Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think we'll ever see protests and unrest here like in the Ukraine right now ?

• 27-02-2014 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭

As I understand it the people of the Ukraine kicked up serious fuss as they want their country to become more close to the EU but their government were leaning towards getting more re-acquainted with old Mother Russia ! I happily stand to be corrected if wrong or if I've over simplified this but I'm amazed at how people there can go this far and thus effect major change in their Country by doing so !

Given all that's happened here since the Death of the Celtic Tiger and how we still haven't come close to insurrection I ask do you think we'd ever get to a point as a people that we would do the same here ?

Why/why not in your opinion ?

It does amaze me what we've all let pass as a people these last few years and that we've never come close to that kind of action considering what our ancestors did to gain our independence ! Is it just not in us/our thing as a people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No. That fecking fluoride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Do you ever think AH will go one month without the same thread being done again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

Never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Do you ever think AH will go one month without the same thread being done again?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Even one day would be a blessed relief at this stage..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A month? I'd be happy with a day.

I'm going to buy a couple of horned ewes and stick tin buckets on their heads and call them sheeple. I'd make a hobby out of taking them to protests for the protestors to heckle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Well big question ha! I think its a combination of a few things. Firstly we like to complain about stuff but don't like to kick up much of a fuss. And secondly any sort of protests here are always peaceful as if we were to riot local areas would be furious over damage caused. Bear in mind our police are not armed so I wouldn't see us starting violent protests. Different circumstances I suppose dictate to the level of protesting. Just my opinion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I don't think we ever will to be honest. Even at the 1916 rising the number of volunteers are greatly exaggerated by most. I'd say by the amount of people that have told me they had relations involved there would need to be about 4 million in the GPO.

I think people are clever enough to know that the country relies heavy on foreign direct investment and that civil unrest would mean this flowing out of the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Dunnos OP, maybe if FG move closer to the bosom of Mother Britain we'll find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Aethan Dor wrote: »
    As I understand it the people of the Ukraine kicked up serious fuss as they want their country to become more close to the EU but their government were leaning towards getting more re-acquainted with old Mother Russia ! I happily stand to be corrected if wrong or if I've over simplified this but I'm amazed at how people there can go this far and thus effect major change in their Country by doing so !

Given all that's happened here since the Death of the Celtic Tiger and how we still haven't come close to insurrection I ask do you think we'd ever get to a point as a people that we would do the same here ?

Why/why not in your opinion ?

It does amaze me what we've all let pass as a people these last few years and that we've never come close to that kind of action considering what our ancestors did to gain our independence ! Is it just not in us/our thing as a people ?

I see you only joined us three days ago. As has been said already there is a quota for this type of thread, and it has already been exceeded for this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

If Aldi closes, the war will begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Panthro wrote: »

it'll be a victory for the lidl man though.

A few calls to Joe Duffy will sort everything out!

it'll be a victory for the lidl man though.

Every Lidl helps.
    (wait no, that's Tesco. Dropped the ball on that one!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

No. We have no need or desire to do so because we have it so good, and have such a better government and democracy.

Every Lidl helps.
    (wait no, that's Tesco. Dropped the ball on that one!)

Our local tesco put up a massive billboard a few years ago proudly stating "Ever Little Helps". I lolled. Not so much three years later and it's still there though.. anyway, back to inciting riots.

A lot of laughing out louded going on here tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I don't think so, for two reasons:
    1. We don't have an outside interest needling us (e.g. Russia). If this was the UK applying pressure to Dublin/the East vs. an anti-Brit/pro-US agenda everywhere else, it'd be a different story
    2. We are largely governed by self-interest, and believe that protest is pointless. In other words, we're fair game for rampant capitalist interests

In a way, it's not a bad thing. In another way, it's quite depressing.

I see you only joined us three days ago. As has been said already there is a quota for this type of thread, and it has already been exceeded for this week.

Firstly thanks to those who've addressed my question so far regardless !

Secondly, while I'm new here I'm not new to websites like this (other football related ones) and so I did check the First 10 thread pages of AH before I created my (first) thread here but if it's that much of a chore for ye all to do it again, except this time answering my own queries on the topic, just so I get to hear my fellow Boards posters opinions well.........sorrrrrrryyyyyyy ! Jeez !

