Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heres Bono!

• 07-03-2014 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭

Why is Bono always there playing the part of president of Ireland at every political engagement possible?

Back when Aung San Suu Kyi, the female nelson mandela of Burma arrived in Dublin, we of course needed Bono to be there to reminds us that he is Bono and he is relevant.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/aung-san-suu-kyi-my-visit-to-dublin-is-one-of-the-most-unforgettable-days-of-my-life-26866374.html

Today i read of EPP conference in Dublin and the crisis of Ukraine only to stroll down and see BONO once again there to greet us with his presence and wisdom.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0307/600653-european-peoples-party-congress/

"U2 singer Bono addressed the delegates, telling the crowd that the "Irish people had bailed the Irish people out".

The musician paid tribute to the Taoiseach, despite the fact Mr Kenny "prefers Bruce Springsteen to U2".

He also credited the Tánaiste and the Labour party for their role in the economic recovery.

"Real leadership has cost them real votes, and I personally appreciate it," he said.

Bono said he was saving the biggest "shoutout" for the Irish people who "were screwed and fought back with dignity".

"Irish people don’t bruise easily, but we do not like the feeling of being bullied," he said.

"When the public sector had to pay for the arrogance of private sector stupidity we got both bullied and bruised, and that is not fair."

To muted applause, he said the Irish public had exited the bailout despite the Troika."

I know people are going to say that this is Irish begrudery but it is not. My problem is that at every significant political engagement, we have Bono present as if he is representing the Irish people? He is not an elected representative and yet there he is at the EPP conference to give his opinion and meet with Europes political leaders.

As Stan Marsh asked in South Park, at some point can he not just f**k off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Thank you for creating a thread about Bono, I had pretty much forgotten about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Was The Hobbit there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Look op when your band makes a song as good as bullet the blue sky you can go to world leader meetings and I wont complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

What's that noise!?

Oh, the begrudger brigade are on the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Bono and Leo Varadkar, self promoting at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

What a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Ah here - leave it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe if someone didn't start a thread on him every 3 hours he wouldn't be so popular?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

He's our Barrack Obama......he's hated down south

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

I love multi-millionaires patronising us plebs. Go back to Holland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

His tax situation for his wealth should impress the voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Does Bono eat meat on Ash Wednesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

wazky wrote: »
    What's that noise!?

Oh, the begrudger brigade are on the way.

I was waiting for that, anytime someone is sick of Bono desperate to remind us of his presence, the word begrudger pops up. I reckon i could have said anything negative about any other Irish celebrity and that word would not follow. It is now the standard Bono defence.

I criticise Bono being invited to the EPP and you assume i begrudge Bono his success?

The issue i have is that whenever there is some sort of engagement with world leaders, the attitude is, we have to get Bono as he is kind of an representative of Ireland, when he is not.

He praises the Irish people and talks of how they dont like getting bruised? He did'nt seem to worry about the Irish people getting bruised when he took he decided to move his business operations to Holland, when they the tax exemption for Artist was lifted, at the time this bruising was inflicted on the irish people?

He is not a politician or representative of Ireland regardless of his success or celebrity status.

If i ever had such success as Bono, i should not be invited along to meet world leaders at world events either. It is not begrudery, it is an allergic reaction to a camera whore, egotistical hypocrite talking nonsense playing the part of our president despite not being elected to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

lightspeed wrote: »
    Why is Bono always there playing the part of president of Ireland at every political engagement possible?

Back when Aung San Suu Kyi, the female nelson mandela of Burma arrived in Dublin, we of course needed Bono to be there to reminds us that he is Bono and he is relevant.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/aung-san-suu-kyi-my-visit-to-dublin-is-one-of-the-most-unforgettable-days-of-my-life-26866374.html

Today i read of EPP conference in Dublin and the crisis of Ukraine only to stroll down and see BONO once again there to greet us with his presence and wisdom.

"U2 singer Bono addressed the delegates, telling the crowd that the "Irish people had bailed the Irish people out".

The musician paid tribute to the Taoiseach, despite the fact Mr Kenny "prefers Bruce Springsteen to U2".

He also credited the Tánaiste and the Labour party for their role in the economic recovery.

"Real leadership has cost them real votes, and I personally appreciate it," he said.

Bono said he was saving the biggest "shoutout" for the Irish people who "were screwed and fought back with dignity".

"Irish people don’t bruise easily, but we do not like the feeling of being bullied," he said.

"When the public sector had to pay for the arrogance of private sector stupidity we got both bullied and bruised, and that is not fair."

To muted applause, he said the Irish public had exited the bailout despite the Troika."

