Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should pregnant women be given temporary disabled permits?

• 03-03-2014 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭

I hope I don’t sound as if I’m trolling here. I genuinely think that pregnant women should be offered temporary disable permits to avail of easier parking.

I’ve noticed before that some people have disabled permits when they don’t actually have any clear visible disability, but they have something underlying, such as early onset MS (a lady I know) or chronic asthma and breathing difficulties (my uncle). Being a man, I know not, nor will I ever know the burden or the hardship a bad or heavy pregnancy can cause. But I am sure it can be a nightmare.

Especially on a rainy or a ****ty weather day, all spaces close to the building in question could be occupied, meaning a pregnant lady would have to traipse across a huge car park and back again. So am asking ye, the good people of After Hours. Should pregnant women be offered disabled permits to make life a bit easier (obviously they will expire or she will have to surrender it when she has given birth or few months or weeks after).

Should pregnant women be offered temporary disabled permits for the duration of their 95 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    SupercelljoolsveerkifferFighting Irishgriffdaddyrainbow kirbywesZuluGandhibad2daboneminotourPlugwhiskeymanhomerjay2005Bertsergenie_usorchidsrprettygman127jenno86promethius 95 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

They're pregnant, not sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

No
    Yeah, I think so.
    Heavily pregnant women are far more in need than a lot and most of the time those disabled spaces are going unused anyeay(provided their use isn't being abused by people who shouldn't be there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Probably wouldn't get past the PC police but a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wouldn't object to it for people past the 6 month mark or people pregnant with multiple babies, my Sister had a baby recently and she really struggled towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

Always shocked how many ignorant pigs treat disabled spaces as just another place to park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

She told you already, she's not pregnant just slight bloating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Being pregnant is not a disability, so our doctor told my wife a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I would go for no. It wouldnt be needed until 6+ months and its not like its a surprise, then theres the cost of trying to sort these out. Would consider them at the same level as someone with the flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

WHOO boy, this thread is gonna be fun :D

phasers wrote: »
    I wouldn't object to it for people past the 6 month mark or people pregnant with multiple babies, my Sister had a baby recently and she really struggled towards the end.

Three months before birth and nine months after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Serious imagine the thousand of thousands of single mammy applying for there permits , then watch 100's of people with real disabilities be stopped from using parking spots due to some pregnant women and the sense of entitlement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

We should ban ALL women from driving, that would be the solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Giving pregnant women/women with babies any further reason to indulge in their own self-importance is probably not a good thing. So no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Exercise is important in pregnancy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

No. The only exception I would make is for those women who suffer from serious SPD. Its pretty rare though so you would be talking a handful of women every year. It would just make a big difference for when they need to visit the hospital or their GP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Pregnancy is not a disability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Always shocked how many ignorant pigs treat disabled spaces as just another place to park

The gardai aren't that bad, they usually just use the yellow lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

I think I would say no but I also think that the parent and child spots could maybe be utilised instead. they are with child after all and this will not effect the availability of disabled parking spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

If they have complications or issues associated with the pregnancy that warrants one (mobility issues from pelvic problems or severe sickness) they should get one after its confirmed by their doctor, otherwise no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

There's already a solution out there in most. Shopping Center car parks - parent and child designated spaces. I would see no issue with pregnant women using these. A bigger problem are the selfish gits without kids who use them because they are closer to the door.

Shouldn't people with food poisoning be given permits too ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Gatling wrote: »
    if they're driving anywhere then parking is the least of their worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

No

I see we're skipping logic class today. Awesome, see ya in the SU.

Pregnancy is not a disability.

It is disabling.

kneemos wrote: »
    It is disabling.

No it not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

No it not

It can be. Every pregnancy is different, some people sail through an easy pregnancy with no problems, others can have huge difficulties all throughout the pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

This thread is a disgrace. OP should put his uniform on and go back to school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Let's just give over the entire car park to pregnant women and those with small children. The rest of us will be delighted to take the bus in order to facilitate this very special section of our society. Never mind OAPs, people recovering from operations, people with back problems etc etc.