See, the thing about starting threads in AH is, I'll try comparing it to something...balance a peach on a spoon...and wonder why is there a camel poking it's head in your fridge.
    That make sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Aww no something keeps happening here and I keep visiting here. I even care enough to post.

Apology accepted. Just don't do it again. For a week or two. And change the angle - "Why are there no Protests??" seems to do well, almost on a weekly basis..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

I hope we do, a people led coup on the dáil, imprison them all in Cavan & then we can all send selfies of our bare arses to Angela Merkel instead of cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How on earth did the OP mistake Ireland for Ukraine?

See, the thing about starting threads in AH is, I'll try comparing it to something...balance a peach on a spoon...and wonder why is there a camel poking it's head in your fridge.
    That make sense?

Are you Eric Cantona ?

mike65 wrote: »

Are you meaning to tell me were not in Ukraine!?!?! My whole life was a lie

He drove through Offaly and mistook Daingean for Chernobyl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Probably googled Balaclava and got Clondalkin.

That's a no then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

, just so I get to hear my fellow Boards posters opinions well.........sorrrrrrryyyyyyy ! Jeez !

Late with your essay again?

I think the jadedness is a reflection of common essay or thesis titles ~ Boards.ie must have graduated a million BA students by this time.:P

That's a no then

It's a solid maybe. At best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Lets hire a consultancy company find out ?

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Late with your essay again?

I think the jadedness is a reflection of common essay or thesis titles ~ Boards.ie must have graduated a million BA students by this time.:P

Yeah about 13 years late !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I'll sum it up by using the word spineless.

Lets hire a consultancy company find out ?

Red C poll so

Are you Eric Cantona ?

What's he, a Communist?
    Sounds like a Communist..
    "When the seagulls follow the trawler, it's because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea. Thank you very much."

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'll sum it up by using the word spineless.

Like a bald hedgehog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Like a bald hedgehog?

Like the "I'll use my voting option to get rid of corruption" people. Spineless. The same people would be against the civil rights marches in America. Just useless people.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Like the "I'll use my voting option to get rid of corruption" people. Spineless. The same people would be against the civil rights marches in America. Just useless people.

Or in on it? Dum dum dum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Bring back the Ulster Pride crowd to Dublin and watch it all kick off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

markesmith wrote: »
    2. We are largely governed by self-interest, and believe that protest is pointless. In other words, we're fair game for rampant capitalist interests
    Corollary to this point: I think there's a tacit admission that there's no "outsider" to blame for the state Ireland is in. The Brits didn't do it, the Americans didn't do it, the European Central Bank didn't do it. Local politicians, generally, aren't enriching themselves at the expense of the public (though I know some have tried).

There was a failure of regulation, but if it's only regulation that would stop you doing something irresponsible - such as taking out a crazy mortgage to buy an overpriced property - what does that say about you? The government didn't tell everyone that they could all be landlords, getting tenants to pay the mortgages for them while they sat back and watched the money roll in from their "property portfolio". If you fell for that pipe-dream, without noticing that you were helping to inflate the bubble, the correct response is not anger at the government but shame at your own greed and stupidity.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »
    Corollary to this point: I think there's a tacit admission that there's no "outsider" to blame for the state Ireland is in. The Brits didn't do it, the Americans didn't do it, the European Central Bank didn't do it. Local politicians, generally, aren't enriching themselves at the expense of the public (though I know some have tried).

There was a failure of regulation, but if it's only regulation that would stop you doing something irresponsible - such as taking out a crazy mortgage to buy an overpriced property - what does that say about you? The government didn't tell everyone that they could all be landlords, getting tenants to pay the mortgages for them while they sat back and watched the money roll in from their "property portfolio". If you fell for that pipe-dream, without noticing that you were helping to inflate the bubble, the correct response is not anger at the government but shame at your own greed and stupidity.

Poor people were not the ones taking out loans to buy to rent..... Yet the poorest are consistently being hit the hardest every budget. Tbh all buy to rent should be repossessed and no deal done on mortgages they rolled the dice and lost.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Poor people were not the ones taking out loans to buy to rent..... Yet the poorest are consistently being hit the hardest every budget. Tbh all buy to rent should be repossessed and no deal done on mortgages they rolled the dice and lost.

Well if that happens they should riot...

Nah,of course they wont.

