Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Walshes - RTE / BBC4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I don't see this potentially making life difficult for any period of time :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Just watched the You Tube clips. They are hilarious. Never heard of Diet of Worms until today. This show could be very good indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I'm totally biased as I've been a fan of Diet of Worms for years but I think this is going to be pretty, pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

The trailer doesn't grab me at all, but I'll give it a shot as it is Linehan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Only three episodes, but hopefully it will lead to more.

Looks promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Saw the ad last night and love it! Anything can be better than Mrs Browns! And this looks like it could be a winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

Mc Love wrote: »
    Saw the ad last night and love it! Anything can be better than Mrs Browns! And this looks like it could be a winner

Maybe it's just me but in the promo Mrs Walshe reminds me a bit of Mrs Brown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

brian_t wrote: »

She's far funnier and an actual woman too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Has it already aired on BBC?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Has it already aired on BBC?

Not yet, RTE will have the first showing (March 6th).

It is provisionally scheduled for March 13th on BBC Four

http://www.comedy.co.uk/guide/tv/the_walshes/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

The trailer doesn't grab me at all, but I'll give it a shot as it is Linehan.

My thoughts exactly. Just seen the ad again and keep thinking "oh no, another attempt at comedy" but I've never heard of Diet of Worms so will look that up and then give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭rok

She's far funnier and an actual woman too!
    Mc Love wrote: »

can't understand the hype about Mrs Brown, seems like the english always loved seeing a man dressed up as a woman, hilarious :rolleyes:

This Walshs looks good tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I watched this on Friday and thought it was hilarious. Im assuming that the version on RTE will be set in present day rather than the 80's

brian_t wrote: »

Graham Linehan is keen to distance himself from Mrs Brown's Boys (as you would expect)
    Speaking at Monday's press launch for The Walshes, Linehan added that while he hadn't seen Mrs Brown’s Boys he felt confident in asserting that is was “more pantomime” than his own creation. “I have not seen Mrs Brown's Boys so I don’t really know. [Mrs Brown's Boys] seems more larger than life. I was never really a big fan of Brendan in Dublin, so [Mrs Brown’s Boys] probably wouldn’t appeal to me.”

Linehan joked that he did not expect a large part of the audience to migrate from Mrs Brown’s Boys to The Walshes, adding that despite the presence of O'Carroll's mother character in Mrs Brown's Boys, he did not believe the Irish matriarch has ever been satisfactorily represented in homegrown TV shows.

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2014-02-24/graham-linehan-on-the-walshes-our-comedy-about-an-irish-family-is-no-mrs-browns-boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭celtic tiger 2011

gazzer wrote: »
    I watched this on Friday and thought it was hilarious. Im assuming that the version on RTE will be set in present day rather than the 80's

What moron finds this **** funny?. Just because Linehen co wrote one decent comedy doesn't make him a comedy genius. He is a one hit wonder in my view . The IT crowd was awful and he is also wrote the awful Val Falvey . He is the most overrated comedy writer ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

and he is also wrote the awful Val Falvey .

That was Arthur Matthews

fruvai wrote: »
    That was Arthur Matthews

Regardless my point still stands . Judging by the clip above I see nothing funny in it . Its just some asshole acting the prick and thinking he is funny . There are no jokes, no humour, nothing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Regardless my point still stands . Judging by the clip above I see nothing funny in it . Its just some asshole acting the prick and thinking he is funny . There are no jokes, no humour, nothing .

Regardless of your point, don't be the dick who comes into the thread and berates other people for wanting to give it a shot.
    Once the episode has aired, you've watched it and then decide you still don't like it, feel free to come in and say you hate it, but if others like it let them to it.
    Your opinion isn't any more valid than anyone else's, so maybe reel in the aggro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

The IT crowd was awful

Bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

lertsnim wrote: »
    Bull****.

I wouldn't say it was bullshìt, but it wasn't far off it I suppose

Aren't you the funny one.

If this reply is the standard of comedy you are used to then I suppose 2 and a half men etc is probably your level

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Aren't you the funny one.

If this reply is the standard of comedy you are used to then I suppose 2 and a half men etc is probably your level

Have never seen it, is it any good?
    But I stand by my assessment of the IT crowd, a couple of laughs a good comedy does not make.
    If you had said Black Books instead, then you would have had my support

I enjoy Black Books too. Who couldn't

Black Books and The IT Crowd both ****e.

Graham Linehan is an arrogant ****e who isn't half as funny as he thinks he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Good for you Father. Well someone had the guts to stand up to them at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Lol CT you must really hate Linehan to claim that IT Crowd is ****e, did he hurt you personally? Bizarre.

And BB not funny? Hahahaha, will ya ever feck off!

Lol CT you must really hate Linehan to claim that IT Crowd is ****e, did he hurt you personally? Bizarre.

And BB not funny? Hahahaha, will ya ever feck off!

Honestly I thought that the I.T. Crowd was really poor. One of those shows that relied on cheap obvious jokes to try and raise a laugh note often than not if found my interet had waned within the first few minutes and the same for Black Books. It had a few good laughs but it was far from the classic many claim it is.

Great comedy like Fawlty Towers is timeless and just as funny the fourth time as it was the first. Something that can't be said for either of the shows I mentioned. I understand that comedy is subjective and all that but to me The I.T. Crowd is as about as witty and original as Mrs. Brown's Boys.

Honestly I thought that the I.T. Crowd was really poor. One of those shows that relied on cheap obvious jokes to try and raise a laugh note often than not if found my interet had waned within the first few minutes and the same for Black Books. It had a few good laughs but it was far from the classic many claim it is.

Great comedy like Fawlty Towers is timeless and just as funny the fourth time as it was the first. Something that can't be said for either of the shows I mentioned. I understand that comedy is subjective and all that but to me The I.T. Crowd is as about as witty and original as Mrs. Brown's Boys.

Damn right . Linehan is a one trick pony .From the few clips i have seen of The Walshe's, it looks like it is going to be ****e . Linehan is a smug **** who thinks that everything he has done is fantastic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I feel it's worth pointing out that Linehan was only involved in the writing on season 1 of Black Books, and even then was a duty he shared with Dylan Moran. He had no part in seasons 2 and 3, with Moran continuing to share the scriptwriting credits with other writers who came on board. Not sure what the open, personal hostility is for regarding Linehan, but it's always important to consider facts before going off on one.

I'd not be a mad fan of The IT Crowd myself, and wouldn't see the broad appeal it has; there were occasional funny moments such as the 'wizards of the internet' sketch, but a lot of it seemed like low-hanging fruit poorly written around pretty immovable stereotypes. Black Books on the other hand was just fantastic, mostly down to the misanthropic title character played by Dylan Moran and his double-act with Bill Bailey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Damn right . Linehan is a one trick pony .From the few clips i have seen of The Walshe's, it looks like it is going to be ****e . Linehan is a smug **** who thinks that everything he has done is fantastic.

your ignorance is impressive

Linehan is massively critical of all his own work - including Fr. Ted..

plus like how you throw out the phrase "one trick pony" without any explanation as to why?

But then you said Black Books is sh!te so you can happily fook off :)

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

May I add that I also dislike The IT Crowd.BTW which one is Linehan?Is he the Bald fella with glasses or the other guy?I know I can find out by googling him but I like a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

The Taste of Home kind of reminds me of The Royle Family, and that's a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Linehan said there was only three episodes of Fr.Ted that he was satisfied with.

A pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Linehan has also written for shows like Big Train, The Fast Show and Brass Eye - he's far from a 'one-trick pony' as you call him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Throwing my hat in the ring here. I'm going to give The Walshes a chance. I haven't seen any trailers so far but I'll take it exactly as I find it.

Fr. Ted was a particular high point for Linehan. I genuinely think that he was part of a team that managed to create something of the timeless comedic equivalent of Fawlty Towers. It was a genuinely funny and original show at the time and still is.

Black Books and The IT Crowd, however, are completely different animals. I watched Black Books for a while because I'm generally a Bill Bailey fan yet I couldn't ignor the fact that it's just not worthwhile continuing to watch a show where so few laughs are generated per eipsode. That being said, I gave Linehan the benefit of the doubt. I figured it might not have been my particular kind of show. That's how I approached the first few episodes of The IT Crowd. I actually looke forward to the series but ended up being terribly disappointed as it appeared to be even less funny and more 'comedy by numbers' than Black Books. I've reached the point now where Graham Linehan's name on the writing credits doesn't particularly impress me. I have to hand it to him however for creating something in Fr. Ted that few shows over the years have ever really achieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

What moron finds this **** funny?. Just because Linehen co wrote one decent comedy doesn't make him a comedy genius. He is a one hit wonder in my view . The IT crowd was awful and he is also wrote the awful Val Falvey . He is the most overrated comedy writer ever.

il_fullxfull.307678698.jpg&size=400x1000

:o:o:o:o:):););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

The Diet Of Worms clip was grand, but the trailer for the new show on rte doesn't raise my hopes. It wouldn't be the first show smothered by mammy though.

Linehan has also written for shows like Big Train, The Fast Show and Brass Eye - he's far from a 'one-trick pony' as you call him.

You know I am really looking forward to watching this to see what level of ****ness it reaches . I just hope I am not disapointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

Reminds me of The Cassidys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

You know I am really looking forward to watching this to see what level of ****ness it reaches . I just hope I am not disapointed.

You won't be! Really!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

On now, pure stupid tosh, is this meant to be funny:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

This is a pile of horse****!
    Do RTE never learn their lesson! Up there with the Jason Byrne crap that was on a couple of months ago!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

Watchin it here now now too. It's absolute ****e, embarrassing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

So bad its bad !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Is it meant to be one of those programmes that's so bad it's good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

So.. Ehhhh... Ummm... Yeahhhh it's muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Ach, it has its moments. I laughed at the second shopping centre photo, just before the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Is it meant to be one of those programmes that's so bad it's good?

I don't think that was the idea! this is just very, very bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

I really wanted this to be good but Jesus it's so predictable, fairly typical RTE ****e.