Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbridge GP, Sunday March 9

• 26-02-2014 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

Not sure if there is a thread on this yet, if not, here it is. Racing begins at 12:30, same circuit as in previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Strava Segment of the lap from last year here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Am gonna miss this one I think. Can't find childminder for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

This is a great course for those who claim their races aren't hard enough. Hills that are easy to get over, but tough to overcome at race pace. Stick to the juniors like glue in the A3 race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Oh I remember this from last year. Bunch split to bits last time up the hill in a4. I think i managed about 15th... Good circuit. I'll try to stick to the juniors...... (but probably fail miserably)

Right, I've had a brainwave and may actually make this one, I'll be doing Naomh Finian the day before so it'll be interesting.

If i remember correctly, you had a brainwave last year as well, and ended up stringing the bunch out :)

I recall being encouraged to do so by someone possibly on this forum. I then spent 30-40km in the company of two others, we never spoke... and it remains one of the more surreal experiences of my life.

There's a video somewhere.

I recall being encouraged to do so by someone possibly on this forum. I then spent 30-40km in the company of two others, we never spoke... and it remains one of the more surreal experiences of my life.

There's a video somewhere.

I'm sure there is a lesson to be learnt. If someone sitting behind you tells you to hurry up, you probably shouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Folks
    Some advice. Considering this on Sunday.
    Problem - while I have done some training on the turbo this year I have been training outside in the real world on a bike precisely four times since January 1.
    I have nit done more than 90minutes of training since October.
    So no base to speak of and fatter than I normally am.

Am I absolutely bonkers to consider riding out from D15 and then doing the race?
    What is the hill like?
    Using this as a training opportunity so not worried about getting dropped (that will happen quickly), but how slow would I have to be to get caught by the A1's?

lap here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

lennymc wrote: »
    lap here

Ah Jaysus, it's neither short enough or flat enough ;-)

I think you should do it ROK ON. The first climb isn't that bad. A4 last year was steady over it until the last lap. I think we were all recovering after harrybelafonte's attack. Took the wind out of our sales. Its a nice course actually. I'm looking forward to getting hammered around it this weekend....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

It's a tough race and most definitely worth doing. The first sharp short climb will push you into the red and you will barely recover before the long draggy one. That's where the breaks will go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

ROK ON wrote: »
    Folks
    Some advice. Considering this on Sunday.
    Problem - while I have done some training on the turbo this year I have been training outside in the real world on a bike precisely four times since January 1.
    I have nit done more than 90minutes of training since October.
    So no base to speak of and fatter than I normally am.

Am I absolutely bonkers to consider riding out from D15 and then doing the race?
    What is the hill like?
    Using this as a training opportunity so not worried about getting dropped (that will happen quickly), but how slow would I have to be to get caught by the A1's?

If you're doing the A4 race, it's 3 laps, around 52km which would take around 1h15-20mins at race pace. So, actually if you've managed 90 quality minutes outside, you might be grand. There are two hills: first one is quite steep for a couple of hundred metres and tends to surprise and hurt people, before the second, which is a couple of ams of a drag-actually three drags, separated by short respites. But the hills are only difficult at racing pace-under normal circumstances, they are nothing special.

I got word that there's unplaced women's prizes in the A3 and A4 races. Presumably one each.

Wahey, I might actually get to go. Depends on how Naomh Finian goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭GMCI

Message from Organisers Newbridge GP:
    Due to circumstances beyond our control The Sign On HQ for the Newbridge GP Race this Sunday 9th March 2014
    has been changed from Cill Dara Rugby to Newbridge Greyhound Stadium Milltown Road Newbridge .
    racing format and times are not effected .

UCD are doing a great job of tweeting this event at https://twitter.com/UCD_Cycling for anyone not able to ride it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Whatever about cyclists over the white line, there has to be a special place in the lunatic hall of fame to the driver of the DID team car that drove up outside the cavalcade around the bends on top of Boston Hill, he didn't seem to want to pass any one just chat to the driver of the car inside him.

