Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New car time

• 11-02-2014 1:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭

Afternoon all,
    Myself and the good lady are considering a change of wheels.
    As I have mentioned here previously, we currently drive a '05 Lancer 1.6.
    Have it 3 years now. Great little car. Currently 101k miles on the clock.

So I've convinced her we don't need a diesel, this took a while! I've also convinced her an auto is a nice option.
    We took a test drive in a 2006 V70 estate last weekend, purely to get a feel for a "bigger car" and what an auto is like. Thankfully she was happy on both counts.
    We do 10k miles per annum.
    I will be doing a small bit with work, but mileage will more than cover the fuel so not to bothered about that efficiency on them trips.

So our criteria is;
    Budget; Max €8k
    Fuel; Preferably Petrol
    Age; Preferably 2008 and up. Happy to consider 2007.
    Engine; Hopefully no bigger than 2.0. May consider up to 2.2.
    Body; Preferably an estate. Not a deal breaker though
    Transmission; Don't mind. Like the idea of an auto.
    Mileage; Preferably less than 100k. Will consider all options depending on history etc.

Leather would be a big bonus.!

My preference at the moment is for an Estate Accord, V70 or a nicely speced out Mondeo. Also like the idea of a C180 estate. Don't think we will get a 5 series under my criteria.

If any of you can suggest any options or throw the cat among the pigeons and suggest an alternative I would really appreciate it.

I had myself convinced that buying a big petrol would equate to lots of choice and bang for my buck.. but there is not actually that many petrols out there..!

Sorry for the long post.
    TLDR; Suggest a 2.0 petrol car. 2007/2008. €8k. Estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Be almost impossible to get a Mondeo 2.0 petrol estate anywhere in this country. You'd have to look at importing if that's the car you would want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭W123-80's

bazz26 wrote: »

Nice alternative. I'm not overly impressed with the interior of them SAAB's though if I'm being honest.
    What are they like reliability wise?

Be almost to get a Mondeo 2.0 petrol estate anywhere in this country. You'd have to look at importing if that's the car you would want.

I know.!
    It's only since I actually started looking I've realised diesels out number petrols by more than two to one I'd say.
    I suppose the clammer for daysul over the last 5/6 years is the reason for that.
    I'm the only person in my extended family, circle of friends that is currently driving a petrol bigger than 1.4. The sheer disbelief I am being met with when I explain I am hoping to pick up a 2.0 ltr petrol is amusing.!
    My Father in Law bought himself an '07 Passat diesel a year ago. Paid big bucks for it in a small garage. He does about 6/7k miles per annum.!
    All short trips.
    Sorry, I'm on a rant now.:o

That 9-5 was designed in the mid 1990s and didn't change much since then so the interior probably shows it's age. The only thing I read about reliability is with oil sludge issues on the petrol models. Don't know the specifics but it's worth googling about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Mondeo Titanium X?

Exactly what I was thinking.:)
    Thin on the ground though.

Especially in estate form.

Any thoughts on this?
    It's a bit of a trek for me, but it's ticking lots of boxes.
    It it was estate it was a winner.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-titanium-x/6185772

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Mandzhalas

Subaru legacy

Mandzhalas wrote: »
    Subaru legacy

Def on the radar.
    Tax high on them though. Think some of the 2008's come in at 1200 under the emissions tax.
    Don't mind old fashioned 2ltr tax, but at that price I'd be as well buy myself a 525 or something similar.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

W123-80's wrote: »
    Any thoughts on this?

My father had an identical car but it was a hatch and 2008. He sold that over a year ago to my uncle for 8500, who then sold it late alst year for around 8k again. It was similar mileage to that one too.

Car was reliable, extremely comfotable and nice to drive. The engine is a old school and not that powerful (the diesel is a much nicer car to drive than it), it's not that economical around town but even I was able to crack 40mpg over a tank when doing a long distance spin. I think the asking price is a bit high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Mazda 6 Estate?

Same problem as Mondeo though, like goldust in this country.

Any thoughts on this?

Price is a bit saucy to me given it is 7 years old and not hugely popular.

Ya, I was thinking circa 7k would be a fairer price, consider there won't be massive demand for the petrol.
    Nice bus though.
    Thanks for the feedback.
    Any other suggestions welcomed..
    Any thoughts on importing with my criteria and budget, I'm reluctant as I don't think my budget justifies a trip to the UK..??

I don't think you will save money by importing a petrol car because they are not popular here so they tend to be cheaper. However over in the UK you will have a better choice and decent spec.

Honda Accord:

media?xwm=y&id=00aee001-16a3-4acf-922a-e00a25db0fe4&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Honda/Accord/2.0-EXECUTIVE/37713874497457800/

media?xwm=y&id=15178646&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Honda/Accord/2.0-EXECUTIVE/201403221077545/

Subaru Legacy:
    media?xwm=y&id=5e03361c-0089-4a82-91e8-ac430623481e&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Subaru/Legacy/2.0-R.....NCT/39713905713523690/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

One of the main reasons for going for petrol is for less maintenance and cheaper capital cost to buy I presume ?

