Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MOTORS MEET @MIDWAY Sunday 9th march

• 14-02-2014 9:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭

So after getting the go ahead from mr transmission what ye say to a meet in march?

12 sounds like a good time so we'l set it at that, I'll get the ball rolling

1.toastedpickles - Saab 9-5

Date? 8 votes

Saturday 8th
    0% 0 votes
    Sunday 9th
    100% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Pick a date and be done with it.Gets messy otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Pick a date and be done with it.Gets messy otherwise

Alright we'l say the 8th Can you edit that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

2. Supergurrier - Tdci Focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

LOL @ the poll :D
    I'm working arrrrgh!

Sobanek wrote: »
    LOL @ the poll :D
    I'm working arrrrgh!

Hahahaha i'm only seeing this now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

3. Ded_Zebra - Well I know what I would like to be driving…. and it's not a Levin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Ah feck. :( I can't go on that date. How about the Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Stav, Nissan Skyline. I need a deadline to bother me hole finishing sorting it. This'll do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'll book off whichever day ye pick so put me down.

3. Ded_Zebra - not a Levin
    4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Foxhole Norman - Yaris

It's the 8th ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

It's the 8th ;)

8th is lucky.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ah sure I think I'll go! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Can't go lads, bringing a car for a friend to the SuperDrift logging day in Tynagh :(

That's crap :(

Can do Sunday no prob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

I had hoped to attend the last two of these meets, but the last date saw a storm blowing across Kerry and up country, so I stayed put. The one before that was a go, until work landed on me at the last minute. So, I'm reluctant to commit, but, fingers crossed I'll be there. I like any excuse for a spin!
    Jag XJ6.

I'm all for whatever date suits people be it the sat or sun. Sundays have traditionallybeen the most popular due to people having less commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I could probably do the Sunday but not the Saturday.
    I'll either be with herself it working.

Go Sunday go :)

Sounds like Sunday could be a winner

It is, mods feel free to change this if you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It is, mods feel free to change this if you like

You're able to change the thread title yourself ya lazy git :D

I had stuff to be doing :P I'll let the poll decide when i change it....git :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    6. Chris_Heilong - Toyota Chaser

One more for the list from the ol IM site

1. toastedpickles - Saab 9-5
    4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    7. Midnight_EG - Nissan 180SX Type X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci

Day booked off.

Might get a few small jobs I have been meaning to do done beforehand with any luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    9. Cleveland Hot Pocket - GMC C1500 or whatever I replace the superb with, depending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Oh and my attending is assuming it is on the sunday btw

Title change to 9th needed I think

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    9. Cleveland Hot Pocket - GMC C1500 or whatever I replace the superb with, depending.
    10. YbFocus - 530d, whistle powered. Only on basis of a Sunday meet.

Dates changed lads :) its the sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Just seeing this now. I'll be heading up to Dublin from Cashel on Sunday around 10 so I'll drop in for a while on my way.

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    11. Kaiser D - Honda Legend JDM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Going down as a maybe - there's a hurling game on in Waterford that day so I could be there. If I'm not I'll be at the meet.

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    12. TouchingVirus - M3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    12. TouchingVirus - M3
    13. MetzgerMeister - 335i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    12. TouchingVirus - M3
    14. Ian87 530d

I got halfway to the last meet, active steering fault popped up and fixed itself the second I pulled into the driveway. 2nd time lucky hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I doubt I'll be able to make this one :o

pred racer wrote: »

Nooooooo :(

pred racer wrote: »

Ahh no :(

And Ian, go the 530d's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Nooooooo :(
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Ahh no :(

And Ian, go the 530d's :D

I'm nearly sure I'm working that Sunday, and it's the first weekend I'll see my kids since jan. (Due to my extended trip to Dallas )
    Sorry.

Ah well as cool and hip and all as we are your not going to give up your kids for us man :)

.... It's ok we'll all go to you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭140490

Sorry i missed something, where this meeting will take place? And what is all about ?

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    12. TouchingVirus - M3
    14. Ian87 530d
    15. sobanek - V50 or... :D (if it's nice and all - knowing my luck it won't be)

I should be off on Sunday, but I'll have a confirmation by the 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

I'm In :)

4. Stav - Skyline
    5. Veloce - 350z
    8. Alanstrainor - 325ci
    12. TouchingVirus - M3
    14. Ian87 530d
    15. sobanek - V50 or... :D (if it's nice and all - knowing my luck it won't be)
    16. maceocc2 - E38 740i

Not really interested in attending these meets (as I drive a Rav4, hardly anything ye'll be falling over yourselves to get a photo with :pac: ) (though admittedly, Hot Pocket's vehicle of choice sounds cool), but what do ye guys actually do?

Is it not all a bit awkward? Are all of your cars modified in some way 'under the bonnet' or have unique bits and bobs done to them that you want to show off or that others can look at for doing to their own cars? Or are most of your cars in the same nick they came from out of the factory?

Genuinely curious.

I seen a meet of sorts at McDonald's in Drogheda there a few days back. I wasn't part of it, or anything (thank god!), i was just getting petrol. Between the cackles of knacker laughs, intimidating groups of hoodies, spoilers on everything and nearly having a head-on with a moron driving around the petrol station, I kinda have a negative bias for these kinda things (I'm sure a boards meet is more organised and less scumbaggy though?).

Not really interested in attending these meets (as I drive a Rav4, hardly anything ye'll be falling over yourselves to get a photo with :pac: ) (though admittedly, Hot Pocket's vehicle of choice sounds cool), but what do ye guys actually do?

Is it not all a bit awkward? Are all of your cars modified in some way 'under the bonnet' or have unique bits and bobs done to them that you want to show off or that others can look at for doing to their own cars? Or are most of your cars in the same nick they came from out of the factory?

Genuinely curious.

I seen a meet of sorts at McDonald's in Drogheda there a few days back. I wasn't part of it, or anything (thank god!), i was just getting petrol. Between the cackles of knacker laughs, intimidating groups of hoodies, spoilers on everything and nearly having a head-on with a moron driving around the petrol station, I kinda have a negative bias for these kinda things (I'm sure a boards meet is more organised and less scumbaggy though?).

I guess (haven't been to a single one yet) - talk, check out cars - the same things we do here, except in person :D

Genuinely curious.

It's not like a cruise in any way or shape!
    It's a bunch of enthusiasts that meet to talk cars :)
    Plenty of people show up in normal cars, Myself included as I wouldn't count my car special. But there will be some real nice machinery in attendance, which you can talk about, look around and more than likely get a spin in :)

It's a great fun day, so why not come for the fun of it :)

It's also good to get faces to the names on here :)

Genuinely curious.

Its not in anyway scumbaggy :) and if you want to come along do, just stick your name down, no point in us trying to explain what its like you'l just have to find out for yourself ;) if you don't like it you can leave, we wont mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

140490 wrote: »
    Sorry i missed something, where this meeting will take place? And what is all about ?

Dogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

OSI wrote: »
    I knew I left the last meet before the good stuff. :mad:

LOL I wouldn't call Dar dogging "good stuff" :pac: