Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Captain Cee Bee supplemented up the Champion Hurdle.

• 05-03-2014 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭

Time to lay Hurricane Fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭My Potatoes

I assume CCB was supplemented to set the pace that suits Jezki and/or MTOY. Rather than let Hurricane Fly dictate. This is just the tonic that Hurricane Fly layers needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 mrgavo

I hate the way people call him "The Fly"

I hate the way my trust on predictive writing has let me down. How "in" was replaced with "up" I cannot say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 mrgavo

I hate the way my trust on predictive writing has let me down. How "in" was replaced with "up" I cannot say.

Haha see you changed it! Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭boysinblack

This makes no sense , put the pacemaker in that has set the pace in the last two races which resulted in the Hurricane fly winning?

Captain Cee Bee will be by in large ignored , they will sit 5 or 6 lengths off him and that be the real pace in the race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

This makes no sense , put the pacemaker in that has set the pace in the last two races which resulted in the Hurricane fly winning?

Captain Cee Bee will be by in large ignored , they will sit 5 or 6 lengths off him and that be the real pace in the race...

If Captain Cee Bee wasn't supplemented then Jezki would probably have been forced to make the running which certainly wouldn't have been ideal.

Also, Captain Cee Bee in the races ensure they go a good clip which will definitely be a big positive for My Tent Or Yours.

Granted, they may ignore CCB a bit out in front but it gives the others in the race something to aim at as opposed to potentially being in front from the drop of the flag.

JP supplemented him purely to give his horses a better chance of winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

That's exactly it.
    Waste of 20k, JP should have just put it on MTOY instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Panrich

Captain Cee Bee is not a no hoper that can be safely ignored despite his age though. The bare form of his last couple of runs entitle him to some respect. That said, I'd imagine that he's there to tow Jeszki along at a good clip bofore he takes over and sets sail for home at the top of the hill. All the while, MTOY will be getting the fast pace that he needs. Ruby can't let Jeszki get too far ahead and cover MTOY at the same time.

This is good news for Dessie Hughes too in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

CCB to set off a decent clip, followed by Jezki.
    Jezki to take it up coming round the bend and no other horse will get near.
    Quite simple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Why are people surprised by this, it has been on the cards since the last run.

UDS is still entered too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Slattsy wrote: »
    CCB to set off a decent clip, followed by Jezki. Jeski to take it up coming round the bend and no other horse will get near.
    Quite simple really.

Jeski has no piece of form anywhere that would entitle him to place. Anyone who backs him is lighting good money on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Hurricane Fly has the speed to win off a slow pace!
    He has the stamina to win if they try make it a true test (Grade 1 winner over 2m 4f)
    It doesn't matter to him what way they run the race, pacemaker or no pacemaker.

It'll come down to whether he is still as good as ever!

kfallon wrote: »
    Hurricane Fly has the speed to win off a slow pace!
    He has the stamina to win if they try make it a true test (Grade 1 winner over 2m 4f)
    It doesn't matter to him what way they run the race, pacemaker or no pacemaker.

It'll come down to whether he is still as good as ever!

No, we have seen he struggles on decent ground off a good fast pace. That's not an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Jeski has no piece of form anywhere that would entitle him to place. Anyone who backs him is lighting good money on fire

Cant agree with that. He was only beat a few lengths by HF 2 runs ago. He would of been closer only for been boxed in.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Cant agree with that. He was only beat a few lengths by HF 2 runs ago. He would of been closer only for been boxed in.

I'd say no horse that has ever been beaten by his own pacemaker in his prep run has ever won a championship race

Take no notice of that, Jezki was pulling the arms out of McCoy for most of the race, that was basically a 3f sprint that day.

Nevertheless, horses don't win champion hurdles off those kind of preps, plus he's probably not good enough

I remember people saying the same about Hardy Eustace and Sublimity.

Hardy finished a short head second in his prep the first year and won his prep the second year, and he had won the novice hurdle the previous year at the festival

Sublimity also won his prep.

Hardy finished a short head second in his prep the first year and won his prep the second year, and he had won the novice hurdle the previous year at the festival

Sublimity also won his prep.

Pretty sure Sublimity won a egg and spoon race before going the Champion, then was beaten into 3rd or 4th in a Grade 2 the start before that. Both won at big odds so were hardly fancied. I do agree that Jezki has to improve a good bit to win it but I feel we will see the best of him on Tuesday. His jumping is my only worry.

Stop spelling Jezki wrong, that's at least 10 times now I've had enough.

mdwexford wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

His jumping is my only worry.

This is the reason he won't win it. His jumping contains too many flaws to win a ch IMO. In saying that I think Barry could give him a different ride so he may improve.

Have a decent wedge on our Conor myself that will see me good for the weeks bets.
    Serious race

Edit, on the spelling of his name I can't stand people saying jet ski :D

They're spelling it wrong now? Ahhhhhh... So tired of hearing his name pronounced JET-ski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Lots of mentions here of how CCB being in the race will be the perfect foil for MTOY and possibly Jezki, which I find a little confusing, surely the biggest benneficary will be The New One.

Hurricane Fly will win no matter what way they run it or what pace they set but there is no doubt that the biggest winner from CCB's entry is TNO.

Think it's clearly MTOY, he's definitely the hardest to settle and probably the best at quickening off a fast pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Motivator

He was beaten less than a length by one of the fancied horses for the race this year & beaten less than 3 by the winner of the supreme last year.

He has beaten Champagne Fever twice & last time by 16 lengths.

He has won over 2 mile 4.

He is unbeaten when ridden by Barry Geraghty.

He has been caller an unlucky horse this year by almost every expert to preview the champion hurdle field - his races have not been run to suit him.

Yes, he was beaten by his own pacemaker but was beaten less than 4 lengths by Hurricane Fly last time out.

I believe these are reasons enough why he has to be considered to have a love chance on Tuesday.

I ask you Richie, why do you talk such ****e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭nobody told me

He was beaten in the bumper he was beaten in the supreme. How on earth will he come along and win one of the best champion hurdles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭mulbot

Think it's clearly MTOY, he's definitely the hardest to settle and probably the best at quickening off a fast pace.

?? he wasn't able to do it last year,cruised round then wasn't able to quicken on the horse who led from the start-i couldn't have him winning this CH

He was beaten in the bumper he was beaten in the supreme. How on earth will he come along and win one of the best champion hurdles?

Binocular was beaten in a supreme & won a champion hurdle.

Motivator wrote: »
    Binocular was beaten in a supreme & won a champion hurdle.

binocular was a flawless jumper-

mulbot wrote: »
    binocular was a flawless jumper-

Jessie has had plenty time since the Irish champion hurdle to get his jumping sorted. He will be 100% on Tuesday & he'll be ridden by Geraghty who is the only man for the job. Geraghty has said a few times in the last few weeks that McCoy gave him some terrible rides lately. Geraghty will get the best out of him on Tuesday & it'd be nice to see him win it. Plenty would be proved wrong!

she had a full year to get it sorted-watch his battering of the final hurdle in the sup novice,he cant improve his jumping in a few weeks if he didnt do it over the last year,i think he will place though

His jumping wasn't an issue in the Royal Bond or at Punchestown. The supreme novice defeat was down to one reason - robbie power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

It baffles me how some people think certain horses are primed for one day and not another. Whos to say Hurricane Fly hasnt been at a 100% yet this season but there seems excuses that Jezki and Our Conor were not at 100% this season but Hurricane Fly was!

Dont think Captain Cee Bee will make much of a difference in the race he will largely be ignored, the horse in 2nd position will theoretically make the pace, CCB hasnt got the quality to run these into the ground so id think he will be ignored, waste of money by Jp if you ask me. I could have done with that 20 grand :-)

mr.jingle wrote: »
    It baffles me how some people think certain horses are primed for one day and not another. Whos to say Hurricane Fly hasnt been at a 100% yet this season but there seems excuses that Jezki and Our Conor were not at 100% this season but Hurricane Fly was!

Dont think Captain Cee Bee will make much of a difference in the race he will largely be ignored, the horse in 2nd position will theoretically make the pace, CCB hasnt got the quality to run these into the ground so id think he will be ignored, waste of money by Jp if you ask me. I could have done with that 20 grand :-)

I don't think anyone said any different to what you're suggesting. In fact it's fairly well known that none of the Champion Hurdle contenders were near 100% all year. Everything is geared toward Tuesday.

In reference to CCB, I presume mark Walsh will be riding him, he will be sent off in front to set the greatest pace we'll probably ever see in a Champion hurdle. He'll go as fast as he can for as long as he can, he'll be passed at the top of the hill & the rest will battle it out over the last 2 & up the hill. I'd imagine CCB will be retired afterwards also.

His jumping wasn't an issue in the Royal Bond or at Punchestown. The supreme novice defeat was down to one reason - robbie power.

true

?? he wasn't able to do it last year,cruised round then wasn't able to quicken on the horse who led from the start-i couldn't have him winning this CH

Wasn't a lightening fast pace all the way in the Supreme.

He's also far better and stronger this year.

We shall see, I think it will be between him and Our Conor. Not much in it between them all though, whoever is in top shape on the day or jumps best could win.

Wasn't a lightening fast pace all the way in the Supreme.

He's also far better and stronger this year.

We shall see, I think it will be between him and Our Conor. Not much in it between them all though, whoever is in top shape on the day or jumps best could win.

i know ,i would like our conor or hurricane, its too close but i want to have a bet because its gonna be such a good race and i just can't settle on one definite horse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 Propunter1

As Ted Walsh says,MTOY does not get up the hill.

Propunter1 wrote: »

Ted Walsh is an utter clown & will make a fool of himself as usual over the few days next week. That's the only certainty of the festival. I wouldn't pay a blind bit of attention to anything he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭flashjohn

Remember Ted saying that the only way One Man would win a Gold Cup was if they moved the finishing line down at the bottom bend. Those were the good ol days of channel 4 racing

Ted Walsh stated these desert princes are not to be trusted,I'd take heed to his advice tbh,the horse pulls too hard and will be ran out of it by something most likely Hurricane fly.

Ted Walsh is an utter clown & will make a fool of himself as usual over the few days next week. That's the only certainty of the festival. I wouldn't pay a blind bit of attention to anything he says.

That's harsh

flashjohn wrote: »
    That's harsh

The lads on here know more than trainers who have been working with horses before some of them were in nappys.

Im relatively new to this posting and I feel that if you have to be a member for a long time to be taken seriously. It's like a closed shop. I could be wrong. Everybody is a different levels in their ability to read form and extrapolate it into a result. At the end of the day we are all rock hard for cheltenham and we all enjoy it differently. Some win and some lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Sammo13

It's all opinons and I was laughed at on these pages in 2012 predicting Synchronised would run a big race in the GC.. This year I'm a big fan of TNO and a fast pace should suit, but certainly not bullish as how can you with such as class field and for me its the race of the week & season. But the TNO will be carrying my hard earned come Tuesday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

That's interesting you've made that perception given you only signed up. I've seen a few posts already suggesting you have fairly strong opinions which would counter some of what certain trainers have said. What was your view on David pipes love for kings palace and red Sherlock and Sam twisting Davies ride on big bucks the last day. Did you think Paul Nicholls was right in the instructions he gave to Sam?

In reference to CCB, I presume mark Walsh will be riding him, he will be sent off in front to set the greatest pace we'll probably ever see in a Champion hurdle. He'll go as fast as he can for as long as he can, he'll be passed at the top of the hill & the rest will battle it out over the last 2 & up the hill. I'd imagine CCB will be retired afterwards also.

TNO will go with him and then the cat will be among the pigeons.

NTD must be absolutely delighted.