Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish woman becomes star of Australia's Lingerie Football League

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

The flag is green, white and orange not 'green, white and gold'

I would like to be in that changing room after a game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

An Irishman is the CEO of British Airways. So fcuking what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

She's f*cking gorgeous!!!!

Edit- in before the 'irish birds are ugly' brigade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Even lingerie cant make American gridiron look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Get a load of these ladies.
    hopefully they do a tour of Europe sometime.

AN Irish woman has become the rising star of Australian ladies football.
    The Legends Football League, formerly known as the Lingerie Football League, has become increasingly popular in recent years.
    And its rising star is a Cork native - Linda Holland.
    Linda moved to Perth in 2009 and is now the defensive back for the Western Australia Angels.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/video-irish-woman-becomes-star-of-australias-lingerie-football-league-30007193.html

It's Australia's largest Lingerie Football League, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

After watching the NFL TV coverage I never thought the game could be more degraded.

I guess the Aussies making the girls play with their tits out has taken the prize.

Next up, nude baseball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

MadsL wrote: »
    After watching the NFL TV coverage I never thought the game could be more degraded.

I guess the Aussies making the girls play with their tits out has taken the prize.

Next up, nude baseball.

Pretty sure they have this in the US too. In fact, i'm very sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭buyer95

Doesn't Linda have a lovely bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

*Generic witty, borderline sexist pun*

A Lingerie League? Never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Doing riverdance in the end zone during a lingerie football game. Yeah she's an "athlete" we can all be proud of all right....

A Lingerie League? Never heard of it.

http://www.lflus.com/

Mind blown.

I clearly have never watched a game in a Hooters :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

that video is awful. 'instantly making her one of the most recognisable faces in ireland..'?

no one from cork has noticed that the guy called it a small town though, there'll be war when they hear that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

that video is awful. 'instantly making her one of the most recognisable faces in ireland..'?

She calls it AIR-AH.
    Puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

buyer95 wrote: »
    Doesn't Linda have a lovely bottom.

They all have lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A bit degrading no? I can imaghine what Nora Casey on Newstalk would think of this. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

I guess the Aussies making the girls play with their tits outhas taken the prize.

Next up, nude baseball.
    I didn't realise the Aussies were putting a gun to the girls heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

no one from cork has noticed that the guy called it a small town though, there'll be war when they hear that!

I did. Small town me arse. Stony beaches? We've plenty of sandy ones.

Most well known sports person. Feck off. Guy in the video hasnt a clue.

frimpong wrote: »
    I didn't realise the Aussies were putting a gun to the girls heads.

That's the American league :) Australia banned guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

"Irish by birth, Irish by the grace of God.”

I cringed slightly when I read that.

Plus she has it slighty arseways anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

So its a Corkonian Oompa Lumpa with her T&A hanging out playing American Football in Austraila?

Have I got that right??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

God she talks complete and utter ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭Raoul

Son0vagun wrote: »
    God she talks complete and utter ****e!

To be fair, she is only advertising herself, her team and the game. So what if she is talking crap.

I think the American one has gone past just being about women in lingerie and is meant to be a fairly decent standard for womens football.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Love to play in Ireland? Freeze the tits off them! Would watch. :-)

Here's the real athletes...full contact women's American Football.

http://www.iwflsports.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

More water.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Any of ye guys ever seen roller derby in the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Calibos wrote: »
    So its a Corkonian Oompa Lumpa with her T&A hanging out playing American Football in Austraila?

Have I got that right??

she is fairly savage and in great nick , probably earning a few quid doing it.
    whats your grief?

you sound pathetic tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

I am glad she shaves now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I don't know whether to laugh or cry. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

Shes no Sonia o Sullivan. Oh wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

If people want to watch that or participate in it it's their decision. But for me personally, I wouldn't be seen dead at an event like that. If I want to watch sport I'll watch sport, and if I want to watch semi naked women there are easy ways of doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The actual women's league in Australia have much better looking and less desperate players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

One of the most recognisable faces in Ireland? Never heard of her. That video is some load of ****. Also "green white and gold" **** off you moron.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Thank you Australia for taking so many Irish nutjobs off our hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Some bird, she'd make bits of me and I'd let her!

Fair play to her she managed to avoid banging on about being from Cork like most of them seem to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Next up, nude baseball.

Don't know about baseball but there is a nude basketball league. Lots of double-dribbling apparently. Mostly by the fans.

God that's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

So Australia's Lingerie Football League play American football and not Australian rule football?
    Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

I've been to see it once. Its rubbish; cant catch, cant pass.

the game I was at they didnt even have a physio for the girls. It was a water and sponge job.

