Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Des Cahill

• 01-03-2014 2:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭

Stuttering, difficulty in reading, weird noises emanating from his mouth, stupid ad lib.

He's a broadcasting amateur, is RTE actually remunerating him for his sub standard delivery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Des has been winging it for far too long. He is an awkward presence on radio and television, typified by sloppy research and stilted delivery. He is establishment in RTE, ergo comfortable so don't expect him to change his ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Thought the very same myself, for someone who's been in the business for several decades he is a dreadful broadcaster but working for rte he doesn't need to be anything other than average. Compare him to BBC broadcasters or even SKY, he's deficient in every way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its shocking but unsurprising - once you have your foot in the door at many a station (esp RTE Radio 1 of course) you are a lifer if you want to be one. keep your head down, do your job to the bare minimum standard and you are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Given the massive amount of talented sports journalists within RTE, Cahill's longevity is all the more baffling. All he offers is idle banter that belongs in a schoolyard; even then it's limited to GAA and premiership football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Evan DietrichSmith

Given the massive amount of talented sports journalists within RTE, Cahill's longevity is all the more baffling. All he offers is idle banter that belongs in a schoolyard; even then it's limited to GAA and premiership football.

Would have to agree with that,seems way more concerned with peripheral stuff than actual sporting events.
    Stop start delivery,and to be honest I have stopped watching the Sunday Game while he is in the chair as all it offers is pure blandness and cliched question and response.time for a change there, in my opinion

Massive amounts of talented sports journalists in RTE !!
    Yes there are some, but massive amounts, I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

That fact that he's a GAA lapdog is a large part of why he's kept at the top in RTE. Up for the game is cringe-worthy sh1te.

Would have to agree with that,seems way more concerned with peripheral stuff than actual sporting events.
    Stop start delivery,and to be honest I have stopped watching the Sunday Game while he is in the chair as all it offers is pure blandness and cliched question and response.time for a change there, in my opinion.

A few weeks ago on Morning Ireland, he was, ahem, interviewing a player who was involved with the intermediate All Ireland club finals. We got to hear such probing questions such as which colour shirts his team, wether his mum and dad were proud of him, if any of his family had been in Croke Park before and crucially who was milking the cows the evening after the game. He didn't bother to mention banalities such as the throw in times of the days games.

Last season, he began an interview with Joe Schmit by asking him if Leinster were angry with Munster over losing a game :rolleyes:

A few weeks ago on Morning Ireland, he was, ahem, interviewing a player who was involved with the intermediate All Ireland club finals. We got to hear such probing questions such as which colour shirts his team, wether his mum and dad were proud of him, if any of his family had been in Croke Park before and crucially who was milking the cows the evening after the game. He didn't bother to mention banalities such as the throw in times of the days games.

Last season, he began an interview with Joe Schmit by asking him if Leinster were angry with Munster over losing a game :rolleyes:

Yes , that's Desmond .
    Can't get enough of the laddish rubbish that he seems to think it the way to report on events in a very time constrained bulletin.
    More I retested ,it would seem in 'de party' afterwards than the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Apologies if I'm wrong as I was driving and not listening fully, but I think he may have omitted to mention in the 8.35am bulletin this morning how Rory McIlroy did in the Honda Classic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

There is a massive sports department in RTE, but talent is thin on the ground.I'm not sure what they all do to be honest.
    There is very little talent there and they were shown up year after year by the Off the Ball boys on Newstalk.
    There is still incredible levels of overstaffing in RTE.
    by the way is Jimmy Magee still on the payroll? Bizarre that RTE think we all love him that and they still send him off to Olympics and World Cups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Apologies if I'm wrong as I was driving and not listening fully, but I think he may have omitted to mention in the 8.35am bulletin this morning how Rory McIlroy did in the Honda Classic?
    Wow , next he'll be missing the usual boring clips from arsene wegner and mourinho

Maybe you got lost in the story about him having toothache:pac:

More interested in what Caroline was up to than Rory, was our Dezzie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭DownBeaten

One thing is sure with Des. He's always going to include the mandatory Man U filler, whether they win, loose or draw. And even when they're not playing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Des crush on BOD is in stalker territory

For the first 11 minutes of today's show and while gushing about BOD he's talked about pubs in New York, hack Mick Clifford and played a vox pop of some 'hardcore' rugby fans ( not)

Zero substance, zero analysis

Who does Cahill appeal to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 stephenireland

Agree completely talentless, tired, eighties style rip and read.

Why dont RTE is Greg Allen more - he is well briefed, always confident and efficient - one of the only people in RTE sport that could make it in the BBC or Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Jesus des the listener doesn't need to know ye are unplugging a mic.

Des wasn't even ready when the match commentators returned to him at halftime just now, muttering something about changing a mic, sounded more like he was late returning from taking a dump

He had 40 minutes to be ready and he failed. Amateur

my friend wrote: »
    Des crush on BOD is in stalker territory

For the first 11 minutes of today's show and while gushing about BOD he's talked about pubs in New York, hack Mick Clifford and played a vox pop of some 'hardcore' rugby fans ( not)

Zero substance, zero analysis

Who does Cahill appeal to?

Hard to say who he appeals to,possibly to the crunchheads who treated him like a superstar at the Ryder Coop,as he'd say himself, down at the K club.

Seems to be most at home joshing 'de banther' and trying to score points off whoever he can.

Nothing personal against the lad but that kind of 'rubage' is ok for the public bar of a low-life bewzer , not national airwaves surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

sounded more like he was late returning from taking a dump

The Guinness out of the plastic glasses can do that to a man.

Des wasn't even ready when the match commentators returned to him at halftime just now, muttering something about changing a mic, sounded more like he was late returning from taking a dump

He had 40 minutes to be ready and he failed. Amateur

A few weeks ago when I was attending the Ireland Wales game, I passed by who I first though was a badly dressed Pat Shortt herding people into The Passion of St. Tibulus.

It was only when I passed the RTE OB van that I realised it was "Our Des" in his Sunday best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

How this lad is on the telly and radio, I do not know. He always sounds like he has just woken up. Very lazy presenting.
    His gushing about "Man United" is cringe inducing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Still, I'd prefer to go for pint with a human being like Des than a talentless plank like Pat Kenny.

How relevant is that?

You are never likely to go for a pint with either.

So I'd much prefer Kenny on radio which is the thread on here.

Don't think there's a slot for ' who I'd prefer to go for a pint with'

Maybe I'm wrong:confused:

How relevant is that?

You are never likely to go for a pint with either.

So I'd much prefer Kenny on radio which is the thread on here.

Don't think there's a slot for ' who I'd prefer to go for a pint with'

Maybe I'm wrong:confused:

I'd rather go out for a pint with JD, now that I think of it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Are the pints paid for? But yeah, not particularly a fountain of GAA knowledge either.

On today at half seven and our Des mentions getting to interview BOB after the rugby on Saturday. There he was, speaking to arguably the greatest and most revered sportman of them all on his last home cap and a game that the country stopped for and what does he talk about? A poxy tweet from some Kerryman, that's what!

An hour later and again on the rugby, he clearly lost his script for he fell over his lines and mumbled away before moving on to gloat about "The Dubs".

He is a *snip*, simple as.

CModEdit:
    Any more comments like this and you will be out of here.

-RopeDrink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Stuttering, difficulty in reading, weird noises emanating from his mouth, stupid ad lib.

He's a broadcasting amateur, is RTE actually remunerating him for his sub standard delivery?

RTE Sports' Dave Fanning. Contrived guff to make him sound like one of your more cerebral mates. You can work out from that who he is appealing to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Des announced this morning that the big "shock" yesterday was when Meath drew with Donegal!

It wasnt expected but hardly a shock at this time of the year with teams preparing in various ways with the championship in mind.

dixiefly wrote: »
    Des announced this morning that the big "shock" yesterday was when Meath drew with Donegal!

But he said that the big "shock" was Wigan beating Man City. How can we possibly have two shocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭real rocker

But he said that the big "shock" was Wigan beating Man City. How can we possibly have two shocks?

