Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are all the jobs ?

• 17-02-2014 3:15am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭

Did someone take them ??

I thought Ireland was meant to be the land of opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭sovereign121

Mcdonalds. Now up off ur arse and go get it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Mcdonalds. Now off up off ur arse and go get it

Who said Im u/e.

Theres quite few options for change of job, move company, promotion, no 2nd options, generally little opportunity.

Unless retrain as a C# developer or carer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

I wish the lack of jobs here was only becoming apparent to me now. But there aren't any rocks around here large enough to live under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I have 10 and im not sharing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

They job are being filled with "internships" paid for by the Irish taxpayer. It doesnt matter if its a law firm or a supermarket. Paying jobs are being replaced with free labour. But a certain Labour minister believes it will help the unemployed get back into the work force but most people never last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Like hfallada said, I suppose your answer lies here.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭pillphil

Who said Im u/e.

Theres quite few options for change of job, move company, promotion, no 2nd options, generally little opportunity.

Unless retrain as a C# developer or carer.

The fact that you're too lazy to write out the word unemployed is all the proof I need. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Try looking under the bed? Behind the couch? There's got to be some job creators out there looking for work - could employ one of them to make some new jobs for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Digital industry. Thats where its at man. Retrain or feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

This digital / knowledge based economy thing is a sham. Cowen used to splutter it about being the way of the future but its a house built on sand ,IMO .

We are lucky we have a decent agricultural base in Ireland but we are losing manufacturing jobs like mad to cheaper locations like china.

This trend will eventually mean we 'make' nothing and will rely on those countries for everything. We will have loads of financial services and programming jobs but these jobs will be worthless without consumers from other sectors.
    But we could sell them in china, probably not happen given a host of reasons.

Why can't we manufacture stuff that cheap here and be like them? Cos of a few reasons there is no fair trade, they don't have workers rights, pollution guidelines and the government maintains the currency low.

Anyway we need a manufacturing base for a sustainable future. We are losing that. But successive governments don't see that - all they see are jobs.
    No mind if they are all in the one sector - you think an IT crash won't happen like the property??
    Plus they have a great deal with china where we are sending agricultural gurus over there to teach them our methods -for a few quid.
    Our one golden ticket - food and we are selling our secrets to the people who could put us out of business, wtf.

That was a good rant on my way to work

Btw I work in IT in financial services.. Ha

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Did someone take them ??

I have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Did someone take them ??

Did you really think that? Where did you get that idea?

To answer, your question in the thread title, there are plenty of jobs here: www.monster.ie.

Also, the suggestion that Ireland should try to build a manufacturing base is a terrible idea. Not least because people on the dole here earn more than if they were working in a manufacturing job (assuming we start competing with China as suggested).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

Jobbridge/Scambridge, Bankers, Developers, Bondholders, Top Ups, Fat Cats, Gravy Train, NAMA, Bubble.

All the key words and phrases needed for any informed discussion / rant on Boards these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Witchie wrote: »
    Digital industry. Thats where its at man. Retrain or feck off.

Tell that to someone who's worked in an manufacturing industry or construction for a good few years. Some people don't have the aptitude digital jobs and anyway there will never be enough jobs in that sector to make up for the ones lost in other sectors.
    So we'll just write off sections of society and tell them to feck off , nice :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

Tell that to someone who's worked in an manufacturing industry or contraction for a good few years. Some people don't have the aptitude digital jobs and anyway there will never be enough jobs in that sector to make up for the ones lost in other sectors.
    So we'll just write off sections of society and tell them to feck off , nice :cool:.

What would you tell them? We're not competitive as a location for manufacturing because of our high wage costs (driven up over the years by blinkered unions).

Did you really think that? Where did you get that idea?

To answer, your question in the thread title, there are plenty of jobs here: www.monster.ie.

Also, the suggestion that Ireland should try to build a manufacturing base is a terrible idea. Not least because people on the dole here earn more than if they were working in a manufacturing job (assuming we start competing with China as suggested).
    There aren't nearly enough jobs for all of the unemployed - 28 unemployed per job vacancy:
    http://www.nerinstitute.net/blog/2014/01/21/over-28-unemployed-people-for-each-vacancy-in-the/

please explain why this is a terrible idea.

We could start by imposing strict controls on chinese products.
    For example off the top of my head while I'm in hot headed rant mode:

Refuse permission to sell in the EU where

1. Workers rights are not respected.
    2. Product standards are not of the standard required.
    3. Pollution controls are not adhered too.
    4. Refuse import licences for chinese firms until such the government maintains their currency at a market rate.
    5. Refuse import licences for chinese firms until such the government does not interfere with the market via subsitisies.

Then we could encourage quality start ups here manufacturing - we have an educated workforce and loads of advantages.
    This will tie in with our IT, services, banking and agricultural base. A good spread rather than lurching from one bandwagon bubble to the next.

And when it comes to food and food science - which we do really well here don't sell it for 30 pieces of silver and a spot on the Six-One news -

You appear to think it's a terrible idea - I think it's just hard to impose and people only think short term and the long term game doesn't interest them becasue in the long term we're all dead...but our kids and grand kids aren't.

I don't have all the ideas. But I know something is wrong and needs to change or further crashes will happen and we as a country will be left in a bad state - probably working like serfs in some factory owned by an oligarch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Did someone take them ??

That is america that is the land of opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

please explain why this is a terrible idea.

We could start by imposing strict controls on chinese products.
    For example off the top of my head while I'm in hot headed rant mode:

Refuse permission to sell in the EU where

1. Workers rights are not respected.
    2. Product standards are not of the standard required.
    4. Refuse import licences for chinese firms until such the government maintains their currency at a market rate.
    5. Refuse import licences for chinese firms until such the government does not interfere with the market via subsitisies.

Then we could encourage quality start ups here manufacturing - we have an educated workforce and loads of advantages.
    This will tie in with our IT, services, banking and agricultural base. A good spread rather than lurching from one bandwagon bubble to the next.

And when it comes to food and food science - which we do really well here don't sell it for 30 pieces of silver and a spot on the Six-One news -

You appear to think it's a terrible idea - I think it's just hard to impose and people only think short term and the long term game doesn't interest them becasue in the long term we're all dead...but our kids and grand kids aren't.

I don't have all the ideas. But I know something is wrong and needs to change or further crashes will happen and we as a country will be left in a bad state - probably working like serfs in some factory owned by an oligarch.

This is a terribly misinformed post. Go look up protectionism. One of the reasons we did so well at attracting FDI was the fact that we have an open economy. We still punch well above our weight for foreign trade.

The idea that we should stop trading with Chins is laughable. Do you think we should stop selling beef to the Arabs too.

stimpson wrote: »
    This is a terribly misinformed post. Go look up protectionism. One of the reasons we did so well at attracting FDI was the fact that we have an open economy. We still punch well above our weight for foreign trade.

The idea that we should stop trading with Chins is laughable. Do you think we should stop selling beef to the Arabs too.

I was talking in terms of the EU.
    I didn't say stop trading with them , if you read my post.

They need us to trade with too - so why not try and maintain some standard.
    For example they have less pollution controls over there. Do you think this is a good thing that we should encourage it by buy more of that product when our products cannot be produced like that (nor would we want them to be) .
    Workers in factories there are treated poorly - this is well established.
    In the EU we have standards of treatment of workers. Is it not hypocritical to purchase goods from places that don't.

There is more to this than mere numbers on a balance sheet.

Look don't agree with me if you like.

But my original point is that we need a broad economy of multi-sectors.
    Pitching into the a few at the expense of others is going to cause us grief in the future.
    We've seen this with property but for some reason we think this "knowledge base" is immune to it and that everybody can retrain into it.

