Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frozen Pizza

• 09-03-2014 10:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

Had the bird over and we decided to order a pizza, then we saw that domino's charge 20€ for a large pizza and remembered we're not mental.

Naturally we decided to put on a frozen pizza, it was a chicago town takeaway special or something along those lines. Watery sauce, unsubstantial meat portions and a cardboard crust. And to top it off it was nearly 6€.

Anyway, when I decide to eat carbs again in 6 months or so I'd prefer not to repeat this experience.

I'm sure there's quite a few of you that think frozen food has a place in a balanced diet, I'd appreciate if one of you could step in with a recommendation for me. Is it possible to buy from tesco and get that takeaway taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

it is but any of the good stuff is the same price as a take away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

The bird?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

urabell wrote: »
    Is it possible to buy from tesco and get that takeaway taste?

That rotten domino's taste? why in the feck would you want to emulate that?

and what kind of bird did you put on it? seagull?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

15" from Apache is 9.99 and every bit as nice as Domino's. Dr Oetkers is the only nice frozen pizza but you dont get much for your buck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Simply Red

Dominos always have 40% off codes running, see this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056744169&page=20

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

there's surely plenty of non chain takeaways too that do pizza where you live

best plzzas in carlow come from a turkish place and an "italian" chipper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Can't understand how people like Dominos, overpriced to hell.

Dunno what pizza you picked but there are a few frozen pizzas that are gorgeous, Milanos ones are very nice. Doesn't take much longer to make your own if you have a breadmaker either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

there's surely plenty of non chain takeaways too that do pizza where you live

best plzzas in carlow come from a turkish place and an "italian" chipper

What might these establishments be called ? I've never had a really nice pizza from a chipper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

The bird?!

It's what people who were raised correctly call there 'moth'
    That rotten domino's taste? why in the feck would you want to emulate that?

and what kind of bird did you put on it? seagull?

I have fairly limited experience with take away pizza but I thought domino's was the place to go
    15" from Apache is 9.99 and every bit as nice as Domino's. Dr Oetkers is the only nice frozen pizza but you dont get much for your buck.

Are you sure? this is an annual event for me

9.99 sounds good though I'l check it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Funny you mentioned it.

Me and the missus made a home made pizza tonight. I was feeling lazy and wanted to order in, but we opted to making it from scratch:

- 1 diced onion
    - 5-8 mushrooms
    - Tuna
    - Ham

had a tin of tomatoes and grated cheese already there. Herself made the base in 3-5 mins.

Took 10 mins of prepping and 18 in the oven.

Was absolutely amazing, nicer than any takeout pizza or 20 quid equivalent in a fancy restaraunt. And we had it on the plate quicker than we would if we'd have ordered. Guaranteed to be healtier too!

PS: Just replace the toppings here what I used with what you fancy yourself. It really will taste amazing, you'll realize how much yer being ripped off by buying the frozen kind, and the dominos 20 euro version is beyond the most profitable thing as far as food goes.. A pizza costs about 20 cent to make for these large companies, and less than a euro for those of us who make it at home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

not mental.
    For sure?
    when I decide to eat carbs again in 6 months or so
    Lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Why do people order fron Dominos, they're absolutely rank.

I just go to Italy to get my pizza, quick fly over and pizza to go, grazie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

The bird?!

He means his auld doll:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Lidl thin crust are far superior to any of the 'posh' shops (but they don't do the Vegetale anymore :(). in fact Lidl frozen pizzas are superior to some of the takeaways like Four Star and Apache, it's a long time since I had a Dominos so I won't compare them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I halved a large Apache with a friend on Friday, think it was €9.99 so five quid each wasn't bad. Nice pizza I thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

you'd buy the tipo flour, the sauce and cheese for less than €6 to make your own, surely there are toppings already in your fridge like ham, onions ect... plus it would impress the missus no end

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

What might these establishments be called ? I've never had a really nice pizza from a chipper.

shamrock on barrack st does lovely pizzas, cheap too

and while i've not had many of umbertos regular pizzas 'the don' is perfection in a 2.5 x 2 foot box

+ 2 chips and 2 cokes for 25 euro

you'd feed an army with it

a five person army

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The bird?!
    It's incredibly bad-ass all right. I'm soaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Making Pizzas is fairly easy.
    It needs a bit of time but you can make the dough in batches and freeze them, defrosting a couple of hours before you want to cook it.

Dough:
    http://www.gianni.tv/pizza-margherita-2/
    You can use strong white flour but "00" flour is ideal.

Sauce:
    Briefly fry
    1 medium shallot finely diced,
    2 large cloves of garlic, minced
    3 bay leaves
    in about 3-4 tbsp of olive oil

add
    1 jar of passata
    salt
    pepper
    oregano

Simmer on a low heat, stirring occasionally for about 45 minutes until the you can draw a line through it with your wooden spoon and it doesn't fill it back in again.
    Season with a bit of salt and honey until it's to your liking.

For the pizza itself, turn your oven as high as it'll go.
    It helps to have something ceramic or a big lump of metal that you can cook the pizza on.
    It takes about 12 minutes at 230C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Personally, my favorite is the Chicago Town takeaway one, but, judging by your post, you didn't like that one. I'd definitely try a few different takeaways. I was under the impression that takeaway pizza was always terrible. But then one night I was really in the mood for pizza, so I ordered one from my local takeaway, and it was some of the best pizza I've ever tasted, so takeaways definitely can get pizza right, you just need to find the right one.

No interest in making my own pizza, if you'd like to go over some recipes that won't end in gout and heart disease I'd be happy to assist.