That aside it seemed to me as an onlooker to be a very well run race, big fields, hard racing, groups split all over the road.

I got some pics, will upload later.

UCD about to sweep the podium for the main event. Totally in awe.

https://twitter.com/UCD_Cycling/status/442677055063613440/photo/1

BiS0b6BIMAA2X06.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 mariussulla

Anyone else messed around by the late change of venue?
    Did anyone else find the organisation surrounding the start chaotic?

It was advertised on this very forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89335052&postcount=18

Also on the CI site (http://www.cyclingireland.ie/cycling-news-item/newbridge-gp-race-sign-on-changed/174) and various pages on Facebook.

Would you like a carrier pigeon next time? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Most clubs got notification as well via email, so if your club has a website they should have stuck it up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

Sometimes the best laid plans have to be changed for various reasons. The venue alteration for this event was communicated by email and social media mid-week. It was subsequently posted on many club websites. I read the news on 4 or 5 different sites.
    Suited me better too so I was pleased with the change.

As for perceived chaos at the start of a race... I generally don't notice as I am busy getting ready or warming up etc.
    Riders behaviour often lends to this sense of confusion. Newbridge CC usually put on a good show and have been doing so for many years and I did not notice any great problems today. Maybe it depends on ones expectations but these are usually brought into reality when one organises an event and suddenly realises that it is not as smooth a process as it sometimes seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

The change of venue that was advertised here three days ago and on their facebook page ? No.

What was chaotic about the start? We rolled out behind the car to the real start and went... Maybe something happened with the A3 or A4 rollout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

I thought things were well run today. I heard from a few on line sources about the venue change and when I was there I heard a few announcements about the start arrangements and didn't find any confusion.

Some of the A3 bunch went the wrong way at the start of lap 2, which I benefited from, finding myself at the front. Alas I didn't manage to stay there, but was happy enough with my day and rolled in just after the sprint. Was able to make up places on the climb which was good but my positioning and concentration needs work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭macbane66

Good race today, well organised, good circuit Was fortunately ahead of the crash on the second lap of the A4 hopefully everyone was ok.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

The first break in the A1/A2

13039141485_e806dc7141_c.jpg

More uploading here, give it a while though, slow upload out here in the sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

macbane66 wrote: »
    Good race today, well organised, good circuit Was fortunately ahead of the crash on the second lap of the A4 hopefully everyone was ok.

+1. Good to meet you at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭macbane66

upthe19th wrote: »
    +1. Good to meet you at the start.

good man how did u get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

macbane66 wrote: »
    good man how did u get on

Let's just say....as expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭MarkG1975

Did the a3 race, it was a good tough race well organised and rolled out fine, nice loop and an early break stayed away to win. nice pics Nilhg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Aodho

Well run race, pretty safe riding, good testing course, lucky with the weather. Well done to Newbridge CC. Earlier gripe from someone about change of HQ is minor, apologised for, well signalled & to better location anyway!

Only gripe I'd have is the riders (in A3) who seem to congregate down the back 3rd & who actually scream/ shriek the appearance of an oncoming car on the right, often when it's not even on their racing side. A simple call will do & most lads who need to know already know of it's presense. My 2nd time up Dunmurray I let myself roll back a bit towards that end of the race, by bottom of the descent I made a conscious effort to get out of there and back to the front end, they cause unnecessary panic & stress, and it's far calmer at front 1/3rd! I'm guessing that these guys are new to racing and/ or group riding as it's an over reaction and startling to other riders around them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Good, hard race today. We're going to have to hope for an extra-long, extra-hard leaving cert in A3 because the juniors are not going to let up. Break went at the first sign of uphill today and three stayed away. Unlike last week, the pace stayed high and there were plenty of efforts to attack. With a smaller group up the road there was still plenty to play for, whereas in Navan we were racing for 9th. Made a handful of attempts to get away but nothing stuck. Glad I had a go, as I need to be willing to take more risks and go for it, but moves were generally getting shut down quickly.

The A3 bunch was huge, about 150, but I think it was down to about 60 or so by the end. It made it pretty hairy at times with the narrow roads, lashings and lashings of wrongsiding and a reasonable amount of traffic. Decided that the sprint would be too hairy so went for a death or glory move at the last little pimple with 1k to go. Probably jumped from just a couple too many bike lengths back, but it would probably have been futile no matter what. Got a gap but the legs gave out pretty quickly into the headwind. Result: death. Rolled in with the bunch, but happy enough with the ride.

It's a superb circuit but it was a little bit dodgy with the vast bunch and some rider behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭slow

smurphy29 wrote: »
    Good, hard race today. We're going to have to hope for an extra-long, extra-hard leaving cert in A3 because the juniors are not going to let up. Break went at the first sign of uphill today and three stayed away. Unlike last week, the pace stayed high and there were plenty of efforts to attack. With a smaller group up the road there was still plenty to play for, whereas in Navan we were racing for 9th. Made a handful of attempts to get away but nothing stuck. Glad I had a go, as I need to be willing to take more risks and go for it, but moves were generally getting shut down quickly.

The A3 bunch was huge, about 150, but I think it was down to about 60 or so by the end. It made it pretty hairy at times with the narrow roads, lashings and lashings of wrongsiding and a reasonable amount of traffic. Decided that the sprint would be too hairy so went for a death or glory move at the last little pimple with 1k to go. Probably jumped from just a couple too many bike lengths back, but it would probably have been futile no matter what. Got a gap but the legs gave out pretty quickly into the headwind. Result: death. Rolled in with the bunch, but happy enough with the ride.

It's a superb circuit but it was a little bit dodgy with the vast bunch and some rider behaviour.
    There was only one junior in the break. And the average age was 27...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

slow wrote: »
    There was only one junior in the break.

And he decimated the whole race. If he gets the right coaching/advice he could and I emphasis could be a huge prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I was in the A4 bunch today. I asked about half an hour before the ride out and was told that, by then, 76 people had signed on for A4, so the bunch was at least that big and probably bigger by start time. I was hoping it would thin out on the uphill stretches, and perhaps it did but it was still a large group at the end. On at least two of the laps a gap opened up from a group of about 20 or 30 at the front to the main group behind, on the most significant climb, I thought we'd manage to get away but it all came back together very quickly again each time. It just seemed like a tough course to establish a break on.

I tried to move up in the last couple of kilometres but somehow managed to consistently choose spots where I was boxed in. As things sped up the gaps started to open up and I was able to move up. I was feeling surprisingly good at that stage, I felt I might be able to put in an effort on the inevitable sprint ...until I realised that the finish line was only metres ahead and the winner and all placings were currently rolling over it. One of the few occasions where my legs were able to give out to my brain for scuppering any faint chance they may have had at placing, it's usually the other way around.

There were some very hairy moments during the race with a few riders seemingly oblivious to the need to look behind before drastically switching lines within the group. Some of the same people were just as casual about using the other side of the road. Coming up to one of the blind bends 2 guys just moved out there and stayed there. Presumably they were playing the odds that there wouldn't be a car coming the other way round the bend. They lost, and how they both avoided piling into the car I don't know. Well, I do know actually, it was because people in the bunch made space for them to pull back in, regardless of the hazards to themselves of having to do that. The same 2 guys seemed to decide that the odds of meeting another car on the blind bend immediately after were now guaranteed to be nil, so they instantly swung back out to the other side of the road again. Turns out that life is not fair though and panic set in again when they met a car round that bend too, and again they managed to avoid being mangled only by the efforts of those in the bunch. If either of them had hit either car they would likely have been sent flying into the bunch, taking out some other riders in the process - it always amazes me how casually some people are willing to put the riders around them at risk like that.

For all the riding on the other side of the road, I was pleasantly surprised to have no repeat of last week's race in Summerhill, where there was absolutely no space on the right to get past at times (it came close though). And there was a lot of calling out of holes in the road, and oncoming traffic, today too, which was great. I couldn't help but laugh at one point though, a rare occasion today where no-one called out an oncoming car. A guy beside me who'd ridden solidly on the wrong side of the white line for maybe the last kilometre or so just about managed to avoid the car (by pulling in on top of me - cheers for that) and then loudly moaned at those up the front to call out the cars. It simply didn't seem to occur to him at all to just not put himself on a collision course with cars coming the other way in the first place so that he wouldn't actually need someone to act as parent and warn him of imminent disaster.

I saw only one crash in A4, I couldn't miss it as it was right in front of me. It seemed like one guy swerved within the group for some reason, took out the guy beside him, and they both took out the guy directly in front of me and all 3 of them ended up in the ditch. It was on a climb, which was useful since I lost enough momentum by freewheeling that I didn't have to slam on the brakes and I was able to swerve around them, but not so useful in that I then had to sprint to bridge the gap. That hurt, but not as much as the fall would have hurt so I hope all involved are okay.

Overall I found the race very well organised and run, thanks to those responsible for it.

My drive home was fun too. Cars switching lanes on the motorway seemingly without looking out for other traffic, pulling out into the outer lane to find myself blocked from overtaking by slow moving traffic hogging the entire lane, the driver who swerved right in front of me at about 80kph coming up to the entrance lane to the M50 only to instantly swerve back out again within a couple of metres of colliding with a barrier dividing the lanes ...screw this driving lark, even my short time spent in A4 to date is safer than it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

doozerie wrote: »
    lots of paragraphs

Good liberal use of paragraphs, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

And he decimated the whole race. If he gets the right coaching/advice he could and I emphasis could be a huge prospect.
    Race winner is an A3 [NOW A2]rider and not a junior.Junior rider was 2nd followed by his dad in 3rd.Have to mention a great ride by an U16 rider who was the 4th member of the break for most of the race.He was riding under permission from CI in preparation for upcoming youth Tour of Scotland.
    Thought the club did a good job today [as they usually do]in running the race.These clubs need to be constantly thanked by us all because as i brought up before only 17% of Leinster clubs promoted last yr,which by the way means 83% didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

There were some very hairy moments during the race with a few riders seemingly oblivious to the need to look behind before drastically switching lines within the group. Some of the same people were just as casual about using the other side of the road. Coming up to one of the blind bends 2 guys just moved out there and stayed there. Presumably they were playing the odds that there wouldn't be a car coming the other way round the bend. They lost, and how they both avoided piling into the car I don't know. Well, I do know actually, it was because people in the bunch made space for them to pull back in, regardless of the hazards to themselves of having to do that. The same 2 guys seemed to decide that the odds of meeting another car on the blind bend immediately after were now guaranteed to be nil, so they instantly swung back out to the other side of the road again. Turns out that life is not fair though and panic set in again when they met a car round that bend too, and again they managed to avoid being mangled only by the efforts of those in the bunch. If either of them had hit either car they would likely have been sent flying into the bunch, taking out some other riders in the process - it always amazes me how casually some people are willing to put the riders around them at risk like that.

Put very well, its not the lack of concern for their own safety but the fact they are going to put a large amount of other riders on the deck when they take these risks. I was in this race today and trying my level best to stay n the top 10 riders at all times as it is risky in a A4 'bunch'. Bunch being the operative word when it is spread over two lanes when there is space for about 2 bikes between everyone in the left lane! I had a guy try and come up on my left side on the last drag when I was already in the gutter today - 'politely' told him there wasnt any room there so he braked and weaved out into another riders line where he got another earful...

Guys blatantly riding on the wrong side of the road coming into blind beands or over the top of hills just baffle the senses, they promptly have to pull into the bunch, all brakes, bunch strings out again and everyone has to sprint to get it back together...there is ample room on the left if you stay on the left, no need to brake on approaching cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

wav1 wrote: »
    Thought the club did a good job today [as they usually do]in running the race.These clubs need to be constantly thanked by us all because as i brought up before only 17% of Leinster clubs promoted last yr,which by the way means 83% didn't.

Totally agree, well done Newbridge CC. I'm a member of McNally Swords and I can tell you we are doing are utmost to put on a couple of Open races this year.........but don't tell anyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Race winner is an A3 [NOW A2]rider and not a junior.Junior rider was 2nd followed by his dad in 3rd.Have to mention a great ride by an U16 rider who was the 4th member of the break for most of the race.He was riding under permission from CI in preparation for upcoming youth Tour of Scotland.

Jaysus Wav they're frightened enough by Juniors in A3 without throwing in the U16s!

Great rides by those young lads. And on Junior and U16 gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Many thanks to Newbridge club this is one of my favorite circuits,a special thanks to the lady who was making coffee for the sign on and was still dishing it out during the presentation,other clubs note coffee at sign on ;),small point A3 could have done with a lead car sooner after the break went but im nit picking very well run event,riders please note left facing arrows painted on the road denotes a left turn :o
    As for my own performance i had 2 good days racing over the weekend but couldnt get near the front today at the finish,put happy enough
    Its nice to see the improvements in real terms a few years ago on this circuit i was swinging out of the back of the A4 race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Thanks for the info, I just presumed they were juniors. Father and son team getting second and third, what a result for them! Great ride by the break staying away, the pace was high in the chase group. That is some exceptional riding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

I was a spectator at the race. What struck me was the large size of the fields, the amount of traffic on the circuit and the number of riders I saw on the wrong side of the road. Thankfully no serious accidents.

Up North I understand a much stricter approach is taken in relation to riders who cross the line being DQ'ed and cautioned. I think we need to enforce this better because should an accidident occur involving oncoming traffic it will mean less road racing on open roads will be permitted and everyone will lose out. Lets be careful out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I forgot to mention this, but I’ll do so now while the trauma of it is still disturbingly fresh in my mind, I saw a guy at the end of the race with a substantial hole in the back of his shorts. I’d like to assume that it occurred on the day, due to an unfortunate accident the details of which I’m trying not to imagine, but it actually looked like they had simply worn through with age.

The hole was situated just above the stitching on the edge of the chamois, so pretty much perfectly placed to catch your eye if riding behind yer man. It was not a pleasant sight, imagine a peephole view of lycra-clad builder’s cleavage, but despite my best efforts my eyes were drawn back to it in sick fascination each time I dragged them away.

It seems like one less than subtle way to discourage people from sitting on your wheel,. There may be good reason to stock the race ambulance with a good trauma counsellor for any races where these shorts appear. I shall now go and scrub my eyeballs with a wire brush.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

"I can see your hole through your hole"

I forgot to mention this, but I’ll do so now while the trauma of it is still disturbingly fresh in my mind, I saw a guy at the end of the race with a substantial hole in the back of his shorts. I’d like to assume that it occurred on the day, due to an unfortunate accident the details of which I’m trying not to imagine, but it actually looked like they had simply worn through with age.

The hole was situated just above the stitching on the edge of the chamois, so pretty much perfectly placed to catch your eye if riding behind yer man. It was not a pleasant sight, imagine a peephole view of lycra-clad builder’s cleavage, but despite my best efforts my eyes were drawn back to it in sick fascination each time I dragged them away.

It seems like one less than subtle way to discourage people from sitting on your wheel,. There may be good reason to stock the race ambulance with a good trauma counsellor for any races where these shorts appear. I shall now go and scrub my eyeballs with a wire brush.

Oh dude, I feel for you. I was sat behind someone at Naomh Finian with transparent/worn blue shorts. I have the image of a crack burned into the back of my mind tbh.... shiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I won't name the club, but I was behind said rather bulky gentleman while waiting to roll out and can confirm the hole was already in evidence.