In an extreme but possible angle - In the case of a lack of world stability - what happens when all our manufacturing is maintained over the other side of the world?
    Will our knowledge base feed and clothed us?

Look I gotta work.

In order for some economies to export their way to recovery, another economy (or economies) somewhere else have to increase imports (it's a statement of fact: if one country exports more, another has to - by definition - import more).

Problem is, when all countries are suffering economic crisis, and reduced economic activity (which also reduces imports), then all/most economies in the world will try to export more in order to recover - obviously, this is impossible without anyone increasing imports (which nobody is doing substantially enough), so all it does is drive down the value of exports.

So the problem isn't countries not exporting enough, or lack of protectionism, the problem is the drop in economic activity - with the solution to that, beng increasing economic activity, with stimulus/boosted-government-spending (which doesn't have to be based on public-debt/increased-taxes, but that's another discussion...).

The solutions aren't hard, it's just a topic that is filled with so many false myths, and which becomes so quickly prone to FUD/browbeating, that any chance people have to actually look at and understand the alternatives, gets lost in the ensuing arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

nothing like a world war to stir up the manufacturing jobs :P

I was talking in terms of the EU.
    I didn't say stop trading with them , if you read my post.

They need us to trade with too - so why not try and maintain some standard.
    For example they have less pollution controls over there. Do you think this is a good thing that we should encourage it by buy more of that product when our products cannot be produced like that (nor would we want them to be) .
    Workers in factories there are treated poorly - this is well established.
    In the EU we have standards of treatment of workers. Is it not hypocritical to purchase goods from places that don't.

There is more to this than mere numbers on a balance sheet.

Look don't agree with me if you like.

But my original point is that we need a broad economy of multi-sectors.
    Pitching into the a few at the expense of others is going to cause us grief in the future.
    We've seen this with property but for some reason we think this "knowledge base" is immune to it and that everybody can retrain into it.

In an extreme but possible angle - In the case of a lack of world stability - what happens when all our manufacturing is maintained over the other side of the world?
    Will our knowledge base feed and clothed us?

Look I gotta work.

China are trying to lift close to a billion people out of poverty. It's very easy to point the finger from the west, but what other choice do they have?

Restricting imports from China would cause many knock on effects - they could restrict imports from us, at a time when we're trying to increase our agricultural exports to them.

And if you want to talk hypocrisy, I bet 90% of the components in the device you're using were made in Chinese factories. Would you be happy to live in a world without Chinese made products? I wouldn't.

hfallada wrote: »
    They job are being filled with "internships" paid for by the Irish taxpayer. It doesnt matter if its a law firm or a supermarket. Paying jobs are being replaced with free labour. But a certain Labour minister believes it will help the unemployed get back into the work force but most people never last.

According to the website there are 6426 people on jobsbridge internships. That's barely a drop in the ocean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The jobs are being withheld by the capitalist money-owners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

stimpson wrote: »
    China are trying to lift close to a billion people out of poverty.

A billion? That's essentially their whole population... I doubt there's that many of them impoverished.

That's neither here nor there either I suppose. I'm in college at the moment and even trying to find part-time work has become a hard task. Unless you're lucky enough to have family working in a supermarket or something it's nigh on impossible to get bar, hotel or even retail work. Very frustrating.

MultiUmm wrote: »
    A billion? That's essentially their whole population... I doubt there's that many of them impoverished.

That's neither here nor there either I suppose. I'm in college at the moment and even trying to find part-time work has become a hard task. Unless you're lucky enough to have family working in a supermarket or something it's nigh on impossible to get bar, hotel or even retail work. Very frustrating.

According to the World Bank, in 2008 948 million were living on less than $5 a day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Strange. Nobody has posted about a friend of their daughters that got a job in a cafe.
    Im sure they must have slept in. They will be along shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Andrew Flexing

If only we had voted YES for the Lisbon Treaty we'd have loads of jobs....oh wait

my URBAN EXPLORATION YouTube channel: https://www.facebook.com/ASMRurbanexploration/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

All the jobs are in Jobstown ...where else would they be?

