Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fertiliser spreader

• 28-02-2014 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭

I'm on the look out for a new 1/2 tonne spreader. I wouldn't have the work to justify spending 2.5k on one , so was wondering are there any trouble free budget brands out there ? I wouldn't mind a quad one either, but not sure what longevity they'd have. I have a contractor spreading for me at the moment, but like the idea of being able to spread a little and often, which I cannt do at the moment, and you could be waiting for a few days for a guy to turn up. I'm not to gone on second hand as rightly or wrongly ,I've always thought of them as the type of things that you'd only change if it were giving you bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Cosmo. Basicly a copy vicon wag tail but use vicon gearbox. We are on our second one, first one lasted a good 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Hi, I bought a spotless Rauch / Kuhn off a dealer 3 yrs ago, .8 tonne, a lovely yoke, no bother, simple, just give it a good wash after use, paid €800 i think. Theres loadsa tat out there too, so take your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Anyone know much about cavallo spreaders, appear to be reasonably priced ? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Anyone know much about cavallo spreaders, appear to be reasonably priced ? Thanks

Had one of them years ago but the gearbox went and the replacement was a bit dear so I changed it. Wouldn't be to keen on them tbh.

I have a Cosmo wagtail for the last 7 years. Simple machine that works well and fits the 1/2 tonne bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭red bull

I have an abbey wagtail 14 years 700kgs great spreader no problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Have cavallo here about 15 years. Stainless steel so no rust. Like everything keep them greased. Done the bearing once. Good spreader.

Any one ever have one of those 1/2 tonne cosmo spinners. Their the red cone shaped ones up on sale on donedeal for about €650 brand new ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Any one ever have one of those 1/2 tonne cosmo spinners. Their the red cone shaped ones up on sale on donedeal for about €650 brand new ???

Are you thinking of the cavallo? I have the smaller red cavallo spinner with a grey frame. It holds about 7 bags, they do a bigger one that holds 10 I think, perhaps this is the one you are thinking of?

I have ours about 10 years. They are very light! I had to do a bit of repair work on it a few years ago after I was driving over bumpy ground with it full and it put pressure on the bolt holes holding the hopper in the frame. The bit of movement in the bolts caused the agitator shaft in the bottom to widen the hole and it was letting down fertiliser there then even when the little doors were shut off. I have it sorted now, but it took a bit of tinkering.

The gearbox is small and full with grease rather than bathed in oil.

They are a grand spreader for small acrerage if you know how to humour it and for what I paid for it, it has cost me only €50 or so a year. But I will have to upgrade it soon!

Thanks muckit,

The one up on donedeal is a cosmo, but I'd say along the same lines as a cavallo. I'd only have 4-5 tonne to spread each year so if I could get one to last 10 years like yours it would work out fairly reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Hope you don't mind me jumping in here OP, just a few questions about fertiliser spreaders,

What would a mf 165 be fit for realistically, and would a mounted or trailed on be better eg like quad one, diff on compaction? And would spinner be better than wagtail,

Silly question, but how do you totally know where you've spread without GPS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Hope you don't mind me jumping in here OP, just a few questions about fertiliser spreaders,

What would a mf 165 be fit for realistically, and would a mounted or trailed on be better eg like quad one, diff on compaction? And would spinner be better than wagtail,

The 165 would easily carry a half tonne. The wagtail is supposed to give a more even spread. The spinner spreads more one side than the other. You should be able to see some track of where you spread unless spreading on a putting green even short grass will lie down when driven across and that should be visible. Failing that can you pick a point like a post at the far end of the field for a reference point.

Well we spread the odd time with our 165 half ton vicon wagtail, works it grand. Handy to get to the leaver with no back window.
    It depends what type of work your doing.
    Spinner tends to throw granules behind and beside which makes it no good for drill work unless youv the headland planted "spuds style". We use a centerline spinner for barley and spuds.

Wagtail throws it out each side and only a few foot behind, so it doesn't end up in a ditch or across the road, but sometimes I find it throws the bigger granules further, so if your fertilizer is a small grade you need to rev up more.

