Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Close Shave

• 20-02-2014 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

A while back in work I was informally warned about not being clean shaven for work.
    I didn't exactly have stubble but I hadn't had shave the night before. My face feels like absolute crap when I clean shave. My skin feels raw for the whole day.
    I just don't know what the problem is even if I did have stubble on my face. A persons shaving habits should be irrelevant to a job when the only objection to their facial hair is that it is seen as unsightly.

I've seen people with hairy hands (stage 5), why do they not get told to sort that out (except Richard Keyes of course).
    Also this will sound a bit cruel but there was a young woman working with me with side burns, obviously nobody dared tell her to have a shave.
    It just seems so stupid in this day and age that men like myself are expected to take a blade to our faces each day before work.

Out of interest is there any shaving allowances in any jobs where staff are required to be clean shaven? I believe the Gardaí have to be clean shaven so maybe they can avail of such an allowance. Razor blades do cost a fortune after all. I'm convinced there's some sort of price fixing going on in the disposable razor blade industry, it's beyond ridiculous.

Any else feel that this idea of being clean shaven for certain jobs is pointless and outdated? A lot of places will allow you to have a beard, but not stubble. But if you're only off two days a week nobody is going to have a chance to grow a beard until their holidays. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Thought this was about Wallace and Gromit.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

are you a transsexual lap dancer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

A while back in work I informally warned about not being clean shaven for work.:

Who did you warn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Go to your doctor and tell him/her that shaving that often irritates your skin or something, maybe he/she will write you a note that excludes you from shaving. Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I worked with sky and had to have a clean shavin face.
    When doing door to door people seem to be a lot friendlier and more trusting of a clean shaved face than a weirdo with a beardo. Also had to have tattoos hidden which annoyed me as I've a 3/4 sleeve and half sleeve aswell.
    Not right but it happens.
    My mate was asked to shave his stubble for work. He answers phones for god sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Hand in your man card.

Death by exile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Out of interest is there any shaving allowances in any jobs where staff are required to be clean shaven?

Porn.
    Never a pube in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭TooMuchWork

Still in school but it's the same. Lads must be clean shaven and their hair must be no shorter than a 2 blade and must not be long in any way etc. Feckin' rules are ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I had a beard thread a few days ago. I have a big long gaelic beard, i am in my final days of being a student though so i will probably be forced to shave, an absolute discrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Keith wrote: »
    Porn.
    Never a pube in sight.

Not the 1986 porn I watch sir, oh no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Keith wrote: »
    Porn.
    Never a pube in sight.

That's like some little phrase in an almanac from 1750

"Porn never a pube in sight"

"Women are books, and men the readers be"

"He that drinks his cider alone, let him catch his horse alone"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Still in school but it's the same. Lads must be clean shaven and their hair must be no shorter than a 2 blade and must not be long in any way etc. Feckin' rules are ****e.

What they're making teenagers shave off those classy tashes now!?
    How are they supposed to get served!??

Corvo wrote: »

The year I was born :)
    And my favourite pornstar too actually :)

What they're making teenagers shave off those classy tashes now!?
    How are they supposed to get served!??
    I know it's bollix! The '60s look was my only chance at getting a pint

What about Muslim students? Do they have to shave too?

There is none. E: Exchange students are the only ones who get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I teach in the Aldi offices and up until a few months ago they weren't allowed to have beards. Someone put an end to that soon, though.

If someone rings the bell and I look out the peephole and see a suit standing there, however, I'll panic and be less inclined to open the door. If it's someone with a postman's uniform or something similar then I'll be more likely to answer. People in suits freak me out.

Not that I usually answer my door. I normally just sit on the couch and wait until they go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

fcuk that sh!t man, docs cert all the way, fcuk them all, its bloody ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I have a pretty big beard, luckily the line of work im in means my beard and tattoos dont matter at all but i know of a lot of people who cant get away with it. I find it ridiculous. If youre good at your job it shouldnt matter.
    Id never shave because my boss asked me to, il do it if and when i feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

Do they have an issue with a full beard as well, or is it just having stubble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Corvo wrote: »

The hairier the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

Shaving can sometimes be annoying and I wish I didn't have to shave :/ I could spend that time singing songs from the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

I've never heard of appearance rules that strict in a school before. Is the principal some sort of nazi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Teddy, you're likely having rough skin and irritation because you're likely using crap from a can of foam/gel and expensive but useless cartridge/disposable razors.

Shaving foam/gel does not provide enough protection. Use a traditional cream or shaving soap with a brush and the lather will protect your skin. Cartridge multiblade razors are rubbish, they're too light and you end up using too much pressure and causing irritation. They're expensive which means people try to get their values worth and end up shaving with blunt blades. Get a DE/safety razor instead.

For something that most men have to do every day of their adult life it's scary how little we're taught about it and are happy to put up with bad results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I used to work in a supermarket where the trainee managers would get a bollocking off the manager and then get sent home if they came in unshaven.
    I also worked with a bullying biatch who had a slight beard and tache. I wouldn't normally have noticed this only she loved getting on to me and when she did I would focus on her mouth. It was like watching an angry hog haired burst cushion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

But if you're only off two days a week nobody is going to have a chance to grow a beard until their holidays. :mad:

I could grow a beard in 2weeks easily. I have to shave everyday, it's annoying. I'm a very hairy bastard. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

There is certainly a new acceptance of facial hair within the enterprise. A well-groomed and tended to beard is no longer a barrier to career progression. You cannot look like Rasputin though.

If in doubt, get the shaving foam out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Out of interest is there any shaving allowances in any jobs where staff are required to be clean shaven? Razor blades do cost a fortune after all.

Even if u are on the minimum wage, a packet of bic razors should not break the bank.
    If u were a woman you would have to buy female hygene products.etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

There is nothing duller than a man with a generic short back and sides and a clean shaven face (complete with zero sideburns), in a tin of fruit.

I'd hate to have to be like that for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I would rather die than shave. Waving a sharp implement around your face and neck is completely counter-intuitive, and I believe that people who do it willingly, or attempt to force others to, should seek psychiatric help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

orangesoda wrote: »
    I had a beard thread a few days ago. I have a big long gaelic beard, i am in my final days of being a student though so i will probably be forced to shave, an absolute discrace

They are cool beards..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

KungPao wrote: »
    There is nothing duller than a man with a generic short back and sides and a clean shaven face (complete with zero sideburns), in a tin of fruit.

I'd hate to have to be like that for work.

Au contraire; there is nothing more manly than lathering up in the morning with a brush and a good soap, before shaving with a double-edge razor. Finish off with a bit of aftershave. It looks clean. The problem with most of the beards today is that they smack of utter laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

Au contraire; there is nothing more manly than lathering up in the morning with a brush and a good soap, before shaving with a double-edge razor. Finish off with a bit of aftershave. It looks clean. The problem with most of the beards today is that they smack of utter laziness.

I think you'll find there's nothing more manly than screeching to a skidding halt on your Harley Davidson while Iron Maiden plays from your very presence, then upper cutting a bear into a tiger shark which explodes as you walk away unflinching with your sunglasses on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I like to be clean shaven in work.
    Fcuk it ,it takes about 3 minutes out of my day.
    Costs about a tenner every 2 months to have a clean face.
    Get yere act together lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

A friend of mine was asked to shave his beard for work.
    Came in the following day with no beard, but also got his head completely shaved. Looked a right thug.
    Grew back both hair and beard and nothing was said about shaving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I like to be clean shaven in work.
    Fcuk it ,it takes about 3 minutes out of my day.
    Costs about a tenner every 2 months to have a clean face.
    Get yere act together lads.

3mins?!!

Takes me about 20mins, have very heavy and tick growth so at least 4 passes are needed to get rid of all shadow and that's every morning. Sometimes twice a day if I'm going out that night. That's a lot of time and money for me compared to most.

Costs me far more than a tenner every 2 months too. I only get 3 shaves tops out of a cartridge, after that it's a blunt as a brick. Thankfully I don't have to shave for work so sometimes let it go every 2 days and at a push 3, after that a razor won't go through it anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

3mins?!!

Takes me about 20mins, have very heavy and tick growth so at least 4 passes are needed to get rid of all shadow and that's every morning. Sometimes twice a day if I'm going out that night. That's a lot of time and money for me compared to most.

Costs me far more than a tenner every 2 months too. I only get 3 shaves tops out of a cartridge, after that it's a blunt as a brick. Thankfully I don't have to shave for work so sometimes let it go every 2 days and at a push 3, after that a razor won't go through it anymore.

Its just the beard not private regions i think :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Teddy, you're likely having rough skin and irritation because you're likely using crap from a can of foam/gel and expensive but useless cartridge/disposable razors.

Shaving foam/gel does not provide enough protection. Use a traditional cream or shaving soap with a brush and the lather will protect your skin. Cartridge multiblade razors are rubbish, they're too light and you end up using too much pressure and causing irritation. They're expensive which means people try to get their values worth and end up shaving with blunt blades. Get a DE/safety razor instead.

For something that most men have to do every day of their adult life it's scary how little we're taught about it and are happy to put up with bad results.

Oi! Straight razor is the best option too... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

It looks like some people out there are trying to stop a man, from being a man.

I have a smig, and have for many years, and it's trimmed well and looks neat, but I can imagine that this would even be a problem in certain work-places. It's just insane. No way the smig is going, not a chance, I like the smig.

I only get 3 shaves tops out of a cartridge, after that it's a blunt as a brick. Thankfully I don't have to shave for work so sometimes let it go every 2 days and at a push 3, after that a razor won't go through it anymore.

Switch to a traditional shave - will save you a fortune...better shave too.

More info here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1103

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I was wondering where the squeaks were coming from when I enter some busy work places. It's coming from the rubber people. The rubber people are making the squeaks when they change expressions while talking to them.

I would rather die than shave. Waving a sharp implement around your face and neck is completely counter-intuitive, and I believe that people who do it willingly, or attempt to force others to, should seek psychiatric help.

Oh the ironing....

MadsL wrote: »
    Oh the ironing....

No ironing here, sane as a whistle over here with my beard. You want the other Bipolar Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

I don't care, I'd be going on strike.

zenno wrote: »
    It looks like some people out there are trying to stop a man, from being a man.

I have a smig, and have for many years, and it's trimmed well and looks neat, but I can imagine that this would even be a problem in certain work-places. It's just insane. No way the smig is going, not a chance, I like the smig.

Smigg.....heeead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I can see why places don't like stubble or bum fluff, both just look unkempt and like the person is lazy.

I maintain a short tidy beard and if anyone I worked for asked me to shave it, I'd tell them no. Simple as. If I had to leave the job for it, I would... luckily I'm a bartender, so having a beard should never be an issue unless I go for some high-end restaurant or hotel, but both would bore me I think, so I'll stick to good bars. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Do they do Movember at your workplace?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

OP, get yourself a DE Razor
    Cost me 16euro's for two years worth of DE blades, take a look at http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1103

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Men who work in the company I work for have to be clean shaven.

Bit silly but in customer service roles, they want you to look as approachable as possible.

Women in the ccompany I work for are expected to wear make up and have their hair neat and tidy, although they're not strict on the make up rule.

Strange though, that they make you shave and have neat and tidy hair, but have no issue with several of us who have tattoos and/or facial piercings. :pac: