Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone tried Ben Dunne gym Jervis Street?!

• 10-02-2014 3:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭

Would you recommend it??

Need to sign to to a good gym in Dublin City ( or close surburbs )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭mrwhimwham

Joined it last year and have to say it's a fantastic gym. Staff are friendly and it's always clean. You'll always be able to find a machine to go on as it is never too busy.

Only drawbacks are that there is no sauna or steam room in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭kult

good gym, the only thing is that they have dumbbells only up to 30kg:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

mrwhimwham wrote: »
    Joined it last year and have to say it's a fantastic gym. Staff are friendly and it's always clean. You'll always be able to find a machine to go on as it is never too busy.

Only drawbacks are that there is no sauna or steam room in it.

Never too busy?

It use to be packed in the evenings. It was really over subscribed. Mornings were the okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

I was a member there last year.

Between 6-8 it was packed. (That's am and pm). There were even queues for the showers!

Other than that it is your basic gym.

I'm in BD Sandyford now and it's a bit more spacious thank god :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Nelly1234 wrote: »
    Anyone tried Ben Dunne gym Jervis Street?
    kult wrote: »
    good gym, the only thing is that they have dumbbells only up to 30kg:(
    Surely false advertising of some kind..

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Beyond packed in the evenings.. Trained there a few times off peak and it was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭kult

Last time I was there few month back there were no dumbbells over 30kg:( unless it has changed since.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

It likely suffers from the same problem of overcrowding that many of his gyms have.

If this particular gym also has this problem, it is best to pretty much go in the mornings or in its final opening hours. Any other time will likely be very busy & just extend your workout time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Dumbbells up to 40kg for sure (do my farmer's walks withem!!)

There is only 3/6 showers working at the moment and feck all pressure in the fountains for the last month. Wonder when they are getting that sorted. Anyone know the inside track on this?

Other than that, quality gym imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jasonbourne.cs

in there recently , jam packed in the evenings , they only have 3/6 shower stalls working due to "upgrades" they have been doing for the last 2-3 weeks.

checkout flyefit at macklin street its nice and spacious and cheaper as well from what I remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 nialldub3

Used this for the first time yesterday.

Have to say, the gym itself met all the requirements. I was never waiting for a machine, and I went to a pilates class which was included in the membership, and quite good.

However, the place is packed, and noisy, and (bit of a pet peeve - even if it is a gym) there a fair few lads walking around more interested in comparing abs than anything else. I suppose that's to be expected, but it's just on a whole different level because of the sheer number of people. Even the pilates class was full to capacity, so if you don't get there ten minutes before it starts, you won't get a spot.

But lastly, and admittedly this is why I'm leaving a message, my runners got nicked from the men's changing room while I was in the shower. Had my bag and all my other stuff locked away, just left my runners and sweaty gym gear on a bench while I was showering. My own fault, because I should have put them with my other stuff in the locker, but it was literally 5 minutes, and I've never had to do this in any other gym, and I've worked in one, and used a fair few gyms. Rang this morning to see if they'd turned up, but the member of staff checked, said no, and that he himself had a phone robbed three weeks ago, and that you can't leave anything around.

So for this reason, I'll probably switch to one of their other branches (e30 transfer fee!).