Also importing petrol is crazy inefficient vrt wise, and they make good money in the uk.

So unless you find a cheap or good value petrol car your plan is potentially flawed, so in this case is diesel completely ruled out ?
    There are some good value diesel cars with low tax becoming plentiful so don't ingnore them out of spite or to just go against the grain and be different.

However you might pick up a petrol legacy cheap, but they are alcoholics.

Good luck
    Ps you get a great trade in allowance on your lancer against a 150 bhp diesel one if you can find a secondhand one in a Mitsubishi dealer.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/subaru-legacy-2-0r-sportwagon/6422470

Bigus wrote: »
    One of the main reasons for going for petrol is for less maintenance and cheaper capital cost to buy I presume ?

Also importing petrol is crazy inefficient vrt wise, and they make good money in the uk.

So unless you find a cheap or good value petrol car your plan is potentially flawed, so in this case is diesel completely ruled out ?
    There are some good value diesel cars with low tax becoming plentiful so don't ingnore them out of spite or to just go against the grain and be different.

However you might pick up a petrol legacy cheap, but they are alcoholics.

Good luck
    Ps you get a great trade in allowance on your lancer against a 150 bhp diesel one if you can find a secondhand one in a Mitsubishi dealer.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/subaru-legacy-2-0r-sportwagon/6422470

Yes, My main motivation for petrol is the value in them when compared to their diesel equivalent, followed by simpler maintenance. Diesel is def not ruled out, I'm open to any options. I just think our budget and current mileage suits a petrol.

Its interesting you say I'd get a decent trade in a mitsubishi dealership. Would that be against a newer diesel lancer.?
    I hadn't considered this, but would definitely consider it if the price was right.
    Is there any particular reason you think I'd get a decent trade on my model.?
    Thanks for your input.
    Apologies if this reads badly, I'm on my phone.

Yes, My main motivation for petrol is the value in them when compared to their diesel equivalent, followed by simpler maintenance. Diesel is def not ruled out, I'm open to any options. I just think our budget and current mileage suits a petrol.

Its interesting you say I'd get a decent trade in a mitsubishi dealership. Would that be against a newer diesel lancer.?
    I hadn't considered this, but would definitely consider it if the price was right.
    Is there any particular reason you think I'd get a decent trade on my model.?
    Thanks for your input.
    Apologies if this reads badly, I'm on my phone.

Yes because it's a Mitsubishi :D

Definitely worth checking out as trade in allowance can vary massively depending on a bit of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

That 9-5 was designed in the mid 1990s and didn't change much since then so the interior probably shows it's age. The only thing I read about reliability is with oil sludge issues on the petrol models. Don't know the specifics but it's worth googling about it.

Sludge issues were solved by the car posted in the second post here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I had one of those lancers until two years ago. When I went to trade it in nobody wanted it, I tried a number of different garages, two flat out refused to take it in and another offered a deal that was laughable. The car was clean and well maintained, I was very surprised to be honest. Their issue was that they would find it very difficult to sell on. Didn't try a Mitsubishi main dealer mind. Ended up selling it privately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The Saab 9-5 should be great value for money, just be sure you'd get one on the old tax system :D

Should be able to get an '07 and keep several grand of your budget in your pocket for a rainy day. The car will look much more expensive than it will cost ya. Also the car from sometime in '04 does NOT have any sludge issues
    Don't think we will get a 5 series under my criteria.

The way you phrase that makes me think that would be your ideal car? You might (just) get an '07 for your budget but not very many petrols around - Europe was already deep down into diesel mania at that stage. Also not too many estates around in this country. Safer option is to get an '06 with one of the older M54 petrol engines. Bullet proof and that straight six BMW goodness

Dark horse - W211 estate. Excellent built quality and reliability from MY06 onwards. Given your username, this should appeal to you? Easily more comfortable than any other car you would consider

unkel wrote: »
    The Saab 9-5 should be great value for money, just be sure you'd get one on the old tax system :D

Should be able to get an '07 and keep several grand of your budget in your pocket for a rainy day. The car will look much more expensive than it will cost ya. Also the car from sometime in '04 does NOT have any sludge issues

The way you phrase that makes me think that would be your ideal car? You might (just) get an '07 for your budget but not very many petrols around - Europe was already deep down into diesel mania at that stage. Also not too many estates around in this country. Safer option is to get an '06 with one of the older M54 petrol engines. Bullet proof and that straight six BMW goodness

Dark horse - W211 estate. Excellent built quality and reliability from MY06 onwards. Given your username, this should appeal to you? Easily more comfortable than any other car you would consider

Nice one Unkel. Hadn't considered the W211. Will be searching them today.
    I wouldn't say the 5 series is mu ideal car, but I do like the cut of their jibs.!

Saab 9-5:

Just had another look at that ad. I'd say that car can be had for a good bit less if you negotiate hard

Tax is out 2 months, NCT too. Car was probably traded in towards the end of last year, so sitting in the dealers for several months. Probably nobody interested in it

It's an early '08 car so on the old tax regime (€710 per year)

I'd bring a mechanic to have a look and if all clear show him €7k cash - take it or leave it there and then. Should buy it.

An awful lot of car for the money! Not modern, not a drivers car, but safe, sound and reliable.

Nice one Unkel. Hadn't considered the W211. Will be searching them today.

Last time I looked they were overpriced (couple grand more than comparable E60) but that was the guts of a year ago :)

Here's another 9-5, but I doubt the owner will get realistic enough about the price. Wouldn't pay a cent over €6k for it:

22935153.jpeg

Edit - I'm right. Ad is 3 months old but just renewed (again) a few hours ago. Dreamer!

I've decided purely from an aesthetics and personal choice point of view I don't want a SAAB. Not gone on the look of them inside or out.

I'm probably going to have to increase the old budget up to €9k, but I'm in no rush yet. I intend on spending the next couple of months looking until the right car comes up.

Obviously when the purchase is eventually made I'll update here with pics.
    Any other suggestions in the mean time are really appreciated.

I've decided purely from an aesthetics and personal choice point of view I don't want a SAAB. Not gone on the look of them inside or out.

That's understandable. The car was launched in '97, that's the guts of 20 years ago. And it wasn't even very modern (except for safety) back then :)

The Dame Edna facelift is hard to like too

They make more sense as bangernomics cars imho, especially in petrol form with the sludge issue sorted!

Upping your budget and taking a long view are wise tactics too. You're going to spend a lot of money on a car you're likely to keep for several years. Keep us posted on this thread though!

Another dark horse suggestion: Superb Kombi (new model from '10 onwards)

That's understandable. The car was launched in '97, that's the guts of 20 years ago. And it wasn't even very modern (except for safety) back then :)

The Dame Edna facelift is hard to like too

They make more sense as bangernomics cars imho, especially in petrol form with the sludge issue sorted!

Upping your budget and taking a long view are wise tactics too. You're going to spend a lot of money on a car you're likely to keep for several years. Keep us posted on this thread though!

Another dark horse suggestion: Superb Kombi (new model from '10 onwards)

Jaysus, the Superb Combi is ambitious is it not?
    I sat in a brand new one last weekend, very very nice.
    Can't see one coming in less than 10k though??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v50-1-8-se-leather-new-nct-2016/6432743

9 months tax, long nct, leather. Ticks a lot of boxes I think.

A bit ambitious alright to get one here, but might have a look at importing from the UK? Depreciation over there is still a lot higher than here in the first few years of a new car. And VRT is a lot lower than it used to be :)

Moneymaker wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v50-1-8-se-leather-new-nct-2016/6432743

By all means a nice car, but it is really just a Focus underneath. Not on the same par as any other car mentioned in this thread. €9k is strong money in my book for a 6 year old petrol car like that

Moneymaker wrote: »

I ruled them out early on. Whilst they are a nice looking car, they are basically a very compact estate. I am hoping for something with a bit more space.

Thanks though.

A bit ambitious alright to get one here, but might have a look at importing from the UK? Depreciation over there is still a lot higher than here in the first few years of a new car. And VRT is a lot lower than it used to be :)
    Are you talking about a Petrol or Diesel Combi?
    What are Superb Petrols like??
    Do they even exist??:pac:

The 1.8TSI petrol is probably the one to go for, I'd try and find a low mileage one with the 7-speed DSG box

The TSI engines are excellent. Plenty of poke yet frugal. Even the 1.4 would be more than adequate. Not sure about how well these (or any other small highly strung modern direct injection turbo petrol engines will hold up reliability wise)

The 1.8TSI petrol is probably the one to go for, I'd try and find a low mileage one with the 7-speed DSG box

The TSI engines are excellent. Plenty of poke yet frugal. Even the 1.4 would be more than adequate. Not sure about how well these (or any other small highly strung modern direct injection turbo petrol engines will hold up reliability wise)

Just had a quick search on autotrader cam up with the following two options.

Interestingly the VRT website does not have an option for an automatic Superb in petrol, so I can't get a VRT rate for either..!!
    If I select 4 door only option for fuel is Diesel.
    If I select 5 door only option for petrol is estate.

