les_Fondus_de_la_Raclette-Paris_Ile_de_France.html

Isn't that in Rome?...

Anyway, I'm heading up on the train after work Friday so I'll essentially just be there the Sat (and Sunday, but I imagine little being done that day).

That looks quite nice actually. Had no idea there was a pantheon in Paris as well (though on reflection I imagine there is one in a lot of cities actually).

I've just heard it's a nice area to walk around and there are good and cheap(ish) steak places in the area.

Is anyone heading over early? I'll be there Thursday evening, looking for something to do on Friday that does't involve sitting in the pub all day.

Bop over to Père la Chaise if you've never been. Bit morbid for a rugby weekend but you can pay your respects to Oscar Wilde before the big day :)

If you are a 'star wars' fan there is a large expo on there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭shivpepper

Also heading to Paris but haven't got my tickets yet.. I hate Seatwave!! Would there be anyone selling them outside the stadium? Desperate!