Give the Irish people broadband and gated apartments and they'll stay there til they rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yeh! Lets go and riot like mad eejits. :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

For people to bother protesting, they first need to know what's actually wrong with how things are run right now, and what the alternatives are.

People generally though, don't give a toss about what is wrong or about the alternatives (or even the fact that what we went through will happen again), so not really anything changing.
    bnt wrote: »

Uh, the banking/financial sector did it.........

They deliberately inflated a massive asset bubble in the housing market, enriching a lot of people working in that industry and developers, and left the rest of the country to deal with the fallout - requiring that we bail them out.

We need to reform the banking/financial sector so this can never happen again, but we haven't done a thing - and because of that, it will happen again.

Every single one of these debates, you have people trying to excuse the banking/financial sector of their responsibility - nobody thinks it's a good idea to make it so that banks/finance should not be allowed to inflate economy-destroying asset bubbles?

Always attempts to pin blame on people who took out loans, not those who gave out the loans - who are not supposed to give out risky loans in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Some Irish people have no perspective. By every measure going Ireland is one of the most equal, fair and wealthy places (certainly in the top 30) in the world to live. We don't have poverty, government oppression, widespred lack of freedom of speech.

If we took to the streets at this stage, there would be a collective "meh, first world problems" attitude from the rest of the world.

OK, there are some ideologically motivated people who want to change the system, that's their right but the average man is the street is demonstrably not interested in violence as a political tool right now as it is blatantly not necessary.

I am pie wrote: »
    Some Irish people have no perspective. By every measure going Ireland is one of the most equal, fair and wealthy places (certainly in the top 30) in the world to live. We don't have poverty, government oppression, widespred lack of freedom of speech.

If we took to the streets at this stage, there would be a collective "meh, first world problems" attitude from the rest of the world.

OK, there are some ideologically motivated people who want to change the system, that's their right but the average man is the street is demonstrably not interested in violence as a political tool right now as it is blatantly not necessary.

So why were charity's on the news a couple of days ago saying the government is doing a terrible job in relation to child poverty rates. And I cant believe equal and fair in the same sentence.....

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0225/506513-children/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Why on earth should we settle for a corrupt banking/financial system, that rewards reckless speculators/bubble-creators, and piles the cost onto the entire population of the country, just because 'well things are worse in Africa...'.

Fúck that - that's just an argument for defending the power of some people, to exploit everyone else.

If they've proven they can't be trusted to handle giving out loans responsibily, without using their power to inflate huge asset bubbles for their own profit, then some pretty serious reforms are in order, before they dump even more debt onto us again - which will happen again in the future, because nothing has been reformed, and the huge issue of private debt levels is still not resolved (dealing with that, has just be deferred into the future).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

So you're basically piling all the blame on to the financial industry, absolving those who took out the mortgages of any blame? Sorry, not buying it. Just because something is being offered, it doesn't mean you have to accept the offer. What I saw during the "boom years" was rampant greed on all "sides":
    - on the part of short-sighted bankers and mortgage brokers, raking in fees and interest while boosting their balance sheets and profits, sometimes even selling the mortgage on to investment banks;
    - on the part of regulators, who failed to scrutinise who was selling what, to whom. (A friend of mine took out an interest-only mortgage on a flat, and he had to explain it to me before I could be horrified. That kind of mortgage is not something that should be offered to just anyone: it should be backed by solid collateral beyond the subject of the mortgage.)
    - on the part of buy-to-let landlords, thinking that renting out is free money with which to pay the mortgage, with the bonus of a nicely profitable asset to sell years later.
    - on the part of the financially-illiterate "man in the street", unable to do the simplest of calculations about the real cost of a mortgage, and/or deluding themselves that they would be able to sell for a profit in a few years and keep climbing the "property ladder". Just like everyone else.
    - on the part of the media, who fuelled the bubble with their aspirational colour supplement "property ladder" bullshit, telling people to "get in there before it's all gone, because they aren't making any more".

No-one who took part in the boom is blameless, in my opinion. I agree that banks need to be more responsible in how they sell financial products, but - like any products - you are under no obligation to buy them on the word of the seller alone. Regulation should not a substitute for personal responsibility - not unless you think people should never be allowed to take any risks, ever again. Say goodbye to alcohol, ice cream, and cars that do more than 60 mph. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray