Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Hail Brain O' Driscoll. King of Ireland.

• 08-03-2014 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭

Original thread title.

BOD cringemaking tribute

I can't believe I'm the only one cringinging at this lovfest for O'Driscoll. What do you all think?

MOD EDIT.

Title changed.

Abuse in any way Of Mr O' Driscoll will result in bannings/beatings etc.

Continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I think he's great, and a fine example of how a sports star should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭abff

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    I can't believe I'm the only one cringinging at this lovfest for O'Driscoll. What do you all think?

I think you're the only one. Get a sense of perspective.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Jesus ye AH begrudgers...

you can't recognise greatness So whinge away here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

if you can't take a bit of joy in that man's career i feel sorry for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Jealous,begrudging,wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I didn't see it. Tell me a bit more.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

With respect you havent a fcuking clue what your talking about,i doubt you have the slightest notion about the game or what the man has brought to the Irish game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Just you byrnsey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Zeebs

I think you're a pathetic begrudger that will never accomplish anything close to what O'Driscoll has. The guy is probably one of the greatest sportspeople Ireland has ever produced and an unbelievably class act to boot.

Any lovefest is warranted for a man like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Ah sure. If it makes people happy why not.
    Everyone needs more happiness in their lives.
    He is a great sportsman.

Yeah cringy, but feck it. Can't beat a bit of cringe on occasion. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

#bod is trending today and rightly so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

So Ireland produces probably the greatest player in the world of his generation but we can't pay tribute to him because it's omg like totes morto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

The man is an inspiration and in my eyes he can do no wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Deise67

were u forced to watch it OP ? don't like turn off simples really !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I hate rugby but I know enough to know he deserves all the tributes that come his way today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

He's been a fantastic player and I'm incredibly proud of what's he's achieved.

I don't understand and will never understand why people can't just accept the obvious instead of always looking for a negative slant on everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Please list out your achievements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

I think you are obviously not a fan of rugby.

He's one of the greatest players ever to have played the game and it's a fitting tribute to him and his family.

NÍ bheidh a leithéid ann arís.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I still haven't got an answer in any of the other threads. Who or what is a BOD?!?

In answer to your question though, OP. I don't interact with the coverage of this BOD person and whatever it is the love fest has been arranged to celebrate, so no. It doesn't BODDER me in the slightest.

If you don't like it, switch it off. I don't know. Go for a walk maybe? Something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Please close this thread ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Not a shite do i give but apparently he deserves the adulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Imagine how great it would be if he played a proper sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

First of all what did you expect for his last home game?

He is a hero to many and a fantastic sportsman, his rugby record alone means he is worthy of some kind of tribute.

He's a fan favourite, a decent guy by all accounts and there is no way the crowds would have let him walk off without some kind of send off.

If you found it so cringeworthy you should have turned off. I'm not a rugby fan but have a lot of admiration for BOD, well done to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Please close this thread ffs

Nfl FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I see the troll that started this thread is getting the reaction they expected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Brian O'Driscoll is an absolute hero. The man is an inspiration to people in all walks of life. His attitude is superb. I wish there were more like him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Continue.

there are hundreds of other channels nowadays perhaps pick up the remote and move on with your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Great player.

Deserved all he got.

Irish legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Mod

Please see opening post for mod warning.

Also

Im not sure which is worse ,the OP or the morons thanking it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I wonder what they will do with that MASSIF banner they brought out onto the pitch?

Duvet sets maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,956 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

So mod changes the title of the thread out of obvious love of BOD.

says a lot about the mods on here, and the voice of someone who has a different opinion.

I'm not a Rugby fan, but the guy has done a lot for the sport and deserves the day in the spot light, maybe it's a bit OTT, and if a poster feels this way they should have the right to make a thread and not have the named changed.

The mod should spend his time cleaning up the nonsense in other threads imo.

No doubt i'll get a warning for this post - but free speech and all that...

Dcully wrote: »
    Im not sure which is worse ,the OP or the morons thanking it :rolleyes:

To be fair, I think most will be thanking the mod edit as opposed to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Typical Irish begrudgery. The guy is a fine example for any young person, in any walk of life, not just sport. Let him have his well deserved day in the sun, for Gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

An absolute class act deserves every bit of praise that comes his way
    F#@k the begrudgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Jaysus, locked and then opened again!

keith16 wrote: »
    To be fair, I think most will be thanking the mod edit as opposed to the OP.

Maybe your correct, i really hope so.

If so apologies to those who thanked the mod edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

He was named the player of the decade he won a under 20 world cup he won a grand slam several triple crowns and was capped three times on the lions tour.
    He was an alround gent and an inspiration to the whole country. Unlike the selfish self centered egotistical soccor players around today. He never played himself up and always took everything on the chin. He will be missed by all. But he deserves his retirement. He has done more than most for this country. A true irishman. A Hero.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    and if a poster feels this way they should have the right to make a thread and not have the named changed.

The problem is, there has been about 1000 other threads in the same vein over the last few days. So I would say the mods are perfectly entitled to change it to one thread saying something positive.

Beats the shite out of locking it anyway.

I love you Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

An amazing human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

He comes a close second to rob kearney for my object of man love.:D

So mod changes the title of the thread out of obvious love of BOD.

says a lot about the mods on here, and the voice of someone who has a different opinion.

I'm not a Rugby fan, but the guy has done a lot for the sport and deserves the day in the spot light, maybe it's a bit OTT, and if a poster feels this way they should have the right to make a thread and not have the named changed.

Did you not see post #22? The Mod was just providing a service to the poster who asked this question.

I still haven't got an answer in any of the other threads. Who or what is a BOD?!?

keith16 wrote: »
    The problem is, there has been about 1000 other threads in the same vein over the last few days. So I would say the mods are perfectly entitled to change it to one thread saying something positive.

Beats the shite out of locking it anyway.

I love you Brian.

Would it not be fair to let this one and original title stay, and if mod feels strongly make his own thread, poor form imo.

actually can someone tell me how to report that mod for his actions as I believe it was uncalled for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Listening to the radio earlier, I thought he'd died or something. I presume he's just retiring(?) Oh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Far less smug than he should be considering his standing. That's an absolute crime in my books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Would it not be fair to let this one and original title stay, and if mod feels strongly make his own thread, poor form imo.

actually can someone tell me how to report that mod for his actions as I believe it was uncalled for.

Will ya stop ffs.

Don't like it?

Don't bloody read it.

Did you not see post #22? The Mod was just providing a service to the poster who asked this question.

Brian O'Driscoll - he's a rugby player, what has post 22 got to do with anything?

Brian O'Driscoll - he's a rugby player

Is he any good?