Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best customer service?

• 01-03-2014 12:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭

We always hear about bad customer service experiences. Does anyone have any examples of good/great customer service that you think really stands out?

Personally I think the customer service in basically every Boojum or CEX store stands out in my mind as being great. They make you feel welcomed and they are very helpful without lapsing into that creepy, following you around the store breathing heavily thing that Curry's staff do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hilton Honours club

My sister lives in london and the folks live in Dublin. My sister had to go into an emergency labour so my parents wanted to get over to London and be close to the hospital.

I rang them and told them the story and used some of my points to get them a room. When they checked in they were exhausted, but Hilton had given them one of the best rooms in the hotel and didn't charge me anything extra.

When they told the staff about the child being born they comped them a free bottle of Champagne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Netflix customer support is amazing! Never experienced anything like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I use easyJet a lot as I often fly from Belfast and I have never ever had an issue with them. When another airline stranded me they were nothing short of excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Always find Amazon great to deal with, had some items come in bad shape due to packaging, no problem with getting a refund. Once ordered two copies of the same film by mistake, was told to keep it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,486 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

i always find mcdonalds to provide good customer service

Id be awkward and ask for my burgers plan because i knw it causes hassle in the kitchen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

wtf's a Boojum, and you've misspelled CEX, again.

Have a nice day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The best customer service is Parcel Motel, thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Lap Dancers.

Any chick who sticks her fanny and ass close enough to your face that you could stick your tongue in there is providing a quality service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I always find staff at Clover hill prison good , when ever I ring them up for a visit to see my brother they always make sure the visit is memorable .For example last time they let one of their cuddly dogs sniff me all over or another time they told me he has a cell all to himself and that his nickname his Roland apparently there was a character on TV years ago called Roland Rat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Sky are fantastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

mm1980 wrote: »
    Took dead iPhone bough from cex to store in Galway, Ireland and staff could do no more than say 'could not turn it on'. Went to other phone store who identified dead battery as problem within 30 seconds, shop said did not cover battery even though it was only 6 weeks since bought phone for 500 euro. Had to take it back to other shop and it cost me 40 bucks. Staff unskilled but polite in cex, expect some electronics knowledge at least!

So...... not the best customer support then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Amazon. I sat on my kindle after drinking a good few cans of strong lager. Rang them the next day to see if I could send it back for repair. They just said they'd send me a new one for free, and pay for the postage on returning the broken one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Most recent one that comes to mind is on Air France to Sao Paulo from Paris, they were friendly, did what they had to do and seemed to never stop offering us stuff. Nice enough food too.

There is a man who works at Spec Savers GPO Arcade, Dublin, who greets every single customer as they walk in, asks them what they need and brings them over to a member of staff.

Not sure if he is security, but he is a lovely lovely man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The best I have experienced was with Coca Cola a few years ago. They had a promotion where you collect a number of bottle tops/labels or something and you send them in with 40 punts to get a mini Cola fridge. The T&C's said it would be delivered within 30 days.

At around 30 days they phoned and apologised and said that due to unprecedented demand it would be a few weeks more.

2 weeks later they phoned again and said they couldn't meet the demand and that fridge would take a while longer, so they offered to refund the 40 punts, sent me 48 cans of cola and a 20 quid voucher for HMV. Fridge came a few weeks later.

And that was without me even once complaining to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I use easyJet a lot as I often fly from Belfast and I have never ever had an issue with them. When another airline stranded me they were nothing short of excellent.

Same here, they are spot on compared to others. I've missed a flight a few times with them and they put me on the next one at no charge. Most so called low-fare airlines would demand you buy a new ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

JJ Kenneally jewellers in Limerick were fantastic when I was buying a necklace for my mother's 60 birthday. They couldn't have been more helpful or professional. I liked the chain on one but not the stone and they allowed me to switch them, so I was able to get her something she loved. It wasn't something any of the other jewellers I went to had offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

jester77 wrote: »
    And that was without me even once complaining to them.
    Well it was a promotion, the €40 probably only covers delivery. The idea would have been to have everyone happy with coke so it costs them next to nothing to send you cans of coke and keep you trumpeting how great coke are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Went into MandS yesterday looking for a late Mothers Day card (didnt get a chance to see the mammy while sick on sunday). Some young lad went looking in the back and got me one. He was so helpful and nice and saved the day for me.

I made sure the manager knew how good a staff member he had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,698 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

CEX are absolutely useless. Took 8 hours to work out something I worked out in 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Had to ring vodafone yesterday. Spoke with the nicest person. Not only did he explain everything politely and efficiently but he also gave me €10 credit :) Lovely chap. Delighted, so I was.

Sky are also lovely.

And the staff in aldi! Very nice and polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

+1 on sky and amazon. Great efficient service. All staff are well informed and knowledgable about products. Never had a problem getting an issue resolved.
    My local spar is another.
    Went for a walk the other day and popped in to get dog food on the way back. The bag i picked up had BOGOF for clubcard members. When the lady at the till asked did i have my club card and didn't she scanned her own card for me and told me to pick up another bad of dog food for free on the way out. They were almost a fiver a pop and I thought it was really nice of her to do that.

Its the little things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I remember when I worked in Dunnes Stores, we were told to offer to carry shopping for people in need whenever possible. The amount of times I brought stuff to people's cars.

I also helped a pregnant lady to get an extension lead by running from my till and into the other Dunnes 8 doors down to get her what she needed.

I've actually never seen or heard of any other shops or places that offer to do that. Except maybe homebase at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

It's a strange way of the world that one bad experience causes a lot of people to condemn the place for life. E.g. Sky is getting plenty of praise on this thread, but if you saw their Facebook page - an utter hammering.

It's the same with the Talk to forums here, I'm with 3 and I sometimes wonder if it's the same company has a forum here, I've never had a problem.

You only ever hear about the bad experiences, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I want to echo CEX. Staff there are nice, and they don't bug the shit out of you when you're browsing. I also like the fact that the store seems promote creative individuality, and won't let the staff take any hassle from people acting the asshole. Was in my local one the other day, and there was one guy that was causing a real scene. The staff wouldn't let him treat them like shit, like happens in so many other stores I've been or worked in. Great store.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

CEX are absolutely useless. Took 8 hours to work out something I worked out in 5 minutes.

Have been in there a few times where there are loads of people ''working'', but only one or two actually serving customers/doing actual work.

Their prices are also fairly ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

It's the same with the Talk to forums here, I'm with 3 and I sometimes wonder if it's the same company has a forum here, I've never had a problem.
    Same here. Only ever found Three good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

What or who are CEX??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This was my best experience

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056972562

Not much point in giving a brief outline really =p

neckedit wrote: »
    What or who are CEX??

Pawnshop chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

+1 on Boojum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Pawnshop chain.

Thank you.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I know Dublin bus drivers can be the definition of a ****. But I have phoned up customer support after leaving my bag on a bus a few times and they have always made sure I had the bag in my hands a few hours later.

hfallada wrote: »
    I know Dublin bus drivers can be the definition of a ****. But I have phoned up customer support after leaving my bag on a bus a few times and they have always made sure I had the bag in my hands a few hours later.

You can say that again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I had to look up boojum and cex.
    Lidl, Clearys, and Dunnes Stores is more my style.
    My local Chinese takeaway are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Same here. Only ever found Three good.

What service are you using from Three?

I find them to a shower of cunts to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

Had some rubbish experiences with Amazon, Dell, Eircom, digiweb, 3, and vodafone.

Very crappy customer service. No, i'd rather not talk to Sarmesh-Kumar-Yanamana-Santhosh Potta about my issue....Do you have an irish person i could talk to...you know that would actually like to help me?

Best customer experience i ever had was with Paypal. Account was "hacked". They shut it down within minutes, and sent me an email about it (i didn't even know). Rang them and all sorted over the phone in about 5 minutes. Even told me where my account was accessed from, and at what time. And they were a bit of craic too. Great bunch of lads.

Eircom far and away the worst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

hfallada wrote: »
    I know Dublin bus drivers can be the definition of a ****

I have very, very rarely come across a bus driver that was bad at his or her job, the majority of them are friendly and nice. I have sometimes been told that it doesn't matter if I'm short, given free journeys if I don't have enough on my leap card, buses slowing down if you're running for them. Things like that.
    What service are you using from Three?

I find them to a shower of cunts to be honest.

I find them very nice, but a little clueless. I spent around half an hour dealing with an internet connection with one of them on the phone. Very polite, but didn't have a clue. I ended up fixing it myself by accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Apple. Just great.
    O2 were good when I was with them.
    Bord Gais Energy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

truedoom wrote: »

Very crappy customer service. No, i'd rather not talk to Sarmesh-Kumar-Yanamana-Santhosh Potta about my issue....Do you have an irish person i could talk to...you know that would actually like to help me?

this just makes you sound like a racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

this just makes you sound like a racist

I thought the same but, although badly phrased, most people I know would agree with the sentiment that it can be difficult to understand and communicate with Indians (and other non English speaking nationalities) over the phone.

That then gives a bad impression of the company they work for because they've effectively compromised their customer service in order to save a few quid.

It's a legitimate point badly phrased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

To be fair, Cex don't actually do hardware repairs, all they're supposed to do is check stuff to see if theres any reason they can't sell it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Yes. I was moving home from London one Xmas, I had a tonne of stuff with me, well over excess baggage. I think she must of realised I was moving, cause she didn't charge me a cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I got an online quote from 123 the other week and I think it's lovely the way "Laura" sends me an email every few days to check everything is alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

You only ever hear about the bad experiences, I suppose.

Same as me. I'm with Three. Had an issue with my phone about a month back, and the reps couldn't have been more helpful :)

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I thought the same but, although badly phrased, most people I know would agree with the sentiment that it can be difficult to understand and communicate with Indians (and other non English speaking nationalities) over the phone.

That then gives a bad impression of the company they work for because they've effectively compromised their customer service in order to save a few quid.

It's a legitimate point badly phrased.

Non native english speakers can be difficult for some people who are not used to listening to people with non native accents. The racist thing is to assume that an Irish advisor would be more capable than a non native english speaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Non native english speakers can be difficult for some people who are not used to listening to people with non native accents. The racist thing is to assume that an Irish advisor would be more capable than a non native english speaker.

Yeah I agree. If the poster believes Irish people are more competent then he is racist.

However, the vast majority of Irish people will have difficulty understanding most Indians (using Indians as a lot of companies outsource their customer service to Bangalore or somewhere). Therefore any company servicing the Irish market with an Indian helpdesk is doing it purely to save money which is a poor attitude to customer service. That doesn't necessarily make it a bad business decision though.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Yeah I agree. If the poster believes Irish people are more competent then he is racist.

and deluded