Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old civics and Golfs

• 15-02-2014 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭

split from bangeromics.....

unmolested 1.4 civic with long NCT (April 15)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/97-honda-civic/6450488

1250 euro

27000312.jpeg

Are civics a girls car 52 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    19% 10 votes
    Hairdressers only
    78% 41 votes
    Your ma!
    1% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Lads, would you seriously consider those civics good value? very pricey if you ask me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

They hold their prices very well. Great looking yokes for young lads to drive around.

wonski wrote: »
    They hold their prices very well. Great looking yokes for young lads to drive around.

clean and original ones are rare enough. Over a years NCT on both too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Better looking for girls IMO, never understood the lad thing with civics, always saw then as more of a girls car.

Honda though, what can you say, just better engineered ;)

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

My first two cars were civics, a '94 model and a '98 model. I don't know where you got they are a girls car. I wouldn't drive one now mind you. I would drive an type-r though but would prefer an integra type-r.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

carzony wrote: »
    Lads, would you seriously consider those civics good value? very pricey if you ask me..

Even today they are sought after. Nice to drive, absolutely bombproof and those vtec engines are simply brilliant.

Those two look pretty straight too.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Even today they are sought after. Nice to drive, absolutely bombproof and those vtec engines are simply brilliant.

Those two look pretty straight too.

I'm pretty sure that is a weak vtec engine not even worthy of having the vtec badge.

My first two cars were civics, a '94 model and a '98 model. I don't know where you got they are a girls car. I wouldn't drive one now mind you. I would drive an type-r though but would prefer an integra type-r.

Used to hang around with a bunch or hair dressers (lol but true), all drove civics - all girls btw, probably coloured the car in my opinion, still shape etc hardly suggests otherwise.

Always thought the same about the golf too so not simply a civic bias (driving a golf currently too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

completely agree, never said this on here as didnt think anyone else would agree. I think both golfs and old civics to be for women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

had one of them civics but in sedan with high mileage a rusty spot front strut silly back box, she was great, bought it for 700 sold on for a 17" laptop and some cash my way, that 1300 is mad money for it. Best of all she gets 6l/100km all day long and corners good depending on tyre choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Im not touching this thread with a 26M bargepole given I own a 98 Civic which I love same early 90s golfs too which I also loved ..Impossible for me to be unbiased here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

bladespin wrote: »
    Used to hang around with a bunch or hair dressers (lol but true), all drove civics - all girls btw, probably coloured the car in my opinion, still shape etc hardly suggests otherwise.

Always thought the same about the golf too so not simply a civic bias (driving a golf currently too).

Do you feel the same about all hatchbacks?

The only car that I have ever seen as a girls car is a Nissan Figaro. I dont think I have ever met a single person who has ever even suggested that a Civic is a girls car...

Greyfoot wrote: »
    had one of them civics but in sedan with high mileage a rusty spot front strut silly back box, she was great, bought it for 700 sold on for a 17" laptop and some cash my way, that 1300 is mad money for it. Best of all she gets 6l/100km all day long and corners good depending on tyre choice

Hatchback Civics always sold for bigger money than the saloon model. If those cars are properly clean then €1300 is about right (I would have said anything up to €1500 or maybe even a bit higher for a good clean mid to late 90s hatchback Civic is not beyond the realms of possibility).

djimi wrote: »
    Do you feel the same about all hatchbacks?

The only car that I have ever seen as a girls car is a Nissan Figaro. I dont think I have ever met a single person who has ever even suggested that a Civic is a girls car...

No, not at all, just the roundy shape ones (civic, micra, golf, A3 etc), as said everyone I know that drove a civic was female bar one - coincidence maybe.

Know 2 males driving those old Civics, one driving A3 and male and female driving Golfs. None of these is a hairdresser car. Far from it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I'd say so.

Know 2 males driving those old Civics, one driving A3 and male and female driving Golfs. None of these is a hairdresser car. Far from it really.

I don't recall ever describing them as a hairdresser car :confused:

But seriously, hardly even close to what could be described as a 'lad's' car either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'd call the A3 a hairdressers car. I know of two of them who had one/have one :)

I don't recall ever describing them as a hairdresser car :confused:

But seriously, hardly even close to what could be described as a 'lad's' car either.

poll added to solve this once and for all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Sure, buy a Civic and go cruisin kiiid!

And enjoy getting pulled over by bored guards all night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yore ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

No way are any of them girlie car's in fairness a guy here called seweryn has a beautiful one.

Just to clarify, they were girls who happened to be hairdressers, never meant to infer it was a hairdresser's car.

It is like saying they happened to be girls but never meant to say it was a girl's car.
    The poll results are live now anyway.

I wouldn't call civic or golfs a female car. I would call a micra or 206 a female car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Micra,
    Ford Ka,
    Figaro,
    Ford fiesta,
    Audi TT
    Mini

^ These are all girls cars......Civic no, just no.

Micra,
    Ford Ka,
    Figaro,
    Ford fiesta,
    Audi A4,
    Mini

Audi A4???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Audi A4???

Nicely spotted, I meant TT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Micra,
    Ford Ka,
    Figaro,
    Ford fiesta,
    Audi A4,
    Mini

Okay, you got me. I used to be a woman :pac:

OT, I'd happily drive a Civic. Girly car my hairy arse. Golfs are not specifically a girls car either

Now a Colt CZC/ VW EOS/ Micra convertable etc some oddbox like that.... That's a girly car to me

Micra,
    Ford Ka,
    Figaro,
    Ford fiesta,
    Audi TT
    Mini

Is an Audi TT more girly than a Civic??? Really, would've classed the styling in a similar vein, roundy, non threatening.

I understand it's a generalization and it's purely based on looks but I don't see how it either could be classed as a lads car in the same way an Evo or WRX would be. I drive a golf, happily too, just don't consider it ladish in any way whatsoever.

Fiesta would be classed as neutered IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Even Civic is a Girls car now..... ****. I better hide so!

Is an Audi TT more girly than a Civic??? Really, would've classed the styling in a similar vein, roundy, non threatening.

I understand it's a generalization and it's purely based on looks but I don't see how it either could be classed as a lads car in the same way an Evo or WRX would be. I drive a golf, happily too, just don't consider it ladish in any way whatsoever.

Fiesta would be classed as neutered IMO.

Tbh its a ridiculous debate either way. There is no such things as a girls car or a lads car; I know plenty of lads who drive Minis, Beetles etc, and I know plenty of girls who drive Type Rs, Skylines, Evos etc. Okay perhaps a Beetle that is painted red with black ladybird spots, or a Mini with eyelashes over the headlamps might fall into the category of a "girls car", but honestly apart from that who actually cares?

The only reason I even mentioned the Figaro above is because I have quite literally never seen a bloke driving one, or show even a passing interest in owning one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Youzername

Interslice wrote: »
    clean and original ones are rare enough. Over a years NCT on both too.

How do they have over a years NCT?

I've only recently NCT'd my (newer) car and already I've less than a year...?:confused:

Youzername wrote: »
    How do they have over a years NCT?

I've only recently NCT'd my (newer) car and already I've less than a year...?:confused:

You can do it up to 3 months early.