I eat a takeaway pizza once a year and a chinese maybe a further 2 or 3 times, the other 360 or so days I eat like a shaolin monk who's discovered red meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Balanced diet. Pizza. Does not compute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

whupdedo wrote: »
    He means his auld doll:rolleyes:

A blow up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Balanced diet. Pizza. Does not compute.

Thanked because of the username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

No interest in making my own pizza, if you'd like to go over some recipes that won't end in gout and heart disease I'd be happy to assist.

I eat a takeaway pizza once a year and a chinese maybe a further 2 or 3 times, the other 360 or so days I eat like a shaolin monk who's discovered red meat.

Nothing particularly unhealthy about pizza.
    It's just high in calories.

You'd want to steer clear of processed meats like chorizo and so on, because they give you bowel cancer if you eat too much of them but other than that, it's regularly eating very large pizzas with 8 kinds of meat and a ton of cheese that's the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

vitani wrote: »
    Thanked because of the username.

Thanked because you thanked my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

As others have said you're better off making your own. At least then you'll know exactly what's in it since you're so concerned about what you're putting in your body.

But someone mentioned making their own dough in 3-5 mins.... That can't be right, as the yeast takes much longer than that to activate. ..

BTW I'd anyone is interested there's a good recipe for pizza dough on Jamie Oliver's website

As others have said you're better off making your own. At least then you'll know exactly what's in it since you're so concerned about what you're putting in your body.

But someone mentioned making their own dough in 3-5 mins.... That can't be right, as the yeast takes much longer than that to activate. ..

BTW I'd anyone is interested there's a good recipe for pizza dough on Jamie Oliver's website

BTW if anyone is interested there's a good recipe for pizza dough on Jamie Oliver's website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Should try the jus roll pastry pizza bases, yummy.

Do you eat anything at all? Seem to have a strange preoccupation with carbs. Surely making a pizza is healthier than buying one, not sure what this dietary high and mighty attitude is all about.

All I am picturing here is someone flexing in front of a mirror and kissing their biceps...and making sure the whole world knows about how great they are.

The lady doth protest too much, methinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Drakares wrote: »
    Funny you mentioned it.

Me and the missus made a home made pizza tonight. I was feeling lazy and wanted to order in, but we opted to making it from scratch:

- 1 diced onion
    - 5-8 mushrooms
    - Tuna
    - Ham

had a tin of tomatoes and grated cheese already there. Herself made the base in 3-5 mins.

Took 10 mins of prepping and 18 in the oven.

Was absolutely amazing, nicer than any takeout pizza or 20 quid equivalent in a fancy restaraunt. And we had it on the plate quicker than we would if we'd have ordered. Guaranteed to be healtier too!

PS: Just replace the toppings here what I used with what you fancy yourself. It really will taste amazing, you'll realize how much yer being ripped off by buying the frozen kind, and the dominos 20 euro version is beyond the most profitable thing as far as food goes.. A pizza costs about 20 cent to make for these large companies, and less than a euro for those of us who make it at home!
    This.
    We have pizza night on saturday night and watch a movie with the young lads.
    Mrs. Shed makes them herself and they are way better than anything you buy in the shops for a fraction of the price. Kitchens a mess to clean up the next morning tho. Should prob do it straight away...

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Do you eat anything at all? Seem to have a strange preoccupation with carbs. Surely making a pizza is healthier than buying one, not sure what this dietary high and mighty attitude is all about.

Sometimes I'll take a wholegrain Mediterranean flatbread, layer it with a chicken breast or a can of tuna and cover that in home-made salsa, that's what I'd eat instead of a pizza. The high and mighty attitude is why I look like I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Apaches 10er pizza is a great deal!
    Good too

The high and mighty attitude is why I look like I do.

But have no friends :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

.... then we saw that domino's charge 20€ for a large pizza and remembered we're not mental.

Tee hee :pac:

tempnam wrote: »
    But have no friends

I have 5 people I would call friend and a bird I love very much. All I need.

Admittedly we're not quite the legion you and your online guild are, but quality over quantity and all that

The high and mighty attitude is why I look like I do.
    Alright Hercules, I get it now.
    Admittedly we're not quite the legion you and your online guild are, but quality over quantity and all that
    Wow, you really said that huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

For God's sake.
    Apart from the wings, birds and moths are completely different animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I have 5 people I would call friend and a bird I love very much.

Kes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Frozen Pizza = Blow Up Doll. Might have all the same stuff but it just ain't real

Dominos Pizza = High Class Whore. You get what you pay for OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

I buy the goodfellas cheese and tomatoes for 2 euro and put my own toppings on them then!

Tis tasty!

Kes?

Love that film, if she wasn't pregnant with a strong masculine child I'd trade her for Kes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I have 5 people I would call friend and a bird I love very much. All I need.

I picture you as a man with a bird perched on his shoulder addressing people as friend.

EDIT: Dammit, now there's a strong masculine child molesting your bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Make your own pizza, it's easy and healthy with the right ingredients.
    And some sunflower seeds for the bird, birds love sunflower seeds.

biko wrote: »
    Make your own pizza, it's easy and healthy with the right ingredients.
    And some sunflower seeds for the bird, birds love sunflower seeds.

What's everyone's problem with bird? I just don't take myself seriously enough to actually type out the phrase significant other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

I get the "four cheese" pizza from Supervalu, non frozen. Can get it for about Eur3.00 when its on special offer. I add mushrooms, garlic, olives and bacon. Tastes great.