Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4 Episode 9 "After" **SPOILERS**

• 10-02-2014 4:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭

Decent episode. How did Michonne fit that machete into the knife thing, dreaming? :o Glad Carl stopped being annoying at the end, very lucky to survive. Feel its abit late for a Michonne back story :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Well that was a let down :( I wasn't expecting it to be jam packed action but they could've had more going on.

Was making a thread at the same time as you. I thought the episode didn't have enough content and was bored at places in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Agree was quite a letdown. Too much Carl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Was making a thread at the same time as you. I thought the episode didn't have enough content and was bored at places in this.
    Urgh. I hate this. The whole reason behind there not being zombies at every fcuking turn is because it's about the survivors. The zombies are a threat in the background, not the focus. Kirkman, both in the comics and in the tv series, has always meant it to be a story about people adapting to this new world, how they survive it, the fragmentation of people and how our "social norms" go out the window in situations like this. It's never meant to be about "action" or "killing walkers"

It was a slow episode, but a good one IMO. Seeing Carl trying to prove that he is able to survive in the world by himself was great, and after losing his sister and shooting his mother in the head he couldn't bear to lose someone else from his family, quite touching. It's becoming less about "winning" and proving that he is able to survive and more about actually surviving and realising that he has to think about what he is doing and not let his want to prove something get in the way of his survival

I liked the dream sequence thing of Michonne. Nice she is getting a little bit of a back story and that they are starting to write her like the bad-ass she is in the comics. Also, when she sees Carl and Rick again that look to the heavens was brillant. There was no "thank you" like we usually see, it was just enough to know that she was thanking Mike for leading her back to Carl (who has obviously kind of replaced the child she lost, similar to the way she has replaced Lori for Carl)

However, the bit where she was walking with the Walkers and the others didn't notice her was kind of ridiculous. I realise it was to set up the frenzy slaughter but all the same, it was stupid. That was the only annoying thing for me in the whole episode tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Twas a bit slow. They are all separated so its obvious we will have episodes devoted to certain characters which is nice.....but Michonne's "journey" was a bit meh. Walker Rick was funny though. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Strange that Michonne walked away from the prison with a perfectly good jeep parked a few feet away from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ron jambo

That Carl fellow needs to get bitten bad,liked Michonne's strolling buddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

I liked the episode, however Michonne walking with the walkers was ridiculous.

Why did they show no interest in her:confused:

Does walking with walkers with no arms or mouth make other intact walkers not want to kill you?very silly IMO.

Other that than that though good episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I liked the episode, however Michonne walking with the walkers was ridiculous.

Why did they show no interest in her:confused:

Does walking with walkers with no arms or mouth make other intact walkers not want to kill you?very silly IMO.

Other that than that though good episode.

That was done before in other episodes too, the "pet" walkers are basically her guardians, and allow her to walk in close proximity to other walkers.

Thought the dream/daydream bits were class, and a bit freaky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

ok - 1 question

WHERE WAS DARYL?

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Urgh. I hate this. The whole reason behind there not being zombies at every fcuking turn is because it's about the survivors.
    Chill out. Myself and the op started a thread at the same time. Maybe you didn't see where I said:
    Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Well that was a let down :(I wasn't expecting it to be jam packed action but they could've had more going on.
    After the pace of the last episode, I knew this one wouldn't have as much action but I was expecting to have a lot more of the characters in it than mainly bloody Carl. We still have to find out what happened to Maggie, Glenn, Beth, Daryl, Tyrese, the girls and possibly Judith. Hopefully they'll have all of them in next week's story and not drag it out too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Well a Carl-centric episode was never gonna be that great - at least it's gotten out of the way now.
    Quite liked Michonne's story though - thought they did it relatively subtly. She realises now that she can't go back to being the self-reliant loner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

That was so bad you guys. #pudding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

cjmcork wrote: »
    ok - 1 question

WHERE WAS DARYL?

Next week is his episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,137 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the way rick says Karl?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,137 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Meh episode. Glad it's back though.

Carl badly needs a few slaps or a few women in his life. As Willy said above, Michonne's pet walkers becoming docile and somehow warding off other walkers makes little sense. I thought the flashback scenes were done well and we have finally learned something concrete about Michonne's past.

Looking forward to next week, hopefully the crew will reunite sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Carl walking backwards with two walkers and something goes wrong. Anyone else and their dog see that one coming? What is the point of that scene?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

I was disappointed with Michonne's flashback. If you think about it, it was very easy to guess that she'd lost a child, due to how much Judith upset her. Other than that, all we learned was her partner's name? I thought the scene where she was talking to Mike/herself was a bit cryptic.. I assume there'll be more scenes about her past, but I really want to know the story with her original two "pet" walkers and why she said "they weren't human to begin with".

I did really like the scene where she found Rick and Carl though, it was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

I was disappointed with Michonne's flashback. If you think about it, it was very easy to guess that she'd lost a child, due to how much Judith upset her. Other than that, all we learned was her partner's name? I assume there'll be more scenes about her past, but I really want to know the story with her original two "pet" walkers and why she said "they weren't human to begin with"

I did really like the scene where she found Rick and Carl though, it was nice.

She said she missed Mike 'even when she was still with him' at the camp and that "that wasn't him" who did whatever he did (presumably suicide, possibly with the child), so I assume that 'not human' comment was in reference to Mike's (and the other guy) actions and thoughts after the outbreak not being consistent to the people they were before.

It's too bad the kid who plays Carl isn't a very good actor. I really enjoyed his "coming of age" story in the comics where he must fend for himself. I'm glad they attempted to include it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,515 ✭✭✭✭briany

It's looking like 4b, or the first half at least, is going to be an anthology style story where we see the fates of the different groups before they eventually coalesce. Not that I wasn't expecting different stories, I was just hoping they'd be threaded around each other rather than having their own episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭giggii

Zzzzzzzzzz What? Carl's going to die? No? Too bad..... Zzzzzzzz

Very disappointing after waiting the last few months for the series to return after the mid season break. I know the group have been separated and it's oing to take a while for the dynamic of them all to be returned, but they could have put a lot more into that episode. I've a horrible feeling that the next 3-4 episodes are going to be following the survivors around, seeing where they're at, and spreading two episodes worth of material over five episodes, a la season 2/the second half of season 3/the first half of season four.

It's such a shame, because there are several truly stellar episodes in the series, you just have to wade through four or five cr*p ones to get to the goods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Thread needs poll. I thought this was an incredible episode, even as a comic reader who knew the main beats of the plot in advance.

Very reminiscent of Clear I thought - not just in the characters featured, but in tone. Gimple (the new showrunner I believe) has a great way of telling invisible little stories through the environment - signs, homes, etc. Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I find it strange how people would dread the idea of it taking a few episodes for the group to reform when we've seen them side by side for 3.5 seasons already. Surely, seeing them try to find their way back to each other is, at least, a slightly interesting divergence from the "I'll take a team and go get supplies" excuse they've been pedalling for 3.5 seasons to have the group separate a little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I find it strange how people would dread the idea of it taking a few episodes for the group to reform when we've seen them side by side for 3.5 seasons already. Surely, seeing them try to find their way back to each other is, at least, a slightly interesting divergence from the "I'll take a team and go get supplies" excuse they've been pedalling for 3.5 seasons to have the group separate a little?

This.

The singular focus on smaller groups will give us some decent, in depth character arcs that was lacking in the larger group because there was so much going on (that and their writing/direction team could do better!). I really enjoyed this episode. It brought the story right back to the relationship between Carl and Rick. Next weeks episode looks good too. Bringing the story right back to the most important element: the characters.

The kid who plays Carl is not the best actor in the world (I wanted to shake him up a few times and get him in the proper mind frame of Carl) but he's definitely getting better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Of the remaining TV show characters Carl and Rick are probably my least favourite, but having said that, I love the formula. I completely agree that having them all meet up again straight away would be the worst thing they could do. This leaves us with a little more suspense and I want to see the characters in smaller groups as it will hopefully give Tyrese, Beth, Sasha and Stookie a bit more time to shine (4 characters who I think have been criminally underused thus far).

While I'm not a fan of Carl and Rick as I said, I loved what they did with the characters in this episode, and Michonne as always was just bad ass.

Bring on next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Carl heavy episode = much fast forwarding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

How close was that neighbourhood to the prison?

Never spotted before?

And all that food.

Even chocolate pudding.

