Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England vs Ireland, Saturday 22nd February, 16:00 [MOD WARNING POST #1067]

• 20-02-2014 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Ireland: Rob Kearney (Leinster); Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Dave Kearney (Leinster); Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro), Conor Murray (Munster); Cian Healy (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster) capt; Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Isaac Boss (Leinster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster)

England: Mike Brown (Harlequins); Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester), Jonny May (Gloucester); Owen Farrell (Saracens), Danny Care (Harlequins); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), David Wilson (Bath), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), Billy Vunipola (Saracens).

Replacements: Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), Dave Attwood (Bath), Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), George Ford (Bath), Alex Goode (Saracens).

Ireland-England.jpg

Matches between England and Ireland have been exciting affairs in recent times. Sometimes this game has looked imbalanced ahead of time - remember John Pullin saying 'At least we turned up' or Ireland's dark period in the 90s - but not today. Saturday's match rests on a razor's edge.

Neither side has done themselves justice when it comes to winning the Six Nations recently. A win for either side would be a vital step towards rectifying that. For England, defeat is the end of their Championship ambitions. For Ireland, a loss leaves them looking for a rare win in Paris.

Chris Robshaw has been careful both to talk up the experience of the Irish team and how much they are not afraid of them, how much history is on their side. It is true that men like Brian O'Driscoll, Paul O'Connell, Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearney, Cian Healy - they have done virtually everything there is to do. Look beyond that however and you will see more similarities than differences between the two sides.

Stuart Lancaster has placed a heavy emphasis on the basics for his England team - discipline, strong defence, and performing together as a unit. That is something that might look similar to those who have watched Joe Schmidt's Ireland take its nascent steps. Ireland have only conceded 37 penalties in their first five matches under the former Leinster coach and the defence has been so miserly that they are still in single figures for points conceded this Six Nations.

Irish fans will be hoping that this is when Ireland take the next step on and bring a bit more flair to proceedings ball in hand to continue building on two very solid performances to date. The weather is set to be bright and dry if a bit gusty - a fine day for running rugby. But the English blitz defence will not wait around to complicate things. With space at a premium, it will probably come down to one moment of genius or madness.

A tense afternoon awaits us all.

Key Battles

Dave Wilson vs Cian Healy

There has been for some time a growing sentiment among English rugby fans that Dave Wilson deserved a real chance to show how he measured up to Dan Cole. It wasn't meant to be like this however. Wilson has been catapulted back into the international arena after only twenty minutes of club rugby. Facing him will be Cian Healy, cruelly denied the chance to shine with the Lions last year. In his last visit in green to Twickenham, Healy was part of a humiliated unit. A great deal has changed since then. Healy is one of Ireland's world class players these days, steady to destructive in the scrum, a wrecking ball unchained in the loose. The presence of a half-fit reserve tighthead offers him a glorious chance for revenge. If Wilson lasts sixty minutes without copping a beating, he'll be a hero. However, even that may not be enough. In the absence of the Tullow Tank, Healy is probably the premier ball carrier in the Ireland pack. If Wilson doesn't tire him out, then the Leinster loosehead could cause carnage.

Chris Henry vs Chris Robshaw

If Healy has taken up O'Brien's carrying mantle, then Henry has ensured that he has not been missed at the breakdown and tackle area. He has dovetailed nicely with O'Mahony and Best to ensure that there is a sneaky Irish hand in every ruck and if the plaudits have mainly gone to the other two men as the most visibly successful, then it's Henry's ubiquitous presence that has made this possible to a great extent. He is, to paraphrase Barry the Baptist, not so much a thief as a f****g liability. Robshaw shares a lot of traits with his opposite number - both tireless workers, both late comers to international rugby, both positional converts, both called Chris - but he lacks the Ulsterman's consistent ability at the breakdown. If England are to beat Ireland, then he must bring his A game, for without quick ball England's attacking game makes the Dodo look lively. Getting rid of Henry in a timely fashion is a first step towards making sure there are enough men to blast O'Mahony and Best out of the way. Robshaw will have his hands full in defence as well, where the injury to Dan Cole hits England hard. If Irish ball can't be slowed down, it seems inevitable that points will follow. Robshaw can step up and be the difference there - but if he does, you can be sure Henry will be there to lever him out every time. A huge amount depends on Robshaw standing firm.

Danny Care vs Conor Murray

A study in styles. People talk about Murray as being like Philips, but to my eyes the comparison is off, at least when Murray is playing to his best. The game control, the tactical kicking, the unruffled distribution - Conor Murray looks like he's been studying Ruan Pienaar. Sure, he can and does snipe, but Murray is at his best using that option sparingly. The Munsterman ended the Lions tour with his reputation riding on a high. Since then, if anything, he has enhanced it and Ireland have benefited hugely from his now-strong partnership with Mr Cranky himself. On the other side of the breakdown, although much improved, Danny Care is not exactly associated with control. What he is doing is moving the ball on quickly, cleanly and offering a constant threat with his pace. With the balance of the battle up front likely to change over the match, both teams will be very dependent on their scrum-half to make the most of it.

Verdict

This looks like being very close. In a lot of ways, the teams are very evenly matched. However, even when trying to cast off the pessimism caused by Dan Cole's injury, it seems like things are mounting up in Ireland's favour. Joe Schmidt's meticulous preparation seems to be getting the best out of a talented pool and at the key areas, Ireland's tactical decision makers seem that bit more experienced and talented. Over the course of eighty minutes I would expect that to have the edge. And if Wilson fails, the edge may turn into an avalanche. I have faith in him, but even so -

Ireland by 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Excellent Excellent write up dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Nice work EL! From an Ireland persective, I agree with keeping faith with the starting XV that humbled Wales, although I remain slightly nervous about a lack of cutting edge in the backline. I therefore hope that McFadden is introduced early enough - either at 12 or more likely given where he played the AIs on the wing - if Ireland look blunt on attack. I think that it is a testament to Schmidt's coaching that no-one can object to the retention of DK & AT, which I would never have guessed would be the Irish wings for the 6N if asked a few months ago.

I'm sure posts after post will comment on Jordi Murphy, no doubt one of DTF's baseless internet rumours picked this up in advance, but what an opportunity for the young man! I would love to hear from JS why he got the nod ahead of Ruddock, maybe because he's seen as more of a 7?

For England, if Ireland can keep their discipline, I will be interested to see if you can do anything on attack - I rate Mike Brown, as well as Care, but in particular the passing from Farrell and Twelvetrees and the lateral running on attack has made England very easy to defend against so far this 6N.

Playing England, whether it's NZ or Ireland, is always the same formula: front up in the set-piece, keep your discipline, and aim to score tries out wide. An ex-Irish international told me recently that you always feel more battered and bruised after an England rather than an AB game, and I'm sure that's the case.

You are very magnanimous EL to choose Ireland by 3, England is one of those countries that justifiably rates itself a chance (especially at Twickenham) in every match it plays, and I agree this will be close. Cheers for the write-up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Jaysus you put that together quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Great write up!

Mimsy with excitement now. Few beers watching Leinster Academy dismantle Cardiff just the ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Superb write-up. Agree with everything said - including the prediction. It will be Ireland IMO, but by a nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

How do the starting packs compare weight-wise? I know we should be alright in the scrum but I'm barely over the events of 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Great write up man - a pleasure to read as always!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

"a wrecking ball unchained". Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Ardillaun wrote: »
    How do the starting packs compare weight-wise? I know we should be alright in the scrum but I'm barely over the events of 2012.

Marler 17st4lb; Healy 17st8lb
    Hartley 17st4lb; Best 17st4lb
    Wilson 17st8lb; Ross 19st13lb
    Launch 18st1lb; POC 17st8lb
    Lawes 17st6lb; Toner 19st6lb
    Wood 17st2lb; POM 17st
    Robshaw 17st4lb; Henry 16st11lb
    Vunipola minor 19st11lb; Heaslip 17st4lb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wittycynic

For all Ireland's progress I'm nervous about this one, perhaps a bit pessimistic. Much of our joy against Scotland and Wales came from victories up front. Our pack won the battles of the breakdown and the scores came. Where we couldn't gain superiority in this area (first half against Scotland), we looked limited.

We are not going to achieve the same level dominance on the floor or in the maul as we did in our first two matches, and for the first time in a long time the English backline looks more likely to create something out of nothing than ours.

We are still very much in with a real shout for this, but it's hard for me to disagree with England being awarded the favourites tag.

Great write up
    Game on
    Saturday can't come soon enough. It's going to be tight over in Twickenham a penalty will be the difference hopefully for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

This is all about who wins the forward battle. The backs on both sides will do their jobs defensively but not much else against good defenders.

For Ireland: Imperative we carry over the advantage line. Probably going to have to eclipse the aggression shown against NZ for that to happen.

For England: Carry hard in the right areas and the scoreboard will look after itself. The usual stuff from English teams.:p

Prediction: England will strangle the life out of us and win by a score. No shame in that. I fear we can play very well but still lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I think people are afraid to back Ireland, perennial under dogs, we don't like saying we could or should win, against teams of note. I really don't think there is much between the teams but honestly think the advantage lies with Ireland. Given that at best we hold a slight advantage in the tight, at worst parity, an area England look to dominate, the knock on effect, hopefully a rampaging Healy. Add to that, even though we haven't shown it yet, if either backline is going to shine, I'd put my money on Ireland over the English any time. I'm actually quite confident of a win, if we are as aggressive at the breakdown as we have been, then I'd say we could easily go +7

Can't wait till Saturday, loving the feeling of excitement about Irish games returning! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Marler 17st4lb; Healy 17st8lb
    Hartley 17st4lb; Best 17st4lb
    Wilson 17st8lb; Ross 19st13lb
    Launch 18st1lb; POC 17st8lb
    Lawes 17st6lb; Toner 19st6lb
    Wood 17st2lb; POM 17st
    Robshaw 17st4lb; Henry 16st11lb
    Vunipola minor 19st11lb; Heaslip 17st4lb

That looks like a stone heavier for us, then, overall? The English poundage is more symmetrically distributed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Ardillaun wrote: »
    That looks like a stone heavier for us, then, overall? The English poundage is more symmetrically distributed.

A few on here have been making his point all week that the English pack isn't bigger than the Irish 8, it seems they are right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Ireland: Rob Kearney (Leinster); Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Dave Kearney (Leinster); Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro), Conor Murray (Munster); Cian Healy (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster) capt; Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Isaac Boss (Leinster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster)

England: Mike Brown (Harlequins); Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester), Jonny May (Gloucester); Owen Farrell (Saracens), Danny Care (Harlequins); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), David Wilson (Bath), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), Billy Vunipola (Saracens).

Replacements: Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), Dave Attwood (Bath), Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), George Ford (Bath), Alex Goode (Saracens).

Ireland-England.jpg

Matches between England and Ireland have been exciting affairs in recent times. Sometimes this game has looked imbalanced ahead of time - remember John Pullin saying 'At least we turned up' or Ireland's dark period in the 90s - but not today. Saturday's match rests on a razor's edge.

Neither side has done themselves justice when it comes to winning the Six Nations recently. A win for either side would be a vital step towards rectifying that. For England, defeat is the end of their Championship ambitions. For Ireland, a loss leaves them looking for a rare win in Paris.

Chris Robshaw has been careful both to talk up the experience of the Irish team and how much they are not afraid of them, how much history is on their side. It is true that men like Brian O'Driscoll, Paul O'Connell, Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearney, Cian Healy - they have done virtually everything there is to do. Look beyond that however and you will see more similarities than differences between the two sides.

Stuart Lancaster has placed a heavy emphasis on the basics for his England team - discipline, strong defence, and performing together as a unit. That is something that might look similar to those who have watched Joe Schmidt's Ireland take its nascent steps. Ireland have only conceded 37 penalties in their first five matches under the former Leinster coach and the defence has been so miserly that they are still in single figures for points conceded this Six Nations.

Irish fans will be hoping that this is when Ireland take the next step on and bring a bit more flair to proceedings ball in hand to continue building on two very solid performances to date. The weather is set to be bright and dry if a bit gusty - a fine day for running rugby. But the English blitz defence will not wait around to complicate things. With space at a premium, it will probably come down to one moment of genius or madness.

A tense afternoon awaits us all.

Key Battles

Dave Wilson vs Cian Healy

There has been for some time a growing sentiment among English rugby fans that Dave Wilson deserved a real chance to show how he measured up to Dan Cole. It wasn't meant to be like this however. Wilson has been catapulted back into the international arena after only twenty minutes of club rugby. Facing him will be Cian Healy, cruelly denied the chance to shine with the Lions last year. In his last visit in green to Twickenham, Healy was part of a humiliated unit. A great deal has changed since then. Healy is one of Ireland's world class players these days, steady to destructive in the scrum, a wrecking ball unchained in the loose. The presence of a half-fit reserve tighthead offers him a glorious chance for revenge. If Wilson lasts sixty minutes without copping a beating, he'll be a hero. However, even that may not be enough. In the absence of the Tullow Tank, Healy is probably the premier ball carrier in the Ireland pack. If Wilson doesn't tire him out, then the Leinster loosehead could cause carnage.

Chris Henry vs Chris Robshaw

If Healy has taken up O'Brien's carrying mantle, then Henry has ensured that he has not been missed at the breakdown and tackle area. He has dovetailed nicely with O'Mahony and Best to ensure that there is a sneaky Irish hand in every ruck and if the plaudits have mainly gone to the other two men as the most visibly successful, then it's Henry's ubiquitous presence that has made this possible to a great extent. He is, to paraphrase Barry the Baptist, not so much a thief as a f****g liability. Robshaw shares a lot of traits with his opposite number - both tireless workers, both late comers to international rugby, both positional converts, both called Chris - but he lacks the Ulsterman's consistent ability at the breakdown. If England are to beat Ireland, then he must bring his A game, for without quick ball England's attacking game makes the Dodo look lively. Getting rid of Henry in a timely fashion is a first step towards making sure there are enough men to blast O'Mahony and Best out of the way. Robshaw will have his hands full in defence as well, where the injury to Dan Cole hits England hard. If Irish ball can't be slowed down, it seems inevitable that points will follow. Robshaw can step up and be the difference there - but if he does, you can be sure Henry will be there to lever him out every time. A huge amount depends on Robshaw standing firm.

Danny Care vs Conor Murray

A study in styles. People talk about Murray as being like Philips, but to my eyes the comparison is off, at least when Murray is playing to his best. The game control, the tactical kicking, the unruffled distribution - Conor Murray looks like he's been studying Ruan Pienaar. Sure, he can and does snipe, but Murray is at his best using that option sparingly. The Munsterman ended the Lions tour with his reputation riding on a high. Since then, if anything, he has enhanced it and Ireland have benefited hugely from his now-strong partnership with Mr Cranky himself. On the other side of the breakdown, although much improved, Danny Care is not exactly associated with control. What he is doing is moving the ball on quickly, cleanly and offering a constant threat with his pace. With the balance of the battle up front likely to change over the match, both teams will be very dependent on their scrum-half to make the most of it.

Verdict

This looks like being very close. In a lot of ways, the teams are very evenly matched. However, even when trying to cast off the pessimism caused by Dan Cole's injury, it seems like things are mounting up in Ireland's favour. Joe Schmidt's meticulous preparation seems to be getting the best out of a talented pool and at the key areas, Ireland's tactical decision makers seem that bit more experienced and talented. Over the course of eighty minutes I would expect that to have the edge. And if Wilson fails, the edge may turn into an avalanche. I have faith in him, but even so -

Ireland by 3

A better preview than what will be on most papers.

Not so sure about Irl winning by 3 though, think Eng will take this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Didn't think Ross was that heavy. Nor did I think Healy was that light ( I know he's probably made of stone though)was he not a lot bigger than that?. As for the two 8s vunipola may be just a beast but heaslip is a tactical 8 and would be better of the 2 when it comes to the likes of moves and working with the backs.
    I think if Ireland press on hard with the forwards gaining ground and pushing to the line before giving it to the backs we could win it fairly handy ( I hope )
    Gonna be a great match one way or the other but I'm givin Ireland the edge on this :)
    'Mon the boys in green :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

I think the English pack seems heavier as they're such a cohesive unit, always operating in mini pods of forwards and getting plenty of men to the breakdown. Their clearouts are usually brutally effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Kinsella has a thorough analysis of England's attack here: http://thescore.thejournal.ie/england-ireland-analysis-attack-1325071-Feb2014/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

rrpc wrote: »
    Kinsella has a thorough analysis of England's attack here: http://thescore.thejournal.ie/england-ireland-analysis-attack-1325071-Feb2014/

So am I right in saying:

In Joe we trust

And

In Murray we trust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

sullivlo wrote: »
    So am I right in saying:

In Joe we trust

And

In Murray we trust

In HEALY we trust :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Ireland to win the match at 6/4 seems like great odds to me given Cole is out coupled with the relative inexperience if their wings.

I'm filling my boots with this one.
    I think we're gonna beat them (narrowly) & make up for the bearing we took on Paddy's Day 2012.

I really think kicking the ball as much as was done against Wales should be the tactic, but a bit more targeted.
    A few more cross field kicks to pit Trimbs & DK against Nowell & May may well find them out.
    Keep the ball away from Brown who's in great form.

Really looking forward to this now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Bg6wrm5CYAA1Oh4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Midnight64

As an English exile I find my feet well and truly in both camps.

I really want BOD to retire with a grand slam and therefore by default the triple crown he really deserves it, he is the complete embodiment of what makes the game great.

I will be wearing my white shirt on the day but really feel that Ireland will win, probably not by a huge amount and most probably along the lines of the OP and will enjoy saluting a great Irish team.

Should be the game of the tournament.

duckysauce wrote: »
    Bg6wrm5CYAA1Oh4.jpg

Just read that a win on Sat would see BOD overtake Mike Gibson as the Irish player with the most wins over England as it would be his 9th win.

2001, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011...2014???

That's quite a reign of terror, I'm sure our English friends will be glad to see the back of him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

bilston wrote: »
    That's quite a reign of terror, I'm sure our English friends will be glad to see the back of him!

Had a talk from Matt Dawson at school years ago and he referred to BOD as Bringer Of Doom!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭fitz

To hell with it...I'm not buying into talking them up. I reckon Joe has this well in hand, so....

I reckon we'll keep England to 9 or 12 points, and score in the early to mid 20s ourselves.

Ireland by 3

I'd be interested EL in where you think Lancaster would head to if he loses this match - barring a miracle such as Scotland beating France and Italy beating Ireland that would be the 6N over for England, and next up is potentially a 0-3 in NZ (not being arrogant, but it's hard to win in NZ), so although I rate Lancaster as a coach he really only has the defeat over NZ on his CV to date.

Do you think he would need a new attack coach etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

Swiwi. wrote: »
    I'd be interested EL in where you think Lancaster would head to if he loses this match - barring a miracle such as Scotland beating France and Italy beating Ireland that would be the 6N over for England, and next up is potentially a 0-3 in NZ (not being arrogant, but it's hard to win in NZ), so although I rate Lancaster as a coach he really only has the defeat over NZ on his CV to date.

Do you think he would need a new attack coach etc?
    He beat Australia too.

He beat Australia to.

Not convincingly though and with a couple of helpful calls from the officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Oh, there's a match on, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Not convincingly though and with a couple of helpful calls from the officials.
    Yeah but the fact remains. They engineered against a team who did a clean sweep of four of the other five Six Nations sides. Lancaster is a good coach who is taking England in the right direction and they're achieving much better results than the previous coaches. A two-loss Six Nations would no more cast his reign in a bad light any more than two losses would Joe Schmidt's first campaign.

They would have stalled though: thrashed by Wales when it mattered last year, and maybe hoping for 3rd in this years comp. Admittedly they were very unlucky to lose to France. England HAVE to get out of pool play in 2015, otherwise completely embarrassing, but with Wales & Aussie it's no gimme. Still plenty of time and any wins over NZ will help build the confidence, but from an English point of view it's time to build fortress twickenham and losing to Ireland puts it back to square one.

From an Irish point of view the result matters more than the performance IMO, I'll gladly take a scrappy 1 point victory, even penalties only will do just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

bilston wrote: »
    Just read that a win on Sat would see BOD overtake Mike Gibson as the Irish player with the most wins over England as it would be his 9th win.

2001, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011...2014???

I'm sure he'd trade all of them for one win over the all blacks.

Who knows...although personally I wouldn't as that would mean no GS or Triple Crowns but who knows what he thinks.

Headline in the Irish Times today:

Joe Schmidt opts for an unchanged Irish starting XV

Jordi Murphy, Iain Henderson and Mike McCarthy win places in the matchday squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

rrpc wrote: »
    Headline in the Irish Times today:

Joe Schmidt opts for an unchanged Irish starting XV

Jordi Murphy, Iain Henderson and Mike McCarthy win places in the matchday squad

If you read the article, the part about the bench is ambiguous. Along the lines of Henderson preferred to Ryan and McCarthy to replace Tuohy.

The sub editor or whoever obviously scanned it and took it to mean that Henderson was ahead of Ryan and, separately, McCarthy was replacing Tuohy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

Closer to the game, my nerves.

Feeling Wilson may prove better than expected.

Need a great start, momentum, and keep them pinned back.

C'MON Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MikeCork2009

ssaye2 wrote: »
    Need a great start, momentum, and keep them pinned back.

This!!!! If we start against England, how we finished against Wales, and keep that momentum from the first two games going, we will win. Tús maith, leath na hoibre - a good start is half the work!!!

Everything coming out of the Ireland camp, seems to suggest that Joe has really instilled a "push on" mentality in the players. It seemed awful at the time, but I think that loosing at the death match to the All Blacks was good for us. After that game Denis Hickie said:

"I don't know if the guys can get over this - it's hard to articulate the level of disappointment they will feel. They had the chance to beat the All Blacks and they didn't take it."

So following from that this team could have gone one of two ways, lost confidence, gone backwards or push on, become ruthless and put games beyond the opposition. I think we have seen signs of the latter in the game against Scotland, and definitely against Wales and expect the same against England tomorrow.

C'MON IRELAND!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭paddyh117

Most perhaps - but not all - he'd hardly swap 2009 for a win against the AB's now would he??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Ireland by 12. Good feeling about this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

I'm getting nauseous just thinking about this. Going to have to go on the beer for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

I'm confident of the win. We've a great coach who knows most of the squad very well. A good pack, a hardworking backline, and brilliant half backs.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'm getting nauseous just thinking about this. Going to have to go on the beer for it

I'm with you, seriously I think I'll have to stop reading the thread today, I'm just too sick with nerves and the threads are making me hyper.

I'm confident of the win. We've a great coach who knows most of the squad very well. A good pack, a hardworking backline, and brilliant half backs.

and a brilliant second row beanpole! ;)

pc7 wrote: »
    I'm with you, seriously I think I'll have to stop reading the thread today, I'm just too sick with nerves and the threads are making me hyper.

box of fags and cobra beer got me through the Welsh game. Might need blunts and whisky for this :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Did anyone listen to yesterdays Second Captains talking about Lancaster having the English team walk from the bus into the stadium by the fans tomorrow. Have to say I think its a strange one, I would have thought they could get too fired up too early and would see it as a disadvantage rather than an advantage.

ssaye2 wrote: »
    I think I did

Yep, last night :cool:

can't see our defensive system being opened that easily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Who are you and what have you done with the real Mahatma Geansai