Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salthill Incident

• 18-02-2014 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

It has now been brought to an end.

Details sketchy.

Report from Galway Independent:
    An incident involving a male aged in his 40s at an apartment block in Salthill which began around 5.30pm this evening has been brought to a safe conclusion with no injuries. A media blackout on coverage had been requested by gardaí owing to the nature of the incident.

Kudos to the emergency services. Very professional and effective in their response, by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Thank God it ended ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Just gonna weigh in here, and say that until the official details of what transpired are released, speculation will not be tolerated. Kthanksbye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Gadvertiser is reporting that the Garda requested a media blackout for the duration of the incident. Someone should really tell them about Twitter...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Twitter was all over this thing, lot's of grainy photos of an apartment block in Salthill lit up and not much else.

The emergency services seemed to do a brilliant job. One tweet made me laugh:
    Presumably with all the police out at #salthill & it being Rag week Eyre Sq has become it's own independent state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

Just some clear further information from @endacunningham, Connacht Tribune journalist:
    At the request of the Gardai, we observed a media blackout on an incident involving armed Gardai and a negotiator in Salthill this evening.

At around 5.30pm, Gardai were called to an apartment block in Salthill to an incident involving a man in his 40s. #salthill

Around a dozen members of the armed Regional Response Unit and detectives were at the scene,as well as a unit of the Fire Brigade. #salthill

A negotiator spoke with the man for around four hours, before he was safely removed from the roof. He is now in custody. #salthill

We had all the details, but observed the Garda blackout request due to the nature of the incident, until it came to an end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

It's been all over twitter anyway. It's hard to maintain a blackout these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Irish Independent report on incident - including link to a recent scam in the city.

Mods: Not trying to speculate here, its being reported in national media, but remove if you feel it's inappropriate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 St.Chivalry

For pictures;
    https://twitter.com/search?q=salthill&src=typd

Also, people on reddit.com/r/ireland are discussing it about the theories,etc I think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭shot2go

hope he gets the help he needs.

it has been reported that it was linked to a scam in the city, i do feel it was wrong that one business named him along with his photo on facebook :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

Thank goodness that guy didn't go through with hurting himself in such a violent manner.

Respect to the emergency services for their work this evening on this, getting the man off that building and into their duty of care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 SanPatricios

What was the media blackout for? Just to prevent a bigger scene/giving him attention?

I'd say it was more to prevent any wild and unconfirmed info that could be potentially damaging to folks from getting out.

This auld internet moves awful shwift these days... With the tweeting, and the friendfacing, and whatnot. Jaysus. :pac:

I'd say it was more to prevent any wild and unconfirmed info that could be potentially damaging to folks from getting out
    Like what? Not disagreeing, just can't think of what might have been said that could be damaging. Were the papers going to pull some random name out of a hat and claim it was them up there reciting Enoch Powell's rivers of blood or something?

The potential is endless. Galway is a relatively small place. You'd be surprised at how easily a random name can be thrown around and then be recognised, and ran with.

Amazing lesson in anthropology; tough if it's a friend or a family member, though.

Maybe I'm just adorably naive but I wouldn't have thought the newspapers would go ahead and run stories with unconfirmed names etc. Even now that the blackout has been lifted they have refrained from naming anybody.

Obviously it's a different story with Twitter etc, I'm actually quite glad they can't enforce a blackout there. Although if you don't take Twitter rumours with a huge pinch of salt you're daft. Probably a rumour circulating that it was Mario Balotelli.

Like what? Not disagreeing, just can't think of what might have been said that could be damaging. Were the papers going to pull some random name out of a hat and claim it was them up there reciting Enoch Powell's rivers of blood or something?

It's perfectly conceivable person had a smart phone and was checking social media to see what was being said about them,something said in jest or innocence could push someone in a delicate state over the edge. Or maybe they'd feel there was no stepping down from it or going back if it was receiving media attention.

Also do we want to live in a world where people find out their loved ones are caught up in such things on the internet? In any circumstance names or specifics aren't generally released before family can be notified.
    God help that persons family tonight. Wouldn't be easy to see someone you love so distressed and have it happen so publicly.

Maybe I'm just adorably naive but I wouldn't have thought the newspapers would go ahead and run stories with unconfirmed names etc. Even now that the blackout has been lifted they have refrained from naming anybody.

Nah, I don't think it would be like that, with papers printing names and the like; but definitely running with vague, unconfirmed updates, which in turn could lead to wild speculation from people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

I happened to be walking by there yesterday evening...what is with all the rubberneckers? It was sickening to see cars pull up all over the place, drivers hop out go over gawking at the scene, you'd swear the cops were giving out free money with the urgency the rubberneckers were descending on the scene...what are they hoping to see? a shoot out? someone in pain? maybe catch a glimpse of someone in distress?

I know its the same all over the world but it still makes me sick.

/End of rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Sconsey wrote: »
    I happened to be walking by there yesterday evening...what is with all the rubberneckers? It was sickening to see cars pull up all over the place, drivers hop out go over gawking at the scene, you'd swear the cops were giving out free money with the urgency the rubberneckers were descending on the scene...what are they hoping to see? a shoot out? someone in pain? maybe catch a glimpse of someone in distress?

/End of rant

True. But whatever about the people who stopped to look, I thought the guy there with the large flash camera was disgusting (journalist perhaps??)
    Surprised that the gaurds didnt put a stop to him. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Shure look at all the rubberneckers here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,432 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

It's perfectly conceivable person had a smart phone and was checking social media to see what was being said about them,something said in jest or innocence could push someone in a delicate state over the edge. Or maybe they'd feel there was no stepping down from it or going back if it was receiving media attention.

Media in Ireland regularly run stories with lines like "... named locally as Paddy O'What'sIt" - which means that the name has not been officially released.

I was horribied when I first heard it .. what if Paddy's niece in Canada sees it on the internet first, etc.

And we have no idea why the guards asked for a media blackout: it's not inconceivable that the guiy had Facebook on his phone with him ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 jcro

/End of rant

Over a hundred people live in that app block. They were not allowed access to their homes after returning in their cars from work. . Thus people waiting outside on the street. Thus cars on pavements!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭b.gud

/End of rant

Couldn't agree more hate this kind of thing. I was as curious as anyone about what was happening but refused point blank when asked by someone to go down and have a look.
    jcro wrote: »
    Over a hundred people live in that app block. They were not allowed access to their homes after returning in their cars from work. . Thus people waiting outside on the street. Thus cars on pavements!

Yes while that is true, I would also suggest that a number of those there did not live in the immediate area and were only down for a gawk to see what was happening and get a bit of gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Why all the hate for rubbernecking? I think it's instinctive behaviour, probably related to the survival instinct.

I am curious as anyone but I don't think I have the rubber necking gene at all. If I come across something unpleasant happening, an accident, a situation like last night, even an argument on the street my instinct is to get as far away as I can as quickly as possible. I know there are lots of things I never want to be a direct witness of and I try to ensure I'm not. It's not a heartless response, it's just that I can often imagine searingly vividly what the people involved must be going through and I feel too awful for them.
    If I thought I could help I'd try my hardest to fight that instinct,I hope I'd step up, but I am afraid I hope a situation never happens where it's called for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I don't understand it really. If it looked like the dude was gonna jump, id be getting the hell out of there, that's the last thing I want to have burned into my memory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

i wonder do the various businesses that posted images of this story all over facebook have questions to answer?

clearly this man was unwell but plastering his image all over facebook in relation to a scam may have lead to lastnites events.

im sure this post will be shot down but at the end of the day someones life was at stake if not others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

shot2go wrote: »
    hope he gets the help he needs.

it has been reported that it was linked to a scam in the city, i do feel it was wrong that one business named him along with his photo on facebook :(

Don't get that attitude at all. I think it was wrong that he stole money from honest business

Shane St. wrote: »
    Don't get that attitude at all. I think it was wrong that he stole money from honest business

It hasn't been proven that he stole money. It hasn't been proven that he did anything. They basically decided to accuse him in public along with a photograph. That could be called defamation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Was it actually the business that named him or people in the comments?

All I saw was a cctv still of a man.

I don't know who named him, but they shouldn't have put up the photo. I remember some years ago, a garage wanted to put up a photo of a shoplifter, I think they were advised by the Gardaí to take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,674 ✭✭✭elefant

Eeden wrote: »
    It hasn't been proven that he stole money. It hasn't been proven that he did anything. They basically decided to accuse him in public along with a photograph. That could be called defamation.

Well, only if it's false it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

One of the business's had multiple posts with a still image in one post, a video of the guy in another, and another post remarking on how many views the previous post had (over 5000).

They also remarked that he drank in Salthill, and had a drink problem. In the comments, the man was named, and along with the usual 'hang the scum' comments typical of this type of post, a few comments were asking the page administrator to remove any comments naming him.
    These were left up there, but at some stage last night or early this morning, all the posts were deleted.

Hindsight is a great thing. One other business owner alledged that the Gardai did not take her seriously when she complained and they told her that they had no other complaints. Within 2 days of the photos & videos going up, it was obvious that at least 5 other business had been scammed. The attention that this business has gotten from this incident and the previous one where the tip-jar was stolen (and culprit caught), rightly or wrongly will discourage others to scam them, and will raise their profile on facebook.

It's strange though that many businesses handed over 50 euro without calling the doctors surgery whose number they would have gotten from the receipt that the scammer had.

Well done to the gardai who managed to talk him down safely and to the fire crew who attended also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

GastroBoy wrote: »
    True. But whatever about the people who stopped to look, I thought the guy there with the large flash camera was disgusting (journalist perhaps??)
    Surprised that the gaurds didnt put a stop to him. :mad:

He was probably passing on his way to photo illegally parked cars in salthill!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Laviski

griffin's bakery have a lot to answer for and legal action should be taken In light of the events.

posting photos and naming of the individual shouldn't be tolerated as it just caused incitement against the individual and casting prejudgment. Anyone remember the case of the student that apparently ran from a taxi? the person named was in Asia at the time. Needless to say the damage was done before it could have being stopped.

Guards should be called and let the prosecutions follow.

shame on griffin's bakery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Thread should be closed imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 smalls90

Could all have been a ploy to get off the hook. This guy is a scam artist who got caught. No sympathy for him whatsoever.

smalls90 wrote: »
    Could all have been a ploy to get off the hook. This guy is a scam artist who got caught. No sympathy for him whatsoever.

again thats a matter for the guards and the affected establishments to take to court.

innocent until proven guilty. Although your mind is made up with thanks to the social media circus that the bakery generated. lynch mob mentality etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭shot2go

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    Was it actually the business that named him or people in the comments?

All I saw was a cctv still of a man.

griffins bakery named him and his address, where he drinks and also that he had a drink problem.
    If he did scam those businesses its a matter for the guards and courts not to be publicly named and shamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

Imo this chancer probably couldn't believe his luck when he saw the business were posting about his scamming on the net...why settle for €50 when you can take them to the cleaners in court over posting his details.

Everyone thought he was a scumbag a few days ago...now he pulls some attention seeking stunt, that will guarantee him a nice pay day in court, and it's the businesses that he fleeced that are getting the grief...gimme a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Scum like this have to be named and shamed so businesses know what's coming. I'm sure Griffin's didn't completely fabricate the story. I'm also sure the other scammed businesses didn't either. This guy is clearly a scam artist, and yet his victims are made out as the evil ones. Christ above.

Guys. Ye're talking as if this is all common knowledge now. Do we have any links or official release stating that the man who ran the scam was the same one involved in the incident in Salthill? Down the pub, or around the water cooler type of confirmation is still tenuous at best.

Also, less of the scumbag comments, please. T'aint nice, and again, a family member could be reading this thread.

Guys. Ye're talking as if this is all common knowledge now. Do we have any links or official release stating that the man who ran the scam was the same one involved in the incident in Salthill? Down the pub, or around the water cooler type of confirmation is still tenuous at best.

Also, less of the scumbag comments, please. T'aint nice, and again, a family member could be reading this thread.

Well said!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Laviski wrote: »
    griffin's bakery have a lot to answer for and legal action should be taken In light of the events.

posting photos and naming of the individual shouldn't be tolerated as it just caused incitement against the individual and casting prejudgment. Anyone remember the case of the student that apparently ran from a taxi? the person named was in Asia at the time. Needless to say the damage was done before it could have being stopped.

Guards should be called and let the prosecutions follow.

shame on griffin's bakery.

I hope there taking to the cleaners.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Mob justice is no justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Chewabacca

Is it not more than likely that the man would never have been caught if it wasn't for social media? Other restaurants wouldn't have heard it was a scam if it wasn't for social media. The restaurants that believed him wouldn't have wanted people knowing that someone found glass in their food so nothing would have spread by word of mouth. In a few months if people found out that he had scammed so many people everyone would be going mad about how horrible this man is. Not to mention that most restaurants he scammed are probably struggling to stay open as it is.

Now that he was exposed and he had his outburst everyone's saying that it's awful. It wasn't the best way to handle it but if it hadn't been done he'd probably still be fleecing restaurants.

If you heard that someone was collecting for a fake charity and making hundreds and you were sure that releasing his pictures on facebook were the only way to catch him, would you really just let him get away with it incase he decides to do something silly? It's easy to criticise now, if it was your restaurant that had been fleeced it would be a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,432 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Scum like this have to be named and shamed so businesses know what's coming. I'm sure Griffin's didn't completely fabricate the story. I'm also sure the other scammed businesses didn't either. This guy is clearly a scam artist, and yet his victims are made out as the evil ones. Christ above.

I couldn't agree more.

And the court process is about:

1) Being certain that the accused did the stuff they are accused of doing,
    2) Naming and shaming them for doing so, and
    3) Applying whatever other penalties the law sees fit.

Naming-and-shaming without step 1 makes an mockery of the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The shop owner did seem to go overboard with the Social Media/Publicity stuff recently.

I wonder if a certain couple of Kerry hotel owners have heard about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

Laviski wrote: »
    What legally action do you think could possibly be taken in this case against Griffin's, on what basis and by whom?
    now he pulls some attention seeking stunt, that will guarantee him a nice pay day in court
    How exactly is he guaranteed a "nice pay day in court"? Who could he possibly sue and on what basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

What legally action do you think could possibly be taken in this case against Griffin's, on what basis and by whom?

slander,defamation of character and data protection breaches to name 3 potential issues they might face. The man is innocent until proven guilty by a court of law not by the court of griffins fb page.