Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists - lowlife criminals of the worst kind..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭bockeys jollocks

He's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

They should be kneecapped or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's right. Cyclists are much worse than murderers, terrorists, kidnappers and bank robbers, and Sinn Fein would never support........oh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

All cars should be banned and use the roads for bicycles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭bockeys jollocks

I think €1000 for use of a bicycle on the road is fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I think €1000 for use of a bicycle on the road is fair.

No one bite at the first one so try again? Ah sure God loves a trier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Fair play to him for speaking out .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

I couldn't understand it. I'm too busy saving the planet and reducing traffic congestion.

What's that? You want me to climb down from my high horse to debate with you mere mortals?

Bah. No.

Cycling is great. fuk da h8trz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Trying to appeal to a middle class audience these days by the looks of it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

So cutting congestion and decreasing the carbon footprint is a bad thing now???

It's things like this that really strike me as odd. If there were better cycling areas and of course actual penalties for law breaking by stupid cyclists (going through red lights, etc) and motorists cutting them off, then it would be a good idea to invest more in it. Easier to maintain a small cyclist path than roads I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    So cutting congestion and decreasing the carbon footprint is a bad thing now???

It's things like this that really strike me as odd. If there were better cycling areas and of course actual penalties for law breaking by stupid cyclists (going through red lights, etc) and motorists cutting them off, then it would be a good idea to invest more in it. Easier to maintain a small cyclist path than roads I would imagine.

That's all very fine and perhaps a good discussion elsewhere but the point is the comment that cyclists are "lowlife criminals of the worst kind.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

That's all very fine and perhaps a good discussion elsewhere but the point is the comment that cyclists are "lowlife criminals of the worst kind.."

It's all those "cycle by shootings" ya hear about nowadays.

Damn gangsta', crossbar giving bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Does anyone know what happens if a cyclist causes a car crash?

Obviously the cyclist doesn't have insurance and the car driver may only have 3rd party cover. Is the cyclist responsible for paying for the damages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Sure more people cycling would only eat into their illegal fuel profits :pac:

Does anyone know what happens if a cyclist causes a car crash?

Obviously the cyclist doesn't have insurance and the car driver may only have 3rd party cover. Is the cyclist responsible for paying for the damages?

I'd imagine the same thing that would happen if a pedestrian causes a crash (take them to court and sue them?). I don't know for sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Sue them through the house insurance like some money grabber did on Joe Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

After listening to what he said on the link, I would agree cyclists ?? Who cycle on footpaths are low lifers of the worst kind with many of them thinking there above any traffic laws whatsoever.

realies wrote: »
    After listening to what he said on the link, I would agree cyclists ?? Who cycle on footpaths are low lifers of the worst kind with many of them thinking there above any traffic laws whatsoever.

And what is your view on those who walk/drive/park in cycle lanes?

Or people who run/walk in front of traffic instead of using an official crossing?

Pedestrians/cyclists/drivers/pram pushers....I have seen them all act the bollox. In fact, I see more drivers on a daily basis break traffic laws than cyclists.

We have all done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I cycle pretty regularly. yesterday I had to cycle around dublin city centre for about 4 hours picking up bits and pieces for a family event. at every single set of red lights I stopped at, a fellow cyclists sailed through the red and carried on. Every. Single. Time. I must have hit about 10/12 sets of reds and without fail a cyclist broke the light. It got comical towards the end. this was a mix of people too; an ould lad on a busted mountain bike, hipster on a fixie, several couriers, businessman on a Dublin Bike etc.

This is not unusual either, sometimes think im the only cyclist in town who stops at reds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Everyone I cycle with has at the very least 3rd part insurance. I pay insurance because if I do make a mistake and cause an innocent party grief I would like to at least see that they are not out of pocket. I know of a case where a cyclist was at fault and hit the side of a car and caused €3000 damage. It was the quickest insurance settlement I know of as it was settled in 6 weeks.

Yer man was wrong in how he worded his speech - but he is right about idiots cycling dangerously.

How much is cycle insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I agree that cyclists should never cycle on footpaths but why you would use cyclists on footpaths as an argument against increasing cycling investment is beyond me. Surely better education and cycle-paths would go a long way towards resolving this.