The girls are all in decent shape though, fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

orangesoda wrote: »
    The flag is green, white and orange not 'green, white and gold'

I would like to be in that changing room after a game

I stopped watching after she described the tricolour as green white and gold.
    Dizzy bint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

when I saw her pic there I thought it was KPMG girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Could you pack more cringe into a few minutes :eek: Had to turn it off, her voice goes through you, might return to it later and watch it with the sound turned off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

She has a bit of a rant in the comments though:
    Wow!!! The cheek of some people. I am absolutely disgusted at all you ignorant faceless troll haters out there. To think that there are people like you scouring the net to have a dig at people who are doing something with their life, well it just makes me sick!!

The ladies playing this sport (YES it IS a sport) are humans too. How dare you criticize me & all the other LFL Athletes around the world for accepting a challenge, a physical & mental one at that, and doing something that we now love, just because it is different to 'the norm'. Do you see my having a go at you for doing something you love? No!!! Why? Because I have respect for others and the people of Ireland, even all you haters sitting behind the cover of your keyboards typing the BS hate below. Everyone has the right to do what they want with their life, and right now, I choose this. I am not blind, I can see what you are writing, I'm Irish, I read papers at home & watch the news, and seeing the negative comments, well it just saddens me that you have such a lack of respect for others.

You take the piss out of me. Why? Because you are jealous that I am doing something with my life? Because I'm having fun in the process? Because I am sharing the love of Ireland with anyone that will listen? Because I'm proud to represent Ireland. WOW!!! Right now a lot of people are listening and all you want to do is give me abuse about it. Thanks guys, thanks very much for some fellow countrymen support.

To answer some of your questions. No, I do not get paid to play this sport, not one cent, however the LFL Australia is televised nationally for the playing season on Australian TV channel 7mate. Yes imagine that, a female sport getting televised on a national TV channel!!! Yes, it does happen & it should be happening. As for the "For the way she looks" comment - seriously, I don't look like that all the time.. I have fake tan, make up on & my hair done in curls in that clip.. anyone can look good when they are done'd know that's far from the case. WOW, again, such ignorance!! I train 6 days a week, hard, and I have done so for the last 15 months.. outside of my 40hr full time working week, just like the GAA & amateur athletes of Ireland. I eat healthy & drink rarely, and I am far from skeletal. I need to be able to recover from my training sessions properly so I can perform at training & on the field.. again, just like the men & ladies inter country teams at home, so we each look after our own diets I have sacrificed a lot of time with family & friends to do this, but hey, guess what, I'm doing something I love with my life, I'm fit & healthy and in a positive place, and I'm having fun doing it. Why would I do something I hate, why can I not have fun, why can I not share the love I have for my home land of Ireland with people over here as well as at home. I just don't get the need for negativity in some of you.

Oh & yeah, so the Irish flag isn't Green, White & Orange? Are you sure?? It looks like orange to me, so why can I not make a bandanna that looks just like the flags we have all grown up looking at. I made a green, white & gold flag, so what.. you still know where I'm from don't you? I am embracing my Irishness.. something we are encouraged to do. Come hell or high water I was wearing Irish colours, and wearing them with pride.. just go with it for feck sake!!

When you live away from home you appreciate the little things about home even more. The green fields, the amazing characters of the local village, the view, the people, the AMAZING people of Ireland... yes the home soil & everything Irish that you all seem to be forgetting about. I for one am embracing my Irishness head on... yeah I have fire in my belly.. and I;m proud of it... you have to to play a sport like this, and who cares if I sound 'typically Irish' - I AM IRISH!!!!! You all need to stop being so negative, seriously, be positive, be grateful for what you have. If you don't like your life, well then get up off your arse & change it, or at least give it a go. Stop giving other people **** because they are doing something they want to do with their life.

You have each insulted me no end & I am absolutely disgusted with anyone who will throw hate at me for this. I am one of your own. Thankfully, some of you do have nice things to say, so thank you!! I also have some AMAZING friends who do support me on this venture, both here & in many many parts of Ireland, and I also have a very supportive family. So haters, stop living in yesterday, grow up & just accept me & this sport for what it is. Hard hitting, 7 on 7 tackle american football. Look beyond the uniform. If you don't like it or me, then keep your opinion to yourself. Thank you!!!
    from here

#TeamLinda.......she'll kick your ass with words......many, many, many words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Can I ask a question? What is she actually doing wrong ? Nothing as far as I can see. She's an athlete and she's Irish. She loves Ireland would you prefer if she said she didn't love it? Irish begrudgry in all it's glory ;)

I must admit I hadn't heard of her until now. But it beats the image of the drunken Irish down under, now that's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

lukesmom wrote: »
    Can I ask a question? What is she actually doing wrong ?

Well she's calling Ireland Air ah for a start. As pointed out by a previous poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Any of ye guys ever seen roller derby in the states.

Shur haven't I seen it played in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Well she's calling Ireland Air ah for a start. As pointed out by a previous poster.

So what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭Raoul

lukesmom wrote: »
    So what?
    Are you not mortified that you have someone out in Australia saying this? :o

No idea why people would belittle her. He rant is mostly right and fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Raoul wrote: »
    Are you not mortified that you have someone out in Australia saying this? :o

all the Irish speaking native Australians are laughing at us alright...