Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terminal 2 - Are Staff Members of SIPTU?

• 04-03-2014 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭

I am flying on 14 March and effected by the SIPTU action, which was sadly confirmed by SIPTU today, from terminal 2 with US airways.

Are staff members in terminal 2 members of SIPTU? Will terminal 2 be fully closed during the strike times?

Many thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Fungus wrote: »

I am flying on 14 March and effected by the SIPTU action, which was sadly confirmed by SIPTU today, from terminal 2 with US airways.

Are staff members in terminal 2 members of SIPTU? Will terminal 2 be fully closed during the strike times?

Many thanks.

US Airways is handled by Servisair. There not on strike but Daa are. So most likely the flight will be cancelled if it's going ahead because no one can do anything. You might be able to check in but keep an eye on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭JTMan

Thanks.

Why do you think the flight will be cancelled rather than simply delayed?

That is good news that the airport might be open during the strike, which might mean that the delay will be lessened because people can check-in and wait at the boarding gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,279 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Well people are unlikely to bet getting anywhere near departure gates - the security personnel are all DAA staff and presumably will be on strike.

Effectively the airport will be shut down for four hours.

Your airline will no doubt get in touch with you - they may reschedule the flight.

US airways say they "know nothing about the strike". :rolleyes:

Do the DAA need to formally inform US Airways of the strike?

US airways say they "know nothing about the strike". :rolleyes:

Do the DAA need to formally inform US Airways of the strike?

They will get in touch with you beforehand - all you can do is wait.

These things tend to be dealt with pretty much at the last minute I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

You also have to take in to account the security at post 4 they are also SIPTU members if the security post is closed,This will mean no cargo,catering or fuel for the airlines.

What do people rate the changes of this been resolved before 14 March? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Roblestone

Terminal 2 staff are a mix of unions SIPTU for security and cleaning and a different one for the maintainance engineers (can't remember name of Union begins with t) I have a family member in T2 security staff who said they aren't caught up in this issue with the pension (they have a different pension) but the unions will more than likely make them go on strike to support their counterparts in T1.

Either way the fire crew are SIPTU so regardless of what terminal u use the runway won't be open for scheduled traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Szero

Hence, you will probably get into the airport building, but you might or might not get through security and certainly won't fly.

Time for urgent Labour Court re-intervention to prevent chaos on this key tourist weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

I would be delighted if the Government get the Army and Gardai into Dublin airport during that strike and keep the place open.

SIPTU are nothing but unpatriotic, to think that they are shutting down our 3 main airports and National flag carrier on the Friday of St Patrick's weekend is nothing short of a disgrace.

I would in some way have more respect for their cause if they did this at another time
    Either way they will get their point across, but doing it on the 14th is disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭djmcr

kub wrote: »

I would in some way have more respect for their cause if they did this at another time
    Either way they will get their point across, but doing it on the 14th is disgraceful.
    Not sure that they are looking for your respect in fairness. They are looking to get their pensions sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Roblestone

I would be delighted if the Government get the Army and Gardai into Dublin airport during that strike and keep the place open.

SIPTU are nothing but unpatriotic scum, to think that they are shutting down our 3 main airports and National flag carrier on the Friday of St Patrick's weekend is nothing short of a disgrace.

They are not looking for your respect. Yes, it's a bad time to strike, if you look at it from a travellers or companies side. But a clever time if u look from the unions side. I guarantee you, both sides will have better talks over the next few weeks than they have had over the past 3 years. So while it will disrupt people, it may just make some headway on the pensions issue, albeit at the expense of the travelling public, airlines and businesses that rely on tourists. I'm sure nobody wants to see this happen but it's a final resort for the unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The timing is wrong. A strike at any time which would close airports countrywide would have enough impact and would focus the minds required to deal with the issue without question. No issue with them trying to get a fair deal on their pensions I'm always pro worker. A strike at this time is unnecessary and will erode good will en masse from the travelling public and might not have the desired impact everyone is wishing for but in an ideal world it will be sorted in advance fingers crossed for all involved.

djmcr wrote: »
    Not sure that they are looking for your respect in fairness. They are looking to get their pensions sorted.
    Roblestone wrote: »
    They are not looking for your respect. Yes, it's a bad time to strike, if you look at it from a travellers or companies side. But a clever time if u look from the unions side. I guarantee you, both sides will have better talks over the next few weeks than they have had over the past 3 years. So while it will disrupt people, it may just make some headway on the pensions issue, albeit at the expense of the travelling public, airlines and businesses that rely on tourists. I'm sure nobody wants to see this happen but it's a final resort for the unions.

Perhaps I phrased that incorrectly, what i should have said was they would get my respect if they postponed it to a time that this countries National holiday is not on.

Either way I really cannot imagine that i would ever respect SIPTU, or be too bothered if they if they did likewise, that is not to say I can indeed see the workers side in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭homer1982

I am flying with Aer Lingus to Chicago on 14th March at 12:00, has anyone got an idea if my flight will be delayed?

I booked it through trailfinders and I rand them and they have said they are yet to recieve a policy from Aer Lingus acknowledging the strike and also giving me an option on rescheduling for the day before.

I need to be in Chicago for that early evening and could not afford the time of a delay or either the money it would cost to reschedule at my own expense.

homer1982 wrote: »
    I am flying with Aer Lingus to Chicago on 14th March at 12:00, has anyone got an idea if my flight will be delayed?

I booked it through trailfinders and I rand them and they have said they are yet to recieve a policy from Aer Lingus acknowledging the strike and also giving me an option on rescheduling for the day before.

I need to be in Chicago for that early evening and could not afford the time of a delay or either the money it would cost to reschedule at my own expense.

It's impossible to say what the impact will be as yet, as the airlines have not done any rescheduling yet - this tends to be pretty last minute in circumstances such as this.

But I'd imagine that given inbound transatlantic flights will be affected, it will have some form of knock-on effect.

What do people rate the changes of this been resolved before 14 March? Thanks.

With respect, no one here can answer that.

It's an industrial dispute with very complex issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

SIPTU are nothing but unpatriotic scum, to think that they are shutting down our 3 main airports and National flag carrier on the Friday of St Patrick's weekend is nothing short of a disgrace.

This is what got the last thread locked calling someone/union/company scum is not on and against the charter.

You are around long enough to know this and there for receiving a warning.

lxflyer wrote: »
    It's impossible to say what the impact will be as yet, as the airlines have not done any rescheduling yet - this tends to be pretty last minute in circumstances such as this.

But I'd imagine that given inbound transatlantic flights will be affected, it will have some form of knock-on effect.

Aer Lingus have done all their rescheduling, all details on their website. For some, major delays (thanks SIPTU) for a minority an earlier flight.

No news from Ryanair, US Airways etc yet.

Aer Lingus have done all their rescheduling, all details on their website. For some, major delays (thanks SIPTU) for a minority an earlier flight.

No news from Ryanair, US Airways etc yet.

As I said above, the airline WILL contact you in advance of the flight.

You will just have to wait for that to happen.

There's nothing anyone here can do to help you until that happens I'm afraid.

Sit tight and wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

SIPTU are nothing but unpatriotic, to think that they are shutting down our 3 main airports and National flag carrier on the Friday of St Patrick's weekend is nothing short of a disgrace.

You think guards and army personnel would be able to run an international airport? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 KevinEldon

My EI flight has been re-timed to depart at 4.30am instead of 6am on the 14th.Means being at the airport for 2am or so,and then hanging around Amsterdam for 5 or 6 hours,but just relieved to get out seeing as how many other flights were cancelled.

KevinEldon wrote: »
    My EI flight has been re-timed to depart at 4.30am instead of 6am on the 14th.Means being at the airport for 2am or so,and then hanging around Amsterdam for 5 or 6 hours,but just relieved to get out seeing as how many other flights were cancelled.

Why would you want to be at the airport 2.5 hours before a short haul flight?

I've never arrived at an airport more than 1.5 hours beforehand, and have always had plenty of time to spare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

I always arrive 2 hours before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 KevinEldon

lxflyer wrote: »
    Why would you want to be at the airport 2.5 hours before a short haul flight?

I've never arrived at an airport more than 1.5 hours beforehand, and have always had plenty of time to spare.

Just to be sure in case of delays and whatnot,especially on a day the airport is going on strike.

bumper234 wrote: »
    You think guards and army personnel would be able to run an international airport? :rolleyes:

No not at all, I expect the airport management have the expertise to do that, whom I assume as management will not be on strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

No not at all, I expect the airport management have the expertise to do that, whom I assume as management will not be on strike.

Ok but when 40 baggage handlers go on strike do you think 2 managers will be able to show army or guards how to do the job? How about when 15 security guards strike? Will their 2 managers be able to cover their shift with a bunch of untrained army/guards? Guards and army personnel are not trained to do the job.

KevinEldon wrote: »
    Just to be sure in case of delays and whatnot,especially on a day the airport is going on strike.

I would still say that 2.5 hours is far too early, particularly given EI have scheduled no other departures until after the strike.

I would not expect any of the other T2 airlines to have departures until after the stoppage concludes.

bumper234 wrote: »
    Ok but when 40 baggage handlers go on strike do you think 2 managers will be able to show army or guards how to do the job? How about when 15 security guards strike? Will their 2 managers be able to cover their shift with a bunch of untrained army/guards? Guards and army personnel are not trained to do the job.

No offence to baggage handlers but really is it that difficult? Not to forget also that there are baggage handlers employed in Knock and Farranfore who might fancy some overtime. Of course there are also plenty of lads up North.

Just re the security guards, are you sure that the Gardai and Army know nothing about security? Don't the Army have their own airport, which seems fairly secure to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Paul MCM

I'm meant to be flying to New York on Friday 14 at 8.55. Spoke with American Airlines and they still have it scheduled to leave on time. Doubt it will, so just have to wait and see if the strike gets called off or if they reschedule it.

No offence to baggage handlers but really is it that difficult? Not to forget also that there are baggage handlers employed in Knock and Farranfore who might fancy some overtime. Of course there are also plenty of lads up North.

Just re the security guards, are you sure that the Gardai and Army know nothing about security? Don't the Army have their own airport, which seems fairly secure to me.

Ah see that is wear you are naive how many baggage handlers from either Knock or Farranfore would be used to loading A300/A320/330 B757/767/777 not to mention push pack of aircraft.
    As for the Gardai/army are they trained in using x-ray machines etc as not everyone can operate one plus remember if the fire service goes out it means the airport can not operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

As for the Gardai/army are they trained in using x-ray machines etc as not everyone can operate one plus remember if the fire service goes out it means the airport can not operate.

If it did hypothetically come to it there could be a situation were other countries refuse to accept flights from DUB as the security didn't conform to ICAO standards.

As to the transatlantics,i reckon they'll push back their departure from the US by a few hours so as they arrive after 09.00 and depart a few hours later than due. The US carriers will probably be quite late in making that call though.

plus remember if the fire service goes out it means the airport can not operate.

Ok the rest above are very valid points and thank you for bringing them up but just on the bit I have quoted, the Air Corp already have a fully equipped airport Fire Service so i don't see that being an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭djmcr

Are you seriously advocating strike breaking

Ok the rest above are very valid points and thank you for bringing them up but just on the bit I have quoted, the Air Corp already have a fully equipped airport Fire Service so i don't see that being an issue.

I am sure the Aer Corp lads are top notch at their jobs and probably use some of the same fire trucks,But that is where the similarity ends you are looking at the safety mgmt of an International airport with hangers & terminals etc along with a 24 hr ambulance.
    Dublin airport like many others is like a mini city within the city and the lads at Dublin know every nuck & grany in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

As a member of the security screening staff in T2 i can honestly tell you ALL that we have not been balloted on strike action or sympathy strike. If they fire service does go out then there will be no flights in or out of the airport, however if they don't and it's just the search unit in T1 that go on strike then the airport police will fill in for them and any excess of Ryanair pax will be sent through T2 to be screened.BTW, no member of staff in T2 is in any form of pension plan even though the company promised one after 24 months service, I'm here since sept 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

looks like government/daa are seeking an injunction to stop this....

about f*cking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

djmcr wrote: »
    Are you seriously advocating strike breaking

Sure why not they are being held to "ransom", I mean it's just gunna cause such hardship on the public. Where else are they going to get ****ed up on a bank holiday weekend? That trip to the dam for e15 return with Ryanair, must have taken years to plan and save , could end up affecting their financial security for the next two decades . Ransom I tell ya call the Garda, the public are being held hostage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Ryanair appear to be rescheduling flights due out of Dublin during the dispute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

gumbo1 wrote: »
    As a member of the security screening staff in T2 i can honestly tell you ALL that we have not been balloted on strike action or sympathy strike. If they fire service does go out then there will be no flights in or out of the airport, however if they don't and it's just the search unit in T1 that go on strike then the airport police will fill in for them and any excess of Ryanair pax will be sent through T2 to be screened.BTW, no member of staff in T2 is in any form of pension plan even though the company promised one after 24 months service, I'm here since sept 2010.
    Thanks for that info, gumbo. From this info and details of this afternoon's news of the proposed DAA/FR injunction we are now getting a picture of just who this handful of people are who still think that they have the power to shut down the country's air access and damage its economy and reputation. Let's hope that next week they are finally given the message that those days are gone.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Ryanair appear to be rescheduling flights due out of Dublin during the dispute.

Link? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Link? Thanks.

I've 3 flights booked for staff all departing on Friday 14th of March from Dublin between 6.25 and 8.45. All three have been rescheduled today. I received a text message requesting that I check my emails. So it looks related to the dispute or one major coincidence. However Ryanairs website only refers to rescheduling early next week.

So even if the strike goes ahead, which hopefully the high court will prevent, customers should be able to make their way to departure gates in T2.

And T1 through the link corridor. I'll know more on Tuesday as to what's happening with T2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭eamonhonda

And T1 through the link corridor. I'll know more on Tuesday as to what's happening with T2.

Who will police the area?

Would your colleagues in T1 not be a bit pissed off basically helping the opposition in their dispute?

I don't understand how you mean helping the opposition? I don't mean any offence to T1 staff but this is their battle!!

Your helping who they will view as the opposition. They shut down terminal 1 in industrial action and terminal 2 staff process their passengers and let them into terminal one via the link? See how that goes.

Not a hope in hell of it happening

I cant see them opening up airside without airport police being available anyhow.

Airport police and fire service an not in siptu, AFAIK, the police are trained in screening pax, they were doing it be for the ASU took over so they can man the area in T1. If the fire service go out then nothing will be moving on the apron or taxiways never mind the runway! Aer lingus are going out too so there won't be any pax being checked in in T2, makes sense to send FR pax over to us, like they do when it's too busy in T1 during the summer!
    We have issues with management in T2 that staff from T1 basically saying "your on your own, sort it yourselves" fairs fair!

Airport police and fire service an not in siptu, AFAIK, the police are trained in screening pax, they were doing it be for the ASU took over so they can man the area in T1.

No they cant unless they get them trained, tested and signed off before then.

There'd be war if what you are suggesting was to happen. Not a chance imo