Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag week

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Finance Siobhan

GenieOz wrote: »
    Then don't do it?

Well, obviously not.

Just commenting that I would hate that personally. Is that OK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Well, obviously not.

Just commenting that I would hate that personally. Is that OK?

I reckon you came in here because you thought this was a support group for a different kind of rag week. Judging by the bitchy comments anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Finance Siobhan

GenieOz wrote: »
    I reckon you came in here because you thought this was a support group for a different kind of rag week. Judging by the bitchy comments anyway.

Well now, my first comment was hardly bitchy, now was it? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Specialun wrote: »
    If you ban rag week then whos going to roide the horney freshers

This lad'll give it a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ruire

7 days of racing followed by drinking on the streets of Galway with an unbelievable atmosphere and unreal craic that you won't get anywhere else in the world.

You could offer me a free trip anywhere in the world and I'd refuse it if it clashed with race week.

It's absolute hell for those of us who don't see the appeal of being surrounded by drunken gobshites in cheap suits. The city is always trashed on a scale beyond what a load of students could do. Naturally, the same folks in the media who whinge almighty about Rag Week have a weird cognitive dissonance about reporting the rivers of stale booze, piss, and vomit that flow through Eyre Sq, not to mention that.

The only consolation is that Race Weekers tend not to cross the river, so the pubs between Ravens Terrace and Sea Road tend to be alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

The stuff coming out of my digestive system today should be grounds for banning rag week.

But sure tis good craic. To those saying if we can afford to drink we can afford fees. 7500euro a year versus a couple hundred euro? Are ye well??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

So we want RAG week banned, surely that means Freshers week banned, any charity events in the Student Union Bars banned (as they sell alcohol), and any events that have drink involved.
    What next no drink at Sports events, Music events etc.....

Queuing for a pub at half 9 in the morning when they could easily find a Pint in Galway at that time of the morning....Let them at it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Cian92 wrote: »
    Ara a huge amount are on grants. State subsidised drinking. At least those who receive no state assistance are spending their own money, and that I have no issue with.

Were you born in 1992? You seem to have bypassed your youth. How unfortunate.

I miss uni. Instead of rag week. I have to go make make chemotherapy tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Those Tir Connaill hooligans up to mischief again.

I never had a rag week, just a freshers week which i hated

Ruire wrote: »
    The only consolation is that Race Weekers tend not to cross the river, so the pubs between Ravens Terrace and Sea Road tend to be alright.

That's because it's s*ite across the river, as a county Galway man born and bred I'd never cross the river on a night out.

Race week is legendary though, gambling and drinking the passtime of kings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Maynooth seems to be the only college that managed to murder rag week. In my undergraduate years it was great Craic altogether. Now it's ****ing ****e. The su should be ashamed of themselves. They so nothing to justify their positions.

Why what have they done? I loved rag week in Maynooth. In Athlone, in my 30's, not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

Why what have they done? I loved rag week in Maynooth. In Athlone, in my 30's, not so much.
    RAG week is only really fun when you're in first year and maybe second year. After that you get sick of the same old stuff they have every year and have more important things to do like projects and assignments.

Actually, looking at the current AIT RAG week line-up I really wonder why they bother. How many years can you have Bluemoose and Big Generator playing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

My only thought from entering this thread, and viewing the pictures of the Hole in the Wall and Electric, is why you'd bother queuing in all that. Surely if a queue gets so long, you wouldn't bother queuing seeing as the pub/club couldnt fit all those people anyway and would be a pointless exercise!!

/rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Actually, looking at the current AIT RAG week line-up I really wonder why they bother. How many years can you have Bluemoose and Big Generator playing??

Ah it's nice for the youngsters. I never go to Scribes anyway so it doesn't bother me who they have in there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

That's because it's s*ite across the river, as a county Galway man born and bred I'd never cross the river on a night out.

Race week is legendary though, gambling and drinking the passtime of kings!

With a couple of exceptions, the pubs back The West are much better than the ones up town.

I love race week myself but can't stand Quay St or the square during it.

Give me the calm of The Crane over the crush in The Quays anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

This is why I never have any sympathy for student protests. Can't afford fees my arse.

Such rubbish! Was never entitled to a grant through my whole college years,worked my ass off to get through it, still went out using the money I earned, didnt make an idiot of myself. Have friends who did get the grant, and they did not not waste it away on 9am drinking. Painting all with same brush eh???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

RAG week is only really fun when you're in first year and maybe second year. After that you get sick of the same old stuff they have every year and have more important things to do like projects and assignments.

I think you answered your own question there!
    If its only fun for 1st and 2nd years, then they might never have seen Bluemoose and Big Generator so its new to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I just saw some images of the 'crush' outside the Galway nightclub.

The length of some of the mini-skirts on the young ones walking past . Jaysus....unbelievable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

gramar wrote: »
    I just saw some images of the 'crush' outside the Galway nightclub.

The length of some of the mini-skirts on the young ones walking past . Jaysus....unbelievable!

Practically wearing just belts Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

hoodwinked wrote: »
    In Ucc as far as i know the term "RAG week" was also banned, instead you have to call it R&G week (raise and give week),and all the events (on campus at least) are non alcohol/ money raising funds or events,

one of the more popular ones is a zombie game physoc set up (where one infected person infects the campus person by person, with each infected person spreading it on, players wear a visible red/white band on their arm if they play so people with no interest don't get dragged into it) it was really interesting too to see how an 'infection' would spread so easily and quickly, i also heard today there was a 40ft slide for €1 a go, no alcohol needed, and it raises a significant amount of money for charity through these fun/humorous events.

of course there are those who use it as an excuse to skip class and get hammered, but they don't need just this week to do it, they have every excuse ready anyway, and i did notice one brand of alcohol giving a free glass with every 6pk sold this week only in an off-campus shop :rolleyes: so they are being targeted by companies to drink, but as far as official college events go, its mostly on campus fun with no alcohol, (they are trying to bring it back to the more pranking as opposed to drinking, have fun type week)

Those things are the gayest thing I see on campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

It's Raise and Give week. Have a bit of fun, do silly charity stuff and have a few good nights out. Good in theory but people started taking the pi$$ completely and ruined it.

NUIG always seemed to always be getting bad press about it but I always read students from there banging on about how much it raises for charity during Rag week on boards and other social media.

The last figures I could find were for 2010, they raised €22,000 which equates to less than €1.30 a student which was a joke.

That's less than a can of cheap beer each.

http://services.su.nuigalway.ie/site/view/3121/

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_University_of_Ireland,_Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I'm an NUIG student. All official support for RAG week was cancelled by NUIG and the students union because it started getting a bit out of hand with regards drinking and anti social behaviour. Since then its become less of a "thing" every year. This donegal Tuesday thing is quite annoying though. 90% of them aren't students in NUIG, they come down for a day and wreck the place and then we get the blame.

Basically all positive aspects of RAG week have been removed and now its just an excuse for idiots to act the prick and make a mess while lumping the blame on the student body as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I miss uni. Instead of rag week. I have to go make make chemotherapy tomorrow.
    Sorry to read it dude. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

id love to be back in rag week again, best days of the year :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Wonder why UCC "banned" the term "RAG" week to be replaced with R&G week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://imgur.com/xy9V1zu

I wouldn't go that far...