Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why the anomynity?

• 01-03-2014 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lads dont what happened were some of the users swept away in the storm? but where is bob delaval whelan(biddy) gone? i though delaval would pop up in the 200 acre farm your man inherited from the US:D. Why do people change theyre names??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Lads dont what happened were some of the users swept away in the storm? but where is bob delaval whelan(biddy) gone? i though delaval would pop up in the 200 acre farm your man inherited from the US:D. Why do people change theyre names??

Elvis has left the building and more to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Is there a migration to twitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

td5man wrote: »
    Is there a migration to twitter?

I think so, lads are trying to get me to go on it but I'm wary and I've no idea why tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think so, lads are trying to get me to go on it but I'm wary and I've no idea why tbh

I feel left out now. Nobody asked me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

st1979 wrote: »

Use both, not found 100% of the knack for finding info on it yet but I've read and seen a load of helpful things. I don't get the idea how a person must either use one, or the other, there are different people on all sites and it's useful I think to have a presence on as many as interest an individual.

st1979 wrote: »

These are local lads now so don't feel bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Why the shift to twitter lads and lassies. Do people find it better than boards or what...

Is a shame to lose some good people. Found the above people all very informative and helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

TUBBY wrote: »
    Why the shift to twitter lads and lassies. Do people find it better than boards or what...

Is a shame to lose some good people. Found the above people all very informative and helpful.

+1 use both boards and twitter, there was/is some very knowledgable posters on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Any suggestions of who we should be following on twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

@GrandSoftDay is mine anyway, follow away if ye wish. Plent of farmers in my farming list if ye want to look through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Busy time of year too, and farmers are tired....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

On a slightly related topic, who is the longest posting here ha? Have had my boards account open since 07, I must be one of the old timers ha, but didn't start posting much on the f&f till about 18months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Timmaay wrote: »
    On a slightly related topic, who is the longest posting here ha? Have had my boards account open since 07, I must be one of the old timers ha, but didn't start posting much on the f&f till about 18months ago.

Same here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Timmaay wrote: »

Jan 2007

Jesus lads..
    Facebook is bad enough but Twitter is just impossible to follow... I do ramble on it a bit but its just too hard for an auld timer like me to follow..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

bbam wrote: »
    Jesus lads..
    Facebook is bad enough but Twitter is just impossible to follow... I do ramble on it a bit but its just too hard for an auld timer like me to follow..
    i'd be the same . Must be showing my age again

Jesus lads..

Can be like that alright, we had a very long day yesterday. Came in the door tired and looked at Twitter, 154 tweets :pac: Did I heck read them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Can be like that alright, we had a very long day yesterday. Came in the door tired and looked at Twitter, 154 tweets :pac: Did I heck read them.

Ooooooh check out Mr Popular over here:pac::D

Are you on Tinder as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

.Kovu. wrote: »

What the hell is tinder?

Some form of dating app. Was reading an article on it earlier about it being the most successful one or something. Obviously it was a very interesting article:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

You must be early 20s if you know what tinder is kovu?

Doubt a lot of people on here heard of it, it's a dating site that you either give a person a vote to show interest or not, and if they also have interest ya go from there

simx wrote: »
    You must be early 20s if you know what tinder is kovu?

Doubt a lot of people on here heard of it, it's a dating site that you either give a person a vote to show interest or not, and if they also have interest ya go from there

You know more about it than me anyway! :D A lady never tells her age although you could prob make an educated guess at this stage.

Ha I only seen it on another lads phone, not on it myself, I'd say for girls it's a great way to meet creeps ha, if I had to guess id hazard 22 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Anyone hear that candy crush is worth 1billion now :O
    Were in the Wong business all together

Twitter isn't FB, doesn't work like that :p

Tinder is for lighting a fire :confused: Fiancee and two kids here.

simx wrote: »
    Ha I only seen it on another lads phone, not on it myself, I'd say for girls it's a great way to meet creeps ha, if I had to guess id hazard 22 :D

I'll accept that age. Close enough;) Back to the twitter discussion earlier though, I can't figure it out at all. Although I haven't really tried very hard.
    Anonymity here though doesn't really bother me too much. Some of ye have me sussed! Although I don't think I would ever give out my full name or use it as my username.

That's one hell of annoying game.
    4 yr old went to town on it one day on the iPad, while no one was looking and ran up a bill of 42 euros !!!!

Twitter isn't FB, doesn't work like that :p

Tinder is for lighting a fire :confused: Fiancee and two kids here.

Finally going to make an honest women of her con :D

I'll accept that age. Close enough;) Back to the twitter discussion earlier though, I can't figure it out at all. Although I haven't really tried very hard.
    Anonymity here though doesn't really bother me too much. Some of ye have me sussed! Although I don't think I would ever give out my full name or use it as my username.

Signed up for twitter a good while ago and never went near it since and don't think I will be either, I'm sure there's some people have me sussed too not that I'm saying anything bad on this anyway, do like keeping my business to myself all the same, any nosey hoors that do be mad for getting info out if me do be left either with lies or a play dumb answer, a lad came up to me lately and asked me did I rent land near him I told him no I went to €320/ac on it and didn't get it, he didn't know whether to believe me or not and moved on with himself :D I wasn't on the land anyway

maxxuumman wrote: »
    That's one hell of annoying game.
    4 yr old went to town on it one day on the iPad, while no one was looking and ran up a bill of 42 euros !!!!

Folk. That's a serious bill for a game ha.
    I never buy anything on it but it's pure addictive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Folk. That's a serious bill for a game ha.
    I never buy anything on it but it's pure addictive

I had to delete it off the phone, or nothing would have got done and it could well have ended up smashing the dam thing off the wall. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Damo810 wrote: »
    I had to delete it off the phone, or nothing would have got done and it could well have ended up smashing the dam thing off the wall. :D

was over in england with sister at halloween, and the bil was on level 403 at that stage, where the hell did he get the time

i play candy crush on my phone whike standing on scraper, been on same level for ages as cant see much with cracked screen:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i play candy crush on my phone whike standing on scraper, been on same level for ages as cant see much with cracked screen:cool:

"Standing on scraper"???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Everyone with scrapers stands on them from time to time. Saves on walking up and down shed passage

Surfing for farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Surfing for farmers

Dry cow shed, straw diet, pain in the ****

dar31 wrote: »

For the farmer cleaning out or the cow.......:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

One of the clasps is worn Id say...?

dar31 wrote: »

Yup

On another social media.
    I use Pintrest from time to time. There nothing farming on it but great for DIY and crafty stuff, art ideas for the kids. All photo based and no idle chat which is great.
    We're planning an overhaul for the girls bedroom and there are some great ideas on it to take from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭bt12

put in a dairymaster scraper and u wont have to stand on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

bt12 wrote: »

I beg to differ

bt12 wrote: »
    have dairy power ones, i dont mind them tripping over as it could be that theres a cow down or after calving. Have 2 cows that make it their business to trip the scraper everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

biddy2013 wrote: »
    have dairy power ones, i dont mind them tripping over as it could be that theres a cow down or after calving. Have 2 cows that make it their business to trip the scraper everyday

Have a couple here the same. Always remind me of this song when I see them do it.

Well I won't back down, no I won't back down
    You could stand me up at the gates of hell
    But I won't back down

Gonna stand my ground, won't be turned around
    And I'll keep this world from draggin' me down
    Gonna stand my ground and I won't back down

Chorus
    Hey baby, there ain't no easy way out
    Hey I will stand my ground
    And I won't back down

Well I know what's right, I got just one life
    In a world that keeps on pushin' me around
    But I'll stand my ground and I won't back down

Hey baby there ain't no easy way out
    And I won't back down

Have a couple here the same. Always remind me of this song when I see them do it.

Well I won't back down, no I won't back down
    You could stand me up at the gates of hell
    But I won't back down

Gonna stand my ground, won't be turned around
    And I'll keep this world from draggin' me down
    Gonna stand my ground and I won't back down

Chorus
    Hey baby, there ain't no easy way out
    And I won't back down

Well I know what's right, I got just one life
    In a world that keeps on pushin' me around
    But I'll stand my ground and I won't back down

Hey baby there ain't no easy way out
    And I won't back down
    :D:D will be thinking of that when standing on them this evening, was 2 bolts missing off one of them this morning so loadsa crap for a sunday morning

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Surfing for farmers

Actually what I call surfing for farmers is slightly different, it involves pulling out a dead cow along a slatted passage where the slats are full up over the top:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

kevthegaff wrote: »

Must say v disappointed that Delaval and Bob seem to have checked out, especially as Del has closed his account. Those two would've been two of my favourite opinion givers. Always wondered as both of them seem to be running large operations how they had time to participate in so many f+f discussions. Anyways here's hoping as it's such a busy time of yr they might both return when things quiten down. Input from the like of those two is what makes this such an interesting site, they would be sorely missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Jesus lads..

Facebook is awful, but I am not in first flush of youth and think Twitter is the biz! @patquirke for anyone interested. have a good Farmers list if anyone wants to follow the list, rather than the individuals.
    boards is very good too, but in a different way. Loads of knowledge on both.

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Facebook is awful, but I am not in first flush of youth and think Twitter is the biz! @patquirke for anyone interested. have a good Farmers list if anyone wants to follow the list, rather than the individuals.
    boards is very good too, but in a different way. Loads of knowledge on both.

Good few dairy farmers on twitter