Seriously OP, do you not think it's hard enough for people with disabilities to find an appropriate space that's free, without giving pregnant women an entitlement to these spaces as well.

No it not

Never seen a pregnant woman running a marathon or digging a hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

what about the husbands/partners of pregnant ladies as they will need all their energy for when the baby arrives.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I had an easy pregnancy, even in the late weeks so even if I was offered a permit, I dont think I'd bother using it.

Having said that, if I was carrying twins, or was having a pregnancy with SPD or other painful side effects, or difficulties, it would be nice to have.

Will never happen though. You cant get men to give up the seats in the waiting room of the ante-natal clinic to let a pregnant woman sit down or someone offer their bus seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I had my appendix taken out and they let you out of hospital 2 days afterwards. I was on a bus still in a fair amount of discomfort but I had to go somewhere. Anyway a man got stroppy because I didn't offer my seat up to a woman he said was pregnant. I told him why I didn't offer my seat and he stayed stroppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

kneemos wrote: »
    Never seen a pregnant woman running a marathon or digging a hole?

There is a list of people that can also never be seen doing those things. Pregnancy isnt easy but its not a disability. Try telling someone in a wheelchair or with an actual disability that you have an equal entitlement to a parking space because you had sex and gained weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gw80

what about heart burn, can we get special parking rights if you have heart burn,
    just leave a packet of rennie,s up on your dash like a parking ticket,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

As someone who suffered with severe spd during pregnancy that has never been fully resolved meaning I still suffer with hip and back pain similar to constant sciatica I would have to say yes, walking any distance during the latter stages of my pregnancy was agony, but it had to be done as my husband was working abroad so I needed to carry on as best I could.
    It was awful to see all the mother and baby spaces full, some with husbands sitting in the car with the children while the wife had run in to do the shopping( the reason for these spaces is so mums and dads have more room for taking kids in and out of the car when they take them with them to do the shopping!)
    And then to pass the disabled spaces, of which there were many, empty, and so close to the store, I could have cried. But I had to park as far away as possible, also in the hope no other driver would park beside the driver door, or I might not be able to get back in, spd pain aside, it's really hard to suck in a pregnant belly to slide into your car.

I know AH has a reputation for jokey threads and banter, so it saddens me to see a thread like this here, that makes little of the pain a lot of women suffer in pregnancy, unless you have suffered yourself, or watched a partner, wife, girlfriend cry with the pain of just trying to turn over in bed at night, you really cannot contemplate how debilitating it can be.

Yes it may be a temporary condition, but it's a painful one for some women and not something to be made fun of just because you or yours have been lucky enough to sail through it. I sailed through my first pregnancy too, without and ache or pain, second time not so lucky, and any little gesture to make it easier would have been welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Suucee

I had an easy enough first pregnancy so the thought never entered my mind. I could easily run across a car park in the rain in the later stages of my pregnancy.
    But second time was a different story. I had bad spd and had to use a crutch on bad days. I found getting in and out of the car hard enough due to the limited space between me and the car beside me. This wasnt in the later stages either. It was bang smack in the middle so the 6+ months wouldnt help.
    I think if someone needs it it would be a good idea but not everyone and not for the whole pregnancy.
    It used to annoy me struggling to get in and out of the car. Then hobbling across the car park to then see someone hop out of their car in the disabled spot and take off like not a thing wrong with them.

I know a woman whose SPD was so bad she was confined to a wheelchair for the last few months of her pregnancy. I think that its unfortunate that a lot of people don't understand the condition - or have never even heard of it - so don't appreciate that is can be so serious. That can lead to the assumption that they are precious or looking to be treated with kid gloves. Pregnancy is a normal condition so its easy to think women's bodies are always going to cope with the demands but sometimes its not the case.