Well each man sorta knows himself how far the spreader goes on a calm day.
    But you can figure it out by putting down trays and spread with out moving for a few seconds to see what your spread pattern is like.
    I know you might waste some when checking the "calibration" but it would be wort it in the long term.
    Also have a 600kg Cosmo, same gearbox as the vicon, excellent machine, that's usuall on a mf375 or 4315.

Muckit wrote: »
    Are you thinking of the cavallo? I have the smaller red cavallo spinner with a grey frame. It holds about 7 bags, they do a bigger one that holds 10 I think, perhaps this is the one you are thinking of?

Hi muckit,

What's the spread like on those type of spinners, does it spread evenly enough ? I'd only be using it for grass
    Thanks !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Muckit wrote: »

Hi muckit,

What's the spread like on those type of spinners, does it spread evenly enough ?
    Thanks !!!

The small 6-7 bag spinners will tend to spread more to one side than the other. Another disadvantage is that they tend to get a bit of fertlizer on the back of the tractor. This means that you need to hose down the tractor afterwards. Also even though they might state 1/2 ton this would be full to the brim and unless you have them covered every time you hit a bunp they will tend to spill fertlizer. In reality they take about 5-7 smakk bags.

On the other hand they are cheap and cheerful. When you get used to them and work the spread pattern it is easy enough to turn tighter in one direction that the other. A good trick with spreading is to set to half rate and spread crosswyas and lenghtways. If you can afford a wagtail I be going for that. Watch out you may come accross a good S?H however they are very hard to come accross as lads tend not to sell unless they give problems or they need a bigger spreader.

The small 6-7 bag spinners will tend to spread more to one side than the other. Another disadvantage is that they tend to get a bit of fertlizer on the back of the tractor. This means that you need to hose down the tractor afterwards. Also even though they might state 1/2 ton this would be full to the brim and unless you have them covered every time you hit a bunp they will tend to spill fertlizer. In reality they take about 5-7 smakk bags.

On the other hand they are cheap and cheerful. When you get used to them and work the spread pattern it is easy enough to turn tighter in one direction that the other. A good trick with spreading is to set to half rate and spread crosswyas and lenghtways. If you can afford a wagtail I be going for that. Watch out you may come accross a good S?H however they are very hard to come accross as lads tend not to sell unless they give problems or they need a bigger spreader.

Cut a power pack a bit up from the bottom so you don't over fill it.

Thanks pudsey,

For the type of money I have to spend on one it would be either a second hand 1/2 tonne wagtail or a cheap new spinner type. I think your right about your reasoning why guys change them second hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The small 6-7 bag spinners will tend to spread more to one side than the other. Another disadvantage is that they tend to get a bit of fertlizer on the back of the tractor. This means that you need to hose down the tractor afterwards. Also even though they might state 1/2 ton this would be full to the brim and unless you have them covered every time you hit a bump they will tend to spill fertlizer. In reality they take about 5-7 smakk bags.

On the other hand they are cheap and cheerful. When you get used to them and work the spread pattern it is easy enough to turn tighter in one direction that the other. A good trick with spreading is to set to half rate and spread crosswyas and lenghtways.

Yes they can throw a bit on the back of the tractor. Re uneven spreading, I would agree very hard to get a single spinner to spread equally left and right, so why try? I have mine set to throw it all to the right (the way it spins). It spreads to the right and behind tractor (135). I drive around anticlockwise and then just spread to the LH tyre mark of previous run. Always very even. But I'm used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Looking to upgrade from wagtail to twin disc spreader, any make I should avoid.
    I've been looking at a few sulkys, amozone. 2k should get a very good one I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Looking to upgrade from wagtail to twin disc spreader, any make I should avoid.
    I've been looking at a few sulkys, amozone. 2k should get a very good one I reckon

Go for a simple machine. We have an Amazon's here that will be up graded in a year or too. Good simple little spinner.
    Will go amaxone again I'd say.
    The other makes look a bit finicky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Sorry, don't mean to hijack the thread, i'm on the look out for a spreader, wagtail with a hydraulic shut off, something around 3/4 - 1 ton mark, anything i should be looking for or anything to avoid like the plague!

