Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU Elections Thread

1235»

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Aedraen Ó Dubhghaill is Oifigeach na Gaeilge agus Gnóthaí Cultúrtha aka Irish Officer.
    Aedraen Ó Dubhghaill deemed elected as Oifigeach na Gaeilge agus Gnóthaí Cultúrtha.

Total Valid Poll: 2021
    Spoils: 61

Ó Dubhghaill: 1864
    RON: 157

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Jaysus, flying through them so they are!

Small number of candidates probably helped. They're on lunch now. Count starts back at half for the sabbat positions. Still only 2 or 3 for each role though

Eric Lawless is VP CSSE. Surprising to see a current officer be defeated. It'll be interesting to see how Ben's votes will turn out now.
    Eric Lawless deemed elected VP Clubs, Societies and Student Engagement after first count:

Total Valid Poll: 2070
    Spoils: 38
    Quota: 1036

Lawless: 1209
    Morris: 812
    RON: 412

As Lawless has reached quota he is deemed elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Small number of candidates probably helped. They're on lunch now. Count starts back at half for the sabbat positions. Still only 2 or 3 for each role though

I wonder what they're doing for the St. Pats' Representative. :pac:

No one ran for it so I'm assuming that they'll hold elections for that along with the first year rep ones next year. Same goes for Mature Student Rep and Arts Rep.

Andy Garrad is VP Education
    First count for VP Education:

Total Valid Poll: 2072
    Spoils: 35
    Quota: 1037

Garrad: 910
    Smith: 535
    Timmons: 576
    RON: 51

As RON cannot reach the quota they are eliminated. Their second preferences will now be distributed.
    VP Education second count.

Non Transferrals: 47
    Garrad: 911 (+1)
    Smith: 536 (+1)
    Timmons: 578 (+2)

As Smith cannot reach the quota they are eliminated. Their second preferences will now be distributed.
    Andy Garrad deemed elected VP Education after third count.

Total Non-Transferral: 401
    Garrad: 1018 (+108)
    Timmons: 652 (+74)

Neither candidate reached the quota. However, as Andy Garrad has reached the majority of votes, he is deemed elected.

My commiserations kiwi-knock

Indeed. A fine young man, and a very respectable result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

Siona Cahill deemed elected VP Welfare after first count:

Total Valid Poll: 2071
    Spoils: 27

Cahill: 1173
    Hannan: 849
    RON: 49

As Cahill has reached quota she is deemed elected.

All good results so far.

Close enough one. Fair play to Siona, brilliant person. Massively respectable result for Chris too.

Edit: This was the only position where I even remotely knew the people involved. Now I may return to not caring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

banquo wrote: »
    Close enough one. Fair play to Siona, brilliant person. Massively respectable result for Chris too.

Edit: This was the only position where I even remotely knew the people involved. Now I may return to not caring.

Probably the position where I know them the least, but from what I have gathered from the Elections/Friends she is a truly amazing person.

I unfortunately know quite a lot of people running... Not looking forward to the final result now... Afraid it could go bad.

Jesus Christ.

Ben Finnegan deemed elected President after first count:

Total Valid Poll: 2071
    Spoils: 35

Afrasani: 398
    Finnegan: 1238
    Woods: 403
    RON: 32

As Finnegan has reached quota he is deemed elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

That's some margin of victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Mostly good results so, disappointed about welfare but the rest were good :)

That was unexpected! Not necessarily the result but certainly the margin!

Definitely good results all round. Looks like a positive team for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Possibly a very silly question but ;

Who's this RON person !? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

aaabbbb wrote: »

RON = Re-open nominations. Basically if you don't support any of the candidates, you give your preference to RON. If that is the winning selection, there is another election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

aaabbbb wrote: »

Ron Weasley, he never wins because the Malfoys would never allow such a thing to occur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

I was RON's tally one year, that was good craic! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

DarBucks wrote: »
    RON = Re-open nominations. Basically if you don't support any of the candidates, you give your preference to RON. If that is the winning selection, there is another election.
    Thwip! wrote: »
    Ron Weasley, he never wins because the Malfoys would never allow such a thing to occur

Ahhhhhh it all makes so much more sense now !

Stupid Malfoys ! :mad:

WEASLEY FOR PRESIDENT !! DEFENDER OF THE GINGE !