Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

would you ever head out on the town on your own?

• 22-02-2014 11:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

would you ever head out on the town on your own? in a situation where none of your mates are up for a night out but you are. I have done this many times and had some great nights out but most people I know would never consider it.

would you ever head out for a night on the town on your own? 75 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 75 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭michaelr666

yeah I have before, great craic meeting random people and having nothing to worry about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

When I was shopfitting around the UK I often went out alone and you be surprised how many good laughs you'd find.
    Most people will chat to you in a bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

When I was shopfitting around the UK I often went out alone and you be surprised how many good laughs you'd find.
    Most people will chat to you in a bar.

I read that as shoplifting:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Have done in different parts of the world when awaiting friends to arrive/after they've left and I wasn't due home a few days.

Some of the best nights out I've ever had were when I was initially by myself but bumped into random folks.

For instance, I bumped into a few guys one night in a bar in Melbourne, they where from a town out state. Got drinking with them, on a mad night out altogether (those lads could party) and ended up heading to their country town (Port ferry, which also has a Sackville street btw) for a week on the píss with them, where we went Pig hunting (the curly tailed type) and got taken around the bush in a chopper.

I'm almost certain if I'd have been in company, I'd not have met those lads.

Mad Bastards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Lol me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

So did I, ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

If you go out without your mates you might meet new people, learn something new, maybe meet the future wife..........Christ who would want to do a thing like that....!!!!

Do it about once a month and wouldnt miss it for the world. Actually met the wife on a night out alone. Had my mates been with me she would never have spoken to me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I love going out on my own as there is no one saying oh your drinking to slow or fast or pestering you about going to a god awful night club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭ceannbui

yep, never did it in ireland though. have been living and working abroad for years and in order to meet people i've often gone out by myself. can't do it where i am now (muslim country/no bars worth the name) and i miss it.

When i think about now though, i realise that i did do it in the past when i was living in Galway. often wouldn't bother to see if anybody was going out, I'd just head off to the pubs i enjoyed drinking in to see who was about. 9 times out of 10 I'd meet people i knew, but occasionally (rarely) i wouldn't. In that case i'd order a pint and start talking to whoever seemed up for a bit of craic. happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

Does meetup count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Don't do it too often at home, the town that I live in has a massive generation gap and there wouldn't be a lot of people my age about which doesn't help so I wouldn't bother generally.

Was in Liverpool last year with my father for a weekend and both nights he ended up heading back to the hotel around 12/1am but I stayed on for one or seven more. Ended up on the lash with a stag from Donegal and a couple of Swedish lads the first night, and a few lads from Roscommon and a couple of Scousers the second night. Savage craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I don't think you can get away with it and have as much fun with it in Dublin as you can in other cities, unless you head to Temple Bar and the like. For all our friendliness that we're famed for, I find Irish people on nights out really, really like sticking to their groups of friends and only talking to members of the opposite sex they fancy their chances of getting the ride from.

Could just be my age. In my mid twenties but feel about 10 years older. Prime example would be I went to a certain bar/club in the Dawson Street area last week with a colleague for a drink and tried to make small talk with another woman at the bar whilst waiting an eternity for my drink, and she just nodded and turned to her other friend as if to say "What a nutjob".

I did it once in San Fran, was away with work and bored. Went to a dive bar near my hotel. Best banter ever, those Americans will just talk to anyone, I love them for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Nope I've never done it. What if no one talked to me :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Actually met the wife on a night out alone. Had my mates been with me she would never have spoken to me.....

Does she not like your mates?:p

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Did it before in Madrid. Went to a bar with my little understanding of Spanish. Ordered a beer, the one behind the bar started yapping away to me (didn't have a clue what she was saying). Went to a seat and sat down. A pitcher and loads of bar food was dropped over to me. Tried saying it wasn't mine (in poor Spanish and then English). They had none of it. I ate it (was hungry anyway), and went to pay. Only had to lay for the one beer. Lad behind the bar said that because I attempted to talk to Spanish, they appreciated it and have me "a regulars offer"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Hermy wrote: »
    Does she not like your mates?:p

Lets just say she doesnt like them when they have had 7-10 pints. Pack of single slagging sneering c+nts.......She wouldnt have made to within 5 meters of me without the comments being flung around.
    Had spotted her out a few times when i was out with them, tried the old chat on the way to the toilet via New York, offered to buy a drink....chatted to her mates......but they all just blocked me when i was in the group. On my own they were only too willing to accept me.
    Mind you she seems to give them as good as she gets now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

I went out to 3 gigs on 3 nights in Dublin by myself. It was all post-rock music that none of my friends were into.

I actually had a great time. No holding beers for friends while they pee constantly, no driving their drunk asses home, and I got to just focus on the music and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Never done it in Ireland but have done abroad. It did work out well for
    the most part, some great nights were had. Would love to be able to do it in
    Ireland without looking odd but I cant see that happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Only to watch some sport at a pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Done it once or twice, felt uncomfortable, people are strange when you're a stranger.

In another country might be easier. Ill have to try next time abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Tilly wrote: »

Sure fcuk it, you could still talk to them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

dmc17 wrote: »
    Sure fcuk it, you could still talk to them :)

I'd talk to anyone to be fair. It's the fear of them blanking me and thinking I'm some sort of weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Yeah loads, it's great craic. Especially when you're abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I've gone to gigs alone in Dublin but I don't think I'd feel comfortable just going out out. I always meet someone I know whenever I go somewhere anyway, if I was alone it would feel awkward as if I was trying to tag along or something.

I've gone out on my own abroad loads of times and it's grand so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I'd talk to anyone to be fair. It's the fear of them blanking me and thinking I'm some sort of weirdo.

Even if they blank you, just keep talking to them. They won't think you're a weirdo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Very occasionally I have a pint in the little pub up the street, that's all. Going out on the lash alone would be defeating the purpose IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

If it is a town in a rural parish i would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I've gone to gigs on my own in Ireland. The only time I ever went out to a niteclub on my own was in Reykjavik, but when I was travelling on my own in Australia I would have gone into backpacker type pubs on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Several times when travelling on my own for business or pleasure.
    Usually good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

On the town? No, the boogeyman might eat me.

On the Toon? Fcuk yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I'm not the kind of person that can too easily strike up a conversation with strangers so I'd just be bored and slightly uncomfortable all night. Wouldn't be my bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

In Britain a few times, resulted in a threesome with 2 women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

orangesoda wrote: »
    In Britain a few times, resulted in a threesome with 2 women

Hard to beat the old free wifi in the pubs isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Timistry

Whenever im dying to get out of the house and their are no other options

Dublin:The night before a long haul flight when everyone is working. Had a savage time in bars that the lads would not frequent, chats with tourists that were great craic.

Leeds: Was there for a year of Uni. Was flush with cash, drink was cheap beyond words and the rest of the people in my course never went out. A ball of drink a few nights a weeks and I would have a moral obligation to head out on my own (pubs, clubs 3 minutes walk). Had many ****e, depressing nights but also many amazing ones.. can do what YOU like, talk to whoever you like and invent whatever persona you please without other cramping your style with the ladies :)

Melbourne: The casino.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I did it one night over a year ago and will admit that I was very apprehensive about it but I had a brilliant night, met some really fun people.

If you're going to do it, sit at the bar, best seat in the house. You'll have all the chats and make loadsa new friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I can tell by the way people sit if they have a good personality.
    So if you were sitting well then I would talk to you.

was it sitting or looking... hmmm can't remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I've done it numerous times, had some great random nights and it's good if you're on the pull too. Sometimes you have the best times when you just rely on your own good self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

did it once but by complete accident, ha, was meeting friends in a new city and I got the bar wrong, goofy 19 year old I was at the time. So texted a pal and said I was here early (silly flaw of mine) and went to the bar and ordered a drink. only thing is I could be wrong but is it easier as a lad to go out alone and make new friends. as a girl I got hit on and had some nice lads chat me up until I realised I should have been in the place across the road, but girls seems more clicky. But look that isnt to say all girls are like that, but as one, its just my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Went out in Toronto one night just arrived in d city. Didn't no one person there. Headed out to some bar the second night called tattoo. Got Chatting to two Canadian girls ended up goin home with one of them.
    i went to America by myself too Seattle San Fran New York. Went out by myself loads of times.i met an Argentinian guy in a bar in New York called Patrick Murphy. He had a Spanish accent grandparents were irish from buenos arises. He was a complete nutter went on beer in manhattan few nights with him. Iv never gone out on my own in Ireland strangely enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Would love to do it in Ireland but I don't think it's possible. Most people head out in groups and approaching them like that would only make me feel like I'm just bothering them. In germany me and my friend met a bunch of random people and had a great aul night. Heading away for 3 months on my own soon. Be a few nights out on my own I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I don't think you can get away with it and have as much fun with it in Dublin as you can in other cities, unless you head to Temple Bar and the like. For all our friendliness that we're famed for, I find Irish people on nights out really, really like sticking to their groups of friends and only talking to members of the opposite sex they fancy their chances of getting the ride from.

This. I think it's far easier in a foreign country to talk to new people than in Ireland.

Personally, I wouldn't go on a night out in town . But I do find I need to go to gigs on my own as people aren't around or are not interested in going.

If I'm in another country I have no problem doing it because it's clear I'm a tourist. But in Ireland I would find doing it quite strange. I don't talk to strangers too easily, I just sort of stand around awkwardly hoping someone will come over and talk to me. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

to the pictures, yes.

to anywhere else, no, its more fun in the pub or elsewhere with a few friends or two at least. always someone around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

The town Im from generally would have very few people my age that go out, either very young or very old, so I wouldnt do it here.
    Went out in Germany with a friend who well idea off a good night out was to be in bed by 10 and met a group off German guys who we had a great night out with, something I definitely wouldnt do in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I've done it a fair few times (more when I was single). It's definitely easier to score when you're not with an audience of mates who will slag you if you fail or slag you if you succeed!:D

Tbh, I've rarely gone out on a weekend night in town solo while completely sober. I just wouldn't have the urge in that scenario except if I was abroad and sick of my hotel room. It would usually be after a few drinks at home or if I was with others who had to finish early, then I'd head off by myself and continue on with the night as I'd already have the goo on me! I still prefer having mates with you especially if there are lulls in the evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

Loads of times abroad.

Loads of times to watch a match or to see a movie.

Never headed into town for the night on my own though. That'd be strange for some reason. Would probably meet someone I know and they'd think I don't have any friends.

Most Irish people I know would be horrified to ever be seen alone. A lot of people wouldn't even go into a pub if they arrived first, and would arrive late in order to avoid that happening.

I don't think that fear of being seen alone exists much in other countries I've been to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

j

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I like going to the cinema, museums and galleries on my own. I've been in cafés and pubs on my own reading and have no problem with it. I don't like going for dinner on my own but I've done on various occasions and it was ok.
    But to head out on my own? I'd do it abroad but not sure about Dublin. I think it might be easier for lads. Going to a gig on my own is on my agenda for this year but really can't imagine I'd go to a nightclub by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

I'd love to have the confidence to do it but I'd be too shy to approach people! :(