Probably looking at second hand depending on price as i don't want to be spending crazy money on one for all the use i'll get out of it.
    What sort of money are they going for one in good order?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

bought a one tonne second hand bogballe(sp) spreader last year for £600 on dondeal sold my own lely 2 tonne spreader on donedeal for a bit more than that

Any parts that are prone to going that I should look out for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Any parts that are prone to going that I should look out for?

The fertilizer. Costs a fortune to keep it replaced. -;)

Round Bale wrote: »
    The fertilizer. Costs a fortune to keep it replaced. -;)

I'll just borrow the neighbours hel never miss it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

biddy2013 wrote: »
    bought a one tonne second hand bogballe(sp) spreader last year for £600 on dondeal sold my own lely 2 tonne spreader on donedeal for a bit more than that

Well bid how the bogballe going for u?
    What model is it

Lookwd at a few las week or so jezus they can rust away like hell!!

Found 1 that rusts not too bad on it and seems good mechanically so me thinks wull buy.

1 question tho.. Can twin disc spinners spread grass seed??

Lads, what's the widest a 1 ton wag tail would spread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭red bull

13 metres for an accurate spread in my experience

Any reviews on a one tone abbey disc spreader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

micraX wrote: »
    Cosmo. Basicly a copy vicon wag tail but use vicon gearbox. We are on our second one, first one lasted a good 12 years.

Anyone got a rough price of a new one, to hold a ton and with a hydraulic shutoff? And anywhere in the south east that sells them?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Anyone got a rough price of a new one, to hold a ton and with a hydraulic shutoff? And anywhere in the south east that sells them?

I'm guessing €2,300 plus €300 for the hydraulic for the cosmo. OP here, ended up buying a abbey PA700 wagtail. Not much price wise between cosmo and abbey. Vicons are a good bit more expensive.

Not bad, my dad priced up 1800 for a 2nd hand one yday, prb better off new so. Any difference between abbey and cosmos in quality anyone know? Also will a 2wd 1394 carry the 2 bags? All flat land here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Does anyone here have the Gamberini Quad spreader?

Bought one recently and have been out a few times, find it throws to the right and spread seems to be about 8 meters each side working at 10-12km/h...

We have hilly ground so going crossways is not always an option .. looking for any tips and tricks from someone who has had one a while.

Mechanically & Stability wise seems a great machine. Not quite sure why it is calibrated up to 14(?) but the chart only goes from 1 to 3 on the aperture setting? Is there an optimum speed / setting which corresponds to - say - a bag or two bags to the acre?

Not bad, my dad priced up 1800 for a 2nd hand one yday, prb better off new so. Any difference between abbey and cosmos in quality anyone know? Also will a 2wd 1394 carry the 2 bags? All flat land here.

I just liked the look of the abbey one better , Any trouble and you know where the factory is.

Got a cash price of 2300 with the hyd shutoff today, but they wouldn't take a trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

what one have you got now? shouldnt be hard to sell it on donedeal, we bought a secondhand Rauch spreader last year, they wouldnt even look at our old one sold it on dd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Got a cash price of 2300 with the hyd shutoff today, but they wouldn't take a trade in.

What does 'cash price' mean?

Is that for a 1 tonne machine or a 700kg one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

What does 'cash price' mean?

I presume that it means that you pay upfront full amount before item leaves yard with no trade in. It has other meanings to do with evading tax.

Is that for a 1 tonne machine or a 700kg one ?

Ton.

And Yeh FP, no trade in, finance etc, very common term when selling cars. If I had to physically pay cash and tax avoid (not that I'd ever dream of it), I want to be getting a 30 or 40% discount.

Ton.

That's a good price for a ton on the Cosmo with hydraulics. When I was pricing them a few months ago, they were looking for €2,300 without the hydraulics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I've an old vicon with a steel hopper still working away cost £300 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Dunedin

currently looking at a new spreader

have it narrowed down to Bogballe, Raunch and Lely Tulip.

local dealer does the Lely and would like to deal with him if possible.

any feedback on it - its the one ton version.