Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think you have a drink problem ?

• 21-02-2014 11:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

So do you think you have a drink problem ?
    I had 12 cans tonight and i'll probably have 10 or more pints on sunday, but for me thats normal but a lot of people think I drink too much. I don't drink any other days.

What about you?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I have a drink problem.

I can't get enough.

Yes, my problem is that I have none right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Don't drink.
    Tend not to mince words after a few

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

my drink problem is really horrid, i never seem to have the price of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

My drink problem,I do not have not enough money to satisfy my thirst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Light weight

I drink. I get drunk. I fall down. No problem. Not something I suffer from, just something I enjoy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

uch wrote: »
    I had 12 cans tonight and i'll probably have 10 or more pints on sunday, but for me thats normal but a lot of people think I drink too much. I don't drink any other days.

What about you?
    22 or more pints a week?

Ah sure you're grand, livers practically grow on trees these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Damnit, all the jokes have already been made... *gets coat*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

4 o'clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

As long as I have the pine toilet duck I'm grand......if I'm badly stuck I'll swallow a pint of heineken whilst holding my nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I used to drink far too much. Now I don't. It's something I keep an eye on though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

I'm functioning. I can do a days work while semi locked.
    But can't function really unless I can drink.
    Is that a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

My name is Stavros..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Drakares wrote: »

My drink problem is I have two hands and only one mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Haven't had a drink in a few weeks now, don't really miss it so I'm probably ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

As long as I have the pine toilet duck I'm grand......if I'm badly stuck I'll swallow a pint of heineken whilst holding my nose

This man needs help, even considering Heineken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Drakares wrote: »

One more......
    I have a drink problem
    Two hands and only one mouth.....

Get my coat too :-D
    Damn you Turk...... :-C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

wazky wrote: »
    This man needs help, even considering Heineken?
    The beer snobs have arrived. That didn't take long.

Mariasofia wrote: »
    One more......
    I have a drink problem

You've pulled?! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

22 or more pints a week?

Ah sure you're grand, livers practically grow on trees these days.

I'd have that many large Bulmers/Magners and more on a slow night:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

david75 wrote: »
    Is that a problem?
    Yeah, that one probably is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Mariasofia wrote: »
    One more......
    I have a drink problem

If you hadn't taken that final swig you might have got in first.
    Your drink problem is now affecting your Boards life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭vermin99

Yes I do, keep missing my mouth and spilling it wverywhere
    from the film airplane^^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The biggest drink problem i have is when i run out of gas and have to throw away the batch im brewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Like a dozen cans myself one night over the weekend,every weekend.
    Couldn't be arsed during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I love you, Karpackie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

If you hadn't taken that final swig you might have got in first.
    Your drink problem is now affecting your Boards life!

No...I just made a greater effort with my post :-P
    Your drink problem made you throw up a very basic post.....its affecting your attention to detail :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No and never will. It's my least favourite drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I think about this often...it's in my blood and I always feel it'll be either me or my brother who'll be cursed with it. He rarely drink a lot but I'd consider myself a very heavy binge drinker and at 19 it's a worry for me. I know lots of college students are doing the same but I know very few students or adults of any age who consume as much drink as I do on a night...I was out last night and I only drank half as much as I normally would and it felt good...I wasn't sober but I wasn't any way drunk either...I don't think I could quit cold turkey a while...I guess I'll just have to see what time has in store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    No and never will. It's my least favourite drug.

Ah now thats for another thread

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I don't have a problem with drink, therefore I don't think I have a drink problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Like a dozen cans myself one night over the weekend,every weekend.
    Couldn't be arsed during the week.

Therefore your username suits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Toilet duck hipster. It's far from domestos you were raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

This thread needs a poll added in! Also down with something or other bla bla etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I'd drink 5 days a week (Wednesday-Sunday), probably around 12 pints. A few people have commented on that being quite a bit, but it's something I enjoy.

brummytom wrote: »
    I'd drink 5 days a week (Wednesday-Sunday), probably around 12 pints. A few people have commented on that being quite a bit, but it's something I enjoy.

12 a Night? or 12 over all ?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Yes. I live in a country obsessed with being pissed. It's a problem. Excuse me while I step over this puddle of piss.

My uncle got stopped by the local guard once, the guard said "have you been drinking?"
    To which my uncle said "no"
    "well i know you have a drink problem and have you been drinking today?" said the guard.
    My uncle said "Ok well i was out all day and made alot of house calls and i drank a fair shot of it."
    The guard to himself "i have you know", and out loud "what had you to drink?"
    To which he replied "12 cups of tea and 2 coffees".
    Guard went bullying, sent uncle on his way, he stopped for a few alcohol drinks in the local afterwards and the customers had a right laugh at his days events, they all hated that guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

biko wrote: »
    Haven't had a drink in a few weeks now, don't really miss it so I'm probably ok.
    At this stage you really need to drink some water ;)

Yes. I live in a country obsessed with being pissed. It's a problem. Excuse me while I step over this puddle of piss.

Ah Jaysus, let me put me coat down first Mildred

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

david75 wrote: »
    Is that a problem?

That's a classic case of functional alcoholism, but I think you realise that.

What about you?

It's a lot to have, and if you kept that up it'd destroy your liver. But if you don't feel dependent on it, then maybe you're not an alcoholic, just someone who drinks a lot.

If it's 12 pints a night, then I don't see how you'll be able to keep that up long term.

A genuine question, for all: how would you have the time for 12 pints in a night? If I were drinking at home, had all the cans lined up before me, drank quite fast and didn't take a break between pints, then I might have 12 pints in 6 hours, but it wouldn't be enjoyable.
    But if I were out, chatting with friends, I don't see how I'd find the time to have 12 pints, unless I were really trying to knock them back and buy new ones as fast as I could, which really strikes me as not being much fun.

If I were drinking at home, had all the cans lined up before me, drank quite fast and didn't take a break between pints, then I might have 12 pints in 6 hours

I would have 12 cans drank watching Fair City, and that is on the sky plus with the ads fast forwarded by 30 times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I lolled at that.
    Yeh 60 pints a week is... quite a bit. But it's something you enjoy!

I can do the dog on drink at times myself but there's a good deal of denial in the above posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Its creeping up on me.
    I'm finishing the beer I have in store and not buying any for next week since its getting to the point where I can't imagine doing certain things without a beer in my hand.

Living in the arsehole of nowhere and working too much takes its toll eventually

somefeen wrote: »
    Its creeping up on me.
    I'm finishing the beer I have in store and not buying any for next week since its getting to the point where I can't imagine doing certain things without a beer in my hand.

Living in the arsehole of nowhere and working too much takes its toll eventually

Cant be too bad to say you have internet, what is your ping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Tayto Pub Crisps...aaaarrrrggghhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

My tolerance has seriously dropped. Had four pints one night recently (three pints of Murphys, one pint of cider) and dying the next morning.
    Not long ago that would have barely registered.

Then again though, I drank like I was in my 20s a few months back after going for a big meal during a week off; felt grand next morning. Guess stuff like how much you eat, how tired you are, etc, all come into it.

WikiHow wrote: »
    Cant be too bad to say you have internet, what is your ping?

Is ping the new hip word for kink? If so, hairy women is my ping!

Guess stuff like how much you eat

Cant beat a good carvery for soakage. ;)