Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't Ireland great?

• 09-03-2014 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

Seriously. Get past all the stuff people love to whinge about, and I think its an awful fine country here. Or at least, better than where I used to live. There's a competent bus system. Nice chippys. A good train system. 80% (ish) of the people are nice. You all seem to love tea as much as I do. I'm sure theres more things I like Ireland, thats just off the top of my head. Super country right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

*checks calender*

No, not Paddys day yet. Come back next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I don't enjoy paddys day./

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

cloud493 wrote: »
    Seriously. Get past all the stuff people love to whinge about, and I think its an awful fine country here. Or at least, better than where I used to live. There's a competent bus system. Nice chippys. A good train system. 80% (ish) of the people are nice. You all seem to love tea as much as I do. I'm sure theres more things I like Ireland, thats just off the top of my head. Super country right here.

In fairness to the Irish carpenters, they are top notch!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's literally worse than syria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Obviously not Irish.

I'm from Liverpool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

traitor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I've been a bit down lately being unemployed for a while. I had completely forgotten the competent bus system that people in Dublin enjoy. Thanks OP, really lifted my spirits.

Learn to hate yourself and loath others and you'll fit right in.

People don't know how lucky they are to live In Ireland. It's a national passtime to moan and gripe about the place and the Government. The grass is always greener. But for my money. there's NO place like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

If you are travelling to Dublin or somewhere that's on a line going to Dublin. If you want to travel north-south forget it.

People don't know how lucky they are to live In Ireland. It's a national passtime to moan and gripe about the place and the Government. The grass is always greener. But for my money. there's NO place like Ireland.

New Zealand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Lovely country, just the people in it that are the problem. We never stop whingeing about the place, other counties/towns, our own counties or towns (Cork people excluded), the weather or the economy.

We have an awful lot going for us but we spend too much time bitching and moaning.

I see the irony of my bitching, moaning, whingey post btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Plenty of good people on the other side of the border. Don't be mean.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ireland
    Ire - transitive verb; intense and usually openly displayed anger
    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ire

Ergo the land of intense and usually openly displayed anger :cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The bus and train thing has to be a joke and I'm a coffee person so the tea loving is a bit annoying.

But overall, it's a great country :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Nice chippys, LOL.

Ah, when you go away and come back, you do appreciate Ireland.
    I think it was sunnier more, we'd complain less. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I don't enjoy people calling it "paddys day" or similar.

17th March is Saint Patrick's Day or the Feast of Saint Patrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

We have one of the most progressive tax systems in the OECD, meaning Ireland is not a great place to live for rich people but a great place to live for the rest of us.

And yet people still complain about tax on low/middle income earners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Feck back to Liverpool ye scou... I mean welcome to Ireland. Will ye have a cup of tay? :)

Dublin Bus is much better than the bus system in the area of Liverpool I lived in. Therefore, better system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

its chippers around these parts OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

soft day, thank god.

Dublin Bus is much better than the bus system in the area of Liverpool I lived in. Therefore, better system.

Dublin =/= Ireland

Outside of Dublin, I could probably find you countless adults who have never seen the phenomenon that is public transport.

Still, a beautiful place and yes, the chippers are nice :)

There's a great stretch in the evening lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

You're on Cloud 9 dude. But it would be nice to be happy in the clouds like you are. The country is dandy, very well governed, and money is falling from the trees from the blowy gale out there. It's bliss.

Daveysil15 wrote: »

That's the right latitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Despite being a damp, squalid little island in the eastern Atlantic the country has a lot going for it.

Most of our potential is squandered because of a basic inability to act collectively - this manifests itself in the parochialism of our so called national politics.

People have, in general, no concept of the national or even community interest - they assume what is good for someone else is bad for them, and act / react accordingly.

I think if we could get past ourselves, vote in some (even a few) decent public minded politicians, introduce proper accountability into the state's institutions the place would transform in short order.

But as long as we continue in this myopic, inertia ridden society we'll only ever progress fitfully and in small increments.

In summary, it's an ok country - the annoying thing is it could be absolutely f&^king brilliant if we got our sh1t together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

It's a grand stretch, not great.

Ireland is of course top notch when compared to the likes of war torn countries, but it's all relative. I'm increasingly becoming aware of the ****ness of the political system here as well as the problems the irish attitude of 'ah sure it's grand' is causing, so no right now I would be of the opinion that Ireland is not so great, and only for my boyfriends commitments here I / we'd be gone.

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    Outside of Dublin, I could probably find you countless adults who have never seen the phenomenon that is public transport.

Still, a beautiful place and yes, the chippers are nice :)

What's the Luas like? I've never been on it.

Chippers are hit and miss these days. They were better back in the day when they wrapped the chips up in newspaper.

Crowded.

Oh the Green line is great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

It's great fun - especially the Red Line!

They should rename it the crazy train!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

What part?

cena wrote: »
    What part?

Wavertree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Only down the road from hall lane

Isn't Ireland great? Now we'll do the thing where we figure out how related we are based on who we know and where they drink and where the grandfathers are buried and then we'll say "ah, I have you now." :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

The bus system is terrible
    the train system is worse
    Take away food can hardly be considerd a plus
    A lot of people here loath anyone they see succeed

I'm not sure where you are talking about, but it isnt Ireland for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭daveyboynire

I think a lot depends on where you live. I live in a rural area, a good 30 miles from a train station, we have a bus coming once per day but yes generally people around here are friendly, I'm lucky that in our small village everyone knows everyone and talks to everyone in the street and its the type of place where we can still leave doors unlocked as crime in basically zero.

Travel a few miles into the nearest big town where I grew up and its a different affair, for one the locals seem be out getting numbered by Eastern Europeans, walk past someone in the street and they won't speak to you, and I certainly wouldn't feel safe walking around the side streets after dark.

pone2012 wrote: »
    The bus system is terrible
    the train system is worse
    Take away food can hardly be considerd a plus
    A lot of people here loath anyone they see succeed

I'm not sure where you are talking about, but it isnt Ireland for sure!

Not true about the transport system :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Lovely country, just the people in it that are the problem. We never stop whingeing about the place, other counties/towns, our own counties or towns (Cork people excluded), the weather or the economy.

We have an awful lot going for us but we spend too much time bitching and moaning.

I see the irony of my bitching, moaning, whingey post btw.
    Ah, we're great! I love the Irish sense of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I think the OP left out the word Ted from the thread title. It has an air of pis*take about it.

Not true about the transport system :)

Try living in Roscommon where there is no bus service between the two main towns in the county. To travel by public transport between them would involve three buses, a journey starting in Roscommon, bringing you through Sligo and Mayo before back to Roscommon again totalling over 4 hours, for a route that is along a national road and only takes 30 minutes to drive. Same in plenty of other rural areas.

Again if you want to travel between cities or large towns in Ireland that are along the main routes between Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Galway it's not a problem. Outside of that it's a big problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

The only place in the world where people dont protest over property taxes or water charges....but turn around and protest and try and get a couple of concerts stopped at croke park.

I live right beside a beach but dont anyone dare come within an inch of the beach this summer. Its my road and no one elses. And I dont like people having fun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I think Ireland is a good country to live in, I don't like the extra taxes we have to pay over the last few years and the fact that some sections of society are never asked to work a day in their life but it seems to be the same story in Britain.

The weather doesn't bother me much, our winters are nothing compared to other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

I dont drink tea

wolfeye wrote: »
    I dont drink tea

I thought people like you were just a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Do you support Liverpool or Everton? :D