In my opinion he lost all credibility, if he ever had any, when he referred to them as "among the worst criminals".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

WikiHow wrote: »
    How much is cycle insurance?

You can get third party cover from €25 - and then it depends on what extras you personally want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

I agree that people who cycle on footpaths are complete scum. I use dublin bikes every day and where its handier to use the footpath I simply get off my bike and wheel it until the road is suitable again.

Though it is an utter joke that you would stop cycling investment due to these pricks having their cake and eating it and cycling on the footpaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

It should be mandatory in Dublin to be armed with a sawn off shotgun.

That way when someone does something you don't like or consider wrong, you can give them both barrels in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

TBH Dublin Bikes gives any idiot access to a bike and has increased the number of crappy cyclists around the city. If there's a bike being cycled on the path anywhere around the city centre chances are it's a Dublin Bike.

I cycle into town and to the shops, and the standard of bike paths is horrendous so more investment into the infrastructure would be good. If there is a path it's usually got cars parked in it, or broken glass, drains, potholes, or it's flooded. There are a couple of streets where I must really piss off motorists behind me because I have to weave in and out so much to avoid coming a-cropper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

And what is your view on those who walk/drive/park in cycle lanes?

Or people who run/walk in front of traffic instead of using an official crossing?

Pedestrians/cyclists/drivers/pram pushers....I have seen them all act the bollox. In fact, I see more drivers on a daily basis break traffic laws than cyclists.

We have all done it.

The voice of reason, people. If you argue against that, you haven't got a leg to stand stand on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Personally I do not see anything wrong with cycling on a footpath as when it happens the person usually takes extra care and cycles slowly when pedestrians are around. In Germany for example it is ok to cycle in pedestrian areas. I rarely see anybody in Dublin cycling on the footpath is a dangerous manner. The issue is one of enforcement more than anything else as some people lack courtesy, respect and concern for their fellow road users. Some of these people are cyclists, some are motorists and some are pedestrians.
    In short some people are dicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Cyclists should only be allowed on designated cycle paths. Not on footpaths or main roads. Its too dangerous. We are not like Holland yet but we are trying to be minus the cycle lanes. Its a farce.

woodoo wrote: »
    Cyclists should only be allowed on designated cycle paths. Not on footpaths or main roads. Its too dangerous. We are not like Holland yet but we are trying to be minus the cycle lanes. Its a farce.

Why not on main roads? It'd take forever to cycle anywhere and side streets are usually narrower and more dangerous.

Sure you'd never get anywhere! Cycle paths just end abruptly and then what? Walk to the next one?

thecatspjs wrote: »
    Sure you'd never get anywhere! Cycle paths just end abruptly and then what? Walk to the next one?

Build more

Build more

Infrastructure costs money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Cyclists should only be allowed on designated cycle paths. Not on footpaths or main roads. Its too dangerous.
    Remind me again how hundreds of cyclists are killed every year?

Oh no, wait, that's pedestrians and drivers.

I love how people hold this attitude that cycling is really dangerous and then happily hurtle off down some bog-arse back road at 80km/h.

Cycling is one of the safest modes of transport there is, beaten only by mass transit/public transport. In a city centre it's actually safer to cycle than it is to walk.

kylith wrote: »
    Why not on main roads? It'd take forever to cycle anywhere and side streets are usually narrower and more dangerous.

I don't know about cities but on rural roads you can come round a corner and be faced with a few cyclists 2 or 3 a breast. All dressed up in their yellow cycling gear. Its extremely dangerous.

How fast do you turn corners?

Yes, if you drive too quickly to react to what's around the next corner, then you are an extremely dangerous driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Perhaps take corners at the correct speed rather than bombing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If they'd start fining cyclists who break pedestrian lights I'd have no further issues with cyclists, but this is apparently a crime one can commit with impunity while putting people at a serious risk on a daily basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I thought Sinn Fein supported cycle paths?

I would agree with you if we had a complete, functional cycling infrastructure, but we don't.

Stand alone, designated cycle lanes (where they are available) in my area are very poor. Irrespective of the usual broken glass, poor surface condition and assorted debris, you also contend with randomly placed poles/street signs, cracked kerbs, manhole covers, bus stops and house/estate entrances.

