Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People parking on the road instead of their driveway: Is this a thing now?

• 19-02-2014 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭

So a family member mentioned to me at the weekend that when they drive down a particular road in the evenings there are cars parked everywhere, leaving only space for one vehicle to get through. But if you look into the driveways, they're all empty.

I was in work late last night, so going down the Rathgar road about 7:45 and I noticed the same thing; cars lining both sides of the road, while driveways and apartment car parks were almost entirely empty.

Is this a thing people are doing now? Is it frustration at trying to get out in the morning? Or maybe they want to leave it free for visitors?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

My guess, laziness so they don't have to reverse in or out of the driveways,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Probably sick of getting boxed in by idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

My fecking neighbour does this all the time despite having room to park 3 cars off the road.Several of us have approached him about it as it makes it nigh on impossible to get in or out of the drives opposite his,all we got were smart remarks and stupid excuses.He just doesn't get how much hassle he causes for other traffic on the road.

He made a remark about teaching my wife to drive one day when she complained to him that she couldn't reverse out of our drive due to his parking,later that day he hit a car himself, ah karma:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Or maybe, just maybe, they don't have a driveway?

I'd love a driveway...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Or maybe they do, like they specifically said in the post. Twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

rovoagho wrote: »
    Or maybe they do, like they specifically said in the post. Twice.
    seamus wrote: »
    Is this a thing people are doing now?
    He also asked this smart arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Cabaal wrote: »
    My guess, laziness so they don't have to reverse in or out of the driveways,

Yep just lazy and inconsiderate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Feckin stupid thing to do if you ask me, chances of someone clipping the car and disappearing.

Wonder what insurance company would think if it was robbed. (assuming driveway is mentioned on the policy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

People are entitled to leave their driveways empty if they so wish, without having to answer to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Anan1 wrote: »
    People are entitled to leave their driveways empty if they so wish, without having to answer to anyone.

I've had my fun and that's what counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Groundsource

zerks wrote: »
    He made a remark about teaching my wife to drive one day when she complained to him that she couldn't reverse out of our drive due to his parking,later that day he hit a car himself, ah karma:D
    Why don't people reverse into their drives insteat of out. Not many may be aware but It's illegal to reverse onto a public road.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Maybe keeping the gardens free for the kids to run about for a bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Why don't people reverse into their drives insteat of out. Not many may be aware but It's illegal to reverse onto a public road.

I think you'll find the answer to this is the same as why people don't keep left on multilane roads apart from overtaking, enter box junctions when they have no clear exit and use fog lights when there's no fog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I have heard of insurance companies recently giving discounts for cars parked on public roads rather than driveways as thieves don't know which house the car is associated with so don't know which house to break into for the keys.

alias no.9 wrote: »
    I think you'll find the answer to this is the same as why people don't keep left on multilane roads apart from overtaking, enter box junctions when they have no clear exit and use fog lights when there's no fog.

Totally agree, I make good use of me horn when I come across this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

I used to live in an estate where one house with two cars would park one on the driveway and the other directly behind it completely blocking the path around the estate. Mothers with buggies were forced to walk on the road and a disabled fella with one of those electric wheelchair gizmos too. You'd park 5 cars outside the house but for some reason he'd park it across the path.

Anyway one day his 7 series was scratched to death by someone, he called to me asking if I did it because I complained to him about parking like that. It certainly wasn't me but I didn't deny it either. He was threatening all sorts but was 5 foot nothing steroid popper, all show and no go. Was delighted for the prick tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

I used to live in an estate where one house with two cars would park one on the driveway and the other directly behind it completely blocking the path around the estate. Mothers with buggies were forced to walk on the road and a disabled fella with one of those electric wheelchair gizmos too. You'd park 5 cars outside the house but for some reason he'd park it across the path.

Anyway one day his 7 series was scratched to death by someone, he called to me asking if I did it because I complained to him about parking like that. It certainly wasn't me but I didn't deny it either. He was threatening all sorts but was 5 foot nothing steroid popper, all show and no go. Was delighted for the prick tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I've seen this happen once in the UK where the council were threatening to paint lines on the road and create a no-parking zone with residents parking allowed.

The council were offering one resident's parking pass per house, but many of the houses had 2 or more cars.

The residents decided to park on the roadside to make it extremely difficult for the council to carry out the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

seamus wrote: »
    I was in work late last night, so going down the Rathgar road about 7:45 and I noticed the same thing; cars lining both sides of the road, while driveways and apartment car parks were almost entirely empty.
    The cars probably don't belong to residents, but visitors. Rathmines Road Lower is packed in the evening, but empty after midnight.
    kceire wrote: »
    Maybe keeping the gardens free for the kids to run about for a bit?
    In winter? At night?

She had to drive in due to where he was parked as the position of the car on the road requires those of us opposite him to recreate the Austin Powers movie trying to reverse into our drives.I await the day when somebody does take a mirror or worse off his car and drives off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

???
    That's all well and good, but... Why leave them strewn at the side of the road then? Doesn't seem to be much benefit to anyone.

She had to drive in due to where he was parked as the position of the car on the road requires those of us opposite him to recreate the Austin Powers movie trying to reverse into our drives.I await the day when somebody does take a mirror or worse off his car and drives off.

Not so sure. with due care any spot is manageable to reverse into. Anyway its illegal to reverse onto a public road:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Is the area near a city centre or town. Where I live people Park all over a local estate as it's only walking distance to town for work and it costs alot to pay to work in town. The estate is packed during the day, cars on paths, none in driveways. The estate is packed with cars until about 6-7pm.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Not so sure. with due care any spot is manageable to reverse into. Anyway its illegal to reverse onto a public road:).

Just to complete the sentance, it's illegal to reverse onto a public road, from another road.
    Reversing
    12. (1) Before reversing, a driver shall ensure that to so reverse would not endanger other traffic or pedestrians.

(2) A driver shall not reverse onto a major road from another road.

(3) A driver shall not reverse from a place adjacent to a public road onto a public road save where it is clear to the driver that to so reverse would not endanger other traffic or pedestrians.

I think everyone should reverse into their drives. Much safer.

Trust me where he positions the car turns an easy task into a pain in the hole.There is zero margin for error.Our next door neighbour has it worse as liitle room as we have,she has almost zero.She started leaving her car on the road in the hope he'd get the hint & to make sure she can actually drive away from her house but instead he decided to park half & half on the road & footpath.

I honestly think he just does it out of spite now.

MarkR wrote: »
    (3) A driver shall not reverse from a place adjacent to a public road onto a public road save where it is clear to the driver that to so reverse would not endanger other traffic or pedestrians.

This includes driveways. Its illegal, end off.
    Now i must dash and move me car:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I have no space to park in my driveway, so I'm forced to park along the road.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 st1903

I see it in my estate quite a bit where people regularly park on the road rather than in their drives. Even when there's already a car parked on the other side of the road. I'm amazed how good the bin truck drivers are to be able to squeeze past some of them

dgt wrote: »
    I have no space to park in my driveway, so I'm forced to park along the road.....

But I'm sure you park in such a way as not to inconvenience other road users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

But I'm sure you park in such a way as not to inconvenience other road users.

I'm generally out of everyones way indeed

MarkR wrote: »

This includes driveways. Its illegal, end off.
    Now i must dash and move me car:D
    That quote does not say that it's always illegal, only that it must be done either safely or not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Keep Oil / coolant leaks off their cobble block.

Too common amongst the "ah sure, it's driving grand, I'll get it looked at when it breaks down" brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

fletch wrote: »
    I have heard of insurance companies recently giving discounts for cars parked on public roads rather than driveways as thieves don't know which house the car is associated with so don't know which house to break into for the keys.

You can't be serious, surely?

That quote does not say that it's always illegal, only that it must be done either safely or not at all.

Its illegal trust me.

?? You've just quoted legislation saying that it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Its illegal trust me.
    No offence but I prefer to trust the legislation and the legislation that you quoted does not back your claim up that "Its illegal, end off. "
    The legislation you referred to only applies when reversing onto a public road such as Rathgar Road, not a public place, such as might be found in a private estate.

It does back up the view that is perfectly legal to reverse onto a public road if "it is clear to the driver that to so reverse would not endanger other traffic or pedestrians."

Can you provide any evidence that under no circumstances is it legal to reverse out onto a road from a driveway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I don't think I've ever come across someone who likes to fish as much as you do before. :)

dar83 wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever come across someone who likes to fish as much as you do before. :)
    * yawns * :)

The whole point of owning something is that you get to use it as you see fit, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

The whole point of owning something is that you get to use it as you see fit, no?

No, I own a dog, but there are laws relating to how I use/treat/keep it.

Spoke to a guard on the reversing onto a road query before christmas.
    He said there is no law against it so long as you are driving with due care an attention and not a danger to other road users.

So that basically comes under point 3 of that legislation, say for example you can't see whats coming either on the path and/or the road then you would be driving without due care and attention and liable to be prosecuted. So that covers the legal aspect.

In a real world scenario, he did mention however that as long as you weren't being a complete idiot about it, you'd be hard pressed to find a judge that would do you for it, even if it may or may not be a slight contributory factor of an accident. And yes, this does go against the driving without due care and attention but what he said was that it is so normal, and reversing even out of a parking space in a car park may have to be done blind, that a judge would not use this as a deciding factor.

Don't believe me / disagree if you want, but that was his professional opinion, and I understand other guards may not have this view.

alexlyons wrote: »
    No, I own a dog, but there are laws relating to how I use/treat/keep it.
    A driveway is not a dog, and there is no law compelling anyone to park their car there if they don't want to.

Spoke to a guard on the reversing onto a road query before christmas.
    He said there is no law against it so long as you are driving with due care an attention and not a danger to other road users.

So that basically comes under point 3 of that legislation, say for example you can't see whats coming either on the path and/or the road then you would be driving without due care and attention and liable to be prosecuted.

He did mention however that as long as you weren't being a complete idiot about it, you'd be hard pressed to find a judge that would do you for it, even if it may or may not be a slight contributory factor of an accident. And yes, this does go against the driving without due care and attention but what he said was that it is so normal, and reversing even out of a parking space in a car park may have to be done blind, that a judge would not use this as a deciding factor.

Don't believe me / disagree if you want, but that was his professional opinion, and I understand other guards may not have this view.
    I've no problem with any of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Alternatively, there's space for 1 car in the drive, and 1 has to park on the road, so the first person home parks on the road, leaving the drive free for the 2nd person. If the first person used the drive, there may not be convenient road space when the second person gets home. Try driving the same route at 11pm and see if many of the drives are now full.

Though I have a friend who always parks on the road outside his house "because the gate is narrow". Thankfully any time I visit him, or drive his car home, the gates expand, allowing me plenty of space to reverse in to his driveway. So that's convenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

A driveway is not a dog, and there is no law compelling anyone to park their car there if they don't want to

No it's not a dog but I was merely pointing out that just because you own it doesn't mean you can use it as you wish. Similar to owning a gun...
    You don't have to use a driving way, but if you do then you must do so in a manner that does not break the law (visibility when reversing out for example).
    That is what I was implying, not that it must be used.

Sure I don't even use my drive. My car is parked on the road as for me to put my car in the drive, would block in the other two cars already using it.

No it's not a dog but I was merely pointing out that just because you own it doesn't mean you can use it as you wish. Similar to owning a gun...
    You don't have to use a driving way, but if you do then you must do so in a manner that does not break the law (visibility when reversing out for example).
    That is what I was implying, not that it must be used.

Sure I don't even use my drive. My car is parked on the road as for me to put my car in the drive, would block in the other two cars already using it.
    I think we're on the same page here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

There is room in my driveway for two cars but one will always block the other. I used to get home and park on the road first as I would be first to leave the next day. It got to the point that I just left the car on the road most of the time. It wasn't much, if any, hindrance to people on the road and to be honest I found it a little tricky sometimes.

Yesterday I decided to park in the driveway and force myself to practise more. Ended up leaving to go to the shops 2 times later that evening and both times reversed into the driveway.

Happy I was with myself until this morning when I saw the car as I was about to leave for work. A flock of birds had decided to unleash an unholy amount of poo all over the car. I was surprised to say the least. I was too embarrassed to leave the driveway without some initial cleaning. Not a nice way to start the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I agree completely. Although you know that wasn't the reason for my post. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭kaahooters

There is room in my driveway for two cars but one will always block the other. I used to get home and park on the road first as I would be first to leave the next day. It got to the point that I just left the car on the road most of the time. It wasn't much, if any, hindrance to people on the road and to be honest I found it a little tricky sometimes.

Yesterday I decided to park in the driveway and force myself to practise more. Ended up leaving to go to the shops 2 times later that evening and both times reversed into the driveway.

Happy I was with myself until this morning when I saw the car as I was about to leave for work. A flock of birds had decided to unleash an unholy amount of poo all over the car. I was surprised to say the least. I was too embarrassed to leave the driveway without some initial cleaning. Not a nice way to start the day.

....so birdpoop will force you to park on the road ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜€ðŸ˜Š:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I think its a main road, not a public road. Its far easier to drive into a narrow driveway than to reverse into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I find its people that have more than one car, people who dont like others parking outside their garden and people who tell their friends who dont have parking to park outside their houses. A few times its people who go on holiday and want to leave their cars at friends houses. Its very inconvenient if visiting someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Estate I go to on a Friday night had a lot of inconsiderate eejits parking right up on the path, often with drives with spaces. I took to folding their door mirrors in and lifting their wipers into the air when wobbling back from the pub (rule of thumb being that a wheelchair/buggy/drunk should be able to get past). A few years later I only have to do it rarely :)

dar83 wrote: »
    I agree completely. Although you know that wasn't the reason for my post. ;)
    What was the reason for your post?