This made me think, they have serious big time manufacturing pollution in China.
    And its really not just their climate. We're damaging ourselves and shipping off jobs in exchange for consumer goods.

(btw Im no captain planet tree hugger)

Also, how come DEH BRITS seem to have plenty of jobs.
    Everyone going to London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

If you mean 'what industry' has open jobs, in Ireland....it's really easy to find. Just have a look at the jobs Ireland is giving Green Cards for. They are already identified as being in short supply and non-eu workers can take them without passing a labour market needs test.

http://www.djei.ie/labour/workpermits/highlyskilledoccupationslist.htm

There are lots of jobs listed. If you can get yourself qualified in any of those positions, you'll have a comfortable job and earn a comfortable wage. And you can feel smug knowing you are doing a job that Ireland desperately needs.

Tell that to someone who's worked in an manufacturing industry or construction for a good few years. Some people don't have the aptitude digital jobs and anyway there will never be enough jobs in that sector to make up for the ones lost in other sectors.

I was being sarcastic. Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is that not America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

De Forreners, dey tuk all err jebs, and err swans . Dat is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Where did you get that idea?

Is that not America?

oh ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

The company I work for currently has 18 vacancies for Electronics Engineers based out of Limerick.
    They seem to be finding it difficult to fill the positions as they emailed all the staff asking us to send the vacancies list to friends etc.

It all depends on what area you are looking for jobs in. We always have trouble filling vacancies. It takes forever.. Very few suitable candidates. Unfortunately the Jobs are moving to locations where qualified people are located.

oh ffs

What? Go up to people on the street and ask them where they would think of if you used that phrase. I doubt many will say Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

What? Go up to people on the street and ask them where they would think of if you used that phrase. I doubt many will say Ireland.

Wikipedia agrees:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Land_of_opportunity

It is often used with reference to the United States of America, and is similar to the concept of the "American dream". It became popular among immigrant populations who left the "old world" in search of a better life.

UCDVet wrote: »
    Wikipedia agrees:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Land_of_opportunity

It is often used with reference to the United States of America, and is similar to the concept of the "American dream". It became popular among immigrant populations who left the "old world" in search of a better life.

Christ.

Christ.

You should hae said you'd be employing one word debating tactics and we'd all have know to just leave your thread to slide quietly out of view.

I used to work for a Solicitor and was told the other day that one of the Legal Secretary's is going on maternity leave from there and he advertised the job in the local paper. He got one response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Christ.

Where? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

I used to work for a Solicitor and was told the other day that one of the Legal Secretary's is going on maternity leave from there and he advertised the job in the local paper. He got one response.
    If I do a 2 year fas course to train for this position or do a jobridge internship will she still be on maternity leave when Im finished?

You should hae said you'd be employing one word debating tactics and we'd all have know to just leave your thread to slide quietly out of view.

Moses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Jeez this thread is depressing to read

**Sips champagne while wipping my bum witha 50 note***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Specialun wrote: »
    Jeez this thread is depressing to read

**Sips champagne while wipping my bum witha 50 note***

There's a one letter change required here and I don't want to think which way you're going with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Show him what you're typing on and tell him to type in Jobs.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

for what its work I think Irish people are gone half stupid or just dont give two sh!ts (I am one too btw)

Im recruiting for 8 positions at the moment..various languages..

Ive taken it on myself to screen the English speaking markets...evan after HR have had a chat. So far ive only interviewed one guy. He told me that he was delighted that I even considered him for A job and was rude, I screened a few more and was told:

1- I would only consider the job if you can guarantee that the contract becomes full time ( ahh how the fook can I do that)..This person was unemployed btw
    2-I did my CV 7 pages long because I want you to understand what ive done and not just generalise
    3-I would only use the position as experience for a better job

Like WTF