Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Biggest Jukebox

• 07-02-2014 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭

Was listening to Will Leahy and in his Thank Yous a while ago he thanked John Clarke as his producer and then said to tune in to John this Sunday for a special Jukebox. Could it be the last? With Larry and Will going to weekends and Ruth and Paddy staying on the weekends it's hard to see where JC will fit in :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭dr Golden

Yeah id say all those with desk jobs will lose their on air gigs at weekends. The show has had a good long run though 15 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

dr Golden wrote: »
    Yeah id say all those with desk jobs will lose their on air gigs at weekends. The show has had a good long run though 15 years.

It's the most listened to music programme in the country on a Sunday. If head a ball axes the jukebox it will be the nail in the coffin.

From what i have heard the new weekend schedule is going to be 7/10 Damo, 10\12 Fanning, 12\2 Gogan, 2\5 paddy and Ruth, 5/7 Will Leahy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

I find jim o neills show on today fm better actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Red Fred wrote: »
    Was listening to Will Leahy and in his Thank Yous a while ago he thanked John Clarke as his producer and then said to tune in to John this Sunday for a special Jukebox. Could it be the last? With Larry and Will going to weekends and Ruth and Paddy staying on the weekends it's hard to see where JC will fit in :-(

Put that show on Radio 2 for god sake.

2FM cant be everything to everyone. Put things where they belong.

Jim O'Neill phoning in his links since 2005.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

I switch over to him at 1...

I like john clarke and how he has an elvis slot at 11.20...l swear to fcuk if his show is axed...l duno what il do!! him and will leahy were to only 1 ld tune into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

So is tomorrow the final show...?

lets hope not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Jim O'Neill phoning in his links since 2005.
    be that as it may I still rather the music o Neill plays. Having said that Irelands biggest jukebox is easily my favourite 2fm show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Just confirmed by John, today is the Final Jukebox :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Red Fred wrote: »
    Just confirmed by John, today is the Final Jukebox :-(

Chop the most popular show on the weekend schedule - this is beyond annoying now, one stupid decision after another

John has been on 2FM since 1986, it's a shame we'll never hear him on the station now. Can't see him filling in for Nicky Byrne..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Ffs whats going on in RTE. John Clark show axed !!!. One of the only reasons to turn on the radio on Sundays. Bbc here I come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

I don't think I've witnessed so much activity on a radio station in this country in my time on this earth. John has just read out a very emotional statement about what is actually going on and it seems to be more clear now. The new management want a change of direction?!? They want a kick up the arse.. That's what they need. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Canadian forests have less axe action than Irish radio at the moment!

What station is/was this on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭jimmy2flutes

Delighted!!!! Great news!!!! Out with the old, and by Jesus Clarky is old!!!

He was the laziest PD I've ever seen on a station. Didn't even have the cop on to send his daughter off to the regionals to learn the trade.

Just another presenter that killed 2fm long ago!

Don't let the door hit you on the way out John!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 rozannamay

What I cannot understand is giving a novice - ie Nicky byrne - a 3 hour programme on prime time day radio......???? surely he should start off on a weekend show???? I know he has done a few fillers but that was only temporary. A 3 hour show is just ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Delighted!!!! Great news!!!! Out with the old, and by Jesus Clarky is old!!!

He was the laziest PD I've ever seen on a station. Didn't even have the cop on to send his daughter off to the regionals to learn the trade.

Just another presenter that killed 2fm long ago!

Don't let the door hit you on the way out John!

Out with the old and in with what ? The Spin/Beat "jocks". God help us if thats the new. Most of them would have been lucky to score a gig on overnights during the pirate era.

Whatever about JC as a PD, he is still one great jock. He has possibly forgotten more than the new breed have learnt about radio presenting.

2fm obviously dont need that 125k listenership on a Sunday. Well done Dan.

Repitive for me. No time checks, live interaction etc. John O Hara would be the only jock I would ever have considered good enough to be voice tracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Trev De rev

http://youtu.be/QLZDQhIYAKQ Shame to see him go. what are 2fm playing at. i only listen 2 this show on 2fm and im 34. Sadly be missed great songs played by John today with loads of digs at 2fm. Enjoyed this song he played very fitting for the day thats in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

John Clarke's Sunday Show is an excellent example of an oldies show aimed at an adult audience.

Now, if the regime at 2FM had decided they really wanted to be a 'youth' station, and were replacing shows like this with 'youth'-type programming, I'd agree.

The changes at 2FM are, by RTE's standards, quite sweeping, but by anyone else's standards they're just a little tickle.

To turn the station into a 'youth' station proper, you'd need to replace nearly all the presenters, not to mention all the producers and other hangers-on that have their feet in the molasses.

But that's not happened. A new breakfast show. Same adult-oriented (and stale) mid morning show. Boy-band lunchtime presenter. Same afternoon presenter. Drive presented by stale and smug ex-lunch presenter. New evening presenters.

I shan't even mention the weekend. What's the point of replacing an oldies show with another show presented by an old man?

Weekdays, I agree with breakfast and late night. The rest is at best ineffectual, at worst a bad mistake.

But this opinion depends upon the station being turned into a 'youth' station. That in itself is such a bad idea. It should have been turned into a proper adult music station, with all he talk removed to Radio 1.

Most of us on here have either a good knowledge of radio, or a good interest, We're either radio professionals or members of the listening public with an interest in good radio.

All of us, and the dogs on the street, know this 'relaunch' will be a damp squib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭StreetLight

I really can't understand RTE. At the moment, they have an advert-free, DJ-free digital radio station called RTE Gold, where one minute they play Elvis and the next, Michael Jackson. It's directionless.

Why can't the likes of John Murray and Larry Gogan be given the chance to put their own stamp on RTE Gold and make the station their own? If RTE want to make 2FM a youth station with a certain cabal of presenters, why not the same with RTE Gold?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

I really can't understand RTE. At the moment, they have an advert-free, DJ-free digital radio station called RTE Gold, where one minute they play Elvis and the next, Michael Jackson. It's directionless.

John Clarke programs the music on RTE Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭westmidlands

Really enjoyed the last show.

John Clarke has now left the building :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭StreetLight

John Clarke programs the music on RTE Gold.

That's fine, but I think the station could really hit the mark if DJs like John could present it in programming slots and engage with an audience. At the moment, just churning out a library of music on shuffle doesn't give the station a 'feel'.

I can't believe the show has been axed, thankfully l managed to caught the start and the end of the programme. He did not sound happy and wouldn't blame him! Iv been listening to him since l was 17 , l hate sundays but l would look forward to the programme. he came across as a lovely man, who l must thank for getting me into bruce springsteen now that l think of it! Also glad l manage to catch the last elvis song he always played at 11.20....2fm...major fcuk up.

Has John left RTE completely ?

It was nice that he mentioned Simon young at the end of the show, Simon was the original presenter of the show from 1999/2001.

Has John left RTE completely ?

Anyone know?

I can't believe the show has been axed, thankfully l managed to caught the start and the end of the programme. He did not sound happy and wouldn't blame him! Iv been listening to him since l was 17 , l hate sundays but l would look forward to the programme. he came across as a lovely man, who l must thank for getting me into bruce springsteen now that l think of it! Also glad l manage to catch the last elvis song he always played at 11.20....2fm...major fcuk up.

Is it not that JC finished the show before it got axed,those 3 hours must have being very uncomfortable listening for Dan Healy - must say I did like his wind up call about playing the Westlife version of Seasons in the Sun !

Now if only RTE would take the plunge and put Gold on the RnaG FM transmitters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Infoanon wrote: »

Would cause unholy war despite RnaG's near non-existent listenership. Gold is on DAB, DTT, cable as it is - they should look at getting it on to satellite and also the 567 MW frequency. Would allow them to clear R1, 2FM and Lyric of shows like Collins, Gogan and Marty Whelan and give Gold a decent headstart with pre-existing listeners from those shows.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

MYOB wrote: »
    Would cause unholy war despite RnaG's near non-existent listenership. Gold is on DAB, DTT, cable as it is - they should look at getting it on to satellite and also the 567 MW frequency. Would allow them to clear R1, 2FM and Lyric of shows like Collins, Gogan and Marty Whelan and give Gold a decent headstart with pre-existing listeners from those shows.
    With these 2FM changes they might as well give the 2fm network to RTE Gold and leave 2FM just on Three Rock with a directional antenna pointed at Three Rock seeing as Dublin is so important. Give the rest of the country what they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

John Clarke's Sunday Show is an excellent example of an oldies show aimed at an adult audience.

Now, if the regime at 2FM had decided they really wanted to be a 'youth' station, and were replacing shows like this with 'youth'-type programming, I'd agree.

The changes at 2FM are, by RTE's standards, quite sweeping, but by anyone else's standards they're just a little tickle.

To turn the station into a 'youth' station proper, you'd need to replace nearly all the presenters, not to mention all the producers and other hangers-on that have their feet in the molasses.

I totally agree. You can't have Ryan Tubridy and Colm Hayes at the heart of your schedule and claim it's an 18-35 orientated station (while demoting Will Leahy).

John Clarke was very emotional today, it's a shame RTE can't find a place for his (very popular) show on their schedule. Today FM and Jim O'Neill must be laughing their heads off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭SATNAV

Have to say JC is streets ahead of the pre-recorded voice tracked Jim O' Neill on Today FM, One wonders where if at all will JC turn up ?
    Doe anyone have a recording of the show , I just tuned in at 12.30 so missed some of the fun ! If this had been during the Nova days Carey would have just come in decked JC and continued with the show himself !
    One hopes we can hear JC soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

SATNAV wrote: »
    Have to say JC is streets ahead of the pre-recorded voice tracked Jim O' Neill on Today FM, One wonders where if at all will JC turn up ?
    Doe anyone have a recording of the show , I just tuned in at 12.30 so missed some of the fun ! If this had been during the Nova days Carey would have just come in decked JC and continued with the show himself !
    One hopes we can hear JC soon

It's available on 2FM website.
    Emotional stuff alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,820 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Skid X wrote: »
    I totally agree. You can't have Ryan Tubridy and Colm Hayes at the heart of your schedule and claim it's an 18-35 orientated station (while demoting Will Leahy).

John Clarke was very emotional today, it's a shame RTE can't find a place for his (very popular) show on their schedule. Today FM and Jim O'Neill must be laughing their heads off.

Spot on.
    2FM always seem to be reactive rather than proactive.
    They are now trying to compete with the likes of Spin, but cannot get their heads around the fact that Tubridy talking to housewives and Hayse doing whatever he does, does not fit that demographic, and haveing a tag line like 'be part of the story' before every news bulletin is not convincing anyone that you are hip and cool.

They should be proactive, go for the 30+ generation, those of us who like to listen to music rather than current affairs all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,344 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Shame to see a good show go. always listen until 1pm until Classic Gold Sunday with Jim O neil. in all fairness to Jim o neil he does play some crackers and love his "doubleshots" . of course it would be better if the show was live.

The Jim O'Neill show is bland and repetitive with 'number 1's' oldies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Is it not that JC finished the show before it got axed,those 3 hours must have being very uncomfortable listening for Dan Healy - must say I did like his wind up call about playing the Westlife version of Seasons in the Sun !

I doubt that's possible as RnaG is part of the Irish language remit that RTE has to fulfil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I'm not entirely sure what the point of scheduling a 19:00 - 22:00 sports show was either.
    Are they *that* worried about Newstalk?

Could RTE not have put a funkier sports show into the Radio 1 schedule rather than putting yet more speech content into 2FM.

I think there's actually way too much sport on the radio in Ireland at weekends. It should really be left to Radio 1 and Newstalk to cover.

There are times at the weekend in the car where I might be driving somewhere and I don't necessarily want to listen to wall-to-wall sport, so I end up listening to the iPod instead.

Often driving around the country too, 2FM is the only alternative to wall-to-wall current affairs from Radio 1, Today FM and Newstalk.

I find in Ireland rather than innovate and come up with content that competes by being unique, what seems to happen a lot of the time is all the stations try to do the same thing. Like take weekend sports, every station seems to go into sports-overdrive.

I know there's a sports fan market, but there's also a big market that might actually want to listen to music too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

SpaceTime wrote: »

I find in Ireland rather than innovate and come up with content that competes by being unique, what seems to happen a lot of the time is all the stations try to do the same thing. Like take weekend sports, every station seems to go into sports-overdrive.

The sports discussion panel is really overdone now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,344 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

@fordfiesta....that of course is YOUR opinion,bland haha . anyway it would seem a lot of people wont be listening to 2fm in the evenings or sundays. hmmmm matt cooper....very very small doses.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I doubt that's possible as RnaG is part of the Irish language remit that RTE has to fulfil.

Its very possible, put RnaG on LW or MW, remember that it is only in recent years that RnaG has had a national FM network, originally RnaG was on 3 MW transmitters in Gaeltacht areas.

of course the chances of this happening is close to zero !

This highlights the fundamental difference between what happened with BBC Radio 1 and whats happening at 2FM, BBC have a second mainstream music outlet Radio 2, where as RTE listeners have no second outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭bureau2009

John Clarke was Head of 2FM at one stage and therefore must be responsible for the station doing downhill.

So long live the golden oldies shows............but not with John Clarke as presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

My mam religiously had John Clarke on the Radio while cooking the dinner
    on a Sunday afternoon :)

An emotional John on Sunday -

http://www.rte.ie/radio/utils/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=1%3A10249348%3A0%3A%3A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭radiofreak

Some things in life don't make sense to me. Dan Healy's decision to axe Ireland's Biggest Jukebox his one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Spot on.
    2FM always seem to be reactive rather than proactive.
    They are now trying to compete with the likes of Spin, but cannot get their heads around the fact that Tubridy talking to housewives and Hayse doing whatever he does, does not fit that demographic, and haveing a tag line like 'be part of the story' before every news bulletin is not convincing anyone that you are hip and cool.

They should be proactive, go for the 30+ generation, those of us who like to listen to music rather than current affairs all day
    I only tuned back into 2fm in the last 2 or 3 years after the Gerry Ryan years and JC and Will Leahy were my two favourite shows. There is a whole station for current affairs on Radio 1 and now 2fm, probably soon to be renamed, is concentrating on the 18-34 age group. What about the sizeable group that just want to listen to radio with music (dare i say good music:D) going to go now?

Down with this sort of thing:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭radiofreak

Just listening back now to the podcast, Yes, found that link about Westlife very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

It's a bit rich of John Clarke to play the martyr because his show / indulgence has been canned. The current calamitous state of 2fm is partly attributable to Clarke's utter failure as PD followed by John McMahons failure as PD. Both mens failure was rewarded by lateral moves within RTE rather than being shown the door.

Since Healy started last year there has been constant 2fm stories in the media about proposed changes, which has become a frenzy since Hector walked. Surely all these schedule changes could have happened last summer, and bedded in during the summer holidays, why the delay? Also why allow Will Leahy and John Clarke the luxury of signing off on their last shows.. it wasn't afforded Nikki Hayes.

I'd also love to know if Colm Hayes is away on paid leave right now, will these several weeks he has off be in addition to his already lengthy holidays?

Does anyone believe the addition of a handful of ex-iradio presenters, a novice ex boyband member, tubridy and colm Hayes on drive time will save this station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,743 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Let's be honest...do we really need 'The Best Of Tubridy' 10-11am?

Both Larry Gogan and John could easily fit into the Sunday schedule...even getting rid of Ruth and Paddy is an option :D

That said, sad to see the jukebox coming to an end. John's subtle-as-a-sledgehammer digs at 'the man' were hilarious, especially when he played 'Rex Bob Lowenstein' and the story about Larry preparing a Dusty Springfield tribute show. Understandably difficult for him to be on the air given the circumstances.

Hope to hear him back on the air somewhere soon.