Who knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Show has gotten very sloppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Bit slow for a comeback episode, hopefully we'll get a break from Karl and Rick for a few episodes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

will some 1 just shoot that little f1cker of child named karl i cannot hack him at all,little sh1te is all he is.
    not a bad ep besides as stassy siad that was a lot of food in the houses and the corflakes looked fresh even after a few yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It was alright I suppose. The scene with Karl and the walkers was a bit predictable, that whole part had me thinking "what a f*cking idiot". It was a bit slow over all and I would have liked to have seen more of the other characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

This might be a bit two convenient but remember Michonne s original zombie buddys where both black...... see where i am going with this :p

Also i see no issue with the way there playing things its nice to see everyone in separate groups and given more time to focus on there characters and how they deal with situations by them selves.

Kinda similar to what Lost did where they broke up certain parts of the original big group and you ended up with some interesting storys and situations.

Also an episode without Darryl the fan boys/girls will be up in arms ffs!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭giggii

I don't think the idea itself would be dreaded... if it were done right. A few episodes showing the separated groups would be fantastic on terms of a character development point of view, if we were shown a bit of action, and some semblance of a progression in storyline, but from past experience TWD does not do that at all... Generally the storyline becomes painstakingly drawn out, with no story development whatsoever, and, judging by the most recent episode, it seems to be going down that route once again.

I'm a constant defender of this show, but it's flaw is that it can do a phenomenal character episode, or an amazing action-packed episode, but not both at the same time (or very rarely at the most, a few episode come to mind that have excelled at both, but they are rare...), and at this point of the show both aspects have to be expressed equally, or it isn't going to work at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭parttime

Show was always sloppy, with a few exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

Smaller groups is fine, taking time to reform the group is fine, but at least give them some kind of actual stories. The plot of this episode was ridiculously thin. Some people seem to think that anyone who criticises an episode just wants zombie gore non-stop, but I certainly don't. I want some clever writing acted well and you can have unexpected things happen without someone having to die. This is a good opportunity to show adaption and growth in characters but so far they are simply reverting to type, I just don't get how that is ever supposed to lead to an interesting storyline. I'll reserve total judgement until I see how the rest of them are doing but I honestly don't know what to expect. The first half of the season was so good, really lifted it out of the mire it got itself into last season, I hope they get it back on track soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭LifeSaabItch

Quite enjoyed it, Okay the Karl/Zombie and just getting away is way too predictable.

Must admit, The scene with Rick hoarsely trying to call Karl was very well put together and did make me think he had turned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

and did make me think he had turned.

Ah surely not. There's no way Rick will be killed off any season soon. He's the central charactor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Great comic adaptation.
    I watched it twice, its really well shot(effects, cinematography , costumes)
    The overall tone is probably what I liked the most about the episode. There was an actual presence of danger and the feeling of survival was very strong. I don’t know if the rest of the season will have this, but it would be a nice change of pace. The was excellent cinematography,
    with some beautiful shots and the entire episode was just well constructed in general.
    The bit where someone knocks on the door and they react with terror drawing guns and hitting the floor shows how ****ed up the world is now.

Michones Walker disguise method,
    When she was shown in the season 3 with the walker pets she also had
    a heavy duty cloak with a large hood which was smeared with walker blood
    This aspect of the method is forgotten
    Its supposed to be two walkers deformed + the cloak/hood.
    Two walkers on their own might work some of the time especially at a distance. but close up you need the cloak
    which they decided to forget this time, sloppy

So. Michonne didn't have Judith. But I cannot WAIT for next week!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

It was a slow episode in fairness. I did enjoy Michonne walking with the walkers. It seemed like she had given up being with others, and got two new decoys and prepared to survive alone. While on this journey, she had an internal one too, and realised that she needed others to live properly. Otherwise she'd end up like the black female walker with dreads that we were shown.

I think the best part of the episode was where they showed the clips from next week. Looked exciting, but then edited highlights always do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,960 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Show is going more the way of the Comic which I'm really happy about. I saw that episode more about Carl taking care of Zombie Rick then Carl fighting off that zombie and losing his shoe. I agree bit late for a Michonne backstory but now I want to know what happened at that camp!

End of the episode has Rick back to (almost) normal so they were able to wrap up that arc in 1 episode which is good. I think it was an important story to tell and walker rick was done really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I liked it. I enjoy the quiet rambling round a dead world although it baffles me why so many houses are a shambles - they aren't 1000s of survivors, it's small rag tag groups, why has every house been ransacked!

It also baffles me how strong some of the walkers are now and why there are not rotting corpse zombies all over the place, surely after this length of time that's what we'd see?

Carl is a bit boring. Liked a bit of Michonne backstory.

Would have been happy to see Rick bite the dust in that episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Grimebox wrote: »
    Carl walking backwards with two walkers and something goes wrong. Anyone else and their dog see that one coming? What is the point of that scene?

The whole episode was about Carl basically transitioning from the shielded, whining, "child with gun" into someone with an actual appreciation for the world he is now in. Rick has always protected him or saved him and Carl has gotten cocky/reckless. His Dad tells him to think, be careful and not make rash decisions. Carl dismisses this while out on his own. Twice in this episode he put himself in real danger. It nearly got him killed the first time but he "won" (still cocky). The second time he barely "won" again (still cocky). When he thinks Rick has turned in the end the walls come down. He's not the brave little cowboy he thinks he is. It was very well played out IMO.
    Grimebox wrote: »
    It's too bad the kid who plays Carl isn't a very good actor. I really enjoyed his "coming of age" story in the comics where he must fend for himself. I'm glad they attempted to include it
    P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Carl heavy episode = much fast forwarding

Would normally agree with the Carl hate but I thought the actor was superb in this episode and Carl has really developed into a serious character. At times he looked like a little badass. Now that the chip is off his shoulder, he'll hopefully become much more interesting.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Ah surely not. There's no way Rick will be killed off any season soon. He's the central charactor.

See the way it was building I was getting really excited and antsy thinking OMG they are going to do what no one will be ready for or thinking could ever happen and kill off Rick. And then they didn't! Didn't think it was too bad, I find Karl and Rick quite annoying, liked that they've started to give Michonne a bit of emotion too. They've left the door open for more to come out in relation to her husband/child/camp etc. All in all not too bad, probably give it 6.5/10, it was always going to be hard to follow up on episode 8, that was just awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

On the issue of Michonne's pet walkers - why are they so docile? She has removed their arms and jaws so they can't attack/bite her, but why aren't they still trying? If the show has taught us anything, it's that the walkers are single minded in their focus on biting humans, even when it's just a severed head. Seems weird to see the two lads just strolling along behind her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

The michonne walker thing is stupid. Real stupid like. There were stages where shes was <2 metres from hostile walkers and > that from her own yet no interest. Carl is an awful **** actor too. My hate is fairly Carlcentric tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

When Michonne's previous set of walkers were explained previously it did that they gradually became 'docile' after a period of time but yet here it's remove jaw and bingo! Job done.

Shabby, par for the course with TWD imo, so much so I didn't even realise it was back until a few hours ago, I used to be counting the days for the earlier series :(

Bacchus wrote: »
    The whole episode was about Carl basically transitioning from the shielded, whining, "child with gun" into someone with an actual appreciation for the world he is now in. Rick has always protected him or saved him and Carl has gotten cocky/reckless. His Dad tells him to think, be careful and not make rash decisions. Carl dismisses this while out on his own. Twice in this episode he put himself in real danger. It nearly got him killed the first time but he "won" (still cocky). The second time he barely "won" again (still cocky). When he thinks Rick has turned in the end the walls come down. He's not the brave little cowboy he thinks he is. It was very well played out IMO.

Would normally agree with the Carl hate but I thought the actor was superb in this episode and Carl has really developed into a serious character. At times he looked like a little badass. Now that the chip is off his shoulder, he'll hopefully become much more interesting.

Then they have him sitting on the roof ignoring the walker behind him at the end of it all? It's like he learnt nothing. He has gone from fake cocky bravado to incompetent to foolishly ignoring danger in one episode. Such a messy arc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Celtic Tiger

Decent episode, definitely not as bad as some of the previous filler eps we've seen.

I liked the Michonnes flashback scenes. Hopefully we'll get to see more scenes of what happened to characters at the start of the outbreak when the sh*t hit the fan. There was a pre credits scene in season 2 that had Shane, Lori and Carl stuck in traffic on a road when a helicopter flew by and started bombing Atlanta. More of that please. I'd love to a see a flashback of Daryl and how he survived. Perfect excuse to get Mearl back for an episode too :)