Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why you're happy to be single Valentines Day/How much are you spending if you''re not

• 12-02-2014 6:55pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

$$$ saved.

Not having to Google "How much are a dozen red roses?" and getting a shock.

Not having to pay silly money in a resteraunt that have added so many tables the patrons will be 2 inches away from a mass orgy.

What reasons are you happy to be single on Valentines Day?

How much are you spending on your partner if you''re not?

How much are you spending on your partner on Valentines day? 134 votes

Nothing, we've both agreed to not get each other anything
    0% 0 votes
    € 10
    38% 51 votes
    € 20
    5% 7 votes
    € 30
    3% 5 votes
    € 40
    9% 13 votes
    € 50
    5% 8 votes
    € 75
    8% 12 votes
    € 100
    5% 8 votes
    € 150
    6% 9 votes
    € 200
    2% 3 votes
    € 250
    2% 4 votes
    € 300
    0% 1 vote
    € 350
    0% 1 vote
    More than €350!
    0% 1 vote
    Nothing: Im single!
    8% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

She'll get a nice card, a bouquet and we'll go cinema or head off for a day somewhere. Probably around 50quid, cant beat Hallmark day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    $$$ saved.

Not having to Google "How much are a dozen red roses?" and getting a shock.

Not having to pay silly money in a resteraunt that have added so many tables the patrons will be 2 inches away from a mass orgy.

What reasons are you happy to be single on Valentines Day?

How much are you spending on your partner if you''re not?

I'm married and I have all that. We don't do Valentines Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Card and a new purse.

That all she wants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Poll added

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I have a table booked for me and the missus
    It won't end well though
    She's crap at snooker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I don't do Valentine's day. The OH feels the same, thankfully. We'll probably spend the evening watching a violent action/thriller and sip some whiskey, like most Friday nights in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Everyone knows the secret to a cheap valentines day is dump them on the 13 th of Feb and get back with them on the 15th. It saves you buying the usual ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I've always been a bit on the fence when it comes to Valentines..... Like to mark it in some way, but its the one night I don't like to go out for dinner... Its too fake or something...
    I got himself a voucher for a hot towel shave and a haircut and I'll make him a wee hamper with his fave munchies, a DVD, a bottle of beer, just something small and silly. I'll either cook dinner on Friday or get a take out just depending on if I have to work or not... I think I might make him a cake tomorrow if I'm off.... I also got one of those massage candles and some nice lingerie but that's as much for me as for him.
    If he bought me flowers of any type I'd be annoyed at him, I know he can't afford it and I wouldn't appreciate it the way some people would, if I had my own place I reckon I'd appreciate them more. If I get a nice card and something with a bit of thought behind it I'd be delighted no matter the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

We don't really do Valentine's Day. Plus we are working opposite shifts so won't see each other really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

hmmm give us all this money for our products as we all know money proves you love someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I'll bring her to the darts. She'll love the darts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

only if she agrees to some violent anal on steak and blow job day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Best dogging night of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Because I can have a Pot Noodle and a **** in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

a dozen roses are like a fiver in lidl

phasers wrote: »

Yes.

But they're from Lidl ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

only if she agrees to some violent anal on steak and blow job day

Do you put the inevitable result of anal over your steak?

• Site Banned Posts: 8 winter_swimmer

ive arranged for flowers and a card to be delivered to her place of work , she may not like it , were not going out that long but if a woman is annoyed by a romantic gesture , their not a " keeper " IMO

phasers wrote: »

have you ever smelled flowers from a supermarket , their is no rose smell off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

my missus told me not to waste my money on Valentines Day...prefers flowers on days she isn't supposed to expect them. that type of logic deserves great respect......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I got her a card and flowers. I also got a voucher for a meal from GroupOn but I cant use it on Valentines weekend so we are going out tomorrow night instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Tomorrow is my favourite night of the year. Desperation Day. A night when women who don't have dates for Valentine's go out to score.

Desperation Day. A magical night, when a 10 has the self esteem of a 4, and the depraved enthusiasm of a 2

Tomorrow is my favourite night of the year. Desperation Day. A night when women who don't have dates for Valentine's go out to score.

Desperation Day. A magical night, when a 10 has the self esteem of a 4, and the depraved enthusiasm of a 2

captain , my captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I'm getting crossfit classes. I dunno how much they cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

She's in a different country, so eh... I would say I'll be spending the price of a text message, but I've free texts :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Only in a relationship officially since this evening so he'll be getting a card that says "err mer gerd yer mer boyfrriiiend". Lucky him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I bought her an Easter egg. She can have half now and half for Easter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Yes.

But they're from Lidl ;)
    Once I gave a girl a bouquet of roses I found in Tesco for 1.50, with the marked down sticker and all still on them, just for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I just made a jewelry box for herself putting the finishing touches now. Its much better than store bought because i made and know its much better. I always tell her not to bother with me but she usually gets me drugs or a game depending on her mood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Valentine's only means something to me in the early stages of a relationship - it's lovely then! :)

In a long-term relationship or single, though, I'm completely indifferent to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've spent €560 today on Valentine's gifts.

For myself. I'm single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Its the one night of the year when ya can make women feel like Cleopatra.....a queen.......

Queen of denial........ :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

We're getting married in May so we said we wouldn't get each other anything, but then again it's our first Valentine's Day together so I'm not sure if I should get him something small or not!

You set a wedding date before even spending a valentines day together?

Ok.

So which crazy b@stards clicked on the "More than €350" option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Won't be spending a six pence as i don't have a girlfriend.
    Ironically i'm actually listening to Bullet For My Valentine now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

YES. YES. I'm going out tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

You set a wedding date before even spending a valentines day together?

Is it much different to the other days? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't like Valentine's Day. Himself loves it. But, he's broke so I've convinced him not to get me anything except a card. I'm not planning on doing much for it, but since he's expecting nothing, I'm gonna surprise him by making him his favourite cake, in a heart shape, and getting him a game for his ps4 and a bottle of his favourite wine. :)

mauzo! wrote: »
    Is it much different to the other days? :confused:

No not at all was just wondering about a wedding date without even being together a year but, as long as you're happy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

a resteraunt that have added so many tables the patrons will be 2 inches away from a mass orgy

I'd pay for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Do you put the inevitable result of anal over your steak?

Yeah. Tomato ketchup

I'd pay for that

Here you go

www.irishswingersclub.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

59 single people here, why don't we meet up and ride eachother senseless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

orangesoda wrote: »
    59 single people here, why don't we meet up and ride eachother senseless?
    I thought that was the purpose of this thread! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

its my first valentines since going out with boyfriend that we won't be together for the day due to him having to do a family thing.....usually we do nothing, watch a DVD and get a take away.....were not bothered usually.....but this year knowing we are apart for the day....i have a sudden anger towards all the valentine ****e and cant wait till its over!

I thought that was the purpose of this thread! :pac:

Damn.

Foiled again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My boyfriend lives on the other side of the world so no presents. :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TheDriver wrote: »
    my missus told me not to waste my money on Valentines Day...prefers flowers on days she isn't supposed to expect them. that type of logic deserves great respect......

And some unexpected flowers in a couple of weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭ElecKtrA

I'm single and content. However, if I was in a relationship I wouldn't believe in giving anything to the other half....simply because Valentine's Day is a marketing ploy......if you really love someone then you should express your love everyday and that doesn't mean being materialistic...affection can be expressed in the simplest uncomplicated ways :-)