Cherrycola wrote: »
    As someone who suffered with severe spd during pregnancy that has never been fully resolved meaning I still suffer with hip and back pain similar to constant sciatica I would have to say yes, walking any distance during the latter stages of my pregnancy was agony, but it had to be done as my husband was working abroad so I needed to carry on as best I could.
    It was awful to see all the mother and baby spaces full, some with husbands sitting in the car with the children while the wife had run in to do the shopping( the reason for these spaces is so mums and dads have more room for taking kids in and out of the car when they take them with them to do the shopping!)
    And then to pass the disabled spaces, of which there were many, empty, and so close to the store, I could have cried. But I had to park as far away as possible, also in the hope no other driver would park beside the driver door, or I might not be able to get back in, spd pain aside, it's really hard to suck in a pregnant belly to slide into your car.

I know AH has a reputation for jokey threads and banter, so it saddens me to see a thread like this here, that makes little of the pain a lot of women suffer in pregnancy, unless you have suffered yourself, or watched a partner, wife, girlfriend cry with the pain of just trying to turn over in bed at night, you really cannot contemplate how debilitating it can be.

Yes it may be a temporary condition, but it's a painful one for some women and not something to be made fun of just because you or yours have been lucky enough to sail through it. I sailed through my first pregnancy too, without and ache or pain, second time not so lucky, and any little gesture to make it easier would have been welcome.

That sounds awful, but the OP was asking if pregnancy should automatically entitle someone to a disabled space which is a ridiculous proposition. TBH, the reason I don't agree with P&C spaces being beside the door is for the very reason you outline. There are other people who could do with being close to the door and whose need is greater than a parent with children, but in some shopping centres all of these spaces are assigned to parents and children which I think is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

ok as a disabled person I suppose I'd better put my two cents in.

The main benefit of the disabled car parking spot is the extra width. This allows me to open my car door fully and assemble my wheelchair. This just isn't possible in a normal car parking spot where all of the cars are bunched together. Proximity to the entrance isn't an issue for me but it can be with other disabilities.

The idea of having parking spots nearer the entrance for pregnant mothers isn't a bad one but how would you police it? Any woman at all could say they were pregnant (not showing yet if skinny or heavily preggers if particularly the other way) so then the pregnant car parking spots just become parking for pregnant women and any other woman who likes to abuse an honour based system.

It's hard enough to get people to police disabled parking spots and that's simply a case of whether the driver has a permit displayed or not. Do you think a security guard will approach a large-ish woman and try to somehow determine if she was preggers or just big boned??

So basically, not a bad idea OP but unworkable in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,072 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

MaxFlower wrote: »
    There's already a solution out there in most. Shopping Center car parks - parent and child designated spaces. I would see no issue with pregnant women using these. A bigger problem are the selfish gits without kids who use them because they are closer to the door.

Sorry but I completely disagree with the parent with children spaces. I simply do not see why a someone deserves a special parking space because they are bringing their kids with them.
    This is a recent thing so I am wondering how my parents managed before they were invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I like the spirit of the idea, but as said above there are a lot more pregnant women than there are disabled people and by and large most pregnant women will have better mobility than those who require disabled badges.

The end result is that you'd have most disabled spots taken up by people for whom they're a convenience rather than a necessity.

You'll also get the outliers; fat women who claim they're pregnant or "as good as" and use the spots, or people who say, "Ah yeah, I'm only 3 months gone, but I'm pregnant amn't I?"

waraf wrote: »

The main benefit of the disabled car parking spot is the extra width. This allows me to open my car door fully and assemble my wheelchair. This just isn't possible in a normal car parking spot where all of the cars are bunched together. Proximity to the entrance isn't an issue for me but it can be with other disabilities.

The idea of having parking spots nearer the entrance for pregnant mothers isn't a bad one but how would you police it? Any woman at all could say they were pregnant (not showing yet if skinny or heavily preggers if particularly the other way) so then the pregnant car parking spots just become parking for pregnant women and any other woman who likes to abuse an honour based system.

It's hard enough to get people to police disabled parking spots and that's simply a case of whether the driver has a permit displayed or not. Do you think a security guard will approach a large-ish woman and try to somehow determine if she was preggers or just big boned??

