Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BOYNE GP SUN 16TH MARCH

• 28-02-2014 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

This event is going ahead on Sunday March 16th.You may remember we ran this event last yr as a gap filler on the June bank holiday w/end.We didnt really mean it as anything other than a one off.The June w/end this yr has a new Leinster event promoted by Deenside.However with the way St Patricks day is falling this yr [Monday] promoters applied to run on the Monday and the Leinster calender again faced a gap on the Sunday just a few weeks in to the season.So kind of reluctantly we decided to go ahead on the 16th of March.As our club has a huge weekend coming up 3 weeks after that its pushing it a bit with personnel,but we'll get there.We are holding 4 separate events on the day with the timetable listed below.I am stretched a bit with crew,so if any of you reading this can drive,or marshall please send me PM or give me a bell.It would be appreciated.

Race Schedule
    All races on the same 12km circuit as last year,with the start and finish on the R163 Kells Rd,about 6km out from Slane village Co Meath.Sign on in Ryans pub Gormalough.I would think that the bold lennymc will come up with a route map after the weekend.

Race 1 A4s 5 x laps 60km start at 10.30am
    Race 2 Woman [nat league] 4 x laps start at 10.34am
    Race 3 A1/A2 8 x laps 96km start at 12.30pm
    Race 4 A3/Jun 6 x laps 72km start at 12.34pm.
    As ye can see theres a 2 hr gap between start times,but its the only way we can do it on a 12km circuit and also we will need drivers to double up to keep it as safe as possible.As i said if you can help let me know.[Sure what else would you be doing on a bank holiday Sunday]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

This is the lap profile for anyone interested.

http://www.strava.com/segments/4197837

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

This is the lap profile for anyone interested.

http://www.strava.com/segments/4197837

beaten to it!! :)

This is a nice circuit. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

Is the sign on at Ryan's Pub right beside the start line? I'm trying to remember from last year...

QueensGael wrote: »
    Is the sign on at Ryan's Pub right beside the start line? I'm trying to remember from last year...

yes, Ryans Pub. Sign on open from 9.30 am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Enjoyed this race alot last June, nice course, well organised, would recommend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Inquitus wrote: »
    Enjoyed this race alot last June, nice course, well organised, would recommend.

Agree with this, was a great race last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Hopefully ill be able to make this my first bike race. Im from the area so know the route well!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Think I may be giving this one a miss;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

A s per my O/P this race is a gap filler.Good job by the look of things, as i note from another thread that unfortunately the Usher Paddys Day race is now off.This is now the only R/R in Leinster now over what is really a bank holiday weekend.
    My biggest concern for the race is parking.We had a field last year,but im worried given that its March as opposed to June last yr we may not be able to use it.Please if any of you could park down between Slane Castle and Slane village after signing on i would appreciate it.Good wide road along there and pedal back the few km to the start.Probably going to be a bigger turnout now as Mondays race is off,but this one is going to happen.Again anybody free to help send me a PM or give me a buzz.Pressure is on

wav1 wrote: »
    A s per my O/P this race is a gap filler.Good job by the look of things, as i note from another thread that unfortunately the Usher Paddys Day race is now off.This is now the only R/R in Leinster now over what is really a bank holiday weekend.
    My biggest concern for the race is parking.We had a field last year,but im worried given that its March as opposed to June last yr we may not be able to use it.Please if any of you could park down between Slane Castle and Slane village after signing on i would appreciate it.Good wide road along there and pedal back the few km to the start.Probably going to be a bigger turnout now as Mondays race is off,but this one is going to happen.Again anybody free to help send me a PM or give me a buzz.Pressure is on

Could you throw up a map of suggested parking spots, please?

Not great at that kind of stuff but Lennymc might oblige me next week as he's doing everything else for me at the moment.Im basically talking about parking along the N51 between main entrance to Slane Castle and Slane village.If anyone knows the area its a very wide stretch of road with loads of room on both sides.If the weather is as dry as forecast next week.the field will def take some of the traffic.

Ok, know the area you're talking about. Thanks.

ill throw something up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 TheKnock15

WAV,

Will the N51 be closed off on the day. I am in a cycling group and we were going to come into Slane from Ashbourne side and then take the road to Navan.
    Might need to avoid this now.

Thanks,

@ TheKnock15 - the road wont be closed. Very few roads are closed to traffic for racing.
    There will be marshalls at the junctions aswell, so they should be able to advise you on when the race will be coming through on The N51. Hope that helps

Attached is the area Wav1 is talking about for parking.

All. good to go folks.Now have help from members of about 8 different clubs.Really appreciate it and i think riders are just glad theres a race on locally on a bank holiday weekend.And you never know if this weather keeps we just might get cars in to the field after all.As its still March the one day licences will be available.Thanks to lennymc for looking after alll that technical stuff.including excellent assessment work.

Thanks to lennymc for looking after alll that technical stuff.including excellent assessment work.

I think that's worth a 10 minute head start, dont you? :)

lennymc wrote: »
    I think that's worth a 10 minute head start, dont you? :)
    Not a chance.Im determined to make you suffer between this and Gorey.

Wav1. The DS that just keeps on giving.

Directional arrows to the sign on venue are now in place at a couple of different junctions on the N51 Slane/Navan Rd.
    Also field for parking is looking good to take cars if the overhead water stays away.Venue will be open from 9am and will remain open until 12.15 for sign on.

Wav1. The DS that just keeps on giving.
    Just cant give anymore of myself,or will need a good divorce solicitor.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just cant give anymore of myself,or will need a good divorce solicitor.
    I'm happy to work on the basis of 10% of everything the wife gets out of you. that way it's her cost and not yours;);)

Beasty wrote: »
    I'm happy to work on the basis of 10% of everything the wife gets out of you. that way it's her cost and not yours;);)
    sound logic.hope you're recovering well.your name is already on the sheet for the limit group in the. league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

FYI for anybody not part of the action today in Slane @UCD_Cycling will be tweeting from the team car at Boyne GP today

ended up not racing today but went out and watched a bit of the ladies and a4 race. Tough racing with a lovely headwing up the long drag.

The A4 start was a bit disorganised. All standing at the corner by the pub, road narrows, first lads away had 30+ sec headstart, that aside a good event as always.

Inquitus wrote: »
    The A4 start was a bit disorganised. All standing at the corner by the pub, road narrows, first lads away had 30+ sec headstart, that aside a good event as always.

Thats why you should allways try to be at the front at all times!! :) How did you get on?

Terribly

Enjoyed that, first bike race ever and first points on the board :) Finished 3rd so happy out. Id been involved in a breakaway on lap2-3 but there was only 2 of us working so i gave up. Went to the back of the bunch, recovered for a lap and got myself back up the top for a final push with just over a lap to go. Managed to bridge to a few others and we pushed on from there. A few though were in for a free ride but fortunately my fears that they were just being tactical didnt comne through. We were then down to 6 but 2 of the 6 crashed on the castle gates corner leaving 4 and 1 guy wasnt helping at all. Fortunately he was dropped as we pushed on but now the group were catching! I sacrificed myself a bit early but was more interested in not getting caught so happy that we didnt, just!!

Hope the poor girl who crashed in the ladies race is ok?! Didnt look nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 BigReg

Well done to the organisers and volunteers. My first ever race, strong pace and that headwind up that hill was not nice. Learn a lot from getting out and racing, great experience. Well done to the lads who earned a few points for themselves.
    Wish the women who fell all the best and a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

That was a nasty crash in the women's race after maybe 8km of racing. Split the bunch & I think three girls are in hospital after it.

No idea how I got around it but ended up in the ditch - can't understand what happened to cause it, was a good straight stretch of road?

There were at least 7/8 girls on the ground not able to get back up in a hurry so obviously hurt to some degree.

Hope everyone involved makes a speedy recovery!

Bambaata wrote: »
    Enjoyed that, first bike race ever and first points on the board :) Finished 3rd so happy out. Id been involved in a breakaway on lap2-3 but there was only 2 of us working so i gave up. Went to the back of the bunch, recovered for a lap and got myself back up the top for a final push with just over a lap to go. Managed to bridge to a few others and we pushed on from there. A few though were in for a free ride but fortunately my fears that they were just being tactical didnt comne through. We were then down to 6 but 2 of the 6 crashed on the castle gates corner leaving 4 and 1 guy wasnt helping at all. Fortunately he was dropped as we pushed on but now the group were catching! I sacrificed myself a bit early but was more interested in not getting caught so happy that we didnt, just!!

Hope the poor girl who crashed in the ladies race is ok?! Didnt look nice!

Ten girls came down I heard. Three in hospital.

No idea what happened at the castle gates on last lap. One of the first into the corner I heard the marshals shouting "Mind the corner!" Thought it was the lads on the ground they meant, then my back wheel went away from me. Stayed up somehow but that corner had been totally fine earlier, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Enjoyed that, first bike race ever and first points on the board :) Finished 3rd so happy out. ...

Impressive.. and well done Bambaata

No idea what happened at the castle gates on last lap. One of the first into the corner I heard the marshals shouting "Mind the corner!" Thought it was the lads on the ground they meant, then my back wheel went away from me. Stayed up somehow but that corner had been totally fine earlier, no?

Oh god I didnt realise thered been a few, hope all are ok. Were u in the break with the few of us and one of the 2 to go down? Hope ur ok? That corner kind of leans away and turns back in on itself, im from the area so know it well and took it very handy into it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Was watching the race as the a4 came around that corner on their last lap... although one rider who came down was moaning that there was oil on the road....no sign of any oil, just slippy as hell as perhaps it was drying out at that stage (and the adrenaline of the last lap might have played its part?!). Credit to the break for staying away, that was a tough drag to the finish in a head wind!

Oh god I didnt realise thered been a few, hope all are ok. Were u in the break with the few of us and one of the 2 to go down? Hope ur ok? That corner kind of leans away and turns back in on itself, im from the area so know it well and took it very handy into it!

no, I was trying to chase you down actually. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

Great racing in the A1/A2 race - I was behind the the break for most of the day and Ryan Sherlock was a deserved winner, Greg and himself put in a super ride to hold off a quality bunch.

I thought it was a great circuit and a well run race - as others have said it was a tad slippy out there though with a lot of riders coming off at corners- hopefully the girls taken to hospital are okay and the Swords A3 rider sporting a sling doesn't have a breakage

I think i tmay have been Solobally8 in the ladies crash?

I hope everyone's OK. I know there were a large number coming down in my crash in Newry the other week although I have no recollection of what happened - I remember it had started raining but we were on a straight dual carriageway at the time - I simply know I was the "worst" of the 2 riders hospitalised.

Still waiting to hear about the Swords guy caught up in the A3 race today - just at this stage know his arm was in a sling and he was unable to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

You possessed her? :P

Seriously, pictures looked nasty. Hope everyone's either okay, or recover quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

some how got myself over the bars . It looks like it broken Ok still waiting to have the dislocation looked at .a big stall with 3km to Go got into the wheels in front of me and over i went .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Safe and testing circuit. thanks to the organisers for putting on a great race. Congrats to the two lads out the front. The UCD guys did a good job of closing everything down in the bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

This was my first A4 race and I thought it was very well organised. Finished at the back of the bunch so pleased with performance.
    I seen the ladies crash, one of whom had a leg in a brace, another with blood pouring down her face. I wish all a speedy recovery.
    Well done to the organisers a great course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Hard, lumpy and slightly technical course. Two corners and some greasy roads caused a fair bit of trouble, with fast descents on the approach. Was pretty crashy in the A3 and obviously the women's race crash sounded awful.

Still, some hard, great racing. Launched the winning move, but didn't complete the job and get into the resulting group, which has left me feeling annoyed with myself. Not enough patience, went too near the bottom of the climb. Also, legs just didn't have enough zip today. The break drove the gap and happily we had two of our club in it, once we climbed up the drag on lap five and they were still out of sight, the bunch more or less accepted defeat. Great ride by the two lads and also to our own Bambaata who got his first points in his debut race. Super ride, and great to see a breakaway success in A4.

Well done and thanks to the organisers on a great race. Next up.. oh Gawd... it isn't, is it...

Thanks to the throngs of riders who showed up today and really gave us great racing.Thanks also to the army of helpers.Really hope that the crash victims make a speedy recovery.Nobodys fault i think and just bike racing.

Thanks wav1 and team for a great race today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

All those crashes? That many people hurt or in hospital? Riders coming down on every lap? Race sounds like anything but safe or well organised or well run if you ask me.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Great racing today. Loved the circuit and will definitely be back next year. Thanks to the organisers and volunteers. You can't control how guys ride the race. Some of todays crashes were definitely caused by rider error and not poor conditions or organisation.

Spoke to one of the Marshalls after and he doesn't even cycle. We should be thankful that lads like this make these races happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

fat bloke wrote: »
    All those crashes? That many people hurt or in hospital? Riders coming down on every lap? Race sounds like anything but safe or well organised or well run if you ask me.

:mad:

Are you implying that the organisation or the running of a race will improve rider's bike handling skills or reduce rider's lack of concentration? If so yer talking rubbish.