Two shock sports jock?

• Site Banned Posts: 25 Pingu Zip

Not sure what he was bumbling and mumbling about this morning for the Cheltenham piece. Seemed to mix up daffodils with leeks as the Welsh national symbol. Slurring away like he hadnt woken up.

Arghhh

Was enjoying listening to Sean O'Rourke and then after the 10 news Des comes along with his stammering and stuttering, stop start and pregnant pauses

Had to move the dial

How is this guy allowed on air??

Arghhh

Was enjoying listening to Sean O'Rourke and then after the 10 news Des comes along with his stammering and stuttering, stop start and pregnant pauses

Had to move the dial

How is this guy allowed on air??

No idea my friend ,no idea.

How did Des manage to find news in the days before Twitter? He can't go a single day without mentioning it as being a source for a story of some shape or form.

How did Des manage to find news in the days before Twitter? He can't go a single day without mentiong it as being a source for a story of some shape or form.

Lad,Dessie is not a news reporter,he wallows in the side issues and the colour issues.

Much more interested in "de paartie" that the event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

He's very amatuer in everything he does.
    I think once you get into RTE, you can be there for life. You can't be fired or replaced.
    He's a big bumbling fool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭A.J.Plumb

The man is coining money with his laddish style...dozens of gigs at GAA clubs around the country.....has no need to be professional...the laddish bumbling style is his trade mark.

Will never criticise the GAA our the soccer heads because he knows he will lose a lot of lucrative gigs if he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,366 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

A.J.Plumb wrote: »
    The man is coining money with his laddish style...dozens of gigs at GAA clubs around the country.....has no need to be professional...the laddish bumbling style is his trade mark.

Will never criticise the GAA our the soccer heads because he knows he will lose a lot of lucrative gigs if he does.
    I remember reading years ago, something in the region of 5 grand for a personal apperance by Des

Lad,Dessie is not a news reporter,he wallows in the side issues and the colour issues.

Much more interested in "de paartie" that the event

Sounds like RTE's answer to John Delaney if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Des for someone who's been at it for 30 years never sounds prepared and I agree he ingratiates himself with the vested interests of the gaa and Fai at 4th he expense of credible sports coverage . He wouldn't last two minutes on sky sports.

heybaby wrote: »
    Des for someone who's been at it for 30 years never sounds prepared and I agree he ingratiates himself with the vested interests of the gaa and Fai at 4th he expense of credible sports coverage . He wouldn't last two minutes on sky sports.

Heh heh one minute

dvcireland wrote: »
    I remember reading years ago, something in the region of 5 grand for a personal apperance by Des

Wonder was he working a cash back scheme?

Somehow or other, Des Cahill was booked to interview Leo Cullen and BOD after Leinster's home game in the RDS on Saturday. He is getting a royal roasting on some of the Leinster Facebook pages for asking them which player would they their daughter marry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Somehow or other, Des Cahill was booked to interview Leo Cullen and BOD after Leinster's home game in the RDS on Saturday. He is getting a royal roasting on some of the Leinster Facebook pages for asking them which player would they their daughter marry.

His whole contribution to the 'event' was an embarrassing disaster. How he has parlayed zero media skill into a career with RTE is one of the great mysteries of our time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Des at his sporting best again this morning when talking about the retirement of the great Richard Dunne from the Irish team and all he could say about him "he was a bit chunky wasn"t he". What an insult to such a great player who never let Ireland down.

Arghhhhh

Cahill at it again just now , dead air and stuttering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I'm not a fan of his, but think the Saturday Sport radio programme has improved. I like the panel segment where a group of sportspeople have a discussion of topical sports events. I also think that he has improved on his interactions with Joanne-I used to think that he undermined her a bit on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

Glad im not the only one! I've been saying it for years, cannot stand his "style" of presenting.

he is bad on the telly, worse on the radio....and he's everywhere..

time for a change RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Glad im not the only one! I've been saying it for years, cannot stand his "style" of presenting.

he is bad on the telly, worse on the radio....and he's everywhere..

time for a change RTE.

Don't hold your breath