I know people are going to say that this is Irish begrudery but it is not. My problem is that at every significant political engagement, we have Bono present as if he is representing the Irish people? He is not an elected representative and yet there he is at the EPP conference to give his opinion and meet with Europes political leaders.

Yea, we'd be as well just leaving enda to read out a couple of pages of bu11sh1te written by one of his many 'special' people he has running around after him.

BTW, for several of world tours in a row U2 made a point in every concert of reminding the crowd of the injustice being perpetrated on Aung San Suu Kyi until eventually she was released from house arrest in 2010.

He did'nt seem to worry about the Irish people getting bruised when he took he decided to move his business operations to Holland, when they the tax exemption for Artist was lifted, at the time this bruising was inflicted on the irish people?

Isn't that exactly the thing enda and co do by making this country a tax haven to attract MNC's?

jane82 wrote: »
    Look op when your band makes a song as good as bullet the blue sky you can go to world leader meetings and I wont complain.

Then we dont elections. We can just appoint politicians based on their success in the music industry?

Can i ask would you feel the same if Jedward were there taking to world leaders to communicate the economic hardship experienced by the irish people in recent years?

I think the question should be asked if they were even invited? Given that successful Irish artists should be at political events, surely, given their success, we most hear their opinion?

Can i ask would you feel the same if Jedward were there taking to world leaders to communicate the economic hardship experienced by the irish people in recent years?

To be fair, Jedward would probably fight more for Ireland than the gormless enda and baldy noonan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Penny for Degsy's thoughts on the matter...

This tax thing is silly. Im sure he gives vast amounts of money to charity. Maybe he thought hed take his tax from Ireland and give it to hungry people in somalia.
    He means well its just begrudgery from Irish people. Im not the biggest U2 fan in the world but you cant honestly call them crap if you honestly have a broad interest in music. There has to be a few songs in there youd like.
    Would you rather he spent his time giving predictable soundbites about how whatever country hes in has the best fans or how he plans to do a bit of guinness/heinnekin/saachi drinking depending on what country hes in?
    Fair play to him I say still selling out arena after arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

He's a capitalist trying to hide the fact that he's nothing more than a capitalist. Michael D might talk ****e at times but he was elected for the position. Bono on the other hand is nothing more than a jumped up jackeen whose fame was paid for by the public. Never liked the music or the man but this philosophical BS is just an insult to our intelligence.

Then we dont elections. We can just appoint politicians based on their success in the music industry?

I think the question should be asked if they were even invited? Given that successful Irish artists should be at political events, surely, given their success, we most hear their opinion?

Ah your getting ahead of yourself. The world leaders elected by the people.decided it was important to have him there not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭tritriagain

He does pay tax in ireland.probably more than everyone who will comment on this thread combined. In fairness to him he only gets involved and speaks out on topics he has actually educated himself on. The only part of u2's business that is taxed in holland is the royalties side. They are a business. Ireland can hardly moan ......look at apple on news tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

To the rest of the world his the only one worth asking.

How come Geldof doesn't get the same abuse?

I mean he preaches about the poor, moved to England to avoid paying taxes here I suppose and then comes back to Turbidy on pravda now and again to tell us how sh!te the country is.

At least U2 are all tax resident in this country, even if their global company isn't.

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    Isn't that exactly the thing enda and co do by making this country a tax haven to attract MNC's?

Yes it is which is why I was not criticising the Government of Holland. I was criticising Bono for talking of how the Irish people were bruised and bullied and Bono acting like he gives a f**k.

When the economy was roaring ahead and the artist exemption was present, during those boom years, Bono was happy to avail of it.

When the country was in trouble and needed, the exemption was scrapped and the country needed all the tax revenue it could get to help create jobs, did Bono say, lets help keep Ireland a float we are already mega rich?

No he said, i care about my money only,off i go to Holland and f**k Ireland and its problems.

So on one hand, some people take the position, so what Bono is not a politician and it is not his job to care about creating or sustaining jobs in Ireland.

Ok fine, then why is it ok for to him to play the part of a politician at engagements like this and talk of how of the bruising of the Irish people, when if he cared so much he would not have moved his business to Holland.

There are probably plenty of other artists that have moved their operations to Holland. I would not have an issue with them. At least not as much as with Bono as they are not jumping at every chance to meet world leaders like a politician and subsequently, praising the struggle of the irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

He does pay tax in ireland.probably more than everyone who will comment on this thread combined.

Open to correction on this, but I doubt he pays more than AH boardsies as a percentage of total earnings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Baze

despite the fact Mr Kenny "prefers Bruce Springsteen to U2"

That reminds me of the night myself and the girlfriend were out at a restaurant and we seen Bono there with this strange guy, sitting just a few tables away. When Bono went to the toilet snuck over and discreetly explained to the guy that my girlfriend was a massive fan of Bono but is much to nervous to approach him and would he mind getting his autograph for her. The guy said to leave it with him and he would see what he could do. Then as we were leaving and went to pay for our meal, the waitress said to us: "Do you not realise who that man was with Bono?". We just said no, that we hadn't a clue who he was and she said: "You pair of fecking eejits, that was Gary Glitter, and because you were both too busy fawning all over Bono, he went and nicked your daughter". Jaysus we were mortified altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Baze wrote: »
    That reminds me of the night myself and the girlfriend were out at a restaurant and we seen Bono there with this strange guy, sitting just a few tables away. When Bono went to the toilet snuck over and discreetly explained to the guy that my girlfriend was a massive fan of Bono but is much to nervous to approach him and would he mind getting his autograph for her. The guy said to leave it with him and he would see what he could do. Then as we were leaving and went to pay for our meal, the waitress said to us: "Do you not realise who that man was with Bono?". We just said no, that we hadn't a clue who he was and she said: "You pair of fecking eejits, that was Gary Glitter, and because you were both too busy fawning all over Bono, he went and nicked your daughter". Jaysus we were mortified altogether.

Nice twist on an old tale.

Would he have much say in what U2 inc(or whatever they are called do) surely they have a board that control these things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭tritriagain

never mentioned petcentage

I mean he preaches about the poor, moved to England to avoid paying taxes here I suppose and then comes back to Turbidy on pravda now and again to tell us how sh!te the country is.

At least U2 are all tax resident in this country, even if their global company isn't.

I will have you know my feelings for Bono are on par with Bono. He is just as much of a tool accept with less musical talent and thankfully appears to have come more camera shy in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

That's a bit rich, is he talking about property developers, as they say people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭vforvictory

Where is Jim Corr when you need him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

never mentioned petcentage

No, you didn't. You didn't mention "fair share" either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

U2 still offshore tax wise then ???? So much for their contribution to national economic recovery !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I must be sick or something -- I don't hate Bono :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Can Degsy's ban be lifted for 24 hours to deliver the vandalistic riposte for which today's tit-headed utterances beg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I did hear that Bono and his folically challenged Welsh friend are planning six gigs in Croke Park next year.

The Welshman was quoted 'there's only room for one cnut in a stetson in this town, , I'll show him who's boss, boss'.

I would have posted this in the Croke Park/Garth Brooks thread but I'm a little scared.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Baze

Where is Jim Corr when you need him?

Supposedly on the Late Late but he never turned up there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

TheZohan wrote: »
    Thank you for creating a thread about Bono, I had pretty much forgotten about him.

Could say the same thing about yourself!

Welcome back Mr. Z :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

Ah piss off Bono ya hypocritical little twat.

I've thought long and hard about my stance on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Everybody call me Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So the majority on here would back Google, Facebook, Dell etc being told to shut down in Ireland and go back to their home countries to pay the tax there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

who decieded that they required bono to arse lick the people of ireland, byarse licking bono in the first place.

So the majority on here would back Google, Facebook, Dell etc being told to shut down in Ireland and go back to their home countries to pay the tax there??

You'd think that, wouldn't you?

U2 are doing exactly what this current government expect MNC's to do, i.e avail of our status as a tax haven.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not sure about that. There is no way a sitting president could ever say this in a speech.

I'm sick of the Bonofication of everything too but I reckon foreign audiences love him and seem to take more notice of him than we do. So if he can portray a positive image of Ireland abroad then let him off.

Now as for this nonsense.

Geldof initially moved to London along with the other Boomtown Rats to sign a record deal. Nothing unusual in that both back then and now.

The move was made easier by the fact that this country was in the shíte state at the time. He describes in his book about having to wait 2 years just to get a phone connection when he tried to set up a business here. The Leixlip Castle fiasco further backs up his critisism of the Irish establishment at the time.

While in England, he met an English girl, married her, had a family with her and continued to rear the children in the country they were born after her death (as well as adapting a child from her subsuquent tragic relationship).

Geldof's reason for living in the UK has fúckall to do with tax exile status. (In fact, as a individual, he'd be better off living here under the artist's tax exemption shceme).

But why let the truth get in the way of soom good olf fashioned Irish begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Apparently we bailed ourselves out despite him and other tax dodgers too!

Lapin wrote: »

But why let the truth get in the way of soom good olf fashioned Irish begrudgery.

Isn't that what this thread is all about?

Bono and the rest of U2 pay their personal taxes in this country.

Their company moved part of their business to another country.

Do you think that all U2's earnings are made in Ireland?

We slag off our own yet government policy is for all other MNC's to come here to do exactly what U2 are doing.

The double standards are laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson