Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing Post Chase Day Saturday 22nd

• 20-02-2014 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Just checked the betting and I'm pleasantly surprised to see Tour des Champs blue across, had a nice bet at 16s this morning. Will be running from three pounds out of the handicap but the handicapper has been very generous to this horse and he is due to go in soon and I've felt that way for a while. A competitive race but I've no doubt they have plans to run him at Cheltenham and he will need to be winning or going close here to get in and the market suggests that.

Have had a win and an each way bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Actually lads, don't think he is out of the handicap at all with the defections, can someone confirm this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Just checked the betting and I'm pleasantly surprised to see Tour des Champs blue across, had a nice bet at 16s this morning. Will be running from three pounds out of the handicap but the handicapper has been very generous to this horse and he is due to go in soon and I've felt that way for a while. A competitive race but I've no doubt they have plans to run him at Cheltenham and he will need to be winning or going close here to get in and the market suggests that.

Have had a win and an each way bet.

Great minds an all that, he is seriously on the radar for me in that race as well. Saw a bit of 20's earlier on this week raging now as he is only 12 but it looks a ****e race and he only has 10:01...

Yeah I was going to take 20s as well earlier in the week aidan but that was ante post, and he was entered at Warwick as well tomorrow so wasn't sure he'd go there. I think he has a cracking chance Saturday and backed it accordingly.

And for a racing post chase I'm not sure it is all that strong this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

The Racing Post trophy is a group 1 juvenile flat race run at Doncaster

I meant Chase richard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Backed him myself as he's got a great chance at that weight, was well backed a few runs ago at chelt i recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

Twiston Davies's horses have come right into form the last couple of days. He's had 4 winners from his last 6 runners

hawkhead wrote: »
    Twiston Davies's horses have come right into form the last couple of days. He's had 4 winners from his last 6 runners

Make that 5 from 7 now

Only one stand out 9/1, as low as 13/2. This looks a strong punt for a big handicap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I'm on too. There'll be a few happy posters on here if he can pull it off

Got on at 11's last night. Here's hoping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Ardkilly Witness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Big Bucks

Got on TDC yesterday at 12s mainly due to the advice here, Seems like the sort of horse Pricewise might tip up tomorrow if that 9s lasts another hour or so and could go off even shorter.

Pricewise is done by 8 the night before on the ipad, not sure what he has gone for. Looks a live one Colonel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Big Bucks

Pricewise is done by 8 the night before on the ipad, not sure what he has gone for. Looks a live one Colonel

Taught it was 10 for some reason, will know soon enough i suppose. If he tips it, there is a good chance it will go off 3s!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Price wise Wyck Hill, Saffron du Cottes and.... Tour Des Champs. We are on at fancy prices now.

FFS wish Segal would stop copying me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

I think Donald McCain has done really well to get 2.55 Newcastle Swatow Typhoon 14/1 an opening handicap mark of 124 and with blinkers applied for the first time on this incredibly lazy sort I think he has an outstanding chance of landing the Eider if staying the 4m1f trip.

Carpo any idea what price he was put up at by Pricewise? There must be stable money too for it to be so strong even before he put it up

9s

Carpo any idea what price he was put up at by Pricewise? There must be stable money too for it to be so strong even before he put it up

I've read and listened to a bunch of things in the past 24 hours and everyone fancies this horse. Timeform radio guy, Don McClean, Gary Nutting on ATR website. He's a popular pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Price wise Wyck Hill, Saffron du Cottes and.... Tour Des Champs. We are on at fancy prices now.

F it i was going to put up Saffron du cottes as i had him last time out .. f sake the price will be gone now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

There is word of a job horse tomorrow - Fratellino in the 5.15 at Lingfield. Backed in to 9's at the moment.

10s into 9s on Safran. What was he during the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

aidankkk wrote: »
    F it i was going to put up Saffron du cottes as i had him last time out .. f sake the price will be gone now..

Not sure it will be soft enough for SDC tomorrow - he needs it almost unraceable.

There is word of a job horse tomorrow - Fratellino in the 5.15 at Lingfield. Backed in to 9's at the moment.

Had my eye on him but thought it was too hot a race even though he is down to a crazy mark

That juvenile hurdle at Fairyhouse is an absolute cracker.

Looking forward to Plinth winning and going back to the top of the Triumph market

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I'm guessing he'll claim a price that wasn't there by 6pm let alone 8pm when the online edition goes up

He tipped T43 at 25s in the Grand National but the price was long gone when I checked at around 5pm. Not the first time it's happened either

I'm guessing he'll claim a price that wasn't there by 6pm let alone 8pm when the online edition goes up

He tipped T43 at 25s in the Grand National but the price was long gone when I checked at around 5pm. Not the first time it's happened either

Yeah always something I'm a bit unimpressed with. God's Own could outrun his odds in the gr.2 novice at Kempton tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Having an e/w punt on Bertimont @ 25/1 in the first at Fairyhouse.
    Has some solid French form and will love the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

An interest for the day..

Balder Succes: Love the way he jumps, back on form after King's trouble and should have too much toe for Fox Appeal.

Mount Benbulben: Going right-handed, short enough given his jumping flaws but could run through a few and still win tomorrow with his engine.

Ireland (+4) @ evens: Can't see it being anything but a tight match tomorrow but think we'll do it. Handicap is huge value imo though.

Doubles & Treble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Tammy's Hill looks way too big today at 3/1.

I literally was coming to post to ask is there a reason Seabass won't pick these up and carry them around today?

Tour could go off favourite. Bury Parade extremely weak

Live one.

Heyyyy I heard you were a liveeeee oneeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

You can get on pricewise prices for a limited time between half 8 and 9 in the morn. Easiest method for me to find out is just go to Twitter at 8 on a Friday and type in pricewise

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    You can get on pricewise prices for a limited time between half 8 and 9 in the morn. Easiest method for me to find out is just go to Twitter at 8 on a Friday and type in pricewise

I didn't see anything remotely near 9/1 this morning. Sportingbet went 7s for a short while that was the highest I saw on oddschecker

PS Twitter is ****

Was Wyck Hill ante post favourite for a national once upon a time or am I dreaming?

I thought the same thing the other day he must have been

What a day of sport today.

Going mad and doing a couple placepots at the big meetings too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I didn't see anything remotely near 9/1 this morning. Sportingbet went 7s for a short while that was the highest I saw on oddschecker

PS Twitter is ****

Backed it at 9s at 8.35, says on betslip. It better have been worth getting up that early btw

I would've agreed but it's excellent for racing, especially hearing news before bookies

Hulk whats your twitter handle

HomoHulk123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

I backed it at 8.2 on Betfair this morning around 7.30 ish whilst watching the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I literally was coming to post to ask is there a reason Seabass won't pick these up and carry them around today?
    Lots from what I can see.

Horse is only back after a long layoff.
    Horse looks lime its being targeted for the national.
    The current top hunter chasers like Tammy's Hill aren't actually that far off graded form.
    Horses like Sea bass that are in a downward spiral typically always seem to disappoint on the down side when entered in these kind of races.

Record after a break reads 4112
    For their last crack at the National, he was tuned up for his preps, and won after a break.
    I wouldn't agree with that statement, but thats a matter of opinion.
    And as for Seabass being in a downward spiral, his last 5 starts have been third in the national, 3 length second to Rock Critic, 3.5l third to Roi du Mee, a finisher in the National again, and one below par effort in Auteuil. He has only fallen once back in 2010, so not sure why he isn't a bet today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

PS Twitter is ****

Twitter is a fantastic resource

Doin a place pot for pennies

1:30 Kempton Park Pearls Legend
    2:05 Kempton Park Goodwood Mirage
    2:40 Kempton Park Loose Chips
    3:15 Kempton Park Amore Alato
    3:50 Kempton Park Grandioso
    4:25 Kempton Park Royal Player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

heavy ground in chepstow = Venitia William lucky 15