Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rumor: Don't Answer Cell Phone While It's Charging!

• 05-02-2014 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭

Apparently a man died last year:

Subject: Cell phone charging

VERY IMPORTANT..PLEASE READ

Never, ever answer a cell phone while it is being CHARGED!!

A few days ago, a person was recharging his cell phone at home.

Just at that time a call came and he answered it with the instrument still connected to the outlet.

After a few seconds electricity flowed into the cell phone unrestrained and the young man was thrown to the ground with a heavy thud.

His parents rushed to the room only to find him unconscious, with a weak heartbeat and burnt fingers.

He was rushed to the nearby hospital, but was pronounced dead on arrival.

Cell phones are a very useful modern invention.

However, we must be aware that it can also be an instrument of death.

Never use the cell phone while it is hooked to the electrical outlet!

So is this true or not, because I have answered so many calls while my phone was charging and I felt nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

lyke dis if u cryd evrytyme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Wouldn't this feel more at home on Facebook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

http://www.snopes.com/horrors/techno/cellcharge.asp

Thanks Snopes and Google!

In short, 99% of the time, no.

I died like 7 times last year from doing that and I've no fingerprints left so I can't even go to America any more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Im lighting this virtual candle for all victims of phone charging death. Only my REAL friends will do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Tinfoil hat protects you from everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

srsly wtf

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Just at that time a call came and he answered it with the instrument still connected to the outlet.

After a few seconds electricity flowed into the cell phone unrestrained and the young man was thrown to the ground with a heavy thud.

His parents rushed to the room only to find him unconscious, with a weak heartbeat and burnt fingers.

So is this true or not, because I have answered so many calls while my phone was charging and I felt nothing.

If you do it while in the bath you'll be okay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

You have no friends to talk to on the phone so no wonder it didnt happen to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

electric vibrators can do the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I like that this thread was unlocked for the lolz it will bring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I love that word.

Don't believe all you read on the Internet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I love that word.

Don't believe all you read on the Internet.

Why should we believe were not to believe anything we read on the internet?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Boring answer - the transformer used for the phone and your circuit breakers make it almost impossible to receive a fatal charge from a household appliance. However, if you plug your phone directly into the mains after replacing your circuit breakers with chewing gum wrappers, then it's possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

For every thank I will donate 10c to Mobile Charger Related Death research. Together we can beat this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

5v from my USB - sh!tting myself while I type this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Two people died having sex while hooked up to a car battery.

Not sure if charging phone aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Read that as Don't Take Your Pants Off While It's Charging. >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Why should we believe were not to believe anything we read on the internet?

When you see the word Apparently, it's always a bad sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

This is true. It can be extremely dangerous, or even fatal, to answer your phone while it's being charged. Whether by a rhino, or any large animal. Just leave the phone, let them have it. It's probably the ringing that's annoying them anyway.

Not sure how your lack of emotion is relevant to your original query

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Gooood Afternoon Sah..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Don't cut your toenails with a scythe, that was another one.

keelanj69 wrote: »
    For every thank I will donate 10c to Mobile Charger Related Death research. Together we can beat this.

did myself a damage reading that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

What the fook is a cell phone?
    You mean sell phone?
    Or cling film stuff, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Don't cut your toenails with a scythe, that was another one.

Still the burning question, can we eat yellow snow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Ah yeah, a few men did.
    A few good men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

"Well Joe, I heard there that the young lads on the facebook do be skullin' a pint while talking on their mobiles while they're chargin' an' it makes yer head explode."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

And if your "cell" phone is a Nokia 3210, and you drop it, the shockwaves it causes can be felt around the world.

Dangerous yokes thems Nokia 3210s

electric vibrators can do the same

Make calls and text? Where'd you get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Cydoniac wrote: »
    http://www.snopes.com/horrors/techno/cellcharge.asp

Thanks Snopes and Google!

In short, 99% of the time, no.

1 out of every 100 people who answer their plugged in phone will die? **** me. Never doing that again then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

autoerotic asphyxia better way to go

1 out of every 100 people who answer their plugged in phone will die? **** me. Never doing that again then.

100% of people who answer their phones will die. Eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

I haven't died yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

And that my friends is a fact. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You OK hun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

What a boring life you lead. I'm a thrill seeker, duuude. YOLO, carpe diem etc etc.

WikiHow wrote: »
    And that my friends is a fact. ;)

it must be - I read it there on the internet a minute ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

it must be - I read it there on the internet a minute ago.
    Dont believe everything you read on google, its a bad lad.

WikiHow wrote: »
    Dont believe everything you read on google, its a bad lad.

I didn't read it on Google, I read it here:

that lad is never, ever, wrong. Ever. much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

I have answered so many calls while my phone was charging and I felt nothing.

You're one of the lucky ones.

A "Survivor"?

This needs a name -how about KCMS?. Killer charging mobile syndrome. There can be a Helpline, for "Survivors of KCMS". Someone should register it as a charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You mean sell phone?
    Or cling film stuff, is it?

Phones prisoners use,can be purchased from the vaginas of friends and relatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Except Bruce Forsyth.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Except Bruce Forsyth.

He's actually animatronic.

It's what you use in prison!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I can never get electricity flowing unrestrained when I need it.

It's what you use in prison!

I read somwhere that if prisoners stuff a mobile phone that is still plugged in and charging up their bums to hide them, there's a good chance the Prison guards will have a lead as to what they're up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

There will be many more, life-saving tips available soon....very early April, for instance.

In the meantime,
    • Don't walk on the cracks in the footpath. Millions of people die from that every year;
    • Don't go out without your vest;
    • Attach a copper wire from your tinfoil hat to the ground so that you're always earthed;
    • Fit a Baby on Board sticker to your car window so that other drivers will take special care not to crash into you;
    • Keep your electric toothbrush dry because water conducts electricity;
    • And, for God's sake, don't swallow chewing gum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

Hey OP, there's a Nigerian Prince I know who needs some help moving some money. I think you could help. PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

efb wrote: »
    autoerotic asphyxia better way to go

You can talk about the dangers of this until you're blue in the face!