Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I use your phone? I'm a nun!

• 12-02-2014 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Was asked on train this afternoon by a nun could she use my phone. She kept repeating "I'm a nun, and showing me her cross". Now I've let strangers use my phone before including a nun but it was her repetition of "I'm a nun" and shoving her cross in my face that made me say no.

Was I right or wrong? And what would you have done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Tell her to pray to God and get him to relay the message to whoever it is she needs to contact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

You're right. She'll only make a habit of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

You were right. Now you have Our Lady's number in your phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I'd have no problem allowing anyone to use my phone if they needed to. Their occupation wouldn't affect my decision!

Why did you have a problem with her borrowing your phone just because she was a nun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A quick pop quiz required to establish credentials

"what order are you in?"

"What was Saint Theresa's real name?"

"Is john waters a homophobe?"

then tell her you've no credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I'd have no problem allowing anyone to use my phone if they needed to. Their occupation wouldn't affect my decision!

Why did you have a problem with her borrowing your phone just because she was a nun?

Because she was using it as a crux not that she was one. Did you read the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Or when she flashes the oul cross just flinch, cover your face with your arm and hiss loudly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Correct response: "Nun!!! Reverse!! Reverse!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

I haven't seen a nun in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bada_bing

that would piss me off too, someone saying that they're a nun and showing their cross as they assume that anyone would automatically defer to them just cos they're part of the church. I would have no problem if a nun came up to asked me to use my phone so long as she doesn't go off spouting 'i'm a nun, here's my cross!!!'

Because she was using it as a crux not that she was one. Did you read the OP?

Yes I did, hence my reply.

What does it matter that she mentioned she was a nun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How far could she get on a train?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Bambi wrote: »
    Or when she flashes the oul cross just flinch, cover your face with your arm and hiss loudly

...while exclaiming "The Nazarene Cannot Command Me!!!!!!!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Iomega Man

In my opinion you were wrong.
    I would have let the woman use my phone. You really don't know what her reasons were for wanting to use it.
    I certainly wouldn't have deprived her of the use of it only to come on to a forum to boast the fact...
    I would have let her just as I would any person in need and thats it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

You could have told her you were regularly beaten by one at school and to f**k right off...

Of course I'm not as nice as everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You could have told her you were regularly beaten by one at school and to f**k right off...

Of course I'm not as nice as everyone else.

It's nicer than "Wheres your god now?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

So, I only need to buy and display a crucifix to make free calls? Right, where's that Argos catalogue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

You should take it off vibrate mode before giving it to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

efb wrote: »
    Was asked on train this afternoon by a nun could she use my phone. She kept repeating "I'm a nun, and showing me her cross". Now I've let strangers use my phone before including a nun but it was her repetition of "I'm a nun" and shoving her cross in my face that made me say no.

For something like this I think your gut reaction is probably something you should go with.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Iomega Man wrote: »
    In my opinion you were wrong.
    I would have let the woman use my phone. You really don't know what her reasons were for wanting to use it.
    I certainly wouldn't have deprived her of the use of it only to come on to a forum to boast the fact...
    I would have let her just as I would any person in need and thats it.....

If the justification for asking for use of the phone was something about I'm out of money, I'm on a different train from expected can I make a call to arrange for someone to pick me up at a different time or similar such nonsense then that would be reasonable. She could possibly then back up the reason for having left unprepared with the bit about not having any pockets for small change in her nun costume.

If the justification for wanting use of the phone is because she a nun then she can get lost. She seemingly didn't give any other reason for wanting use of the phone except for because she was a nun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

chances of me letting her use my phone?

Nun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Nodin wrote: »
    It's nicer than "Wheres your god now?"

Takes a bit of practice to do that properly:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bEpShDPhFt8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Iomega Man

robinph wrote: »
    If the justification for asking for use of the phone was something about I'm out of money, I'm on a different train from expected can I make a call to arrange for someone to pick me up at a different time or similar such nonsense then that would be reasonable. She could possibly then back up the reason for having left unprepared with the bit about not having any pockets for small change in her nun costume.

If the justification for wanting use of the phone is because she a nun then she can get lost. She seemingly didn't give any other reason for wanting use of the phone except for because she was a nun.

OP never asked so we'll never know.
    And as for the claim that he/she loaned their phone to a nun in the past, well we'll never know that either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

And as for the claim that he/she loaned their phone to a nun in the past, well we'll never know that either.

In that case, seeing as you don't seem to require much justification to hand over your property to a stranger...

Can I borrow your phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Are you calling me a liar? I have.

As I said, it was the "I'm a nun", a flashing her bling crucifix that annoyed me.

I suggested she ask the train staff, she did, she made her call, all happy.

Also, I wasn't boasting.

Yes I did, hence my reply.

What does it matter that she mentioned she was a nun?

see bold text

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

She would have taken the parts she wanted to sell on and denied it was her responsiblity, you allowed her to take the phone so its your on fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭wadefuq

Bambi wrote: »
    A quick pop quiz required to establish credentials

"what order are you in?"

"What was Saint Theresa's real name?"

"Is john waters a homophobe?"

then tell her you've no credit

They would all be ecumenical matters!!!

see bold text

Yeah, like I said, I read the OP alright. Just bemused as to why that would annoy anyone to the point of refusing the use of the phone to someone in need.

You asked what we would have done and were you right, so I just replied accordingly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Did you spot the hidden cameras OP? :pac:

Yeah, like I said, I read the OP alright. Just bemused as to why that would annoy anyone to the point of refusing the use of the phone to someone in need.

You asked what we would have done and were you right, so I just replied accordingly!

Was she in need?

She just asked to use a phone and gave the justification of that as because she's a nun. Being a nun does not make you need the use of someone else's phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Nodin wrote: »
    ...while exclaiming "The Nazarene Cannot Command Me!!!!!!!!!!"

The Power of Christ compels thee!! The Power of Christ compels thee!!

I proffered her an alternative

Was she in need?

She just asked to use a phone and gave the justification of that as because she's a nun. Being a nun does not make you need the use of someone else's phone.

Clearly she was in need, or she wouldn't have asked in the first place.

If she was rude and aggressive, demanding the phone, then grand, I'd be rude back and refuse, but it seems her only faux pas was mentioning she was a nun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭macplato

One thing I don't understand is - why are you asking us if you were right or wrong? You were neither right nor wrong, you did what you wanted and that's that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Just let her use it. She was probably using her nun excuse to reassure she's not some dodgy auld one about to rob your phone.

Off to hell you go.

Why did she have to keep repeating herself? Were you just looking at her blankly not answering her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

My stepdad has a relation who is a nun, I've never met her in my life. Anyway, my mam and my stepdad were telling her that I work in Dublin so she asked them to ask me to email her so we could be 'friends'. I think this is really really weird and I didn't email her. Why couldn't she contact me herself? I was also told to go and visit her. I responded with 'Why, I don't even know her and I don't want to visit her?'. The answer I got was 'She's a nun, don't be so stubborn, go and send her an email, she wants to meet you'. Well if she wanted to meet me so fecking badly, she could contact me herself.

I wouldn't have given her the phone either OP, you don't get special privileges just because you're a nun. You wouldn't say to someone 'can I borrow your phone, I'm an accountant?'.

If she was rude and aggressive, demanding the phone, then grand, I'd be rude back and refuse, but it seems her only faux pas was mentioning she was a nun.

repeatedly, and showing the cross like it was a access badge

macplato wrote: »
    One thing I don't understand is - why are you asking us if you were right or wrong? You were neither right nor wrong, you did what you wanted and that's that.

I felt unsure so I asked boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

P_1 wrote: »
    Did you spot the hidden cameras OP? :pac:

wouldn't be surprised..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Have seen nothing suggested from the interaction with the OP that this person was in need.

She wanted use of the phone, but there is nothing to say that she was in need of use of the phone.

repeatedly, and showing the cross like it was a access badge

She was just trying to reassure you that being a nun she was supposedly trustworthy and wouldn't rob your phone. Pointing to the cross, in her mind she was pointing out her values. Though being a nun, in this country she represents the opposite values unfortunately. Still though, she was a person in need and you chose not to help her, which is your right, but would it really harm you to give her the use of your phone? What would be so bad about it?

Have seen nothing suggested from the interaction with the OP that this person was in need.

She wanted use of the phone, but there is nothing to say that she was in need of use of the phone.

If she wasn't in need, she wouldn't ask, would she?

... Still though, she was a person in need ...

How was she in need?

She was just a person who desired something that she didn't have. I'm sure there would be a commandment against that sort of sinful thought as well.

She was just trying to reassure you that being a nun she was supposedly trustworthy and wouldn't rob your phone. Pointing to the cross, in her mind she was pointing out her values. Though being a nun, in this country she represents the opposite values unfortunately. Still though, she was a person in need and you chose not to help her, which is your right, but would it really harm you to give her the use of your phone? What would be so bad about it?

I offered an alternative. If she was so in need there were pay phones on the concouse, the train hadn't departed.

As I said, OP, you had the right to do what you did. But why though? Why not do her a favour? Is it just because she was a nun? If it was anyone else, would you lend them your phone? Just trying to understand your motives here.

Given the tone of the people that replied, I'm at ease with my decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

If she wasn't in need, she wouldn't ask, would she?

There was no need to say 'I'm a nun, therefore, give me your phone'. Like I said before, you wouldn't go up to someone and say 'Can I use your phone, trust me I'm a doctor I'm a zoologist?

Generally, if you ask for a loan of a stranger's phone, it's in order to make a phone call that cant wait until you can access another phone. It was important enough that she had to ask a train employee instead.