It depends on the nature of the disability though. For my late father proximity to the door of the shop was necessary as he had serious lung problems and just couldn't walk very far without getting out of breath. He was also very unsteady on his feet and would not have been able to move quickly out of the way of a reversing car in a car park.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Sorry but I completely disagree with the parent with children spaces. I simply do not see why a someone deserves a special parking space because they are bringing their kids with them.
    This is a recent thing so I am wondering how my parents managed before they were invented.

I've nothing wrong with them in theory, I have had my car bashed so many times by kids who don't understand how to open a car door gently or a parent trying to fit a car seat in. The bit of extra space benefits us all.

What I don't understand is why they always have to be up the front? Can they not be in different areas around the car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    P&C spaces are nothing to do with "deserving" or PCness or anything like that. Shopping centres provide P&C spaces to encourage people to come and use their shopping centre. P&C spaces are typically wider than normal spots and closer to the doors, both things which are very appreciated when you're trying to get a child out of a car seat and you might have two or three kids hanging out of you.

There is a benefit to other shoppers too - you don't get your car dinged by a parent who's had to squeeze in beside you, and you don't have to dodge children running all over the car park.

But mostly it's down to the marketing, making facilities child-friendly to encourage parents to come and spend money.

Don't forget that your parents also drove narrower cars and didn't spend a whole lot of time in massive multi-storey carparks where you could have a five-minute walk to the door. Cars have definitely gotten wider (even in the last 15 years) but standard spaces haven't.

I agree on p&c spaces not necessarily needing to be near the door alright, the spaces just need to be bigger, to allow the car door to open wide to lift babies and car seats in and out.
    I know some countries also have expectant mother spaces, I've never seen them in ireland though.
    And of course disability permits shouldnt be handed out as a matter of course, just because of pregnancy, that's madness, but to have the option of a temporary permit, if a pregnancy is particularly difficult and causing even temporary disability would be wonderful, because this pain is disabling, as stated above, some women end up on crutches or in wheelchairs as a result, and with very little pain relief options available to them.

There is a list of people that can also never be seen doing those things. Pregnancy isnt easy but its not a disability. Try telling someone in a wheelchair or with an actual disability that you have an equal entitlement to a parking space because you had sex and gained weight.

Nobody said it was a disability.I may have said it was disabling,which of course it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

It's very difficult to actually get a disabled badge so no, I don't think that pregnant women should be automatically entitled to one seeing as those with disabilities aren't automatically entitled to one.

The actual severity and symptoms are the reason a badge would be given and if a woman is pregnant and has associated health issues, then she should be able to apply for a badge. Having a disability doesn't automatically entitle you to a badge, so to automatically provide one for every pregnant person wouldn't be right.

waraf wrote: »

As far as I'm aware parent and child spaces/expectant mother spaces are not a legal requirement, nor can you be fined if you use them when either without kids or not expecting, they are only a courtesy, and rely on the common courtesy of other drivers that they are used correctly, which we all know doesn't happen.

Disabled spaces are complexly different and should only be used by those with a permit, which is absolutely correct. I've never once parked in a disabled spot, I would be mortified to do it and see someone who needs it to without! I can't get my head around people who do use them, it's disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I think for heavily pregnant women it could be a good idea but using the parent and child spots would be a good compromise.

I have a friend who while heavily pregnant returned to her car to find that someone had parked too close to her car and she didn't have enough room to get into the car. She had to call the security guard out and ask him to back the car out for her. In this case a bigger space would have saved her a lot of hassle and embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,072 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

seamus wrote: »
    Don't forget that your parents also drove narrower cars and didn't spend a whole lot of time in massive multi-storey carparks where you could have a five-minute walk to the door. Cars have definitely gotten wider (even in the last 15 years) but standard spaces haven't.

Actually the cars they drove were a lot wider than ones I see in Ireland. I'm not from Ireland and i consider the cars here are to be small. And there were lots of multi-storey carparks. Ok, have wider spaces for people bringing kids but why do they have to be near the door? Also what happens when they are full? Do the parents turned around and go home? Or do they just park in regular space? So I don't see how that prevents my car from getting dinged or stops kids from running around a carpark.