Alternatively, the idiots in charge of our transport infrastructure have decided that its a great idea to let cyclists and 23 tonne busses share the same space. The space is usually the width of the bus, which is driven in some cases by fcuktards that like to see just how close they can get to you. Not to mention taxi drivers who whip in, in front of you to pick up a fare, leaving no choice for you but to swerve or completely stop.

You should be driving at a speed that means you can cope with whatever's around the bend, especially in the countryside as you never know when you'll turn a corner and meet a farmer on a tractor or with a load of livestock.

Cycling two abreast is actually the safer option for cyclists and for you in that situation as you can overtake them in a shorter amount of time than if they were in single file.

And again, especially in the countryside, how is a cyclist supposed to get anywhere if they couldn't go on main roads? I live in an urban area and have been trying to plan the route I need to take to the supermarket if I couldn't use main roads and... I can get to the end of my street and no further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I thought Sinn Fein supported cycle paths?

It's an Ard Fheis, same as with the other major parties, it allows every lunatic in the party put forward any motion they want, it doesn't mean the party will support it.

If they'd start fining cyclists who break pedestrian lights I'd have no further issues with cyclists, but this is apparently a crime one can commit with impunity while putting people at a serious risk on a daily basis.

Equally, a fine should be imposed on those who cross the road in front of traffic without using official crossing points. Lets not forget the drivers who go through pedestrian lights.

The problem is, there is no one around to enforce it.

If they'd start fining cyclists everyone who break pedestrian lights I'd have no further issues
    This. All road users give little regard to what traffic lights actually mean and do. Red means, "Ah shure I suppose I better stop", and that's about it.

Start pulling pedestrians on it too, they're the absolute worst for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Build more
    When I'm out on the bike, I generally don't have the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Equally, a fine should be imposed on those who cross the road in front of traffic without using official crossing points. Lets not forget the drivers who go through pedestrian lights.

The problem is, there is no one around to enforce it.

Being honest, it pisses me off more with cyclists than with drivers since I literally see it every single day on my walk to and from college and it's not the usual "light has been red for a few seconds and you speed up and take it", it's full on "Light has been red for ages, massive crowd crossing, cyclist doesn't even slow down and espects everyone to dive out of the way."

I'm sure cars do this as well, but I see it every day with cyclists. The junction at the river where Westmoreland St and D'Olier St merge is a nightmare, as is another junction midway up Dame St, and to a certain extent, one gets the same thing at Christ Church Cathedral. It annoys me more than with cars because it's so incredibly blatant and because my friend's dog was hit because of this when he had every right to be crossing the road, and the w@nker just peddled on. If it had been a car, we could have got the reg and taken some kind of action, but cyclists literally have impunity when pulling this kind of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

If cyclists obeyed the rules of the road, i would have no problem with them.

What people think at traffic lights:

|Red |Amber|Green
    Pedestrian|Watch the guy in front of you and just go when he goes; he's already looked, it's safe|You must slow down and walk at half speed|Just go, don't look; If someone else hits you it's their fault
    Cyclist|Go if there are no Guards around|Hurry up or you'll have to stop|Just go, don't look; If someone else hits you it's their fault
    Motorcylist|Make sure you get all the way to the front before it goes green|Hurry up or you'll have to stop|Just go, don't look; If someone else hits you it's their fault
    Car|If it's between 7am and midnight and the lights have been red for more than 2 seconds; stop. Otherwise check for guards before going.|Hurry up or you'll have to stop|Just go, don't look; If someone else hits you it's their fault
    Truck|Drive 2 metres over the white line to ensure no-one can see the lights|Go slowly; Make sure the guy behind you gets stuck at the lights|Wait for amber before moving off
    Bus|Drive 2 metres over the white line to ensure no-one can see the lights|Hurry up or you'll have to stop|Just go, don't look; If someone else hits you it's their fault
    Taxi|This looks like a good place to stop and pick up a fare|This looks like a good place to stop and pick up a fare|This looks like a good place to stop and pick up a fare

seamus wrote: »
    Car If it's between 7am and midnight and the lights have been red for more than 2 seconds; stop. Otherwise check for guards before going.

:eek: Reckless feckers!