Superb 2008 - Nice low miles & nice interior
    http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201312180590121/sort/default/usedcars/postcode/sw193rq/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/page/2/fuel-type/petrol/make/skoda/model/superb/radius/1501?logcode=p

Superb 2010 - Big Miles but two years newer and new model
    http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201401311438121/sort/default/usedcars/postcode/sw193rq/onesearchad/used%2Cnearlynew%2Cnew/page/2/fuel-type/petrol/make/skoda/model/superb/radius/1501?logcode=p

Basing the VRT calculations on the estate, which is the only petrol option.
    The 2008 will cost €1426
    The 2010 will cost €2674

Could feasibly have the '08 for around €7500
    Could have the '10 for around €9500

Any thoughts?
    Obviously I won't dive at these, but they are certainly food for thought.

Out of those 2 I'd pick the '10. Like you say, 2 years younger, new model and only a little bit extra. The value of the '08 will fall like a brick in the next 2-3 years too (getting into bangernomics by then)

That said, go sit in and drive an E60. It cured my best mate, a lifelong Alfa Romeo fan, the other week :D

I ruled them out early on. Whilst they are a nice looking car, they are basically a very compact estate. I am hoping for something with a bit more space.

Thanks though.

Maybe time to rule them back in , I spotted this when it first went up, amazed it's still there @4750

270 bhp and only 92 km auto
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v50-t5-very-rare-car/6365882

26583201.jpeg

Maybe time to rule them back in , I spotted this when it first went up, amazed it's still there @4750

270 bhp and only 92 km auto
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v50-t5-very-rare-car/6365882

26583201.jpeg

Nice car alright. But still lacks space and I can't justify the extra tax. The car is the same year as the yoke I'm driving and I'm hoping to go up a couple of years too.

Yeah , but you could buy a very nice W123 to go with it with the money saved:D

If blow the whole budget on a W123 only I don't think I'd ever convince the other 50 % of the investment that it was genuinely a sensible move..!!

Hello all,
    My search continues.

I found the following two options today. Just thought I'd stick them up for general feedback.

In all honesty I think both are a little expensive for what I am getting but other viewpoints are welcome!
    I have a niggly feeling the Volvo will plummet in value over the next 18 months which is what is making me reluctant. But it does have a nicer spec than the Merc and I suspect it is a nicer place to be.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/C-Class/C-SERIES/201408221914245/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/V70/2.0T/201408221851345/advert?channel=CARS

I have a niggly feeling the Volvo will plummet in value over the next 18 months

Think of it this way. An '04 V70 is about bangernomics money now, so yes the '07 will deprectiate €6k over the next 3 years.

That said, nobody wants big petrols on the old tax system anymore, so any car you pick will depreciate to bangernomics money very quickly, possible exceptions the facelift E-class or the E60 BMW

Think of it this way. An '04 V70 is about bangernomics money now, so yes the '07 will deprectiate €6k over the next 3 years.

That said, nobody wants big petrols on the old tax system anymore, so any car you pick will depreciate to bangernomics money very quickly, possible exceptions the facelift E-class or the E60 BMW

It doesn't make sense to me to lose that kind of money on a motor over 3 years. I'll talk myself into a bangernomic at this stage.!
    Thanks for the feedback. I'm keeping a close eye on the E60's and facelift E classes alright.

It doesn't make sense to me to lose that kind of money on a motor over 3 years. I'll talk myself into a bangernomic at this stage.!

The only way to avoid losing thousands indeed is to go bangernomics :D

Or there is the middle way - my (early) E60 cost me €4k last year. Not many tourings around though. Do you have to have a stationwagon? Most sedans in this class have (optionally) got foldable rear seats for the occasional big load

The only way to avoid losing thousands indeed is to go bangernomics :D

Or there is the middle way - my (early) E60 cost me €4k last year. Not many tourings around though. Do you have to have a stationwagon? Most sedans in this class have (optionally) got foldable rear seats for the occasional big load

Would I be right in saying the E60 came out in 2004??
    How are you finding it? I'm not overly concerned about fuel consumption. If its averaging over mid 20's I'm reasonably happy. Over 30 I'm satisfied.
    I'm more concerned with problems/maintenance. Are they relatively trouble free?

Beginning to think I might consider a trip to the UK for an early E60.

They came out in late '03. Mine's a March '04 (but manufactured in September '03). Early petrols are very reliable. Just make sure everything works. Mine passed the NCT a few weeks ago, valid until April '15 :)

Cost me €60 on some minor stuff to get it through the retest...

And I find it doesn't matter much whatever big (petrol) car I have I average about 25MPG - lots of short trips and mainly Dublin area traffic.

Still looks like a very fresh car and the autobox (6 speed) is better than in most 10 year old cars. Go drive one and see what you think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

Another one worth considering is an accord estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the bm's pretty much rule themselves out in your case IMO, the 5 series smallest engine is 2.5L 6 pot. A 2L 3 series might be an option.

Nope. 2.2l. Go ask me €951 tax disc :p